You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 08 18Article 463377

Volta Region and the HSGF

Read Comments Comments (72)

• Alligator 7 years ago

Pobee, why do you write this as if these guys are talking for all Ewes or for all Voltarians???

This so called group is a tiny one which is not supported by a majority of Ewes much less Voltarians.

Do not address this ...

• Sir Law 7 years ago

Can you please bring back the 'Martin Amidu's Take on the Muntie-3' which was featured yesterday. He raised some serious and very interesting points which needs my genius comment to dissect issues. Hope somebody relay this hu ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

many ewes were working in the Gold Coast before Ghana became independent.
    The Dzokoto's,the Amenuvor,adadevoh,Tamakloe,Abba and Quist were successful businessmen who had their businesses in Takoradi and Educated their childr ...

• Willie 7 years ago

What do you mean they were working in the Gold Coast?

All the names you mentioned were Gold Coasters who had moved from one part of the colony to work in another part. These people didn't vote to be part of Ghana. In fact ...

• Nat 7 years ago

well said fonye. many ghanaians do not know the history of the ewes, rich as it is. they only bundle us together and draw myopic conclusions. i think we anlos should just keep our level heads above these shallow minded people ...

• NO NONSENSE 7 years ago

Ewes WERE part of the Gold Coast long before independence.

Those who say NO must EXPLAIN this:

1)Are they saying Brigadier Michel (an Ewe) was in another country's army whilst being commissioned and PROMOTED by the Brit ...

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 7 years ago

The Dzokoto's etc were not natives/citizens of the British Togoland.They were all the Citizens of the Gold Coast Colony and consequently did not vote to be part of Ghana. We need a map of British Togoland together with map of ...

Andy's comment is useful but it is equally vague.We are talking about the proposed independence of Western Togoland, and which part of the Volta Region is now forming the Western Togoland, and whether this was feasible. Andy' ...

• Alligator 7 years ago

Antor was the leader of the Togoland Congress that campaigned effectively for a No vote among the Ewes but not in the northern parts of TVT.

The Ewes voted No overwhelmingly. Ho, Kpandu, Hohoe all voted No. Only a few Ewe ...

• Alligator 7 years ago

The 1956 Plebiscite only asked the voters if they would want to be part of Gold Coast. They voted either Yes or No.

There was no provision for whether they would join French Togo or become an independent party. Those ques ...

• E. A. ADU GYAMFI 7 years ago

Ghana needs Ewes. Every tribe is important in Ghana. But if some Ewes are advocating for separation from Ghana, why shouldn't we allow them? They have their rights. But I tell, you if they succeed, they will become the most p ...

• AKRANTIE-BINI EATER 7 years ago

Volta Region is NOT poor. They are the most educated group. And they do have RESOUCES,Salt Palm Oil/ gari production and of course there ARE Cococa farms there. With all your Resouces, you Asantes are all over the world CHOP ...

Be careful of what you wish for. You might get it. If Ghanaians are asked to vote, the majority will vote to let Volta region go

• HMMMMM---- 7 years ago

The real problem is Asantes. Tell me WHICH TRIBE in Ghana likes Asantes? The Brongs?, The Fantes?The Gas? The Northerners you insult always as Camel heards, Guinea Fowl Warriors, Zongolese etc? Even you are fighting with Kuma ...

• ASANTE-IMPERIALIST 7 years ago

Please can you be specific? Which Majority wants Ewes to go? The truth is, every tribe KNOWS that Ewes are the only tribe Asantes are SCARED of in Ghana. No tribe wants to live under Asante Imperialism. You think the Gas love ...

• gh 7 years ago

Quit the tribal nonsense!

• HMMMMM---- 7 years ago

Ask that idiot first "What Resources", when you get an answer, come back and we talk. Everything you people claim "We have money, We have Resources" WHy are you surprised someone is also claiming to have as their resources a ...

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

The level of ignorance about our human geography is astounding! I bet many people from the VR also don't know that the VR was a major producer of cocoa and still produces a significant lot.

The human capital is simply supe ...

• Yeboah 7 years ago

The so-called HSGF,most especially its leaders are ignorant and to be schooled again.Akosombo,Juapong and the sorrounding towns is in Eastern Region of the country and the Dam itself is at Akosombo,how can you claim something ...

• TRUE EWE 7 years ago

Akosombo IS in the Volta Region Back in the 70s, there were some group trying this same Independence BULLSHIT. One of them was a Tutor at Mawuli School. Kutu Acheampong got to know about it and chased them out of the country. ...

• Michael 7 years ago

It was Kwame Nkrumah and not Acheampong that curved Akosombo from the Volta Region

• Eagle's Eyes 7 years ago

Acheampong was ignorant of the facts. Tony, TVT was not part of Ghana. Do you understand the term, Union? The UN and Britain and all the stakeholders knew that the Union was not backed by any law. There is also no case of any ...

• Alligator 7 years ago

By what criteria do you say the union is unsatisfactory?

The "union" was approved by the UN Trusteeship Council which is now defunct. What kind of law do you want to back it up?

The only thing sections of TVT complained ...

• Natural Mystic 7 years ago

Hey man, you have sent my mind back to my teenage years at Ho. Good stuff. Anyway, Mr. Tony Pobee-Mensah, hold your breadth. Do not be "charitable" to this misguided group by appealing to them. They do not represent majority ...

• Yeboah 7 years ago

True Ewe or whatever you call yourself,do you mean to say the people of Akosombo being Akwamus and for that Akuapems are Togolese?I`m an Akuapem citizen well equipped with facts,just answer these few questions .Who is the Par ...

• TRUE EWE 7 years ago

Can you read and comprehend English? We are talking VOLTA REGION, not Akuapen tribe or whatever. That dam is in IN THE VOLTA REGION. The demarcation was MANIPULATED by the government at the time. Nothing to do with Ewe, Ga Ak ...

Those calling for independence of Western Togoland need to go back to school and read the Histories of the Gold Coast Colony and Ghana. Responsible Ewes will NOT join this Foolish Group. I am Fanti but my maternal Grand paren ...

• Michael 7 years ago

E.A Adu Gyamfi, in as much as I wish Ghana remain united, however, you got it all wrong by saying they do not have any resources. It is based on the agreement signed that is why the resources in the Volta Region cannot be ha ...

• Mawuko 7 years ago

The UN is too far they should read "The Ewes Of West Africa" by M. K. Mamattah

• Nat 7 years ago

you mad fool. what resources are you refering to? if those minerals have not been explored it dosnt mean they are absent. dont deceive yourself into thinking volta is poor. it is simply because we are not noisy as empty barre ...

• Adu Gyamfi 7 years ago

Adu Gyamfi you are absolutely wrong about the potentials of the Volta Region. There is more to Volta Region than most think they know. The truth be told that Ghana won't let Volta go not because it will be the poorest countr ...

• gd 7 years ago

What makes you tiny Togolese minority somewhere in the south of volta region think that you are the only inhabitants of the region and everything over there belongs to you? Kwasiafuor. No wonder ndc only relies on you for stu ...

• Bernard 7 years ago

1. Forever Multi-Maca have a special property which enhances

energy and stamina.0572174551

2.It also enhances and increases sexual desires.

3. It has a powerful property that boosts the potency of male libido,its ...

• Mawuenyega Mawumenyo 7 years ago

if Ghana government fail to develop Volta,one day she Ghana will regret it.we have ten good minerals in Volta which UN has place embargo on.why did UN do that? go and find n stop writing stupid words thanks

• trr 7 years ago

Always talking shit. You have this you have that. If that were the case why is volta region so unattractive? What do you have apart from tribalism, hatred and wasted land. There's nothing on your land and volta region belongs ...

• Kafui 7 years ago

you are rather the fool, akan imp. you belong to the most backward tribe in ghana and you have the guts to write this trash as stinky as the asantehenes breath. egbemela. was prof adei, an asante, wrong when he said asantes w ...

• reef 7 years ago

Ghanaians are fed up with you idiots! Always wanting everything for yourselves and leaving out all others. Stupid greedy bastards. That's why other tribes don't get along with you. Fools! One-way thinkers who have been brainw ...

• Kafui 7 years ago

try to learn from people you dont understand before you insult them. Akans insult ewes every day without provocation. even when a glass breaks they joke 'ayigbeni ben nono'. errrrm! For me i think that there is only one reaso ...

• Gbedzeha 7 years ago

I wish am wht I was but don't worry your time will come

• gh 7 years ago

Your are hard working but all over Ghana you live in Akan uncompleted homes. Come to Madina, Adenta, etc.

• spartacus 7 years ago

Some people don't make sense at all. Ghana has resources but life in Ghana is hell. Lesotho has no resources but there are many Ghanaians working in Lesotho cos life there is far better than Ghana. If basothos are taken to G ...

• Kafui 7 years ago

... the ugliest being kuffour himself followed by mpianim

• CONCERNED GHANAIAN 7 years ago

Honestly, this is not an issue to play with, as the writer has nicely put it. But there is always a missing link to this issues. The volta region is made up of many tribes streching from the south to the north.What majority o ...

• Natural Mystic 7 years ago

For those amongst us who are forever beating tribalistic drums, trips to Rwanda or the Dachau memorial site in Germany may re-orientate you.

• TRUE EWE 7 years ago

You see, this whole Independence Movement thing STARTED in the late 60s and early 70s. The Hydro-Electric Power generated from the AKOSOMBo Dam was CARRIED with OVERHEAD High Tension Cables to Togo and Benin. Ho the Regional ...

• ..... 7 years ago

This is common sense. Their ways shows ewes are not Ghanaians. They are sensitive, very tribal, one-way thinkers, offensive, hateful, vengeful and greedy. They show affection for themselves but nobody else. Its either them or ...

Did you just write that? The most wicked and most cunning Ghanaians I have met are not Ewes.

You are wrong!!! Ewes were living in that part of the world before the Europeans' penetration and subsequent colonolization. The Danish and German governmenst can prove this. Geografically, there were Eastern and Western Togo ...

• Pelicles 7 years ago

The problem with (some} ewes is that they want to be at helm of "everything" that moves in Ghana. Anything short of that is not acceptable to them. That is my candid opinion and I stand by it. Why are they always peeved or ...

• ghjghkjd 7 years ago

you've said it for these inward-looking and very greedy people to know that their deep hatred towards non-ewes and greed for everything in Ghana is enough. If care is not taken the majority of them might be slaughtered in a c ...

• Kafui 7 years ago

you bring the civil war on and see who the most casualty will be.

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Just put your point across without the usual ranting of a loser. People who cannot stand the truth always resort to stupidity like bring the war on. War for what? You want to get out Ghana and who should fight for that nonsen ...

• Son of Man 7 years ago

Massa, your assertions are wrong, Its mostly the other way round where some Akans feel uncomfortable when a NON Akan is seen at the helm of affairs as attested to by the comments of Osafo Marfo. Most Akans also have a difficu ...

Go my brothers go. Gods speed

• Asem se be 7 years ago

I laugh in my head when I hear some of you Volta here have to say about how wonderful your region is, to begin with , Volta region is not made up of only Ewes, there are people in Volta region who ll be happy to see the Ewes ...

• crisp 7 years ago

You pathetic ewe fools here are just showing your inferiority complexes again. Always talking about volta this, volta that. Nonsense! Volta region is Akan and it's the nature of the south volta region ''ewe'' clan to impose o ...

• Esi 7 years ago

Why why why?

• Kafui 7 years ago

of course we dont wanna be shit like you akans.

• Kafui 7 years ago

go to ndpc and check out the poorest regions in ghana. volta is absent. because your 'book is short' you dont read thus you are uninformed about statistics. you will die of hypertension if you keep on envying ewes.

• Asem se be 7 years ago

Kafui, let's not read any book, I don't think you know Volta region very well like I do. There s nothing there apart juju I tell you. Ewes are not Ghanaians and we only pray you will go and form your own country. You are on ...

• gd 7 years ago

Stupid ewes and their myopic one-way thinking. How do these fools reason? Akans are the original owners of volta region, yet because of their backwardness and hatred of the Akans they came to meet on the land they deceive the ...

• Azay 7 years ago

If its isn't Akan its not good enough to be Ghanaian. Osafo Marfo was right in his speech to the tribal Akan supremacist. The Northners and the Gas you are lumping together in your supremacist agenda I guess you don't really ...

• ADRO CHOPPER 7 years ago

Those Akans came to CHOP-ADRO in Volta Region. Then they went to CHOP ADRO in Nigeria, their women went doing Ashawo-Too=Too there. Now see,the WHOLE world,thy CHOPPED ADRO. Even in China ,they are CHOPPING ADRO.

• AKRANTIE-BINI-EATER 7 years ago

You See? Eating RAT SHIT has FUCKED-UP your brains.Stop talking SHIT, you RAT SHIT-EATER.

• mcquest 7 years ago

we shall put your comment to te test

• Mati Mi Hu 7 years ago

But isn't it true that we Asantes too wish we were not part of Ghana?

Is it also true that we think we provide for the rest of the Ghana, especially these Ayigbe people that we hate to the core?

Is that not the case?

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Why should you lie? You are a liar. You just post your comment to make it look like an Asante man speaking but truthfully, you are an ewe. No Asante man or woman will write "mati mi hu". You see that little mistake has expose ...

• kwesi freeman 7 years ago

Kudjordzi and his uninformed groupshould go home and sleep. They are of no use to the ewe people of this region. I am an ewe too and Kudjordji and co don't speak for me.

• Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah 7 years ago

...this?

Will it happen or will it not happen? We wait and see.

Sincerely,
    Apostle Mawuetornam Dugbazah
    Agbe nye ga!! Yehowa, Elolo nutor!!

• kaketonti 7 years ago

RESULT OF KEN AGYAPONG,OSAFO MARFO,ATTA AKYEA etc CARELESSNESS.GHANA IS MIXED TRIBE AT 55%.THERE ARE CERTAIN AGITATORS WHO REFUSE OTHERS IN ALL FORMS.THE SAYING WHEN YOU GO TO ROME,DO WHAT ROMANS DO: MAY HELP US TO CO-EXIST P ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Those who concocted the story must deal with his or her own "little forces".;First of all, the old an pictured who call himself revolutionally leader seeking independent state for Volta already a "dead man walking".He is an o ...

• Mawuko 7 years ago

For those who are thinking Volta region has noting to offer Ghana, kindly go and read the book titled "The Ewes Of West Africa" by M. K. Mamattah and know for yourself what the British told Dr. Kwame Nkrumah about the Ewes w ...