You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 11 11Article 485684

What is wrong with Akans, (especially Fantis) anyway?

Read Comments Comments (118)

• AKRANTIE-BINI EATER 7 years ago

Stop talking shit, you shit head.

• Kojo T 7 years ago

What kind of bull is this?You the writer cannot be a Fante

• DODZI 7 years ago

The writer is a fool. Read

"Ethnic Structure, Inequality and Governance of the Public Sector in Ghana" , a UN report by Richard Asante & E.Gyimah-Boadi.

This report which is available online showed that contrary you pe ...

• Trump 7 years ago

In fact I'm tired of NDC and truly want a change, I like Nana and at no time has he been my problem, my problem has been with people like this writer. There is too many of such Akan supremacist in the NPP and that makes some ...

• OMANHENE 7 years ago

You are a paid propagandist of the ndc. kwaseaa.

• Ekow Essamuah 7 years ago

Rawlings beat Mensah Wood, a Fanti Army commander who later died of the injuries he sustained in the PNDC days. Rawlings again used Ackaah to win election in 1992. He would later beat and kicked the oldman Kwaku Ackaah, who c ...

• Nenyi 7 years ago

Read below also what Ganyobi replied to this article,
    thanks Ekow,
    this time round Western Region & Central Region won't massively for both partisan parties: NDC & NPP,
    period

• Sammhy 7 years ago

You wrote all these about Northners and Ewes yet your vice is also a Northner and Nana keeps campaigning in the North and Volta for their votes. Are you normal? Do you know how many tribes the Akans had married into? NPP will ...

• Military Man 7 years ago

What is good for the geese is also good for the gander,you moronic imbecile.
    Isn't this the same tribalistic philosophy you guys have been preaching and practicing all these years? As a matter of fact, you and your master JJ ...

• Kkd 7 years ago

Ghanaweb stop publishing stupid articles. This guy is a fool n divisive like nana addo n must not be allowed to continue posting stup I'd articles like this

• IT MEANS DIVIDE & RULE CONTINUES 7 years ago

IT IS A FACT, THAT FANTIS WERE THE BIGGEST SLAVE MERCHANTS WHO SET UP HUGE BUSINESSES AS LOCAL PARTNERS OF THE SLAVE BUYERS. IT'S ALL RECORDED IN HISTORY. THEY ALLOW THEIR FELLOW AKANS TO BE VICTIMIZED FOR THEIR SELFISH INTER ...

• Jd 7 years ago

Read your history books well,the Ashantis were the slave hunters and mass slave sellers

• abc 7 years ago

Kwasiafuor! without Akans Ghana wouldn't be what it is today yet you have the audacity to call a person who has stands higher than you in terms of social, tribal and economic status an Akrantie-Bini eater? we know most of Gha ...

• AKRANTIE-BINI-EATER 7 years ago

The only FUCK I know is Asante girls getting fucked all over Europe for VISA and ADRO CHOPPING. They were being FUCKED in Nigeria for 2 Naira each One Round until President Shagari chased them out.

• Yaw B 7 years ago

are you ok

• Aj 7 years ago

Dude,what's has the article here got to do with
    the Ashantis or did the writer says she/he is Ashante.what's the great Ashantes has done for your tribe can you also tell us what's your tribe has done for the Ashanti tribe af ...

• Trump 7 years ago

Do not include tolerant Gas in your tribal supremacist agenda for the sake of power. We know you very well and wont be part of that evil agenda.

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

Twum Boafo has said it as it is without mincing words. I have been saying it as it is for over two decades now. SO WHAT THE HECK WHEN THE SHITE HITS THE CEILING?

Having read a more accurate version of what Mrs Attivor rep ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

The truth hurt,so the semi education fools could not master the courage to consume or digest the truth and the show their ignorant by insulting the school of taught and counselling.Like I said before education don't make fool ...

• FANTIS ARE BIGGEST AKAN SELL OUTS 7 years ago

BUT FOR THE AKANS WITHOUT FANTI (WHO WERE ALL LABELLED ASHANTI) AND THEIR COURAGEOUS FIGHTS TO KEEP OUR LAND FREE FROM COLONIAL MASTERS, GOLD COAST WOULD HAVE BEEN SOLD BY COASTAL NATIVES.

• AKRANTIE-BINI-EATER 7 years ago

Look at this Rat Shit Eater too. After eating RAT SHIT, you come here and talk shit.

• lqmv 7 years ago

Abooooaaaaa! the ewe tribe shouldn't have been part of Ghana! no wonder you are the most hated tribe in Ghana! togo will be a better place for you devils!

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Stupid fool. Useless Ashanti man

• Kwaku . 7 years ago

TRIBALISM AT ITS PICK

• @@@ 7 years ago

Fante or ewe, developing the nation should not happen because of someone's tribe. after all we are all Ghanaians. All this tribalism must end

• Yaw B 7 years ago

LOL I hope you know the true meaning of that word WHEASEAMBO.
    Literally: never cracking when subjected to falls and drops. That is the Akan nickname for the male crotch. The balls survive all gruesome falls.
    ok now in the ...

• Kweku Donsuro 7 years ago

Mahama is very tribal by appointing half educated northeners to stael our money.

• Cool 7 years ago

Which of the northerners are you better educated than?

This writer does not know what time it is. I do not think he has his facts correct. I am not surprised because we are in an election year and such backward articles will keep flooding social media. This is the Trump-mentality ...

• NATIONALISM IS NOT TRIBALISM 7 years ago

MANY OF THOSE CONDEMNING THE WRITER SHOULD LOOK EVERYWHERE. INDIANS, ARABS, EUROPEANS, AMERICANS ARE ALL USING A CONCEPT OF "WE FIRST" NOT OUTSIDERS FIRST. ONLY ON GHANA IS THE OUTSIDER FAVORED OVER NATIVE.

• Cool 7 years ago

MAJORITY OF THE 47% ARE NOT EVEN TWI SPEAKING AKANS. YOU ARE AN AKAN EXTREMIST AND IT IS BECAUSE OF PEOPLE LIKE YOU THAT WE DONT WANT TO SEE THE NPP IN POWER
    YOU ARE DIVISIVE AND FEEL SUPERIOR TO OTHER GHANAIAN.
    MANY GHANAI ...

• Richard 7 years ago

Brother, I disagree with you Akans are the majority and they are more than 47% as you are saying. Though non Akan tribes also speak Twi. Check the fact from ghana stastics on population.

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

There is so much crass falsehood,nonsense wrapped in ethnocentric bigotry it is amusing some people are defending the crazed writer.

Now, which stats are you blokes quoting to claim that Akans are the majority in Ghana? I ...

• MDS 7 years ago

This wrong, very tribal article. A lot of Akans do not understand why northerners voted for Rawlings though he is not from there. He build UDS, Donated money Fix some of their Roads, and respects them. Stop the divisions

TRIBAL BIGOTRY? Try it and see . you will mot libe to see the destruction

• BERNARD 7 years ago

LOOSE WEIGHT NATURALLY JUST IN ..
    Do you want to lose weight faster?
    Do you want to flush out and eliminate toxins?0572174551
    Do you want to have a nice shape?
    Do you want to do more physical exercise without fatigue?
    Wo ...

• dangerous cock twist 7 years ago

bastard article. silly n mother fucker being. try ur tribal way n partisan way n sii. block headed being. go tu hell. luuk at dis bush animal n pig vomit. y shd u cam out of dis article. crazy being.

• Ato. 7 years ago

Thank you so much. You have said it all. The turn-coat Akans with house-nigga mentality must change.

• Iyke 7 years ago

Nonsense article! Stop preaching tribalism nd rather focus on what's important.Tribal bigots lyk u ar preventing de NPP frm coming into power.Nonsense.....think before u post any article hr again

• Observer 7 years ago

ALL YOU HIPPOCRATES DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH JOHN MAHAMA'S AND JULIUS DEBRA'S NUMEROUS CALLS TO NORTHERNERS TO VOTE FOR THEIR OWN, JOHN MAHAMA. SO WHAT IS WRONG WITH AN AKAN ASKING AKANS NOT TO VOTE FOR THE ONE WHO HAS ...

• Akakpo 7 years ago

Well said!

• Osei Prempeh Agyeman 7 years ago

Obeng Nana, you are right.Most Fantes think about their bellies more than national development. their integrity is always bought with cheap items whenever it's voting year.This is very pathetic.No wonder why Fanteland is stil ...

• Addae 7 years ago

Let's be relistic,your so called akan wise moguls should have used their eight years to make Ghana a paradise for us know that this are the men,but what did we see?nothing.so you guys should stop bragging.Empty barrels always ...

• BeTrue 7 years ago

Owura Addae, You must be holed up overseas, or very young, and so have NOT seen the different socio-economic postures of Ghana. EVERYBODY, including even foreigners admit Ghana, under Prez. Kufuor's govt. was better for a maj ...

• Abeeku Mensah 7 years ago

Mr or Ms BeTrue continue to believe the crap that Kufour raised the standard of living for all Ghanaians because some white man said so. In the civilized developed world, the standard of living remains relatively constant, wi ...

• Ekow Essamuah 7 years ago

I belief you are my countryman, per your name sake. When are you gonna be serious for once so that people would forever remove the COMEDIAN tag they associate with us. Use your head for once, for the ndc are taking Fantis for ...

• Ashes 7 years ago

Big up man. U guys are raining insults on this article just because he is sounding tribal but all ur comments are full of tribalism. IS THE ARTICLE RIGHT OR WRONG based on the issues raised? Fools

• Fair minded 7 years ago

Your are very rude person and of you what 8 years of kuffour time what he for you what he did was that he and apointes bought state lands and shares of Ghana oil. We will vote for ndc if you don't understand go burn sea shame ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

WE HAVE TWO TYPES OF FANTES. THE GOOD FANTES AND THE FOOLS LIKE THE ONE WHO WROTE THIS ARTICLE. IF YOU WANT TO VOTE FOR NPP, NO ONE IS STOPPING YOU. WHAT WILL AKUFFO ADDO DO FOR FANTES?. THIS IS A MAN WHO FOR 12 YEARS AS AN M ...

• joe 7 years ago

I am a fante.i will

• joe 7 years ago

I am a fante.i will educate my tribe people against lairs like this writer.you are idiot to insult us

• Pastor Amos, kwadaso 7 years ago

Atimes I wept for been Akan because it might sound tribalistic bt it's true dat if u an akan it is very difficult to get job in government institutions. bt we are more than de other tribes n generate income for the nation so ...

• Does it matter? 7 years ago

Pure balderdash

• TAPPS 7 years ago

The analysis made by this writer is spot on. All tribes are allowed to be ethnocentric but when Akans do it all hell break loose fuck em all. Akans should not apologise for being smart, they should take the gloves off this ti ...

• kaketonti 7 years ago

BIG FOOL.STUPIDITY AT IT'S BEST.
    AKAN IS LIMITED ONLY TO (2) TWO TWI-SPEAKING AREAS wae.AND ONLY TWI IS AKAN
    REASON,THE MARJORITY WINS THE(8) EIGHT-REGIONS.

• PLAIN TRUTH 7 years ago

When did the MFANTSE FO become Akans? When you the Akyems and the Asantes, the twi speaking, need a helping hand, then you remember that Mfantse fo, who you call "gyimfo" "concert fo" are around.
    Do you now recognize the Mfa ...

• EBBY 7 years ago

You need to read your history well. Yes Asantes make mockery of the Fantis and call them names. They do the same to the Brongs. They are all the same people called the Bonos who migrated from the ancient kingdoms in the area ...

• DEAR 7 years ago

FANTES ARE NOT LOOTERS OR THIEVES. FANTES ARE BROUGHT UP TO BE HONEST. WE ALL SAW THE HONESTY OF ATTA MILLS.

WE ALL KNOW THOSE TRIBES WHO ARE BROUGHT UP TO STEAL OR LOOT.

• Ganyobi 7 years ago

One election secret you don't know since is that:
    The Fantes that you're criticizing in your tribalistic pro Npp article voted just purely for Late Atta Mills symbolically as he being the very first Fanti to become a preside ...

• Aj 7 years ago

Ganyobi,wow hmmm pls come again your comment is cheap. why did the writer tells you she/he is an Ashanti. well what's we know about history which is not more than 250years
    shows how passionate the Ashantis are to save the Ga ...

• KKO 7 years ago

Well said, Nana,
    Let us use the social media to educate our clueless chiefs, brothers and sisters in the Central Region, who depend on our remittances anyway, to get them to vote against Mahama.

We need to let them reali ...

• History 7 years ago

Nice article. But, many southerners think the north is made up of ONE tribe or ethnic group. There are scores of tribes in northern Ghana, for example the dominant group is in the kingdom of Dagbon with its capital in Yendi f ...

• lrn 7 years ago

why would any right thinking Akan vote for an ayigbe/northerner terror party like ndc? Akans must wake up because an agenda is being carried out against them!

• Liar 7 years ago

Liar. who told u Mills served two years. Sia man.

• joe 7 years ago

"Asem yi dika na whwna beka". Thank you for saying all. A word to a wise is enough.

• Joddey 7 years ago

You seem not to even know the number of years prof. mill ruled. He died in July 2012 and Mahama completed is(Mills) term in December, 2012 which also saw him win the 2012 general elections. Were you not in Ghana or you can't ...

• Tsifokor Joshua 7 years ago

ooo U instead of pleading with Voltarians fantis n northerns U bringing tribal war? eiii foolish n stupid write up. JM toaso. nana will be president in his grave come next yr.

• Prince King 7 years ago

When I read articles such as this, I get baffled and only turn to point at our educational system which only teach how to listen, speak, read and write English Language. This guy is really a product with such system coupled w ...

• kb 7 years ago

Any who insults or call donald trumb rascist is a big fool. You crying about your tribe then you wonder how white people feel. How can we fight rascism when we not even done fighting tribalism-a person of your own colour and ...

• lqmv 7 years ago

Well written article with a lot of facts! Akans have been very foolish to allow these useless and above all incompetent and unpatriotic northerners/ewes to be in governance when over 85% of the country's resources and product ...

• HONEST MAN 7 years ago

AN ETHIC BIGOT, YOU WANT TO PRACTICE ETHNOCRACY IN THIS MODERN GHANA, WE WAIT AND SEE WHERE THAT WILL END YOU. ALREADY NPP IS NOT LIKED BY MINORITIES BCOS OF THIS, LOOK AT THE PROTEST IN USA NOW, LIBERIA, RWANDA AND MANY MOR ...

• K Mensah 7 years ago

Akans are their own enemies. They will never wise up.

• koo fanti 7 years ago

the writer is vry stupid, u cant read not fanti's go n check ur record when cape coast was described as d largest village in the world, Sia, under npp we were d 4th poor region in ghana

• K Mensah 7 years ago

Kkd, can you honestly dispute what the writer has written? If not then keep your stinking mouth shut.

• NORTHERNERS SUPPORT NORTHERNERS 7 years ago

SO WHAT IS WRONG WITH AKANS SUPPORTING AKANS? THE ONLY WAY A NORTHERNER OR EWE CAN RULE OVER GHANA IS TO FOOL SOME AKANS INTO FOLLOWING THEM. IT'S SIMPLE DIVIDE & RULE

• Willichy 7 years ago

Useless statement from useless background

• DMX 7 years ago

You insult so widely, but do you know why the more you hate the more they advance, and when these insults keep happening it will get to a time that you will wish ghana to be like the way it is today cuz it can lead to war. L ...

• Frank 7 years ago

the number two man in Ghana is a fanti and has the potential of being the number one man. your reasoning is very narrow and you need some education

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

A word to a wise is enough they don't care about someone only their selfish interest they can get the goodies nd vote for them to enjoy nd leave them in poverty for the next 4yrs

• kash 7 years ago

yes, it's backward thinking, but is the painful truth. go to any district or municipal assembly in Volta region and see how many non voltarians and come down to akan's, it has been invaded by ewes.

• Ama 7 years ago

Its high time Ghanaians sit down and critically think about broad issues before casting their votes and not to be lured with peanuts.

• Yaw B 7 years ago

ha ha. I hope you know the true meaning of that word WHEASEAMBO.
    Literally: never cracking when subjected to falls and drops. That is the Akan nickname for the male crotch. The balls survive all gruesome falls.
    ok now in ...

• Al-Qathafi Silver 7 years ago

Upper East is the second poorest region

• King 7 years ago

Well said

• Kobby 7 years ago

You are a fool and even more tribal that the president you have written about.Even my kg 1 child also knows that the president is not in office for 6years.Your write up that schools in fantiland been headed by Ewes and Nother ...

• yyr 7 years ago

Good one there ,God bless you for your article. The Truth hurts.Akans wake up ,This Jon mahama has no regard for d akan people.

• Elton 7 years ago

Pls is true ,the akan people in Ghana are too humane ,dat is why they have been taken for granted.
    Listen to wat Julius Debra said at suhum zongo

• Forson 7 years ago

the writer is inconsiderate.
    the truth is that the Fantis usually determine the direction of Ghana general elections. but for the writer to come up with this is totally useless. I want to believe that the writer is an asante ...

• Aj 7 years ago

Forson, I can see how you've demonstrated cheap talk.for heaven sake did the writer mention he/she is an Ashante.pls can you give us tangible evidence to support your claimed or you're basing your argument on what's some of y ...

• Ayeboafo Nkwantabisa 7 years ago

This is a food for thought article....Rawlings hates Fantis and he and his NDC has taken and still taken Fantis as fools.
    Fantis has contributed a lot to Ghana's development....unfortunately Kuffour and the NPP couldn't do a ...

• Kwame Darkwah 7 years ago

What is displayed here clearly shows that Ghanaians lack patriotism. Fantis don't like Ashantis, who don't like Ewes, who have problems with Akans, who don't respect the so-called Mmpepefuo, who can't get along with Nkranfuo, ...

• Prince King 7 years ago

ALL MEN ARE CREATED EQUAL; GHANA BELONGS TO ALL
    I read, listen, and watch the news, and most often find and hear people; Ghanaians making tribalistic and ethnocentric comments and attacks on each other. Wit ...

• Damm 7 years ago

Another Fanti is angry.

• SIR JOHN 7 years ago

What a stupid and nasty analysis about Fantis. My mind your own busines

• Kojo Brain 7 years ago

Educated illiterate
    Stop Stoking ethnicity fire

• CITIZEN 7 years ago

Most Ghanaians don't know who are Akans. In Ghana,we have the 12 tribes forming the Akan race.They are Adansi,Denkyira, Wassa, Sefwi,Akwamu, Nsema, Ahanta,Akwapim,Fanti.,Assin,Bono and Aowin. For instance, Asantis, Akyems and ...

• Winfred Odame 7 years ago

The truth hurts but it would always set you us free.
    The author is 100 percent right with he said.

• NDC,NPP all for gh! 7 years ago

please you are not convincing us woooo,Say somtin better and leave this one!

• Akorfa 7 years ago

It serves them(Fantis) right, as the saying in fanti "3bo wo tun aboaa 3ta wo yem" literally meaning if you deprived your "fart " from coming out of your anus , you "fart in your stomach.

• Michael 7 years ago

Can any Aka man go to north talk like the way mr Collins Dauda brother talk ?

• Sam K. Mensah 7 years ago

Nana Oben, you're a sensational liar. What's your source that tells you that the Akans constitute 68% of Ghana's total population? If you're really interested in learning the accurate statistics of Ghana's ethnic groups, all ...

• joe boy 7 years ago

And what did NPP did in Central that they can bost on?Idiot

• Dan 7 years ago

A totally ethnocentric article that does not auger well for Ghana's unity and development. Come again!

• KK 7 years ago

An unfortunate extremely divisive commentary. It will not bring peace

• Andrew 7 years ago

I can't be believe this site has published this tribalistic and hateful article that has no point.
    It should be taken down immediately.

• @anita 7 years ago

Few Notheners n Ewes r ten thousand times better than all akans.stupid idiot. Ve u ever passed any exam before. All u know is copi copi danderheads. Foooooooool

• ato KWAMENA 7 years ago

Yes the writer have said it all this time round we the fantes will show NDC the red card ,we are not fools even what kill ATTA Mills is not known to we the fantes ,from the way thing's are going we suspects that uncle ATTA wa ...

• ERC 7 years ago

This is a bad article in fact it make nosens, pls this will not help our great country we are all one I am shocked for ghanaweb.

• kantata 7 years ago

Ohhh my oh my. What an intellectually bankrupt piece of literature. Who is a Northerner, voltarian or fanti.? The volta region counts over 40 different dialects (languages!!!). How many in Northern region? please leave some g ...

• kantata 7 years ago

Ohhh my oh my. What an intellectually bankrupt piece of literature. Who is a Northerner, voltarian or fanti.? The volta region counts over 40 different dialects (languages!!!). How many in Northern region? please leave some g ...

• PAUL 7 years ago

What is this tribalism all about?

If it is true that Fantis don't vote for the NPP then there should be a reason they do that. Have we check to find out why they don't support the NPP? Have we done our homework?

If so ...

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Nana Oben, you are a fool. Moron. Nonsensical write up

• Fanti NANA 7 years ago

Another #NPPIG KWASIA This will not add any vote to ur party. U have to post something about ur MANIFESTO nd stop this STUPID things. let preach PEACE not PAINS any way #JM TOASO

• Royman 7 years ago

Such an idiot. How could you berate my tribe in such a manner

• Raymond Agbeli 7 years ago

A complete ignoramus,this is 21st century and u still have this archaic mentality,I pity u and your miserable Npp party.If this is the tangent u've gotten to then Ghana is in big should we make the mistake of voting for these ...

• Bawa 7 years ago

From your proverbs to the examples to the construction of words are all up to the task and exposed Mahama of his ethnocentric mind.

In fact,if fantis cast their votes for this Mahama they'll forever remain same.

As you ...

• Martin 7 years ago

This is tribslistic, egocentric posturing as well. If Ghana should make anyone the chief of arrogance, the Kennedy Agyapong will have no challenger but because of your ethnocentric attitude, you forgot to mention him.

• Acquah 7 years ago

Foolish man who are you to insult fantisA