You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2008 10 24Article 152067

Politics of Friday, 24 October 2008

Source: GNA

16 independent candidates file nominations in Northern Region

Tamale, Oct. 24, GNA - Sixteen candidates are standing as independent, out of the 141 candidates, who had filed their nominations to contest the parliamentary elections in the Northern Region. Mr Sylvster Kanyi, Northern Regional Director of the Electoral Commission disclosed this, when he briefed newsmen after the filing of nominations for this years general elections. They are Mr Abu Issahaku, 29, Bole/Bamboi, Yapei/Kusawgu in the Central Gonja district, Mr Abubakari Abass Alhassan,44. In the Kpandai constituency of the East Gonja district the independent candidates are: Timothy Barnabas Nakoja 53, Habib Issaka 34, Daniel Nsala Wakpal 33, and Nyimakan Alijah Mayor 38. Alhaji Saani Iddi 52, Wulensi constituency in the Nanumba South district, Yendi constituency, Mr Abukari Mahamud 40, and Sir Zuut Tutugri Mubarak 48.

In the Mion constituency also in the Yendi district, Mr Sulemana Abu 50, is the independent candidate. For the Savelugu constituency in the Savelugu/Nanton district Mr Abdallah Abass 32, and Tamale North constituency, Mr Alhassan Dhamani 40. Mr Alhassan Ziblim, 43, for Nalerigu constituency in the East Mamprusi district. In the Bunkpurugu/Yunyoo constituency those standing as independent candidates are: Mr. Joseph Bipuba Naabu 44, Jabon Thomas Lomnan 29, and Joseph Labik Yaani 54.