You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 12 20Article 495744

'One district, one factory' promise will be challenging to implement – Dr Apraku

Read Comments Comments (118)

• HAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA 7 years ago

COMPETENT NANA CAN DO IT. heheheeeeeeee

• TZ 7 years ago

PLEASE DO NOT TRY IT

• JIMYY 7 years ago

NANA JUST WANTED TO PAY HIS BILLS

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

not thought out

• AIKINS USA 7 years ago

NANA HAS ACHIEVED HIS DREAM AND AIM; FUNISHED ; WEATHER WE VOTE HIM OUT AFTER ONE WEEK OR NOT HE DOES;NT CARE

• KWABENA ABOAGYE 7 years ago

Nana should perform and undertake all the promises he vowed. At the time he was swearing that it was achievable he was not sleeping nor dreaming. He went to all the region and told the chiefs who believed what he said. People ...

• JJ RAWLIGS & BBC NEWS!!!!!! 7 years ago

READ FROM THE MAN AGAIN, IS THERE ANYTHING LIKE WE CANT DO? THE MAN SAID IT WILL NOT BE SO EASY BUT THEY WILL PUSH IT IN THE WHOLE 4YRS SO? ANYTHING WRONG? EVEN SIMPLE ONE TERM PREMIUM AND 200 SCHOOL BUILDINGS NDC COULDNT DO ...

• M Shanunu 7 years ago

Dont be too sure Ghanaians are not fools no more,empty promises have repurcusions at the polls,

• GHANA 7 years ago

DO NOT TRY IT NPP OR ELSE- FIRE GO BURN GHANA

• JIMYY 7 years ago

I NEW IT

said the new massiah

• AIKINS USA 7 years ago

HMMMMMMMMMM; WE WILL SEE

• Lawson Tdi 7 years ago

NDC IS FINISHED NEVER AGAIN, OUR COUP WAS 1 DISTRICT 1 FACTORY JUST TO KICK YOUR STUPIID ASS AND GIVE THE COUNTRY TO INTELLIGENT NANA AND BAWUMIA , THE SAME WAY YOU LIED ABOUT YOUR FAKE 200 SCHOOLS BUT COULDNT DO, WE HAVE ACH ...

• Nana Kuffuor. Abeka 7 years ago

Please, please, please, no excuses. You can't promise heaven and after voting for you, you start giving excuses. I am waiting for my dam and factory.

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 7 years ago

No problem at all Nana Akuffo Addo the Drug Baron and his cocaine partners will let cash flow

It is not an impossible thing to do. When you travel around the world you see a lot of factories. Why are we so persimistic?

• J.k 7 years ago

The laid has begun

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Ghanaians should disregard KK Apraku nonsense.We all saw what he did in 2012.I don't want to go in details and that jealousy that is in his heart is still there.Folks ignorant that shameless visionless Apraku.He was paid by M ...

• K.O.A. 7 years ago

Don't rush Akufo Addo out of envy.He did not give anybody any time line for this project.The God who gave him victory will accomplish it to your shame. And where was Apraku during the campaigning, if I am not mistaken?

• MAN 7 years ago

GHANAIAN S WONT FORGIVE NPP & NANA FOR THEIR POLITICAL PROMISES GIVEN , IF FAIL.

• Pumpuni 7 years ago

We don't need any negative attitude toward fulfilling our promises to the good people of Ghana. The man who made the promise in the name of the NPP has said it many times that we will fulfill all our promises. That means a re ...

do you believe the new messiah?

• GHANA 7 years ago

YOU MUST OR ELSE WE GO BURN GHANA

• Tutugyagu 7 years ago

I strongly believe the statement will be redefined as we go along. No serious government will like to own a factory. The factory will be owned and operated by private entities. For the government to make that happen, It has t ...

• Abiiba 7 years ago

The government should restart the Boankra Inland Port without any further delay. The project alone will create more jobs organically, as well as peripheral businesses than any factory in the area can do. A lot of money ha ...

• rkt 7 years ago

good contribution, but we have the free zones structure/set up and tax incentives. will nadaa need more 'n that?

• GHANA 7 years ago

Over 170 factories across the districts? Ghabaians should forget it, it was just a 419 promise. The suffering continues..... NPP lied big time

• rkt 7 years ago

i am a bit sceptical, cos unless a really large raw material base exists or can be established, persons who will express interested will be few and far between! why? because of economies of scale! that notwithstanding, why, i ...

• Joleen 7 years ago

WHO EVEN TOLD YOU FACTORIES ARE NEEDED? EVERY DISTRICT IN GHANA ALREADY HAVE THE MEANS TO SUPPORT ITSELF BE IT AGRICULTURE, EDUCATION, ADMINISTRATION ETC SO WHAT DO YOU NEED FACTORIES FOR? YOU ONLY needed factors if you ar ...

• luda 7 years ago

hahaha, funny promise ,which attracted funny voters.

• Pumpuni 7 years ago

The NPP needs to define who should speak for the Party. Dr. Apraku spoke his mind, but that is not the position of the Party.

• rkt 7 years ago

but nadaa already has! when? oh, well some days b4 the election when he failed to disown it as not the npp position, when other party bigwigs further expatiated on it, saying that the factories would be built and owned by the ...

• Bugli 7 years ago

We know it will not happened

• Why 7 years ago

Yes one factory for every district and don't dare change your rhetorics or you will back in the bush for quite a long time.

• Nana Sarkwa 7 years ago

My brother stop this nonsense and go ahead and implement all that you have promised. Ghanaians will not accept any other reasons for non-performance.

• Joleen 7 years ago

but but but Nana told us he will build factories for all of us our wives and grandmothers!

• Amidini 7 years ago

That is npp vain promises. We must hold Nana Addo responsible if he do not fulfill his promises. Ghanaians will call JM back

• Amidini 7 years ago

Dr Apraku, don't tell us what we re not expecting.

• adanko 7 years ago

These are the people who should not go near nana addo. Apraku why this statement? You want stab nana in the back.

• Ringo Star 7 years ago

Are you scared Nana's miss direction of the masses would be expose? The teachers think their allowance should be restored within three month of his government.

• rkt 7 years ago

no, the teachers don't think so, nadaa promised so!

• Ataa 7 years ago

Folks , u see we have been shortchanged? You know this thing is a private sector thing so why trumpet it? As if you knew with certainty it would happen. Excuses galore

• Apple sauce 7 years ago

Apraku you're not the president let's hear this from the horses own mouth

• Apple sauce 7 years ago

Don't use this as an excuse to come and chop money

• Yaa Nkosuo, Cheer Leader 7 years ago

The electorate will read the small print next time.
    One Region, One factory, is more feasible and practical.

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

You mean like Greater Accra, Ashanti region will get 1 factory ?

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

"One district, one factory", come on, that was very unrealistic; one factory per region like the GIHOC concept is feasible. I don't know if you are old enough to remember GIHOC (GHana Industrial Holdings Company) Where we ha ...

• ehhh 7 years ago

Will it be different from free zones projects

• president mahama 7 years ago

mallam Apraku, we've just started the journey n u are predicting the end... Please be focused ok.. let see after some years. cos before nana would say this, he had his plans prepared not u nit can stop this thing. ..

• Kwaku 7 years ago

The promises were fake. NPP has nothing to offer with these old men who cannot even log on to a desktop computer!!!!

• Joleen 7 years ago

but but but Bawumia and his fulani wife promised us one man one wife!

• ADUSEI KOJO 7 years ago

WHO IS SAYING IS NOT GOING TO BE FULFILLED , DONT MISQUOTE DR. APRAKU .
    WHAT HE IS SAYING IS THAT ,THERE MAY BE CHALLENGES.
    WE WILL FULFILL ALL PROMISES.

I AM GOING TO SET UP 5 FACTORIES IN BRONG AHAFO.

• Sappey-Agboh -Tsiame-Alagbokope. 7 years ago

come home to roost. What is Apraku saying? You lied to voters and insulted their intelligence for the sake of political power? You better deliver. My village in Akatsi South, called Lagbohkope needs a dam and another village ...

• sarpong 7 years ago

eii papa Konadu Apreku, this is not what we need to hear. Don't forget what your flag bearer told us. l live in Baglo in the Volta region, what factory would you establish there for us? we need it sharp sharp.

• DUGA 7 years ago

Don't forget one village one dam!masa we are not fools!we will soon judge you,nonsense!

Why are you so persimistic. Great countries started with such great dreams. Let us support Nana and the team to do it. I am an industrialist and nothing is impossible with God!!

• rkt 7 years ago

hi kwame, be an early bird. before the envisaged private investors start flooding the country to gobble up all the juicy factories, get in touch with nadaa/npp and get a chunk for yourself! it is industrialists like u we need ...

• ASIEDU NKETIA 7 years ago

AKPLAKU IS NON -PERFORMAER THAT IS WHY HE IS TALKING LIKE A NORVIVE. AKUFO ADDO SHOULD AVOID SUCH PEOPLE IN HIS GOVERNMENT

• KWASHIE ADJAH 7 years ago

APRAKU HAS ALWAYS BEEN A VERY NEGATIVE PERSON, LIKE ARTHUR KENNEDY, WHO THINK THEY DESERVE TO BE THE FLAGBEARER AND NOT NANA AKUFO ADDO. HENCE, THESE DOUBTS AND NEGATIVE STATEMENT OF APRAKU. NANA ADDO AND BAWUMIA HAS THOUGHT ...

badly

• Google "Nana Running Nose". I pity Gh 7 years ago

IDIOCY IN NPP!!!

• rkt 7 years ago

speak first to local companies like nestle, lever bros, accra brewery, coca-cola, gihoc bottling and schweppes about the ginger. if they won't do it, no one will!

• Attidigah William 0556840615 7 years ago

Vision 300 lottery is here to make a History AGAIN.
    Count down to christmas (5days more)
    Lets get something in pocket to Chill With'
    WHATSAPP VISION 300 LOTTERY OR CALL NOW!!!

• all hands needed 7 years ago

is doable

• Robert 7 years ago

I knew it. They're nothing but a bunch of professional liars just like the NDC full of arrogance. Where were you Apraku when your NPP was creating unrealistic and unattainable milestones? Now, the one-district, one-factory wi ...

• kimathi 7 years ago

Posterity will judge you for your deceit.

• GOOD FAHTER 7 years ago

WHEN WILL GHANIANS LEARN TO BELIEVE .A BIG CHALLENGES ARE GOING FACE NPP WITH ALL THE BIG PROMISES.PASTORS COMES OUT WITH MAGIG AND PERFORM WONDERS AND ALL GHANIANS ARE FULL IN THIS CHURCHES.FALS PROPHETS HAVE STARTED TO DECE ...

• Kamal Dauda 7 years ago

Nonsense after all this juicy promises. I swear weather u like or not. The factory n the dam must come.
    You think is cheap to say eeeh. Nonsense.

• Isaac 7 years ago

Every Ghanaian know it that it is just a fake promise you are now going to feel the hate one this one that

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

Ha ha ha, ready or not .....?

• KOFI WENCHI 7 years ago

NUMBER OF DISTRICTS ARE KNOWN. NUMBER OF FACTORIES ARE ALSO BY INFERENCE KNOWN. TYPE OF FACTORY?
    TYPE OF RAW MATERIAL?
    TYPE OF MANUFACTURED PRODUCT?
    HESE AND MANY MORE QUESTIONS ARE WAITING ANSWERS

• SIMPLY GEORGE. 7 years ago

Ghanaians are not seriously serious as a people who are interested in knowing the truth when it comes to governance. We believe in tribalism more than the simple truth and that is why Nana Akuffo Addo was bold enough to promi ...

• KK 7 years ago

Dr Apraku, it is His Excellency Nana Akufu Addo who made the promises. Let him speak for himself to the good people of Ghana who have voted him into power. We don't need any FACTIONALISM or INTERNAL SABOTAGE.

• Ringo Star 7 years ago

Incompetence has already kicked in even before the swearing in of the incoming Kalypo president. Signs of great incompetence and miss managements on it's way. Scary times ahead.

• KOFI WENCHI 7 years ago

ALL SHOULD GO TO THE BIBLE AND STUDY ECCLESIASTES. THERE IS TIME FOR EVERYTHING. THERE IS TIME FOR PROMISES AND THERE IS TIME FOR EXCUSES SO DO NOT BE SURPRISED OR SHOCKED. THERE SHALL BE TIMES OF EXCUSES CERTAINLY

• NPP LIES WILL SOON BE EXPOSED!! 7 years ago

YOU VOTED PRESIDENT MAHAMA OUT FOR NOTHING!! GHANAIANS WILL SOON REGRET!!!

• saif 7 years ago

Wow!, l am really having it difficult to understand if it's the english that people are finding it difficult to understand or something else.

"One district one factory would be challenging" that doesn't mean it can't be do ...

• pk 7 years ago

Well spoken by Apaku and the intensions are achievable. Nana with the support of the private sector will succeed.

• pk 7 years ago

its either mischief or our JSS and SSS product lack English comprehension to understand what Hon. Apraku said. This is part of the many reasons why our education system must be reviewed. We are people who don't read but pick ...

• CHORKOR SCHOOLBOY 7 years ago

FEAR NOT YE MEN OF LITTLE FAITH NPP WILL SURELY DELIVER. NPP WILL RETRIEVE ALL ILLGOTTEN MONIES FROM SMARTY'S, AMERI POWER PLANT, ,SADA, WOYOME AND A HOST OF OTHERS TO KICK START THE CONSTRUCTION OF THOSE FACTORIES.

• Dessiej 7 years ago

Unrealistic ideas: In Asia like Bangladesh,Cambodia,Vietnam..most
    Impoverished nations but these factories are everywhere , working conditions staggering ,environmental degradation everywhere but If local investors giving mo ...

• ANDROPOV 7 years ago

hmm it is coming and it is going ebaa na eyo. we live to see

• dunaa 7 years ago

Location of a factory, or any other business is and must ALWAYS, be based on economic imperatives, and not political ones. Locating a factory in ANY specific location will depend on (1) Reliable power supply (electricity), (2 ...

• nel 7 years ago

I told u so dat dis 419 elected president has nothing to offer ghanaians bcos he thinks ghanaians hv short membrane. he said he has de best of brains to steer de affairs of his government now one of ur so called brains is out ...

• Hahahahahahahaha 7 years ago

I think the heading is misleading. Dr. Apraku never said its not possible to implement the policy just that it will be daunting. Granted they are able to get investors to establish factories in each district would amount to t ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

What is Apraku talking about? What kind of factories is he talking about. There's at least one factory in all the districts already. Just help the small scale farmers, shea butter kernel growers, salons, mill operators to exp ...

• Khujo. 7 years ago

This article is baseless as it gives the wrong impression of what was really said. He said it will be challenging and that's nothing new to write about. I think that would be assumed as Ghana currently does not have this esta ...

• Kwadwo Apraku 7 years ago

It is doerable. Is Mahama extraordinary for his achievements in infrastructure. Where did he get the money from to achieve that?
    I guess most funds were from borrowing. Mahama should thank late Mills for good start.

Why c ...

• Onaapo 7 years ago

The truth hurts but it saves your integrity. All along where were you? Are you telling the whole world that the incoming government had their budget and approved by parliament already? Wow! So $1m is coming to each constituen ...

• Bertrin Amponsah Biritwum 7 years ago

Dr. Apraku, it's too early for this cos Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom and Kennedy Agya pong have crossed barriers to make that a reality how much more a a government that has all the luxury power at its disposal. I may he a Progressiv ...

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Edzorvorlaaaaa. Yakamewo. Gbevuwo. Nana ha la kplordua. Amekpui laaaa

• lazi 7 years ago

is Dr Apraku Nana Addo? u c where you get it all wrong .

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Bloody scoundrels. Fools

• joe 7 years ago

Hmm, they say words are not dids , and i bear to defare that what am hearing seems not entering my ears. like nana will leave office before we vote

• Kwami 7 years ago

these men are dummmies...when we borrowed money to fund public sector pay

• Take 7 years ago

Why the wrangling ? Nana will put money into your pockets .

• Insight 7 years ago

The one district one factory is a feasible project.
    My firm and our foreign investors alone can build at least 50 factories which can employ a minimum of 5000 Ghanaians.
    I'm an industry professional, my European investors w ...

• Nana Addo 7 years ago

Gyimii then what were you waiting for for all these years. Why dont you go and have factory in Bugri yroyro district if factors like access to market, good road, value for money are not your concern. Abi block factory is also ...

• ED 7 years ago

Oiwa. Next four years I wish the NDC also promise free break fast free lunch and free supper to for all Ghanaians to recapture power since Ghanaians fail to distinguish between fake promise and a realistic one. I will forever ...

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

Not number of Factories

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

Nana must strengthen the District to develop thier Community not the Central Government

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

This will bring Confidence and Competition

• agoli 7 years ago

Oyiwaa. Wonders will never end. Did anyone force you to make those promises. Just go ahead and implement them for your own good. You think Ghanaians are dumb.

• Nana will win 7 years ago

The incoming government should not panic on it one district one factory promise, the government can even do more than that. There is a whole lot of industries the government can establish with regards to the natural resources ...

• agoli 7 years ago

Apreku may just be frank or he is push to prepare the minds of Ghanaians. Bawku alone has three dist. so we are expecting three factories. We have more than 250 villages around Bawku alone each expecting a dam.

• P. OSEI 7 years ago

PLEASE RESERVE ALL UNNECESSARY COMMENTS AND LEAVE NANA TO RULE. NPP SHOULD BE CAREFUL THE WAY THEY TALK HENCE GHANAIANS WILL VOTE THEM OUT IN THE NEXT ELECTION. EVERYBODY WANTS TO BE HEARD, WHY? PLEASE KEEP QUITE AND RULE. WE ...

• Nana will win 7 years ago

Again , am assuring the incoming government that it easier to accomplish his promise. We have Valco of which the raw materials to feed it is an abundant natural resources which here . We shipped it out and basically process ...

• KK 7 years ago

what's a factory?. A place where a group of people can find work to do on a permanent basis..for years. allow the ghanaian entrepreneurs to work, innovate, invest in agric processing, fruit juice making, tomato drinks, speaki ...

• This is just the beginning! 7 years ago

...and the real rude-awakening will soon hit all of us in the face.

• KAKA 7 years ago

only stupid people think nana bin addo can keep his promises

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

OPAYIN APRAKU, I HAVE FOR MANY TIMES CRITICISED YOU IN A NUMBER OF YOUR ECONOMIC ISSUES AFFECTING THE NATION, BUT, THIS TIME, I AM WITH YOU FOR SOUNDING THAT CLEAR CALL TO AKUFFO ADDO FOR HIS UNREALITIC PROMISES HE MADE TO TH ...

• T and T 7 years ago

What are the factors to be considered in location of industries?
    U sound like U are going to waste our money in politically motivated projects just like JM did.
    Pls do us a favour, complete all the projects initiated by ND ...

• Rapapa 7 years ago

Master, One District One Factory can be done easily. We can have even more than one factory per district. I am surprised that for almost one week that I sent my article to media houses including ghanaweb about how it can be d ...

• gbese mantse 7 years ago

It is possible

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

The central Rigion must to be devolop with the projects as he said and that is the main point that he have to and make it possible as fact,God bless you oman ghana.

• buddha 7 years ago

sore grapes u know u can never be presedent that why all this noise nana has won mr know all got bed with ur new family NDC four year will soon come

• kass 7 years ago

Hahahahahahaahhah awwww i can't stop laughing,Nana a daada yen

• Jon 7 years ago

One factory, one distict is easy. We can use our local resource . Which office can l come to share my ideals? I am come to Ghana from 10 jan to 25 February . NPP wake.