You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 06 02Article 543887

Snail seller snitched on Mahama - Police

Read Comments Comments (108)

• SGT. ANANE 6 years ago

RIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• THE MADMAN 6 years ago

i'm hardly emotional but this young family man's death is a wake up call to all of us. Africans still primitively lynch people with impunity, time to quit this barbaric act.

• KOFI AYIGBE 6 years ago

HERE IS WHY MAHAMA DIDN'T PARTNER WITH GERMANY OR DENMARK TO DESTROY OUR FORESTS AND POISON OUR RIVERS: UKRAINE HAS A SERIOUS ILLEGAL MINING PROBLEM. SOME OF THE CAUSES ARE MUCH THE SAME AS GHANA'S, NAMELY A BREAKDOWN IN LAW ...

• Ewurade Kasa 6 years ago

I have never seen anything like this before. So this is what they do to people who steal cell phones, goats, farm products and bicycles? This is what we do to suspects for stealing? So Ghanaians can do this horrific acts???

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 6 years ago

So, the story about poor Maxwell Mahama went asking for direction was fake a tale, abi? A mate of mine suffered the same fate some years back after seeing her girlfriend off at dawn. So many of us have complained bitterly abo ...

• Asante 6 years ago

Kofi Ayigbe.... You pumped some sense unto the website... I live in North America and l can attest to what u talking about. Dont mess with the American when it comes to doing things outside the law. They dont joke with lawles ...

• OYOKOBA 6 years ago

I cannot pretend to know exactly how the parents of the handsome young captain Mahama are feeling, but horrible would be one of them. I pray they find peace and comfort in the fullness of time. RIP Capt. Mahama.

But while ...

• Pasco 6 years ago

So Oyokoba you have spoken objectively patriotically, nationalistically, intelligently and wisely . You have really displayed high sense of maturity not as an academician but one who was nurtured by morally upright parents/ ...

• D DAY 6 years ago

CAN'T SEE THIS FROM THE IGP REFORM PLAN. GHANA'S JUSTICE SYSTEM NEED A GARGANTUAL TRANSFORMATION TO GAIN CONFIDENCE OF GHANAIANS

• Arab 6 years ago

Its all a lie....who catches a thief and contacts assemblyman before...huuh.....All this Shid was planned....Even in Capt.last post on Facebook was a video on the eradication on galamsey....Everybody in that town is responsib ...

• KP 6 years ago

So you guys want Ghanains to believe this ananse story, that a Northerner and a soldier buys SNAILS whiles jogging?
    What king of lazy investigations are going on by our security agencies and being lazily reoprted by our medi ...

• ASEM BIREBA 6 years ago

PREVENTABLE CASE STUDY. In Ghana, our leaders say it today but will soon forget it as time has no value in our society. This situation can happen to me or any body. Strange it happened to our Ex president son. RIP Sir Maxwel ...

• francis kwarteng 6 years ago

We say this story from the Police commander is fake, because Northners do usually not eat snail. And, how can someone jogging would be carrying snails?

Francis Kwarteng, Ghanaweb/Modernghana Columnist
    franciskkwarte ...

• Rev Edwin 6 years ago

Who ever wrote this article should go back to school. Who is a Snitch, better use proper English and stop trying to impress

• DR TRTH 6 years ago

MY FELLOW MEN BECAREFUL WHEN APPROACHING A LADY FOR WHATEVER. WOMEN CAN MAKE OR UNMAKE A MAN. ALSO PRAY TO GOD AND SOAK YOUR BODY INTO JESUS BLOOD BEFORE GOING OUT

• +233506182344 6 years ago

Take water to where you live. Drill a borehole at an affordable price today... www.pristinewaterconsult.webs.com

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

Between Capt Maxwell Mahama and the phone thief who was lynched in Kumasi, subsequent to the death of the former, who is more Ghanaian than the other. Why are Ghanaian splitting hairs over the murder of Capt Mahama and yet, t ...

• Nana Kuffuor. Abeka. La Paz. 6 years ago

Agbesi Kwesi or whatever you call yourself, it appears you don't know what you are saying? On December 7, 2016, we elected a government to run the state of affairs of this country. All this inept and useless government wants ...

• Ndc 6 years ago

Your stupid parents gave birth to a moron like you.
    God curse you and your descendants.
    You will be lynched next week.
    Idiot

• Darkoa 6 years ago

Its sad that you were also counted during census as a human being. That's what I think of you after reading your comments.

• Zebila donkey Rider 6 years ago

Mahama brought in the Chinese, mining illegally in the forest reserved strategically for the Country's future generation. 5BN soldiers were deployed for their protection.Capt. Maxwell happen to be there to do his assign job a ...

• Kweku trouble 6 years ago

Are you the donkey or the rider? Or you are a donkey called rider?

• aboa kuffuor 6 years ago

Kwasia kuffuor,your family is useless.stupid boy

• Goodmsn 6 years ago

I agree with you. We now have the most useless president in Ghana and on earth too. Nana addo and his family are a disgrace to our nation.

• Kwame 6 years ago

Agbesi KWESI you are not an Ewe cos Ewes don't Name KWESI it's rather KORSI..Foolish man from a bush tribe

• Ndc 6 years ago

And you call ewes humans ?
    Stupid aliens

• Candido 6 years ago

What did you say.The thief and the Captain who is not a thief but working in our national interest is more Ghanaian.3fuom like you.

• Kobby 6 years ago

Just listen to urself..."phone thief". He was a thief (guilty) but captain mahama was innocent.

• obeng 6 years ago

How can you make comparison between the phone snatcher to maxwell mahama,it is insane and senseless plus stupidity to make such comparison.agbesi kwesi next time think before you open your stinky big mouth

• Ojeyz 6 years ago

Agbesi I think you got your analogy wrong. Comparing a phone thief to the late capt., is like comparing Jesus to the two thieves who were crucified with him. Pls do us a favor, go back to your Korpe!!!!!!!!

• the god of 3eyes 6 years ago

kwesi is rite. one day u will be a victim and no noise will be said then in ur graves u will remember kwesi's comment. after capt. mahama . how many people have been lynched or killed bcos they were mistaken for one tin or th ...

• Jacky 6 years ago

Your case one day will be heinous than Captain Mahama. Not you alone, but your family and your decendants and generations after you will never know peace.

• PATAPAA TRUMP 6 years ago

Stealing is act of evil,in the ten commandments of the bible,it is written thy shall not steal,it is also written in the same bible thy shall not kill so both are evil,killing and stealing are evil that needs to stop but the ...

• Dan 6 years ago

Whatever you call yourself be careful

• predator 6 years ago

the assembly people want you guys in dankyera. please gather yourselves up and go there.

• King Yobo 6 years ago

We are waiting to see how the IGP will deal with Capt. Mahama killers first, then we can start to believe his words. Too much talk and little actions by our leaders.

• AAA 6 years ago

This can never be true, how will otaniba buy snail for what?.

• THE MADMAN 6 years ago

I'm Akan but mate, on this occasion please let's all be respectful at this difficult times

• MARSHALL 6 years ago

Does he eat snail? A northerner with snail? and is he jogging with the snails he bought? I think the police can do a better job than this. This story is totally different from the account his Father gave. According to the fat ...

• Kweku trouble 6 years ago

Read again.

• Konkonte 6 years ago

So where's the snail seller? Is she amongst the arrested?

• Kingsley 6 years ago

It seems Ghanaians are ignorant. The breakdown of our justice system is as the result of our incompetent ,and corrupt judges. Police do not prosecute cases judges do. Until Ghanaians start taken on the incompetent judges who ...

• Kingsley 6 years ago

Yes police are corrupt because judges are more corrupt. If the AG can't prosecute the killers of an MP . An AG who paid a criminal armed with only a written document. We have to ask ourselves if the law schools in the country ...

• Charles Higgins 6 years ago

There's more to this. Buying snails whilst jogging and do Northerners eat snails ? Something is fishy.

• Else 6 years ago

Of course some northerners eat snails. John Mahama is not a Muslim shocking! Your analysis do not stack up

• Charles Higgins 6 years ago

Eating snail is not about ones religion but cultural. Is eating dog meat in the north religious? Don't be a smartass Mr Smart!!!!

• abrewa 6 years ago

"Community policing"?

Where was the nearest police station to Oboase?

• TEE 6 years ago

IF YOU WANT FOREIGN INVESTORS PERIOD

• TEE 6 years ago

ROBBERY IN GHAHA WITH A CAPITAL PUNISHMENT. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD PUT THE MILITARY IN THE STREET AT NIGHTS TO FIGHT THESE EVIL WICKED THIEVES INCLUDING THE CORRUPT POLITICIANS PERIOD

• TEE 6 years ago

THIS IS THE DUTY OF THE GHAHA GOVERNMENT TO KEEP US SAFE PERIOD

• Ashiobi 6 years ago

that's why SDA members don't eat snails...captain due ne amanehunu..

• SKIPER 6 years ago

THE ASEMBLY MAN IS JUST STUPID AND FOOL. HOW CAN HE GATHER HIS PEOPLE TO GO AFTER INNOCENT MAN WITHOUT VERIFYING HIS IDENTITY? OR FINDING OUT WHO THE WAS BEFORE TAKING ACTION. HE DESERVE LIFE IN PRISONMENT WITHOUT POSSIBILITY ...

• PAUL GBAGBLADZA 6 years ago

I fear this Denkyira Obuasi snail seller. I used to buy cocoyam from them ooo. aooooo

• Adzo 6 years ago

Paul I guess we've to stop buying from the area. I also buy items from them. RIP to Max and every innocent victim of mob justice.

• Kay 6 years ago

Please Mr IGP, I will suggest you don't starting assuring people you are going to stop mob action against innocent people. Do you have to become an IGP before taking action? All of us Ghanaian are hypocrites.

• Daavi 6 years ago

I would like to plead with the general public to stop filming such hideous acts and circulating on social media. Society should be bold enough to come to the aid of people under such circumstances rather than watching and fi ...

• wiring90@protonmail.ch 6 years ago

AVAILABLE!!!AVAILABLE!!!AVAILABLE
    MONEYGRAM ,WESTERN UNION PICKUP IN LONDON, ANY RECEIVER NAME MONEY TRANSFER TO Any off these US banks bellow Email me let's make it happen NSWC FCU.....10K Every day Great Basin FCU BECU CU. ...

• black powers the grand master 6 years ago

black magic spell caster professor in science divine
    Doctor divindra yogi
    master of the night
    power of casting black magic out
    protectionsbuckless360@yahoo.com
    amal hamzard0244908520 invisible power
    healing power
    heal ...

• asem 6 years ago

we need a documented law to be aired in all the local languages for all the village folks to understand. The assembly wants to tell me that he has no idea who Mahama was? then it again means that the folks in the village were ...

• Mr S 6 years ago

Tell this story to a day old baby. Idiots. With this dwarf as president, Ghana is a banana state.

• aboa Mr.s 6 years ago

Mr A.move to another country.we are far more than many countries.there is crime everywhere.moron.slave boy.low IQ.Your banana family.kwasiaaa kwa

• ogyam 6 years ago

This is what happened when stupid Ghana police failed to prosecute delta 8 I blame the lackaidacisal attitude of the police for all the nosense going on. If the police allow politicians to manipulate them, the poor denied j ...

• Pasco 6 years ago

Well spoken Ogyam so there are still sensible ones in Ghana.

• KWABENa Paul bazidoo 6 years ago

The so called instant justice will go away only when the policemen stop taking money from the public when there's a case against someone and knows that he going to loose the case.if the judges and the prosecutors continue ta ...

• Latent Fire 6 years ago

Nonsense!!!!! The cover up has started. Who starts jogging at 8 am , Monday morning? We don't even do it at weekends.

• Kilo 6 years ago

Ghana Police Service is a proper noun so please accord it appropriately. @ Ghana Web, we all learn from reading. Thank you.

• Nii 6 years ago

How could someone who was jogging buy snails? It does not make sense. There are too many stories concerning this murder that do not make sense. Whoever started this story needs to have his or her head examined.

• Atta - USA 6 years ago

Mr. IGP, the media cannot do much to stop mob actions when under your management the State Attorney sets free others who commit similar crimes because they are illegal armed wing of the ruling Government in the name of Delta ...

• Koo 6 years ago

Nationwide boycott if all snail sellers. They are naturally very wicked!

• bee lee 6 years ago

so now u see the probkem JDM has put his family into?

• Yaw 6 years ago

I am sorry, I think that we should put the blame at the police since they have over the years stopped prosecutions of cases where it's very visible to prosecute. Just look at the delta force 8 issue? You chased the perpetrato ...

• Joojo Nunoo, London. 6 years ago

The problem here is illiteracy. If all these villagers are well educated, seeing a pistol by somebody's pocket will not mean he or she is an armed robber. There must be thorough education by the police in all the villages in ...

• Al 6 years ago

the society have lost hope in the police and see them us either not in for security or another group of people who are there to exhort money, taking advantage of situations

• Pasco 6 years ago

If Nana Akuffo Addo fails to punish wrong doers in this country simply because the brought him to power I am afraid this will never stop. Why do jail a cock thief and spare an armed robber. What do you expect.? It is unfortu ...

• Kwasi 6 years ago

Kwasia you are stupid fool the difference between the phone thief is that he is a thief and capt is not fool..

• Kingsley 6 years ago

I want to express my condolences to the officers family. l really do agree with Pastor Mensa Otabil that this culture of mob justice happens everyday. what justification didn't the police give when they killed innocent guy wh ...

• Joe 6 years ago

This is an after thought stories it is a planned killing. The law must deal with them and I know by the grace of God Capt. Maxwell Adam Mahama's blood will not be in vain.

• Kotakopia 6 years ago

Several such cases had happened in the long ago past and recently. What the hell did you do to prevent it. Evil opportunists parading as our protectors. May the gods handle you now and forever. Check on what happened to inhab ...

• Pasco 6 years ago

Hmmmm " S3 33ba a 3na ey)" Fellow Ghanaians have you seen how the police prosecutor has initiated the prosecution process ? Starting this way he will definitely end up in the law court with Nolle prose qui just to set the cul ...

• Dani 6 years ago

I think you should pay particular attention to what the police CID said. He said Cap. Mahama bought the snails and left it with the woman with the intention of picking it up on his way back. So he wasn't in any way going to j ...

• Harouna Attah 6 years ago

You have already fail Mr.I G.p Please.You are not good. Thanks.

• Sundiata the Federalist 6 years ago

In the developed western world,democracy means::government with the people, by the people and for the people.
    In Africa it is:: government for the people, by the political party member ...

• Blackstars fan Togo 6 years ago

How can they just kill someone like that?It means they can kill anyone anytime.This is very very disturbing.

No matter what....how or why this is not good.

Were they planning to kill him before?

• Daniel sowah 6 years ago

RIP Mahama.sorry

• willie 6 years ago

Lynching has been in Ghana for long time.when i was a child,there was a rumours about missing penis when someone greet you.People use this opportunity to killed a lot of people in Ghana and Nigeria.Police can not fight it al ...

• Vida 6 years ago

This case is so sad. This is not democracy, this pure wickedness, barbaric and ignorance. It's about time the government uses these murderers as a scapegoat to avoid this barbaric acts from happening again. Ghana needs peac ...

• Musa 6 years ago

This kind of animal behavior is not new, innocent people die every day in this manner, and Law does nothing as far as I can remember. " The squanderers plea, Our forefathers use to do the same"

• North 6 years ago

He bought snails while jogging? Funny.

• Sadique 6 years ago

police also act professionally a Case where we brought a suspect to the station u let him or her go free

• Tesco 6 years ago

if the military fail to revenge by using any possible means then civilians wil no longer fear them. They need to make sure the town become a ghost town all should b chased out since is a town of lawlessness. Missed those old ...

• Nnyura Tagorr 6 years ago

Dis story aba snail buying & al d@ to de assemblyman is total crap!!!! Hw come we dint c traces of de snails on de floor from de beginning to de end. De police shd give us a break & nt come say anything on air @ least ghanaia ...

• Alhaji Yussif 6 years ago

I am surprise at the hypocratcy of the IGP this mod attack did not start today,he has been with the police all this while,he should go to the police archives to update himself in case he has forgotten.He should stop blowing h ...

• man he did it. 6 years ago

The police themselves are worst culprits of instant justice. The shoot kill suspected robbers even after their capture.find out

• Yaman 6 years ago

The people of this community are uncivilized and very close-minded. idiot fools and uncultured beings especially their so-called chiefs and elders who saw nothing wrong with this extremely in-ward looking act. tweaaaa a group ...

• Denkyira obuase is an evil place 6 years ago

That woman is a witch. Kill her, couldn't she see the difference between a soldier man and an arm robber, how can arm robber come and buy snail. Too many illiterates in Gh. Very bad, l think the assembly man is stupid as he s ...

• Amotia JINNI Powers man+233547122212 6 years ago

You can contact me on or WhatsApp(+233547122212) Powerful spritualist, Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in ...

• Edwin NYC 6 years ago

Where is the Mrs SNAIL DEMON show her picture let's us no her please don't speak for her,Am a man but,am hurt
    So do Ghana have Jezebels in this land
    God,please forgive our sins for we do not no what we are doing Father hav ...

• Ndlovu 6 years ago

Police Officer, where is the food seller now snail seller? Who do we believe? The stories are too disjointed. What about the woman who fire to the corpse. Has she been arrested?

• Asante 6 years ago

Illitracy and stupidity in Gh is too much. Most especially in the rural areas. I once worked in a rural area in the eastern region. Anytime l get out of my door into the streets l will get on the average, 8 people asking me w ...

• Patriotic citizen 6 years ago

The captain was on selfish mission to demand money from ceased galamsey equipments from the assemblyman and the town folks when he was off duty that fateful day. However negotiations failed leading to exchange of fire and eve ...

• kwame 6 years ago

Was he jogging with the snail. Since what time did the snail seller got the assembly man's house and what time did he mobilised his boys to carry guns and what time did they start the Lynch, was the soldier standing waiting w ...

• Law of Kama 6 years ago

our Judiciary wing shd by now.know that the long absence of the Death Sentence and the WILL ofthe Executive to sign to it is the cause of this high spate of Social Injustice.
    Bring back Death Sentence and see what happen. Ev ...

• Newsite Bansah 6 years ago

If the IGP and the president are serious about bringing mob action to an end, then they don't have to look far. Arrest the delta force mob that attacked the security coordinator. And while at it, arrest Kennedy Agyapong for s ...

• Ad 6 years ago

Ghana needs an emergency number for policemen plus policemen stop collecting money from people or this will not stop

• Paa Kwesi in the Bronx 6 years ago

Nana Akufo Addo and his henchmen must face retributive justice by the military
    To uphold national security, Nana Akufo Addo and NPP must face retributive justice by the military. National security is a measurable state of th ...

• In fact beat them before jail 6 years ago

According to the snail woman, the deceased Mahama came and paid first the snail and told her he will collect it when he returns from his jogging, but the bitch was a blood sucker witch and she called the assembly man and to h ...

• PATAPAA TRUMP 6 years ago

Build military base near around obuasi area to curb act of indiscipline I think 2nd unit of school of jungle warfare will be ideal.

• Sansan 6 years ago

What is the Army of today made of, biriiii! Boys organize , this village should never be inhabited by any dangerous animal. Look, dam u police payin dam u Mr President, we can charge the political situation in Ghana if the n ...