You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 08 10Article 461581

The Montie trio case: Did the Supreme Court act unconstitutionally?

Read Comments Comments (40)

• KANAWU KASABA 7 years ago

They received prosper justice and the punishment thereof.

They plead guilty as charged and were convicted on their own plea of guilty.

Given the barbaric nature of their crimes, they were very fortunate to have b ...

Did you actually read the article? Writer made clear at the start that this is not sbout their guilt or punishment, but to address the constitutionality of the SC action.

• Willie 7 years ago

It's clear that Kanawu only read the title...

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

A little bit of reseach work could have save you from fighting a lose battle. Superior Courts elsewhere on the globe have the right to sit on both "in facie curiae and ex facie curiae" cases. Read this, Massa Kofi:

As Just ...

• Justice 7 years ago

Nii...although your point is valid in other countries it is moot here because it is not part of our constitution. So what exactly is your point? Di wo fie asem.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 7 years ago

Nii Teiko, are you aware that the authority you cited (Kinar v BC) was reported in 1984? Do you seriously believe that the same will happen in Canada today (2016)? I do not believe so, so please do not believe that. Case law ...

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

Minbar v BC is still good although decided in 1984. It would still be good law if decided 100 years ago if it has not been overruled . Also are you ignorant of the fact that the Supreme can establish a procedure to deal with ...

• Bernard 7 years ago

*How To Power Your Man Hood Naturally*
    We have a nutritional supplements that help in sex boost.
    Known as the "sex herb of the Incas"
    Help promote libido, stamina and energy 0572174551
    Promotes sexual arousal and enduran ...

• Willie 7 years ago

After Asare's piece on the topic three days ago, this sounds like an afterthought. Kofi Ata himself said he had wanted to write in the same vein but Asare was faster. So I don't see why he deems it necessary to cover the same ...

The distinction between contempt happening in court and outside the court does not seem sensible under these circumstances.

The Montie 3 were busily issuing their threats while the court was still sitting.

Should that M ...

Let us call a spade a spade... Whiles in the civil service a niece of mine was unlawfully dismissed by the employer, a nephew also dead during and in the course of his employment. I was the second in command in the office and ...

• HEHE 7 years ago

Still, it was a sad state of the world that people judged others not by the best that they could be but by the worst thought in their own hearts. INJUSTICE WILL NEVER GO UN PUNISH

• KKO 7 years ago

Kofi Ata,
    Do you honestly believe that the judges of the Supreme Court should have sat tamely for those nitwits to issue threats, goaded on by their host, and get away with it?

Somehow, the Ghana Police Service has been e ...

• KA 7 years ago

Did you read the argument KKO?

It is not about what Kofi Ata honestly believes, the incompetence of the GPS, the number of idiots on our radio waves and internet portals or how many judges were criminally and brutally mur ...

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

Atta Kofi stated that they should have been prosecuted albeit through the correct procedures. Due process should have been followed; making it a fair trial. Read again.

• 1 Loaf 7 years ago

Do you kko honestly believe that by jailing the famous montie 3 the sc has killed the threat on their lives. Only a mentally handicapped person will reason this way.

• KKO 7 years ago

You sound like the oaf that you are! Why are they and their friends begging then?

• Samson 7 years ago

Wise head Kofi. Many of the people who have commented on your article do even understand what you have written. Sadly that is the level of appreciation of issues in our country, limited understanding of issues.

• Wiafe 7 years ago

Kofi does make solid points--but in a sham democracy like Ghana's the Supreme Court actions are RIGHT---given the context of wicked and evil personalities parading in the corridors of the executive arm of government.

In ...

• KA 7 years ago

Even the last bulwark must act within the ambit of the law else it becomes just another tyrant - like the rest of them in the sham democracy we have!

The SC must interpret the constitution, not seek to surreptitiously re-w ...

• ttlawful 7 years ago

You are a good lawyer and brilliant one

• EFO YAO 7 years ago

YOU CANNOT MAKE THIS ARGUMENT IN A BANANA REPUBLIC LIKE WHAT WE HAVE IN GHANA. LOOK AT THE ANARCHY AND THE UNCHECKED CORRUPTION. JUDGES HAVE BEEN KILLED BEFORE IN THE COUNTRY AND WE DON'T WANT A REPEAT OF THAT. DID THE MONTIE ...

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

Are the judges not corrupt and political themselves? There's is enough evidence to prove that. Let's not act is if the judiciary is perfect. It is as corrupt as all the other arms of government. Let's stick to the issues rais ...

• Bobby 7 years ago

Bottom line is we (Ghanaians)wants a sanitized media. It appears so far we are getting that after the trial. This is very important during this election year. This appears to be the posture of many of us regardless of the tri ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

Where in the Constitution does Article 126(2) states contempt should be "in facie curiae" contempt?

Article 126(2) The Superior Courts shall be superior courts of record and shall have the power to commit for contempt to t ...

• samuel villa 7 years ago

Hahaha, Ghana and administration of justice,recall the shameful and wreckless incarceration of Tsstsu Tsikata without a counsel.There is no justice in Ghana because many Ghanaian by virtue of their respective professions are ...

• Danny 7 years ago

Thanks Kofi,for schooling lawyers & judges in the country.
    The Ghana Bar (Bad)Association including our judges may all be ignorant of all you have explained no matter how unpalatable the contemnors comments were.
    Teach the ...

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

In law, court decisions are acceptable if they're based on precedence. The contempt trial of the MONTIE 3 has a precedence a la SC vs. Sammy Awuku et al. So Kofi Ata and AZAAR have no case here! They ought to have raised thes ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 7 years ago

Prof, are you suggesting the judiciary should follow bad precedence even if unconstitutional? That is very interesting. How would Ghana develop then if that is your case? In any case, Sammy Awuku, Sir John and one other were ...

Kofi, you seem to think that the two reflexive pronouns, "itself" and "themselves" are key in interpreting "in facie curiae" and "ex facie curiae". How so? in the English language, when the Subject and the Object in a sentenc ...

This is the Article you refer to:

Article 126(2) The Superior Courts shall be superior courts of record and shall have the power to commit for contempt to themselves and all such powers as were vested in a court of record ...

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

Lawyers defend clients on the basis of the due process clause. There are two types of due process - substantive due process and procedural due process. Your argument in the MONTIE 3 case is based on finding a fault in procedu ...

• GHANAWATCH 7 years ago

A precedence you mean,Mr Professor?It is a bad precedence which I will advise no lawyer to allude to in court.Can a judgement based on a wrong judicial procedure be a lawful precedence?Even laymen are laughing at the Supreme ...

• Aku 7 years ago

Thanks for the education, Kofi. Our justices certainly need to exercise their power with more discretion than they did in this case.

• GHANAWATCH 7 years ago

The judgement of the Supreme Court stands to be questioned because it sat and judged a case to which it was an interested party.Iam surprised that Ghanaians are silent over the illegality of what the Supreme Court did.Or we ...

My friend, the Constitution of Ghana prescribes "due process of law" in addressing individual rights in a democracy. If you have issues with the way SC handled the case of Montie 3 criminals, file an appeal on behalf of the c ...

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

They can appeal if they feel the judgment was unjust. They pled guilty are you guys are wasting our time with these weak ball scratching articles. Free speech is alive and well in Ghana.

• Wiafe 7 years ago

Human law is an experiment and deficient. This is because it not enough to build a society on the rule of law alone. There has to be sufficient morality in the society to back up the law. What the montie 3 is wrong (morally ...

• Henry 7 years ago

Try and define Contempt properly . All your constitutional spirit doesn't conform to superior court judgement. Special your definition for for Latin meaning are most worry . Contempt can be both in side and out side Court. Ju ...

• Henry 7 years ago

If Supreme court can't adjudicate . Why don't learned friend knowing better writ for Certiorari . By Kofi Atta comments . Please the Justice's has discretion by the Constitution to give Judgement if you don't Agree or satisfy ...