You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2008 05 01Article 143234

Politics of Thursday, 1 May 2008

Source: GNA

Agona East MP elected to contest 2008 Parliamentary election

Agona Swedru, May 1, GNA- Mr John Kwesi Agyabeng, incumbent Agona East New Patriotic Party (NPP) MP was Wednesday elected as Parliamentary candidate to contest the 2008 Parliamentary election under the ticket of the party.

He polled 65 out of the 99 votes cast to beat contestant, Mr Richard Aseidu, Assin North District Co-ordinator of the National Youth Council who obtained 34 votes. The congress was conducted by Regional and Constituency Executives of the party and supervised by Mr. Kwame Amoah, Agona West Municipal Electoral Officer.

Earlier, in an address Mr Danquah Smith, Regional Chairman of the Party called for post-election unity to ensure total victory of the party in the December elections. He urged supporters of the MP and the contestant to bury their differences to enable them to win more members for the party. Nana Ato Arthur, Central Regional Minister advised members to know the task ahead of the party and therefore urged them to work hard to retain the seat.

He said, winning the seat would not come on a silver platter, but needed hard work, dedication and patriotism. Mr. Agyabeng thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in him and assured them he would work harder to win the December elections. He said; "without your support the aims and objectives of the party would not be realized".

He called for unity and co-operation among his followers, those of the contestant and constituency executives towards the achievement of the party.

Among those present were Mr. Denis Armah Frempong, Agona East District Chief Executive, Mr. Ben Mensah, Agona West Municipal Chief Executives and party functionaries. 01 May 08