You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 02 27Article 512764

Haruna Iddrisu cannot even spell “Dankwa,” as in “Addo-Dankwa”

Read Comments Comments (131)

• Pot 7 years ago

prof, you know in terms of academic work you can't compare yourself to haruna. I beg stay away from this comparison please

• Stoway 7 years ago

What is so important about DANKWA to be spelled right click or wrong? This man is losing it. If he, Okoampa or whatever the name is is so good, Nana would not have settled for Mahama's former Ambassador as Cabinet minister.

• Lucy 7 years ago

Mr writer ,give me a break.What has the spelling of Dankwa got to do with governance and leadership?Haruna has won the admiration of al lot of people including the president.Did u listen to theSONA.You always write negative ...

• D DAY 7 years ago

MIND YOU IT WAS Dr KWAME NKRUMAH WHO WAS DESIROUS TO BRIDGE THE GAB - NORTERNERS/SOUTHERNERS EDUCATION. NORTHERN LEADERS HAVE NEVER SHOWN THE INTEREST.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

Talking from your stomach

• Lori 7 years ago

A foolish writer.

• Isaidit 7 years ago

Are you referring to that big nose fake know it all?I know him from his secondary school days and I can assure you that he is not even a pebble when we talk about intellectuals.Chew and pour is not a mark of intelligence.Anyb ...

• nana yaa 7 years ago

Shame unto you selfish man. If you know him from school days he must not grow? Cry your own cry , the man has made his own mark and you are jealous and envious of him. A BIG SHAME UNTO YOU!!!!!!!

• T T 7 years ago

DANKWA IS NOT IN ANY DICTIONARY SO WHAT IS THE BIG DEAL. THINK GHANA

• Kaka 7 years ago

I warned you to stop the attacks on Hon. Haruna but you keep attacking him without no fault .

Normally, MPs have PAs who draft all statements for MPs , it might happened they , the spelling mistake occurred as a result of ...

• Bea 7 years ago

Well said dear. Whenever you see a person who lists all his accolades to attract attention, then he is suffering from self-esteem. When he does that and attacks someone, then envy and stupidity are involved.

• SIMPLY GEORGE 7 years ago

At this modern times when the queen and her subordinates even speak modern refined english, this villager called " Okoampah " continually torments civilised intellectuals with his colloquial english. How many Russian names c ...

• Edem 7 years ago

I suggest you get a good grip of issues. One isn't expected to know how to spell every name, but that of the President must be known by all, especially a politician like haruna. And on that point about Obama's speeches: you o ...

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

We say Haruna Iddrisu, a supposed cattle headsman who has made it to the Parliament of the Republic of Ghana, has tried his possible best. Therefore if he is not in the position to spell “Dankwa,” as in “Addo-Dankwa," l ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Kwateng writtes from Alexandria Virginia not MarylandAlexandria; home of destitute people

• fact facter on Feb 29'2017:09:10:22 7 years ago

kwarteng you are a forest man. cows and Goat eater is beter than monkys eater" and we dont eat totobi snells kokunos"it not because of some sensible Akans i would remind you many things about you akans"and you are not beter t ...

• TK 7 years ago

This is an insult to our Northern brothers pls care for yourself. You people use Northerners to win this election and now you have the courage to insult them.Bawumia should listen well.

• Bertha 7 years ago

Do you now understand why some of you will continue to be ignorant of issues.... politicians have the right to criticise each other, after all that's their game.. you and I sit back and spew rubbish over them.. Ursula used th ...

• nana yaa 7 years ago

Shame unto you all!! Yes he made it to parliament and you are jealous and envious of him !! Ohh the Lord rebuke you all.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

Alonto

• Togbe 1 7 years ago

This man is a big idiot. What is wrong if an mp can't spell the president's name. Is that our priority now as a nation. Is this the wisdom of the so called intellectuals that we always hear about. I know so much better than m ...

He is a real coward who has nothing to do but to use Ghanaians names as English words in dictionary.what a joke

• Nana Yaw Danso 7 years ago

This PhD idiot should give us a break. In which dictionary can you find the the right spelling of the name? Who cares about wrong spelling of the name?
    I wonder what this fool teaches. His students are being intellectually ...

• Babs 7 years ago

I think you dont no what you are saying can you compere yourself to Hon Aduna

• AZAA 7 years ago

Okoabon3 is full of hatred and jealous of the young, eloquent and promising MP in whom the president himself have seen him as somebody with a very bright future. So Okoabon3 should go and have an early shower

• James Osei Kofi 7 years ago

That is the problem

• Akuffo Bawumia 7 years ago

Utter nonsense . I won't waste time reading your articles any longer. You don't make any sense. What is wrong if the name cannot be spelt.

• pablo 7 years ago

And President Akufo-Addo cannot spell Accra. He spelt it ACCRC

• Buju B 7 years ago

Dankwah or what ever it seems to be spelt has got nothing to do with English language.Is Dankwa an English name?.Instead of to think abut the numerous promises you promised Ghanaians you are there thinking of spellings of ...

• Bobobribri 7 years ago

IS THIS A CRIME, IF HE CANT SPELL DANKWA SO WHAT? IS SPPELLING DANKWA PUT FOOD ON PEOPLES TABLES OR GIVES CONSTANT ELETRICITY. SOO TRIVIAL.

This is normal in human life,can you spell some northern names?lets be honest and stop this behavior of racism

• dak 7 years ago

were you speaking English Language? my child in primary six can write better. idiot

• ODUMJA 7 years ago

And for you all NDC idiots who've commented on this Dr. Ahoofe musings , here is a thought for you:
    If a deranged person came for your clothes in an outside bath house while bathing and you rushed out naked after him in an ...

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

So we won't rush out naked after you. Deranged odumja.

• fair lady 7 years ago

This article is just a waste of time. You are just being pretty. Grow up and stop thinking the Npp is always right.

• Zoyah 7 years ago

I think some grandiose idiots are over using their bought PhDs in this country. Do you proof read your trash before posting them?
    "this gross exhibition lexical....".
    Does this make sense to you?

• Nanahemaa 7 years ago

Kwaseaman, you can't even spell Dagomba and you are spewing this balderdash.

• yaa 7 years ago

You are so deluded in your self-appointed professorial title. Now can u tell us how you and your prof title benefit us Ghanaians? But Haruna at least is serving in government and as mp to his people. English isn't what we nee ...

• Nii Sakaman 7 years ago

Why waste our time losers

Ghana is now back where it belongs

We are taking all regions heheeee

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Why do you guys waste your time on the garbage this uncultivated fool writes? Have you not noticed that some of us have stopped reading and/or commenting on the nonsense of this lunatic? When I saw this article I didn't even ...

• bangozy 7 years ago

prof. or wat ever u call urself i can mention a northern Ghana name 4 u n i cant spell it correctly so dont expect him to be able to know hw to spell Ashantis names correctly

• Musah Ali 7 years ago

please be wise and stop this childishness old man.

• ss villa 7 years ago

Foolish beast,what is that nauseated and subversive name you want minority leader to spell correctly: ethnocentric human pig shut up there.

• kwame peter 7 years ago

Who's this con and vagabond of a writer, that name ,is it a name one should learn to write, satanic name like that!!

• Isaac 7 years ago

Is this how useless you want to make yourself?

• same to u 7 years ago

Does he have a living job or so obsessed with his bigotry and plain stupidity. Who at ghanaweb gIves this fool space to write thelse nonsense. Brainless bigot. Is ghanaweb full bigots as well promoting this low life twep ...

• Truth 7 years ago

This is stupid. How many Akans can speak fluently any other Ghanaian language, not to speak of pronouncing names well in that language. Many others than the Akan speaking tribes are far fluent in the Akan language

• mine 7 years ago

is it his name or a part of his name?.... as3m oooo Ghana

• Wise 7 years ago

This is stupidity and utter nonsense at the highest point. So you sat down to write a whole at one a single name?I guess this is what will solve the current dumsor,fulfill the one village one dam promise.While your colleague ...

• PATAPAA TRUMP 7 years ago

You can't compare your academic brilliance to Haruna, Okoampa,Haruna is simply brilliant so just take away your madness from that gentleman ok?

• Muktadi 7 years ago

I feel pity for some one who accused Harun of wrong spelling cannot also spell Dagomba. Besides Dagomba refers to a person but not the language of the dagbon people. The language is rather Dagbani and not "dogomba" as ...

• Muktadi 7 years ago

I feel disappointed on the prof's inability to spell Dagomba correctly. Hmm even Dagomba refers to the people but not the language, the language is Dagbani

• Nyamebapa Yaw 7 years ago

Okoampa Ahootan. You are very ugly in all your comments. Stop spewing rubbish and let us plan how to survive under the hardships that this dwarf of a president is going to send us through.

• abl 7 years ago

this man is male monkey. what effect will that spelling have on our economy or ecominie?

• Reubens 7 years ago

Ahoofe spelt Dagomba wrongly "Dogomba". Too sa be, sa be.

• Hebieso Boateng 7 years ago

Prof. reserve your pronunciation of Ghanaian names for your students and journalists and news readers who cannot pronounce Ghanaian names correctly. If you have any personal score to settle with Hon. Haruna go personal. You ...

• . ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

This guy is a complete idiot. Capital fool

• Kutsii 7 years ago

Okoampa, are u a drug addict? Or just a stupid fool ? Or better still a stinking troglodyte? Kwasia npanin like u

• slash 7 years ago

A slave like you wanting to teach meaningful Ghanaians English. In Ghana you even get a job at any local firm.

I just don't understand this guy, spelling of akuffo Addos name correctly as a mark of intelligence, I don't get you at all. As I always write it seems you are an attention seeker right? Come to Ghana and do your own spelling ...

• AKAMBONGA 7 years ago

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN "QUAH" AND "KWA"? This is purely a semantic issue and not syntax. There is NO RULE in the spelling of peoples names in Ghana. So please, if you cannot do anything with your PhD, keep mute and le ...

• Hardi 7 years ago

Oh, prof .
    Mr Iddrisu is like the electric fish, don't get shocked by trying to eat it. I dought if U can remember your own birth date.
    Just shut up and keep your master class english to your self.

• Gambo Tamale 7 years ago

This is shameful! . The spelling of names is not like the spelling of English words. A name can be spelt any way you choose. I know some people who spell Kojo as kwajo, Kwodjo or even kodjo. What's the big deal if Haruna spel ...

• Kanawu 7 years ago

That huruna guy is half illiterate and an idiot. He doesn't know shit.

• Nana Baah 7 years ago

Who is the illiterate? the one who does not know that there is no tribe in Ghana called Dogomba or the one who writes Danquah for Dankwa. Remove the pin in ur eyes. Check ur article again PhD ahoofe

• T man 7 years ago

I will not waste my time to read your article. Can you spell or pronouce all names in Ghana well. If not shut up.

• mozee 7 years ago

Can the writer spell all northern names? This is rubbish.

• Mamamia - USA 7 years ago

Ahoofe Okuampa also spelt wrongly.....
    The correct spelling of the tribe of northerners is DAGOMBA/S, and not DOGOMBA/S. Fact check your spelling and come again.

• Chris 7 years ago

Prof, please stop lowering status. As far as Professors are concerned, these are trivial issues that does not matter in anyway.

• Gafaru 7 years ago

Concentrate on your Kayayei. You are too noisy.

• A.A Alaka 7 years ago

idiot! who are you to compare yourself to Hon Haruna iddrisu, your entire party is aware of him.

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Kwame, Kwami, Kuami, Koami, Kouame, Kouami, Komi, Kormi, etc so what is the hip-hop or criss-cross about name spelling?

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Dankwa, Danquah, all the same

• Wontumi Kofitia 7 years ago

Nonesence. I met this guy in the university meaning the school never knew his weakness but awarded him his degree?

• AK 7 years ago

@Yaa, I think okoampa should be the person u should backlash and not try to belittle the noble academic profession. Academics and for that matter, lecturers all over the world are reveered so much. To describe a lecturer as h ...

• AB 7 years ago

There are many people in academia who are not PhDs. And indeed there are many academics even with PhDs who are worst than illiterates by the way the conduct themselves..

• Yaa 7 years ago

I am in the academia and currently pursuing a PhD. I'm also from a long line of academicians.The point I'm making here is the utter disregard that this man gives to Haruna because he is not as learned as the writer is. Yes, i ...

• James Osei Kofi 7 years ago

Only in Ghana

• Dessie 7 years ago

I being mind bubbling how did Akuffo Addo name became:Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo Addo:Folks;think about it,isn't it funny.is it two names combined?

• AAziz Issahaku 7 years ago

Botanical names are always difficult and cumbersome to be spelled

• Truth stands 7 years ago

Idiot u think by doing this Nana Addo ll give u an appointment a be.Haruna is not ur class at all if u think Nana is a small god to u n above criticism to Haruna he is not .Get into ur rotten head. Idiot,idiot, idiot 100000 ...

• SENSE 7 years ago

"...unless he (Haruna Iddrisu) is removed from his obviously undeserved parliamentary minority leadership position soon, the National Democratic Congress would continue to wallow on the gray and sterile margins of opposition ...

• Eric 7 years ago

It is becoming an increasing carcass for most educated and so called literate Ghanaians in belittling their educational standards. Hmmm! if a child does not performed well in school; he is sure to get a rebuke but when Dady g ...

• Kofi kyei 7 years ago

the dumbest thing I have heard the whole year

• King of powers(+233547122212) 7 years ago

This is a man who can bring back your life about all your spiritual problems spiritual diseases spiritual attacks problems madness child Barrens or you want to get quick riche search for positions and many more call for all h ...

• Joey Boy 7 years ago

You are only being unnecessarily fussy about certain things. What is the news if Haruna cannot spell Dankwa correctly?At least, he is able to pronounce it properly, considering the fact that he is not of Akan origin so what i ...

• Nima boy 7 years ago

Stop smoking " WEE " it's killing you prof

• Sule Ideas 7 years ago

Foolish okoampa who hide behind the msak

• Sule Ideas 7 years ago

Foolish okoampa who hide behind the mask havery Fogoten that no matter you guys be educated you always confond R with L listen to your party gurus

• mugis. 7 years ago

please l learn u r professor, we don't have language call Dagomba.....is Dagbani.

• Freddie Re Nduom fucken dirty lies. 7 years ago

This useless Okuampa who can't afford buying a ticket to travel home, keep writing trash. Trump must deport him.

• ken 7 years ago

Terribly sad for people whom tax payers are paying should be concerned about name. Is dankwa bigger than country's business? Npp govt must fulfil their impossible promises than confusing us.

• Ari 7 years ago

Is Dankwa an English word? IDIOT

• omanbapa 7 years ago

He shd spell wat

• zakaria 7 years ago

The SONa should be written in Dagbanli not in Dagomba,Useless Phd man u claim to know better. Go back and correct that grievous mistake before attacking Haruna.Its clear that u are being mischievous and envy about the young ...

• AB 7 years ago

The guy is lambasting Haruna for his inability to spell Dankwa yet he himself spells Dagomba as "Dogomba". Dankwa was a great man but he could not be greater than the whole Dagomba ethnic group yet you don't find it importan ...

• GhanaWeb 7 years ago

Where did you earn your so called PhD and in which field? You are a disgrace to that institution and it should recall the certificate asap. Is this your research area that awarded you that PhD, then I'm sorry for you.

• Kojo 7 years ago

If you are so educated, and care much about Ghana,s history, then I want to remind you that Dagomba is the person(noun), and Dagbani is the language. I would not have expected you to know this but you want to display knowledg ...

• Ea 7 years ago

This man need to visit the mad house. Another amoaku baah. Asshol

• Nii Okine 7 years ago

Kwasia are you intelligent than my boss Harruna?

I know Haruna from Primary school to Law school. You can't compare yourself with him. A village (community college )teacher. After all is "Dankwa" is English? Look for proper things to write on and stop fooling for you are ...

• citizen 7 years ago

You analogy is invalid. Foolish man

• kwaku 7 years ago

Masa, I don't think u can spell my name. we are coming from different regions, different tribes with different languages. what's the news abt smone can't spell smone name. u shd b ashamed for writing this article.

• fact facter on Feb 29'2017:09:50 7 years ago

is dankwa Jesus name? what is the importance of knowing how dankwa? did that name somewhere else apart Ghana? so you those types who are only looking for faults of others. you are disgrace. a diaspora who can't make sense for ...

• Jango Albert 7 years ago

Was that not Akufo Addo who disgraced all with his plagiarism speech recently? You are comparing whom with the Hon Haruna Iddrisu? Kwame, you are big fool.

• ANK 7 years ago

Very stupid post, can you spell a northern family name? fool, who is dankwa?

• Abu Sulemana Dumi 7 years ago

NPP U BETTER SIT UP AND DELIVER ON THE PROMISES MADE TO GHANAIANS. ARE YOU ORGANSERS OF SPELLING "B"? WHAT HAS SPELLING OF NAME GOT TO DO WITH GOVERNANCE.? HAVE YOU NOT SEEN DUMSOR COME BACK? NPP!

• fact facter on Feb 29'2017:09:10:45 7 years ago

kwateng we now feed you with cow Beaf so stop eating monkys. their wild humans.

• Krakadii 7 years ago

Your useless and basess attacks on Haruna would not let you rise above shameless report and ghanaweb cocroch

• DANKWA 7 years ago

Why should anybody insult those of us called "Dankwa" ? What have we done? I suspect the writer is a dagomba. I lived with them and know
    how they reason.They can be brutal.The Colonialists were right when they earmarked th ...

• Ibrahim 7 years ago

I think the prof was out of his senses when he writing his piece.HARUNA has an impeccable record if you and therefore this stupid insults would do anything to him.Your academic credentials is a disgrace to both your immediate ...

• political 7 years ago

Is better to say Hmmm then to pass a comment on this "vomit". it is only a stupid bustard of your class who will make mistake and compare a stick to a knife.

• Ammonia 7 years ago

Hmmmm. See how a Phd holder defines intellectuality. I see him attacking a popular person to be relevant. For Hon. Haruna even we on the other decide politically know he is good. Find another medium to make yourself relevant

• Yakuza 7 years ago

Ghana is full of brain deads disguised as professors, doctors and what have you. Is danquah an English word? If I mention my name to this foolish PhD could he spell it? People do write the popular "kofi" as "qophi" or "cofi" ...

• Ja 7 years ago

Nonsense, and so what. What is wrong with it. Is it his own name. Concert person. This childish assertion.

• Sambuja John 7 years ago

Prof, going through your script, it makes me Wonder where you had the title. For eg exhibition lexical...does not man sense and many mistakes. Why don't you remove the perk from your eyes so you can see clearly to your neighb ...

• Son of man 7 years ago

This is stupidity.what is wrong with this?
    Is dankwa an English word?
    Madman like you

• Nurudeen (sambu) 7 years ago

Maybe next time u should organize urself well before u write or criticise others.D president is not God fr everybody to pay attention to d spelling of his name.More to d point Haruna is a northerner hu is not use to those sou ...

• KOFI BABONE 7 years ago

If someone cannot spell DANKWA what is wrong with that? Is it a dictionary word?

• BAWA ILIASU 7 years ago

PRO. 'KNOW ALL'
    I thought you are so intelligent, why do you also make this childish error?
    we do not have any ethnic group in Ghana called 'Dogomba' we only have Dagomba .

• D k Aremooley 7 years ago

A Ghanaian proffessor you don't know the language of Dagombas. You are only good at criticising and nothing else.shut up and leave Iddrisu alone. If you know come to Ghana.

• Jeff, UK 7 years ago

Thrash, without reading bcos it's waste of time and space

• sumani jabuni 7 years ago

hating is the best MP we can boast of so please if you want go and contest an elections with him and see whether you can survive after your defeat?

• Sobia 7 years ago

????you also spelt 'Dogomba' instead of Dagomba. So, who are you now?.

• Yaa 7 years ago

And so what

• Yaa 7 years ago

Is Haruna ldrisu Akan
    Fuck off

• Belladonna 7 years ago

this ain't a big deal
    once it's a noun, it's not wrong

• bk 7 years ago

The professor is incredibly Empty in thoughts and intelligence. If he want to make himself relevant from his picturesque and irrelevant corner than he needs to sit up and study in order to make meaningful contributions to nat ...

• Abdul Aziz 7 years ago

please Sir,
    I think you are rather mistaking yourself, because according to school of thought, there is not wrong spelling of a name so far as it sound the same there is no problem about that. beside he is a northern, is not ...

• A.s. luorei 7 years ago

This totally gibrish piece which has no positive impact and a sence of humour

• nana yaa 7 years ago

Why do these Npp see Nana Addo as a god that no one must challenge. Ahh !! What's all these illiterate action entering our political arena? Nana Addo made himself Demi god, no wonder his invisible forces must kill to please ...