You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 05 05Article 535090

Female genital circumcision in Ghana - Part 1

Read Comments Comments (74)

• ADJOA WANGARA 7 years ago

francis kwarteng, do you bloody stupid idiot call female circumcision cultural rites?

Do you odiotic fool know the meaning of the word rite?

Stop your imbecility and go back to the class room the get some input of I.Q. ...

francis kwarteng, do you bloody stupid idiot call female circumcision cultural rites?

Do you idiotic fool know the meaning of the word rite?

Stop your imbecility and go back to the class room to get some input of I.Q., ...

• peeeee 7 years ago

Adjoa u r an ignorant idiotic fool!!get some IQ!!!he meant rites ,which is a fact! .ie practices eg north or sierra leone,,u r thinking rights!!!.ie a chosen action,,u see how stupid u look when u insult!!

• Dessie 7 years ago

That Wangara atitude is weird;i think she/he support ghat practices.Honeslt,i think they hat practices alrrady banned including tribal marks.it is inhumane practices and those commiting that crime should put to jail

• Dessie 7 years ago

Remit the textual errors pls

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

IT DEY BEE KEKE.....MUAHAHAHAAAAAA. I BEG IT WASNT ME. MAHAMA AND IBRAHIM TOLD ME THIS...

Lord Maulay’s address to the British Parliament on 2nd February 1835: "I have travelled across the length and breadth of Africa an ...

• Yaw Botah 7 years ago

Asem se be

• Tatiana 7 years ago

In 7 months, 2017 will be over. In 3-weeks, U CAN complete this book & become skilled enough to earn; learn to setup a service center easily. The next 6 months of 2017 could be productive for U, IF U INVEST NOW. There are Sma ...

• Charles Mensah 7 years ago

The black people before, we never bolder about this useless tradition
    but because of Islam tradition Africans becomes adopted.But black
    people we were fortunate because Arabs people fear to enter the forest,otherwise all ...

• Benito. 7 years ago

Adjoa,are a nothing but a small piece of shit!!!!you hypocrite! You demonized everything African,the Western world do worse things than this and it ok,right? How about transgender and stuff.Why allow your self to be mentally ...

• SMART FREMPAH, UK 7 years ago

ANIMALS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Such pictures are never downloaded or put on a website. Idiots!!!!!

• The True GhanaMan 7 years ago

FGM and tribal marks have been a disgraceful weaird traditional practice that every politician, chief, health worker, assembly member,teacher, security officer and religious leader must be shouting against at the top of the ...

• Kk 7 years ago

2017 and Ghana still doing this?

• D. Moise 7 years ago

What a nice, educative and informative piece coming from a good writer. I urge u to be writing about some of these outmoded social and cultural practices. Bravo...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

This is an important topic to the extent it is such and Ancient/Middle Age/Anachronistic practice with little redeeming value and lots of harm.

So, do we have a graphical representation of this practice as can be understo ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Great point Pro. Lungu. I think most of the area practices FGM MPs are aware of these practices and i think, they are hidden behind the curtains in the name of politics

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Dessie,
    Looks like some people would prefer it hidden.

We just visited the responsible ministry's website and found nothing on the subject.

Nothing on FGM!

The Link: www.mogcsp.gov.gh/about/departments/

The m ...

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

Thanks Prof Lungu for your timely input.

Yes, the Gender, Children and Social Protection Ministry organized a press release (2017) during which the Minister said Ghana has made substantial progress in the fight against FGM ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

We have powerful set of nutritional supplement that allow u to losses a healthy weight and maintain a flatten tummy with no side effect...#CONTACT.0572174551
    Burn fats at tummy,
    * arms,
    * waist and other place where exc ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

For God sake i thought these things ate banned in ghana

• fact man.on may 5:2017:10:45 7 years ago

and any one who ll inherit his uncles property must be castrated for ever. is a crime skilling form offans. bad atitude

• VOICE 7 years ago

I date a Muslim Lady who is in this situation.The first day b4 she undressed she
    told me she doesn't have feelings and don't
    enjoy sex.Before the morning came I eliminated all these set back and I am turning her on all the ...

• Agape 7 years ago

Islam doesn't mandate FGM, and it is not a Muslim practice. It's a tribal and cultural practice.

• TIME WILL TELL 7 years ago

STYLE PRIMITIVISM PERIOD

• TIME WILL TELL 7 years ago

PERIOD

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

See who is talking about primitiveness. Is fgm worse than beheading innocent people to bury dead people? When it comes to primitiveness your ethnicity is number I (one), no other ethnicity comes close. Stupid fool!!!

• Alibaba 7 years ago

Anything bad is the three northern regions? Why not just let's us have our independent. Fuck ya all

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

The female genital mutilation practise is nothing but to open the pussy to outsmart their men for cheating.They have make the pussy hole big for all size of cock penetration without detection.Who do they think they are foolin ...

• Benito. 7 years ago

Haha haha,funniest comments.My brother where are you getting your facts from?? I know it's not good practice though.But can someone please give us the truth behind it.Lets not demonize everything African because the Western w ...

• Nana Yaw (Ash Town) 7 years ago

You people are wicked and fulls. Idiots like animals.

• Tekonline.org 7 years ago

Hey Frankie, sorry to interrupt the all-important FGM debate.

Please go to the link below and give us an in-depth analytical response. I suspect there is more to the story:

sil.ghanaweb.com/r.php?id=14704204&thread=1470 ...

Hi Bro,

Long time, long see (or hear).

Anyway you have not digressed at all. I have read the SIL piece, an issue I have consistently raised in many of my articles.

Also Selassie Ameko did not stray far from the histo ...

• Tekonline.org 7 years ago

Thanks for bringing my attention to that great Oxford luminary. Will certainly listen to the podcast.

Another factor that seems to confound our understanding of the universe is the human brain itself. We are severely limit ...

I could not agree with you more.

Thanks for your great insights.

• Will Smith 7 years ago

As far as I know Dagombas and many other tribes in the north dont practice FGM. Did you care to ask for reliabl info about which tribes have this practice? You are noting but Half-baked academic.

• Aziamadjie D Richard 7 years ago

So when will people get to know that this act is a stupid one,pls allow the girls to have fan wen having sexual inter course because girls cannot be like ordinary wood wen having sex.So pls let educate the country and our nei ...

• Hajara mohammed 7 years ago

My daughter is a class 4 pupil. You can imagine my shock when she came home asking me about fgm. I couldn't answer because she was too young ( 8 years) I followed her to school. After my complains, the head teacher called in ...

• Bbb,Mahama remains a thief. 7 years ago

Ntafour is at it again .

• Will Smith 7 years ago

Human sacrifice a barbaric act that still happens in Ashanti and so if you want human skulls for sale, go to Kumasi and it easy tio find. Also be careful or else your head might be harvested and added to the pile of skulls

Will Smith, get your fact correct, human skulls are used only in the Volta Region for primitive rituals.

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

Management of Ghanaweb should be censored for the lack of decency and human dignity. What is the significance of
    showing the graphic depiction of FGM by these twerps at Ghanaweb.

Journalism in the country has indeed go ...

Dear Brother Kwabena Yeboah,

Please understand that I never attached any picture to my article (which I sent to the editor).

You can confirm this from the editor (akoto@ghanaweb.com, editor@ghanaweb.com).

Perhaps yo ...

It appears you did not read my comments my brother. Your article on FGM was on point and very much so, but I was appalled and very much revolted with the image posted besides your it.

Who wants to look at that image. It is ...

My friend Francis, are you a journalist? You are not a journalist by any stretch of the imagination. You are a blogger, that is what you are so please take no offense of my last paragraph.

That is ok.

That was why I used the word "perhaps" in reference to your last paragraph.

You should read my original/first response to you again.

Thanks Brother.

I wonder under which tree, that illiterate uneducated cunt kwarteng learnt his Arabic!
    ...in reference...???

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Kwabena Yeboah,
    Yes, it is a painful sight, isn't it?

Sure, that is one aspect of the culture that needs radical change, (i.e., modernization), if you will.

But, we hope you are not losing it. You neglected to provide ...

• Will Smith 7 years ago

Idiot kawateng, no nothern tibe practices FGM. You Ashantis can talk about behaeding people to bury with your chiefs

I will not dignify this gibberish with a response because as I know the chasm between you and cognition is so wide.

This is what I wrote:

'Management of Ghanaweb should be censored for the lack of decency and human dign ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Pray, tell us, smart one!

Explain your "gibberish", then:

"Any idiot with pen and paper in hand, or a laptop computer calls himself a journalist".

This is what I wrote:

'Journalism in the country has indeed gone to the dogs. Any idiot with pen and paper in hand, or a laptop computer calls himself a journalist'.

Which part of this descriptive grammar do you not und ...

I believe we can have a genuine, healthy discourse without insults.

Brother Kwabena Yeboah,I think referring to Prof Lungu as "bozo" is simply not right. I think it is out of place.

Let's have a healthy discourse devo ...

Francis, why should my brief comment to your article solicit the sarcasm with which Lungu responded? Only a bozo will attack me on what seemingly is an innocuous attack on journalism in our country.

I do not know what you ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

We are merely exposing some of your contradictions!

And you are evading and insulting this "bozo", you the "non-bozo".

So, you are now all in that corner besides yourself with our "sarcastic flavour". You failed to ad ...

• Kweku 7 years ago

I saw this late but let me add my voice to Francis' appeal: let us criticize each other but devoid of direct and/or indirect insults.

Please...

There are some commentators on ghanaweb who have distinguished themselves ...

• Kofi Small 7 years ago

Lungu, you cunt! how can you pretend to be a saint where as you are konow here on Ghanaweb to be a dirty creature?

Lungu, you cunt!...how can you pretend to be a saint where as you are konow here on Ghanaweb to be a dirty creature, a tribal and partisan nonentity?

• A Concerned Mother 7 years ago

Where is your support for this statement and what does it have to do with the practice occurring in Ghana: "Finally, we should also want to make it clear that female genital mutilation was and still is practiced among whites, ...

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

It is true that fgm is practiced here in the West, but it is not practiced by the locals (the whites) but by the foreigners, and in most cases the victims are taken to their parents place of origin (mostly African countries).

Did you check out the references?

Please go back and read the first three paragraphs in context again!

Then read Sarah Rodriguez’s book “Female Circumcision and Clitoridectomy in the United States: A History of a M ...

• Asempaye 7 years ago

This article is a total misinformation.
    FGM is NOT representative in the three northern regions as the article is implying. No doubt FGM does occur some where in the north and in the Zongo communities cross the country. My q ...

• Dr. Otto 7 years ago

People must simply see both Kwarteng and Lungu as stupid FOols! ...They are really idiots!

I will not do that simple homework for you.

Do you have a computer? If you do, a simple Google search will give you a list of all the ethnic groups you are looking.

I have a list right here before but I will not give it ...

The dirty illiterate English grammatical from the bloody francis kawrteng: ..."I have a list right here before but..." OMG! what a shame!

Author: francis kwarteng
    Date: 2017-05-06 05:35:10
    Comment to:MISINFORMA ...

• Poor researcher 7 years ago

Please mention one tribe that practice FGM in NR.please it is kotokoli people staying in NR who practiced it and not Not us. Also some upper region people practice it.please leave NR out of this accusations.Do proper research ...

• OBREMPON N.Y USA 7 years ago

The GOVERNMENTS OF COUNTRIES that
    PRACTICE this PRIMITIVE CUSTOM
    must hurry up to STOP IT ENTIRELY. It
    DISGRACES the continent of AFRICA.

• Benito. 7 years ago

Living abroad doesn't make one knowledge,the whites do worse things and it's ok,right ? transgender and all the stuff is not bad,right.Stop the ignorance and the interiority.

• KODJOE 7 years ago

When will society come to terms with the dangers associated with this dangerous cultural barbarism on females. We need more writers on the subject to change mindsets.

• Nye Bro 7 years ago

And a northerner became a whole president but could not take concrete steps to end this primitive and stupid practice....Only agyimifo) will practice this animalistic rite...fools!!!

• Agape 7 years ago

Do some research and find out the extent of the practice across Africa and across the globe, and you wouldn't be politicizing the practice and insulting "northerners". Read my post below. You are supposedly a 'southerner'. Th ...

• Agape 7 years ago

The writer says FGM in Ghana is practised in the "three Northern regions and the Brong-Ahafo Region". FGM is not really a regional practice, but a TRIBAL/CULTURAL practice. In Ghana it is practised predominantly by some tribe ...

It is as though you never read the article or that you read it but, somehow, not closely or carefully.

You don't even see you are confirming the substance of the part I wrote about FGM in Ghana.

Read your comments agai ...

• joe seaman Tadi 7 years ago

PRIMITIVE PRATICE

• Akugre Àmos 7 years ago

Dis people are insulting God.
    N God will punish them all