You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 05 15Article 537703

Detention of Aisha Huang; A case of rule of law or hypocrisy

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Kwadwo 6 years ago

What is your point here? Release this lady because in your warped mind she is a small fish? Say that to the people living around the rivers and streams she has polluted. What a moron

• Fireman 6 years ago

You have a point about how we're hard done by by foreign investors because of our stupid, greedy and or ignorant reps who sign these contracts with the so-called multi-nationals, but please, for your own sanity, because our b ...

• Ghana Paaaa this? 6 years ago

Well said my brother. Catch the big thieves and the smaller ones. We are not supposed to be poor but we are poor due to our selfish leaders.

• John 6 years ago

You are the most stupid person ever to write an article on Ghanaweb.Fool,a big fool. Do you really care about the destruction of our enviroment and the pollution of our rivers? What a jerk.

• COUNSELOR 6 years ago

Very interesting perspective from the writer. I strongly believe he is perfectly right. Not should ONLY SHOULD small scale galamseys be prosecuted but also the multi national companies that operate on a larger scale.

Yes, ...

• SMART FREMPAH, UK 6 years ago

I can't believe that you are a journalist. Journalist like you shouldn't be given space. Do two wrongs make a right? If the CEOs of bigger mining corporations are siphoning off our resources does it give a right to let go ...

• Nack 6 years ago

It is an exercise,and the first step to take. You people talk about unemployement,so do you think that in the forest only galamsay could be the alternative result to unemployment or just for quick money? in other part of the ...

• Saint mark 6 years ago

Mr.Journalist,i want u to do this reseach;findout the most resoureful country in the world.Class one pupil will not even support the activities of galamsey operators.Why are speaking as if you are not Ghanaian.Your children a ...

• Nii 6 years ago

Garbage

• Kofi Ameko 6 years ago

Thanks for your piece

• Joe Pee 6 years ago

From a corrupt mind trying to politicise a national issue. So you go solve the MNC problem then? What are you doing about it?

• na gbewa 6 years ago

for those who turn to agression, abuses befor the read here again is the writers mouth cleaned with chewing sticks: . . . "For example, Gold Fields was able to get ratification from the parliament of Ghana after the concessio ...

• Efo Kuzabge 6 years ago

So how much did this Chinese woman pay you to write this bvllsh*t?

• papa 6 years ago

He must show evidence then

• coolmann 6 years ago

Please your brain is too low,to talk about this issue

• Salifu 6 years ago

Who paid for this stupid article to be written. We don't need gslamsey in Ghana. Ghana has survived for centuries without Gslamsey. For centuries Ghana wadcalled the Gold a Coast . But the goldcwad not mined to destroy the na ...

• Gideon Alungi 6 years ago

You see, all the people calling for ban of galamsey are Art students who never read science in school. Science will tell you do not solve problems adhocly, our independence fighters did same mistake and chased the white man a ...

• Nii Aryee 6 years ago

Brother Gideon, where are you from?You can NEVER be a Ghanaian nor for that matter a good citizen. Additionally you need to go back to school - it is Chinese not Chanise, fly away not flee away, your phone not you phone, the ...

• BERNARD...0572174551 6 years ago

1.Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
    2.Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.

3.Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.

4.Enhances Weight loss.
    5.It reduces ageing process helpi ...

• Skippy 6 years ago

Good write up...

• JAGUAR 6 years ago

The prisons are opened to everyone my brother go there and bring her out.Was it Nkrumah's idea for water bodies to be destroyed?Keep quiet if you have nothing better to offer in moving the nation forward

• ABI 6 years ago

Whoever you are, thank you for having the courage to say the truth.Years back , a cousin of mine got a job (well paid) with one of the official mining firms.
    After three days going round,Tarkwa,Obuasi,etc. he came running ba ...

• Jato P 6 years ago

You are unpatriotic. Are you suggesting that we should allow galamsey to continue because the big mining companies are ripping us off? Let us stop the galamsey then we can turn our attention to the mining giants and begin to ...

• Kwame Togbei 6 years ago

Hello Jato P;
    Yours is a sensible article.

However, I suggest that both galamsey operations and the multinationals are dealt with simultaneously and with priority. Both are seriously damaging our glorious country.

• Kwabena 6 years ago

Very true..... and all I will say is Ghana parliament has fail us very big.... no need to have such a useless parliament.... loot and share government both ndc and npp from so they get their share from destroying Ghana land i ...

• PADG 6 years ago

The report gold story is 3000 years and when the Phoenicians were coming here 700 years ago did we destroy our water bodies. Obuasi mine has been running for 120 years non stop but we have not destroyed any water body so thes ...

• Joe 6 years ago

For how long can galamsey employ the youth? lt is temporal and not permanent job.

You shld rather advice the youth to quit from galamsey. most of them are also dying.
    Nana Addo, thank u for banning gala.

• Kwesi Mikael 6 years ago

No, Jaguar it was not Nkrumah's idea that water bodies were destroyed. however AGC long before and during his time was polluting the Jimmy river that flows into the Offin river to join Pra. one could smell mercury & cynide fr ...

• Bravo 6 years ago

You're a fool,galamsey is illegal.Period

• kobii. china 6 years ago

This is total hypocrisy

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 6 years ago

....THINKING! You are a sad loser if you cannot realise that this Aisha woman making only $1.5 Million in her few illegal short years in Ghana has caused more environmental damage to our forests, cocoa/food producing farms an ...

• A POLLUTION FREE ENVIRONMENT! 6 years ago

Very interesting perspective from the writer. I strongly believe he is perfectly right. Not should small scale galamseys be prosecuted but also the multi national companies that operate on a larger scale.

Yes Ghana has to ...

• Fatawu Iddrisu 6 years ago

I wonder why some good citizens should defend other citizens whose aim is to destroy environment for personal gains?

• Atopa tw3 6 years ago

This aisha should expose all the men sexing the chinese women

• Powerful spritualist +233547122212 6 years ago

This is a man who can bring back your life about all your spiritual problems spiritual diseases spiritual attacks problems madness child Barrens or you want to get quick riche search for positions and many more call for all h ...

• Sammy Tuga 6 years ago

What do you mean? Aisha Hwang disrespected our laws with impunity. When government decided to give three weeks grace for all to stop 'galamseying' she alone defied it and dared the consequencies. Did you expect the governmen ...

• Joe Inkala 6 years ago

I agree with the writer of the above article. Ms A Huang is being used as a scape goat. Many Ghanaians r in the gala business with her n r hiding. Why should she suffer alone while the big guys n chiefs r having their freedom ...

• ME MAN NTI 6 years ago

who detained her not the court of the land? In fact ndc are damn crazy with this their defeat,if we don't find medication for their kpokpogbligbli attack they will start going nude. The court of the land is hypocrite by det ...

• PAUL GBAGBLADZA 6 years ago

She is remanded to assist police in their investigations. Sooner or later, she would be released.

• koo 6 years ago

What is your point here idiot ain't u ashamed

• Amoako 6 years ago

I think you have lost your job with this Chinese woman ..sorry my brother go join help plant trees on that destroyed land OK

• Ghanaman 6 years ago

The comparison is not realistic. You can not lump a multinational corporation that legally invest and exploit natural resources together with these Chinese scavengers who bring nothing but come under unscrupulous guises, pro ...

• Nana Asenso 6 years ago

What is your point? Do you just delight in being called columnist on Ghana web or you are just being stupid?

• SIMPLY GEORGE 6 years ago

Your senseless comparison is quite testimonial to the fact that you surely don't sleep on a pillow and has affected your brains. The difference between giant legal mining companies and a chinese prostitute illegal miner is ...

• Samuel azumah 6 years ago

I think govt should let go the lady.we must not allow this again.the chinish govt must be told to won their citizens against the destruction of our wster bodies.

• Sid usa 6 years ago

Witches n wizards support nation wreckers cause they only tips for their selfish ends .there r people who don't far leaving for today a quarter of ogoguro or bottle of beer plus one meal is sufficient n enough to sell even t ...

• Frank 6 years ago

Garbage garbage. Then we can justify robbery also....since it is also form of employment

• West 6 years ago

Do you think you can go to China or Nigeria and galamsey? How stupid are we the Ghanians to allow all these to go on in the country.

• George Augustus 6 years ago

The galamsey must stop now as backed by most Ghanaians in support of the governments initiatives this is purely national issue and please no Npp Ndc Ghana first yes the multinationals are exploiting most of our natural resour ...

• budha 6 years ago

foolishman

• Atopa tw3 6 years ago

Ayariga adi this chinese woman yi saaaa abr3, atopa no ny3 easy o

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 6 years ago

BY THE WAY HAS AISHA COMMITED MURDER? NO
    THEN SHE SHOULD BE GRANTED BAIL!

BY THE WAY THIS WRITER EXPOSED THE COMPLICITY OF OUR LEADERS IN PILLAGING OUR ECONOMY! AS FOR THAT ISSUE I HAVE ALWAYS ACCEPTED THAT OUR LEADERS ...

• Cephas Eremong 6 years ago

The cost of lives that Asia Haung thru. her galamsey activities put at risk cannot be compared to the billions of dollars you claim that the multinational companies are siphoning. In fact i can thing far, do you prefer money ...

• KOB 6 years ago

Are you one of her Victims?

• obeng samuel kumasi 6 years ago

The writer of this article is said to have question the kind of law hear him "The arrest and detention of Asia Huang may seem as rule of law because foreign nationals are not allowed by law to engage in small scale mining in ...

• Alex sackey 6 years ago

My dear friend stop this concert

• PY 6 years ago

Excellent points!

• Hak 6 years ago

Were we not in Ghana where multinationals owned ECG for thousands of Ghana cedis electricity bills but finds it innovative and strategic to disconnect Ghanaian customers owning few gh cedis.

• Oga 6 years ago

Fool

• CHARLES 6 years ago

Oh Ghana, The British people were not good
    For Ghanians. Because of our greediness Chinese and Fulanis, Indians, Lebanese are our masters, so when we will be back to our
    Sinces. These people still dumping Ghana with th ...

• dogbe 6 years ago

its likely this writer has fuck one of these girls. or his father is ndc leader

• MP 6 years ago

I agree with your article and most people will read and judge you. The government of Ghana is simply filled with corrupt officials. They are the ones that allow all the turmoil in this nation. Aisha Hung is just a small fish ...

• Greg 6 years ago

Did you understand what the man? Sometimes, you don't have to comment when you don't fully comprehend a written article.

• Sam 6 years ago

absolute garbage.

• Darlington 6 years ago

If galasseyers decide today to also cover up the pit they dig and or treat the water they destroy and pay taxes. WILL THEY BE ALLOWED TO OPERATE???

• papa 6 years ago

Such a moron calls himself journalist, Goldfields took decades to obtain stability agreements with government of Ghana. As part of the agreement, the company is constructing the Tarkwa to Damang road, building clinics, trai ...

• 04853287949533888472 6 years ago

iducghshbnxkidjf(938irifcrhugkcskcxcfnu njflllnnfigdsfoolmhuchxuodideiywwjigbvvo