You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 01 09Article 499471

Nana Addo’s plagiarized speech an embarrassment we must condemn

Read Comments Comments (38)

• Kpengson Ray 7 years ago

Spot on! You said it all!

• Koo 7 years ago

If he has not turned in his resignation, he must be sacked.

Look at it well: the speech wasn't all that great. He borrowed things that were not even particularly brilliant. He spent so much time reading other inaugural sp ...

• loikyx 7 years ago

manaseh azure the scar face vulture stomach journalist will praise akuffo addo for it. i wonder

• CA 7 years ago

I agree, if we want to be taken seriously then we need to admit and accept our shortcomings.

Folks,PHD degrees already awarded have been withdrawn from individuals if it has been detected that the work was not original (du ...

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

I like the style of writing of Gomez but his blablabla mean nothing to me. What is plagiarism to the ordinary Ghanaian? So far us any idiot on this forum on this forum no the source of the quote it is fine with me.

• Kweku trouble 7 years ago

Don't be stupid.

• EMMANUEL 7 years ago

WHICH PART OF THE SPEECH WAS PLAGIARIZED? AND HOW

• Bobo Dialoso 7 years ago

Did people die? Did Ghana get sued? Did we lose money? Who gives a shyt?

• Ghanaian Scholars will Never This sha 7 years ago

Bobo Dialoso pls. don't display your ignorance on Ghana web.It is a SERIOUS OFFENCE in the Academic circles

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

"....SERIOUS OFFENCE in the Academic circles"? Inaugural address is not a kind of Peer Review. If governance come across as some academic work, thn how foolish can we be, as people, to allow Akua Donkor to come close to con ...

• Kukrudu 7 years ago

It is a serious offence and so what. Who Jah bless no one curse.

• castro 7 years ago

Stupid fool

• ONE GHANA 7 years ago

STUPIDITY AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL!!!

• BERNARD 7 years ago

ARE (0540527508) YOU A STUDENT,GOVERNMENT
    WORKER,
    OR UNEMPLOYED LOOKING FOR A BUSINESS TO DO ON PART TIME / FULL TIME.
    CALL NOW

• Gyandu 7 years ago

"... a bigger fish, who obviously feels too important ..." Truth is like a cork. However, I pray my fellow Ghanaians to let this gaffe go; let's give our new government some rope. Early days yet.

• nanny 7 years ago

nana addo wrote the speech himself they are just using the boy for face saving and to denigrate the youth once again. nonesense

Mr. Mensah, frankly speaking, i do not see you as a better communicator even though you striving to your best. keep up it anyway.

Mills was superb in kente and it looked like those who dress him up use some art to keep the cloth in place. Mills and even Kufuor did not expose their short pants during their inauguration.
    They have been writing that Maha ...

• Samson 7 years ago

This is a well written and balanced article. Thank you.

• castro 7 years ago

I thought dey wer babies with sharp brains .Apuuutooor.

• kwesi 7 years ago

If he is well educated and wise as they want us to believe, why he did not speak from his heart to Ghanians

• NANA 7 years ago

Agyeeiiiiii.........NANA ADDO i'm told is competent and Mahama is incompetent (Bawumia, 2016). Now it's clear NANA ADDO is competent in plagiarizing speeches!

• KKO 7 years ago

You are an idiot. The originator, Woodrow Wilson, died 93 years ago. Under US law, anyone can use his speech without attribution. That is why both Bush and Clinton used sections of it without attribution.

Get a life!

• AKWE 7 years ago

NASTY ARTICLE. COULD YOU HAVE DONE BETTER ?

• ONE GHANA 7 years ago

TWEAA!!!

• Dee 7 years ago

NANA OOOOOO NANA
    GOD BLESS U
    WE LOVE YOU TOO MUCH

• Amidini 7 years ago

Nana Addo was only desperate to be prez and nothing else

• Habib 7 years ago

idiocy has started in NPP. talk is cheap and the truth of the matter will soon catch up with the 72-year old Nana and Dr. Pink sheet Bawumia and the larger idiocy of the NPP.

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Wisdom and knowledge has elude us and we think we are wise than our own brains but we are fools than nonsense.We are using plagiarize and manipulated language and we still got audacity to talk plagiarize.The British colonized ...

• TRUTH AND WISDOM 7 years ago

CHECK YOUR SENTENCES

• koo nimo.seattle wa u s a, 7 years ago

nana apeecH was more of too manytimes excellency.damn it and yet having problem pronouncing Buhari's name he has calls out 2 times, a own good neighbor president name, damn.

• Col Q 7 years ago

For ages , this has been very typical of Nana Addo always looking out to brighten his speeches and comments and interviews with quotations and parts of speeches of celebrities, (a sure sign of inferiority complex?)-The call f ...

• Yaw Manu 7 years ago

You are just one of those out to embarrass Eugene and Nana and NPP.

"It wasn't deliberate" but an omission.

What else to you want to be happy.

Eugene will be fine.

• Beleh Beleh k. Gomez mensah 7 years ago

Abua

• Redfish 7 years ago

Technicalities lol who own which words?

• Paa Kwasi 7 years ago

Very well observed, and comments are spot on, without any personal biases.

• Bonsu, Asokwa Kumasi 7 years ago

Prof.Martey should answer the question whether Nana writer i=of his aclaimed plagirised speech are among the wise or the fools. Those NPP boys seizing toilets, toll booth , NHIs Office, Pasport offices etc are among the wise ...

• Nana Amane 7 years ago

After condemnation, what is next? Let's get back to work. You guys are behaving as if the speech was meant for an academic award.