You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 06 04Article 544187

Why send an innocent soldier to foreign mining company? - Kwesi Pratt asks

Read Comments Comments (131)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 6 years ago

NPP IS TAKING OVER POWER ON THE 7TH OF JANUARY AND THEY ARE ASKING YOU TO ORDER 43 CARS FOR THEM ON 3RD JANUARY?? -- -- THE 200 CARS YOU SHARED AMONG YOURSELVES WERE NOT ENOUGH SO YOU ORDERED ADDITIONAL 43. THIEVES!! CREATE, ...

• AGYARKO 6 years ago

You are right npp is never serious. If you cannot feed basic school pupils how do you intend to make shs free for all plus feeding grants? Jokers party. No wonder you are resorting to progressive free shs approach.pls, pay al ...

• OLD SOLDIER 6 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Akan Prophecies 6 years ago

GHANA BECAME A FAILED STATE WHEN JJ RAWLINGS WITH HIS MACHÔ MILITARY MEN BROUGHT LAWLESSNESS TO OUR YOUNG STATE. THE LAWLESSNESS WAS NO MORE EXISTANT, WITH ARNACHIST AT COMMANDER TO DO WHATEVER TO POSITION. THE INSTITUTION ...

• insight to the bone 6 years ago

There so many versions of the story out there and each with some truth mixed with a whole lot of incredible lies. We observe a whole set of seemly unconnected circumstances that led to this unfortunate event, yes unfortunate ...

• NKETIA, Afghanistan 6 years ago

U have facts!!! That was why the DCE stood his grounds but because the Army and the defense minister knew what was going on that was why they said the DCE should shut up ,,,hmmmm ,,may he rest in peace.

• Akan Prophecies 6 years ago

GHANA BECAME A FAILED STATE WHEN JJ RAWLINGS WITH HIS MACHÔ MILITARY MEN BROUGHT LAWLESSNESS TO OUR YOUNG STATE. THE LAWLESSNESS WAS NO MORE EXISTANT, WITH ARNACHIST AT COMMAND TO DO WHATEVER TO POSITION. THE INSTITUTIONS ...

• helen , ZURICH 6 years ago

kwesi you are talking rubbish. go back to school.

• Uncle Sam 6 years ago

Old Soldier, address the issue at sake; the untimely & brutal murder of a young soldier, a husband & a husband. Is it right to send soldiers to protect mining companies? If yes, against whom? Is Kwesi Pratt's views good or ba ...

• K & K 6 years ago

I have been thinking about this same thing buh thank God an influential person like you has spoken. Can't the employ private security personnel?? I don't think any private sector should be allowed to hire any government secu ...

• Nana will win 6 years ago

You stupid NDC monster, when Mahama and his thieves are looting and drying the coffers of the nation and not able to pay for the free school feeding caterers of people of their own party, why do u expect the new government ...

• Ghana lady 6 years ago

Prince Kwasi adade eiii you re soo stupid,what's that got to do with Npp,,as ur mahama thief and the rest,,I don't understand some of u Ghanaians u think from ur anus abowa ba big foooooooool

• Nana 6 years ago

My sympathies to the dead soldier and family but after all the outpouring of emotions so far it is only Kwesi Pratt and may be Jerry Rawlings are the 2 that have made the most sensible and reasonable comment since this unfort ...

• Na so 6 years ago

Your sympathy should be with the Army Captain period. We cannot justify vigilante lynching. This madness must stop.

• Pasco 6 years ago

Nana we are four and a few others we may not know. You ,Rawlings ,Kwesi Pratt and me. We all hold similar view .To me " SO LONG AS POLICE,PROSECUTORS LAWYERS AND JUDGES CONTINUE TO BE INVOLVED IN CORRUPTIBLE ACTIVITIES WHEN ...

• Ugly dwarf Nana use human as rituals 6 years ago

After listening the account of the killing of Mahama from the lGP to me
    this poor man was kill by npp government period those ugly monkey Akans to kill him there's more questions than answer to this matter.
    Nana has brou ...

• 007 6 years ago

U need deliverance.

• Seek God 6 years ago

Oh short memory, lazy to think and ignorant or uniformed mind set or you may think like this because your dubious way to get a little of the hugely looted is is shut.

After listening the account of the killing of Mahama from the lGP to me
    this poor man was kill by npp government period those ugly monkey Akans to kill him there's more questions than answer to this matter.
    Nana has brou ...

• JAY 6 years ago

I was the first person to ask the question? Now I see Journalists asking the most crucial question,The Mines Minister Mr Amenu announced a 6 month ban on mining and the soldiers are still providing security for this mine?Who ...

• Demba ba 6 years ago

Kwesi is always on point. Masa I salute u

• Sarah 6 years ago

He's a hypocrite and never to be trusted

• Ken Ntiamoa 6 years ago

"Why send an innocent fine officer to go and protect one of these foreign companies? Why? I don’t understand"---Kwesi Pratt.

Excuse my ignorance, but I thought all along that the y ...

• ghanani 6 years ago

Are you to be trusted?Don't be cynical.What Kwesi is saying is absolutely right.If our soldiers are now galamsey guards the nation needs to know.

• Kkkkkk 6 years ago

Capt mahama killing
    So, the DCE has a point. The military is very corrupt. The army commander is being paid a huge money and royalty from that mine. I have good info on that but I will not try release it before the security ...

• NKETIA, Afghanistan 6 years ago

U are on point!

• Abu Hamza, former Palästinian 6 years ago

Mr. Nketia, are you really In Afghanistan? Buddy i swear your "butts" might be hard and though. Hmmm.

• The The 6 years ago

KKKK you right Kwesi Pratt is one of the most objective journalists Ghana has. Why isn't the army telling us specifically why Cpt Mahama was in that area. The chips will fall and the dust will settle.

• Jebu 6 years ago

Is Kwesi Pratt saying the officer is to gentle to carry out his duties. Is their presence there illegal? Master, these days the military all over the world are engaged in one way or the other. Not just seat at barracks waiti ...

• Yaman 6 years ago

This time he is right, sorry to say this Ghanaians are stupid

• Ghnab 6 years ago

Hwe gyimi fo nonso

• wiring90@protonmail.ch 6 years ago

AVAILABLE!!!AVAILABLE!!!AVAILABLE
    MONEYGRAM ,WESTERN UNION PICKUP IN LONDON, ANY RECEIVER NAME MONEY TRANSFER TO Any off these US banks bellow Email me let's make it happen NSWC FCU.....10K Every day Great Basin FCU BECU CU. ...

• Ghana lady 6 years ago

Wring90@protonmail.ch stop bringing this stupid money transferred things here,,we don't need it

• Larbi 6 years ago

Are we saying every mining companies is illegal and operated by Chinese? And what is wrong if the army gives protection to legal mines. Or the soldier is too handsome to be in the bush. Meaning all farmers are totally ugly

• Yaman 6 years ago

Massa if we can allow the Chinese to do illegal mining why not our own ple

• HONESTY 6 years ago

When Anglo gold file for protection of their assets in USA, what did you expect the govt to do.
    To stop such law suits aided by people like ACE ANKOMAH and his firm, they send the poor officers to protect all foreign mines f ...

• Yankey 6 years ago

NDC left a lot of trouble for NPP

• Kwame 6 years ago

Somebody used our national army for their personal benefit and l think that itself is a crime, we are not going to accept the outcome of this ongoing investigation if the government don't investigate why our national army was ...

• KWAPPS 6 years ago

God, they say, works in mysterious ways. None other soldier was lynched than the one related to president Mahama. President Mahama and NDC for 8 years, never once lifted a finger against galamsey, in fact, they encouraged it ...

• Cash 6 years ago

All our institutions are corrupt and that is what is making people take the law into their own hands.RIP mahama

• samuel 6 years ago

hmmm if this is true the he was sent to protect a foreign mining company then am very sad o ghana why why.

• Lixo 6 years ago

The truth shall always trump.

• ATO 6 years ago

Captain Mahama's death is very, very painful and my heart is still bleeding,but from the diverse reports coming out; after the nation has paid her full respect to our beloved departed national,the govt should go to the bottom ...

• Dogbey 6 years ago

The mahams are corrupt ,thieves tax invaders, that bole galamsey watchman deserved to be lynched. I salute the oboase people .they must chase all bole mahams because they curse to Ghana. OPERATION KILL THE MAHAMAS THE ARM ROB ...

• Akosua 6 years ago

GhanaWeb you should not be allowing such postings. It may plunge Ghana into serious security challenges. Dogbe bow down your head in shame. We are all Ghanaians

• ATO 6 years ago

Thanks Akosua. It's very sad that Dogbey will say all these things against fellow Ghanaians. He should be ashamed of himself and Ghanaweb should endeavor to remove these reckless comments from the site.Thanks once again, Akos ...

• Nana will win 6 years ago

If the truth is some of the soldiers are protecting a mining company which I presume it a small scale mining concession which is only reserve for Ghanaians, then who authorize the soldiers to protect that mines. Though it pat ...

• Tutupun 6 years ago

You are not an ewe but you are using ewe name to insult northerners which ewe civilize people will not do.Only primitve bugabuga people in Ghana normally raise unfounded insult on others. God curse you and your generations al ...

• Nyebro 6 years ago

WO y3 aboa pii...

• Spiritual Realm. 6 years ago

Dogbey I declare that you will die in a manner your entire family will reject you. Mark my words...if you think you can insult northerners and go free, you lie. Your mother wasted her energy for nine months and joy shall be f ...

Dogbey is your mother smelling asshold that gave birth to you that is dirty. You the ugly dark monkey Akans can only insult the well
    educated northerners.Your terrorist npp party are the most corrupt party in Ghana have you ...

• Imagineme 6 years ago

Stupid man. May God have mercy on u for rejoicing in another's pain. Fool. Wizard. You demon of a human. May the wrath of God locate u fool.

• Truth 6 years ago

The deployment of the Army to protect mining companies is the worst to happen to Ghana. Protection of environmental degradation? Those who benefit are the Politicians and High Command of the GAF. There is no free lunch, so it ...

• ghanawatch 6 years ago

Those who send them there get their 'cuts' from the foreign companies,period.The soldiers are not there for nothing.

• kpata 6 years ago

We have law enforcement yet the ruling party have their own militia to round molesting people with impunity. The country is becoming some kind of joke.

• Kkkkkk 6 years ago

So, the DCE has a point. The military is very corrupt. The army commander is being paid a huge money and royalty from that mine.
    I have good info on that but I will not try release it before the security people twist my neck ...

• Kwaku 6 years ago

Chiefs were murdered in Accra, Ghana was becoming a banana republic, Chiefs were murdered in broad day light, the chief of Seikwa the hometown of Asiedu Nketia general secretary of the ruling NDC was murdered in cold blood, b ...

• wiseman 6 years ago

you hve shallow minded
    stop your foolish political affiliation here and lets think about
    innocent army murderd by some evil people.

• wiseman 6 years ago

not kwasi

• kwaku 6 years ago

fool, whose comment are u reading.

• Dogbey 6 years ago

Well said kwaku. The mahamas are thieves ,tax invaders and arm robbers . I salute the oboase people for killing one of the arm robbers and galamsey watchman from BOLE

• Nii 6 years ago

Convoluted logic. Come again!!!

• Jkmo 6 years ago

On point

• Alex Adonija 6 years ago

First of all, thank you Honorable Kwesi Pratt for shedding light on such a delicate issue. in my opinion, there should be a public inquiry which should be an official review of events or actions ordered by a government body. ...

• PAA KW 6 years ago

Kwesi, there is nothing wrong if a soldier is detailed to guard a registered mining company who does not flout the rules and regulations of the mining code, or who are assigned to prevent the activities of illegal miners.How ...

• Abena konadu 6 years ago

5his is foolisness .To prevent the natives and owners of the land from mining just because they do not have money to register and allow foreigners to come and mine on the land our father's left us.are we still in colonial rul ...

• SOCRATES 6 years ago

PAA KW,THE FACT THAT I'VE BEEN ISSUED A PILOT'S CERTIFICATE DOES NOT MAKE ME A PILOT ALTHOUGH I CAN FLY AEROPLANES!!! THE CHINESE MAY BE MINING UNDER THE AUTHORITY OF A DOCUMENTED CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION BUT THESE ARE THE ...

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

Ghanaians can pretend too much.

• Peter 6 years ago

The death is painful but now people talk sense.Why army in that place?

• Eric 6 years ago

Stupid man which should be sent there

• Asempaneye 6 years ago

After years of reading highlights of Kwesi Pratt, I can say that this is the first time the guy has said something fundamentally sensible, patriotic and non-partisan. Why send soldiers to protect foreign mining companies agai ...

• Kojo Hamburg. 6 years ago

Indeed the DCE could have been more circumspect and sensitive on his utterance but the facts still remains.What exactly was the role of the Military in that village?Why is the government and security agencies not coming clear ...

• Ogyam 6 years ago

Is he different from those who were to join forces with their Senegalese counterparts to overthrow ex-president Yahayah Jammeh?
    Please stop the hypocrisy because his not the only soldier sent on galamsey mission.

• Nana Yaw Gyabaah 6 years ago

I support your argument 100 percent it looks like we are not been told the truth. what is the actual mission that sent the soldiers there ? I believe the DC had a point in his comments that the soldier was a galamsey soldie ...

• Adesa 6 years ago

Its a trade wake up to the subject.

• Michae Stone 6 years ago

The culture of impunity.The system is so rotten Ghanaians have lost hope inthe police,the judiciary and politicians,the only option left is mob action.

• Kwasi Asemhene 6 years ago

This is the fundamental question. The state is in bed with those the community say are recklessly exploiting them to their detriment. It really does not matter I'd it is a foreign multinational or Chinese galamseyer. It the s ...

• Last warrior 6 years ago

When can't even tackle the increasing motor robberies,arm robbery road accidents and robberies how would they be able to curb these criminals.GHANA is not safe under our police force they don't have any plan

God bless you and increase your territory. Why should soldiers trained with taxpayers money go and be protecting Chinese against nationals,This is disgusting ,As if we are still under the colonial rule .y should the soldiers ...

Why did Nana Addo send soldiers trained with taxpayers money to go and protect Chinese miners just because some ur ministers have shares in those companies. Fire burn all those who have shares in the Denkyira obuasi mines.

• Joe Watches K & K lololololol 6 years ago

For the first time, uncle kwesi you have spoken the exact words that paints 'call a spade a spade' even your opposite brother kwaku will find a common ground with you on this...bravo! :)

• Kotey 6 years ago

Kwesi Pratt might not intend insensitivity to the family and memory of this soldier but the report comes across like that.

he may be in sympathy with soldiers who will want to refuse orders if they are sent to missions not ...

• Kwaku darko 6 years ago

Exactly ! Lack of trust and faith in state insitutions

• Dada 6 years ago

To be a soldier means you fight for your country.so dont ask question like you dont have brain.

Is soldiering meant to protect people fighting the environment.

• Sylvester B Manu 6 years ago

Very nice question by Mr Pratt.
    this show the kind of people we are as a country. We protect those who come and take our resources without the country benefiting.
    sad country that we live in.

• Scott 6 years ago

I can't understand why u always sit in the studio to say useless issues,if Capt. Mahama is an innocent soldier what abt the rest of the soldiers so please i think if u have nothing to do its better don't waist ur time to prea ...

• Yaman 6 years ago

Prince i salute u,i always read ur comments

• Kwesi 6 years ago

That's what he knows to do best, an opportunist of a journalist. What of policemen guarding private banks. What's so wrong about it. Kwesi should learn to talk to the issue as it is and stop using his opportunistic approach. ...

• K. Mensah Abrampah, Saltpond 6 years ago

Uncle Kwesi is trying to open the lid of can of worms. What was the detachment of soldiers doing in the forest. Under whose instructions were they sent there? And finally were they protecting CHINESE GALAMSAYERS or indigenou ...

• Kk 6 years ago

Kwesi Pratt is on point. Hats off to you Kwesi. If l am attacked by armed robbers l will better fight them to death making sure l kill as many of them as l can rather than calling police. When you send a thieve caught in the ...

• CPEC 6 years ago

For the very first time I fully agree with this gentleman. I also believe there should be an investigation on why and who gave the order for this group to be there considering the fact that the minister recently found a group ...

• kakraba 6 years ago

Kwesi is not defending the killing but the involvement if the military when it's police job! Let's stop seeing politics in every action of our people's!! For once, Kwesi has a point.

• Kk 6 years ago

Kwasi you are right, soldiers are not telling us the truth, the soldiers are there to protect the criminals who are destroying our farm land, not as they are saying.

• paul 6 years ago

Most times, Kwasi Pratt amazes me. Is he saying that foreigners are not entitled for protection against indigenes?

This is a case where foreigners have lawfully come to the country, so it seems, and have been given licence ...

• Nana Powers (+233265882533) 6 years ago

Good  news for those who are ready for help I'm a spiritual man of god's who helps people to find life easier to people,Protection and more blessings, Am sure and I promise everyone who needs my help will never regret in the ...

• Maxwell 6 years ago

I blame the military service for sending him there. he should not be alone as it was too dangerous .am not a security expert but I blame the people who sent him there. they need to be arrested

• jake 6 years ago

This impotent journalist he always talking nonsense who you what him to go there you think to be be a captain you must seat in the office think men Ghana everything is a politic that our problem

• BERNARD 6 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    (1). USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA have a special property which enhan ...

• Bolobolo 6 years ago

Bra kwesi this very bad how could the heard of state stop all the miner's why at sometime NPP members are still working why using the state security to protect theme this discriminative art we all condemn what happen in boasi ...

• Godsent 6 years ago

I have never agreed with Kwesi Part but I totally agree with him on this submission. Personally I have lost trust in the police because I was nearly lynched three weeks ago through the action of a police woman stationed at Sa ...

• kojo 6 years ago

If we have had people like Kwasi Pratt in Ghana, Ghana would have been progressed

• KESSAF B21 6 years ago

Military personnel are not just an animal to be slaughtered just like that, and may l know if they may leave those basters, no. 666 evil men and women to go excult free in evil village ?
    if our country Ghana laws can not dea ...

• Else 6 years ago

My heart breaks for Captain Mahama's family especially his wife and children. The facts must be told. It not good to subject the village to hate, degradation and demonisation. The villagers are also victims and dying because ...

• Seek God 6 years ago

Master say it again, soldiers guarding fulani herdsmen? It is likely that the citizens will rise up against this kind of corrupt leadership one and we will all see the results of the mansons and cars you have built and bough ...

• Alicia 6 years ago

Then all soldiers at flagstaff house should move away from that place and allow the police who are for internal security to do their work!!

• Snert 6 years ago

Considering what Mr. Pratt has said I want to ask was the Soldier there to fight against those doing the illegal mining or there to protect a foreign miners. All the truth must be establish here to as the authorities render j ...

• Kk 6 years ago

This guy always spew rubbish anytime he opens his mouth! Does a soldier has a say in what he is commanded to do? Foolish mindset @stupid Kwasi Pratt

Citizens elect the President and the president becomes commander in chief.

• Kofi Oppong 6 years ago

So, instead of sending innocent soldiers, should rather send ignorant soldiers to foreign mining areas. Eiii. KWESI. As for this your logic. No head nor tail oooo

• Else 6 years ago

But it's important to tell the truth. The educated elites under the veil of politics are killing our environment, children, youth, animals etc institutional murderers. Look what soldiers are doing to the villagers. Absolutely ...

• Joe Gunter.. 6 years ago

Mr.Pratt has hit the nail right on the head,our police and the judiciary our the worst culprits taking bribes is the order of the day for then.To them justice belongs to the highest bidder,even if your wrong they tell your ri ...

• Kudi 6 years ago

Kwesi Pratt has hit the nail right on the head. Even though we all condemn in totality the barbaric act there is more to that than being said. The top hierachy of the military are trying to hide the fact that the soldiers wer ...

• Galamsey is bad 6 years ago

Well no one knew that will happen to him, he was deployed to do his job but some blood suckers killed him for nothing. We have to send someone in uniform there but not to the chinese miners, we cannot protect the chinese or a ...

• Ghanabi in NY 6 years ago

We live in a country where armed robbery and violence are rampant. It is because the youth have no jobs and also some solders and police officers have turned themselves armed rubbers or aid armed robbers. The countries securi ...

• The battle is the Lords 6 years ago

I think ex president Mahama and family have shares in it that is why they deployed their own son there. The truth will come out one day.

• JC 6 years ago

Captain Maxwell Mahama bears no blood relation to former President John Mahama. His father is a Sissala and his mother is a Dagarti. His father Chubby Mahama lived in Bole but is not not a Gonja. I feel sad about the sudden ...

• STOP THE GALAMSEY 6 years ago

Is Alaska C&G mining company a foreign company? Since when did it become a foreign mining company? Is it because it is reported some Chinese citizens were involved in that galamsey mining in the Amenase Forest in Diaso, that ...

• Sundiata the Federalist 6 years ago

The main failure is the winner takes all.
    If it did not help Nkrumah, why do you think it will help anybody????
    The blame must be on the style of government and not any institution,any idiot from a party in power can iss ...

• boka 6 years ago

This time I do agree with you.Your questions need to be answered promptly.

• Kea 6 years ago

CORRUPTION

• Dessie 6 years ago

The question is why soldier supervision on mining field:what is the mining doing that need military supervision :Defense minister must answer to the nation

• Joseph Kabila Azoo_ongo 6 years ago

hmmmm those hu murdered? capitain Mahama infact their conciou will pain them till they? die

• Joseph Kabila Azoo_ongo 6 years ago

well inspector general need to explain himself with diagram for Ghanaian to understand why sended the innocent officer dere

• Akonta 6 years ago

Kwasi Pratt makes a good point....he wasn't there to fight galamsey...The Chinese have bribed all our security agencies to protect them while they destroy our country

• Obour 6 years ago

There are more questions than answers

• JH New York. 6 years ago

Kwesi, you have my support on this one.You could not have nailed it any better! Soldiers in the Country for a very long time past,to this day were/ are deployed to perform Police duties; b'cos authorities encouraged the pract ...

• Ghabay,NY 6 years ago

Wait a minute !I need some clarification here,i think we're not being told the truth.Was the captain there to prevent illegal mining or he was there to protect foreign miners?I dont get it.

• VETERAN JOURNALIST 6 years ago

KWESI THANK YOU!! I FOR ONE, BLAME THE MILITARY HIGH COMMAND FOR THE MISUSE OF OUR SOLDIERS. THE OFFICERS, WHO DEPLOYED MAHAMA TO GO AND PROTECT PEOPLE MINING IN A FOREST RESERVE MUST BE CHARGED WITH TREASON. THEY HAVE BETRAY ...

• A. Y. Azure 6 years ago

kwesi is right
    why ar u sending soldiers Dere fr wht reasons?
    de land's minister even said it earlier
    if it is nt true,den dey shd invite de DCE to investigate him
    All de illegal miner's in Ghana have obeyed de President ...

• Prince 6 years ago

Who said soldiers are fighting galamsey? anyone who doubt can visit Upper wassa forest reserve mainly WASSA SRAHA and witness 24/7 mining of illegal Chinese galamseyers being protected by GHANA ARMY what a pity.

I sometime ...