You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2006 10 31Article 113054

Politics of Tuesday, 31 October 2006

Source: GNA

Awutu-Effutu-Senya District Assembly elects Presiding Member

Winneba(C/R), Oct. 31, GNA - Mr Alexander Afenyo Markin, Assembly Member for Kojo Bedu South Electoral Area was on Monday elected Presiding Member of Awutu-Effutu-Senya District Assembly for a two-year period.

He polled 41 votes against 18 votes by his opponent Mr Robert Ghanney, a government appointee.

Officials of the Awutu-Effutu-Senya District Electoral Commission who supervised the election declared two votes invalid. Dr Anthony Akoto-Osei, Deputy Minister for Finance and Economic Planning read President John Agyekum Kufuor's inaugural address when inaugurating the 64-member assembly for a four-year mandate. Mr Justice Charles Wilson, a Circuit Court Judge swore the members into office.

Mr Solomon Abban-Quaye, Awutu-Effutu-Senya District Chief Executive, reminded the members of the non-partisan nature of the assembly.

He said the assembly was established to accelerate the socio-economic development of the district and the people, irrespective of tribe, gender, religion or partisan politics.

Mr Abban-Quaye urged the members to consider the overall interest of the people rather than sectional interests adding, 93For the sake of the district, let your political philosophy be "Awutu-Effutu-Senya." "If we are to succeed, we have to combine out intellectual and other resources with the pragmatic approach to the handling of certain sensitive and delicate issues," he added.