You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 03 15Article 518827

Ghana has a founder

Read Comments Comments (60)

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Long time, Ekow Nelson

True, Ghana has a Founder.

And Kwame Nkrumah is the Founder of Ghana

READ: "...The current geographic borders of Ghana that integrate parts of what was Trans-Volta Togoland for example were neg ...

• IDRIS PACAS 7 years ago

Long live Nkrumah's Ghana.

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

First off, this particular author is not a member of any political party or organization in Ghana. He is rather non-aligned as far as his political persuasion is concerned.

It should be clear to those who visit Ghanaweb by ...

It's been long but I am now returning to Ghanaweb.

I would like you give me some info. So, do well to link up via my mail or phone.

I surely will.

Some commentators have been using my name and email address on Ghanaweb.

So I wrote that article I sent your to assure my readers that I was/am not the one insulting/harassing others in the comment secti ...

• Be wise 7 years ago

Realistic account of the whole independence history of GH.

Amazingly, Nkrumah being an nzima knew far better about this Ghana empire thing. The Nzulezo (those people living on stilt water) people, a sect in Nzima, have the ...

A masterpiece Prof Lungu,

As far as I am concerned, Ekow Nelson has written some of the best articles on Nkrumah here on Ghanaweb.

As a matter of fact he has never disappointed.

Bravo Ekow.

Keep up the good work!

• Afrikatu Kofi 7 years ago

Dear Brother Ekow, this is beautiful,powerful,wonderful and convincing presentation in honour and defence of the OSAGYEFO.Myself I am a PanAfrikanist and Nkrumaist beyond compare but with deeper understanding of life racial d ...

And that's Nkrumah

Please go to Ghanaweb and read all the four parts of the series:

"Greedy Komla 'Agbdli' Gbedemah and his rascal side-kick Kofi Abrefa Busia!"

Thanks.

• YAW 7 years ago

Egypt exited as a country long before the Arabs came and settled there in AD637 yet Saad Zaghloul is considered as the founder of independent Egypt. Nyerere for Tanzania, Kenyatta for Kenya, Sun Yat-Sen for China, Jimmu for J ...

• YAW 7 years ago

Egypt existed

Well said.

• Nana Ansah 7 years ago

When these history revisionist talk about UGCC they act as though the UGCC had existed ages before Nkrumah joined them. The fact is the UGCC was formed in August 1947 and Kwame Nkrumah joined them ONLY 5 months later in Decem ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Marvelous!

READ: "...They were all riding on the back of Nkrumah but when trouble occurs these scaredy-pants put all the blame on Nkrumah...".

WE SAY: 'Nuff said.

• Nana Ansah 7 years ago

Ain't no stopping the TRUTH. The TRUTH will always prevail and have the last word. Can I get a Hallelujah! Amen!

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 7 years ago

GHANA HAS A FOUNDER AND IT IS KWAME NKRUMAH! WHY IS IT THAT SOME PEOPLE DO NOT WANT TO HAVE A LEADER ? THEY CAN NOT EVEN SERVE GOD SINCE THEY ARE OPPOSED TO
    THE CONCEPT OF LEADERSHIP, IT IS NOT STRANGE THAT THE PEOPLE RE ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

1.Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
    2.Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.
    3.Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.
    4.Enhances Weight loss.
    (0572174551)The Unique thing about ou ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

RID OF YOUR STRETCH MARKS, SCARS, ACNE, DARK SPOTS,(0572174551) DRY SKIN, SUNBURNS, RASHES & OTHER SKIN
    RELATED PROBLEMS USING OUR NATURAL PRODUCTS .0572174551
    ALSO GET PRODUCTS THAT BRINGS OUT THE BEST OF YOUR SKIN'S COMPL ...

• Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr., Ph.D. 7 years ago

The man who gave us our identity as Ghanaians. Period!

• Be wise 7 years ago

---Realistic account of the whole independence history of GH.

Amazingly, Nkrumah being an nzima knew far better about this Ghana empire thing. The Nzulezo (those people living on stilt water) people, a sect in Nzima, have ...

• Nana Ansah 7 years ago

You stupid, stupid Ahootan Rat who feeds on hear say, post truth and off late on alternative facts. The truth will always surface no matter how long you try to surpress it You can recycle your falsehood many times over but ...

• Be wise 7 years ago

Thumbs up!!

Excellent!

Where have you been Nana Ansah?

• Nana Ansah 7 years ago

Well, Francis (Nkrumah's English namesake) I have been hanging on in there and watching you guys from the fringes or if you may permit like a coach on the sidelines for the good job you have been delivering on the field.

Your are a billion times right.

Destroying the legacy of Nkrumah is like destroy Ghana and Africa literally. That is impossible.

Neither humanity nor any person can do that.

The revisionists will never accomplish ...

• YAW 7 years ago

You can stick your bull droppings either in Asiakwa or Kyebi.A shameless sophist and a complete fawning underling with no brain.The Lumpen and Ill-starred J B Quisling Danquah could not give the Akyems an identity,needless to ...

• Fatima 7 years ago

Nkrumah is dead with his ideology that's why his party couldn't win a single parliamentary seat. Nana Konadu performed better than his party.

• Joseph 7 years ago

If we don't have the likes of Ekow Nelson who yearn for the truth, some greedy and selfish politician would one day advocate that we celebrate Atta Yi as one of Ghana's founders!! Thanks Ekow!! History absolves the Worthy!! N ...

• dee 7 years ago

massa ghana has no founder, because we are greedy n selfish in our ambitions. how can kwame nkrumah be the founder, i believe he was part of the struggle. others were also part n we must give credit to dem all. common logic

• Be wise 7 years ago

Someone has brought you facts, and you overlook it just to say that: despite the facts I believe otherwise...

By your logic then Akuffo Addo is not the only president of Ghana currently because he had a lot of people who ...

• fact facter on Feb 15'2017'14'48 7 years ago

Mr dee. without Kwame Nkrumah we were not going sucseed they wouldn't be any independent. why did Kwame Nkrumah separated from them? they were using golgcosters for their gain. they were not interest in independent. why do th ...

• Altruism 7 years ago

Although the British has colonised us, but they have stopped the Ashanits for killing Ghanaians. Nkrumah reddemd us from the ritualist and the colonist.

Ekow's piece is arguably the best article on Ghanaweb today.

Thanks Ekow!

• Be wise 7 years ago

Best ever...Destroying all the ghettos the haters love to hide

• YAW 7 years ago

Ahoofe is in a "fit of apoplexy" now!

Ahoofe is like a child.

99.9% of the time he does not know what he is talking about. In fact he does not know what time it is! As simple as that!

Ahoofe is not a serious guy, you know!

I therefore ignore him like a p ...

• YAW 7 years ago

The price for pedantry is perpetual vigilance. Ignoring the ignoble scholars is not an option we can afford. We have to fight them at every conceivable angle. Bear in mind, Trump lied,lied and lied till he got there.And he is ...

• KB 7 years ago

Actually, all of Ekow's articles are always well written and well argued. You don't have to agree with all he says but he says whatever he wants to say well.

Always a delight to read.

• YAW 7 years ago

Scholarly written. Extraordinarily lucid and factual account delivered by a man who knows his onions. Bravo! Ekow Nelson. Challenging the routine concealment and distortion of important information about our history is a good ...

• Akonoba 7 years ago

Different perspective on a political facts. Ghana has no founder per your political narratives.

• mawutor 7 years ago

Indeed, Kwame Nkrumah is a moderator that negotiated TVT to joined Ghana after their struggles to independence we have stay long with you, played no parts towards your adventures and realized to reclaims our Trans-volta Tog ...

• Bawah 7 years ago

This is this first Time I have read such honest,truthful, sound n factually historical piece from aN intellectual without contradictions. Thank u very much. I such this inform should be put to book. I was a history student bu ...

• Robert Djan 7 years ago

This Nkrumah' Ghana founder? How did he died?

He was chased away by Ghanaians and he died shamelessly in another man Country.

Ghanaian.s should be ashamed of them-self and stop this Nkrumah, Nkrumah.

How did Nkru ...

• be wise 7 years ago

Dummies like you don't like facts but fables... Nkrumah even though exiled, he was invited by the first President of Guinea to be the substantive vice of Guinea (can you imagine how good Nkrumah was to be invited by another h ...

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

The evolution of this nation from the colonial era to the present time only indicates that we have heroes who contributed to our unique travel on this journey culminating in independence and the renaming of the Gold Coast as ...

• Nuba 7 years ago

A well researched and outlined piece but the it is my humbly conclution,just from reading your article,that Ghana indeed has founding fathers who,at different times and to different extends,played their own part to Ghana's bi ...

• FREE EDUCATION 7 years ago

KWAME NKRUMAH, undisputedly is yhe founder of Ghana. no one can take that away from him simple.

• chief vandal 7 years ago

NO DOUBT ABOUT THIS.IT IS ONLY THE REVISIONIST IN THE NPP WHO DONT KNOW THIS

• Prof. 7 years ago

If he was soo good and our founder, then why did we chased Nkrumah out of Ghana to died shamelessly Guinea even we never allowed his body to sent back home from Guinea?

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

So-called "Big Six" Myth Shatter

READ: So, isn't it rather breathtakingly hypocritical that while the U.G.C.C. leadership washed its hands off the 1948 riots and blamed Nkrumah for the disturbances that led to their arrest ...

• kootse 7 years ago

Spot on! what's indeed missing is the underlying fact that the struggle up until independence had subjective antecedents which are unfortunately summoned by the elitist to lay claim as the founders of the nation.

Nkrumah n ...

• Baby 7 years ago

Go, brother go!!

• Kofi Nyante 7 years ago

Your assertions make no sense. The one who suggested the name Ghana and the one who actually adopted it, who get's the credit? Yes, Nkrumah is/was the first President, but the founder of Ghana. Ghana was "founded" by England. ...

Did you read the article?

Danquah was not the first to suggest the name "Ghana"!

Please revisit the article for the sake of your mental health!

Thanks.

This is a stupid argument!!!

• Joseph boateng 7 years ago

some ghanians are fool if not the big six nkrumah won't have been in ghana,why is it that some so called interleturals are so ignorent. some politicians are usring nkrumah name to destroy the country.all cpp people are peo ...

• Joseph boateng 7 years ago

you can not write the history of Ghana without Dankwah,Ako adjei,lamprey and others,nkrumah brought a lot of division in our motherland because he was a foreigner from Liberia during nkrumah's rule only foreigners like Liber ...

• ashanti apegirl 7 years ago

they went by road via lorries!

• NYANSA MUSA KANKAM 7 years ago

Objective, factual, remarkable archival research - that's Ekow Nelson!

Thanks for this wonderful, well-researched, incisively-argued, truly enlightening article.