You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 07 29Article 459010

Montie 3: Presidential pardon will undermine judges - Tony Lithur

Read Comments Comments (135)

• Kwesi ab 7 years ago

No rightful person would suggest to the president for a pardon. Though the president has the prerogative to do so, not under this circumstance.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

Author:- Omanba Pa, lslington - London. ..... Why not Ghanaians suffering if you have a president like John Dramani Mahama to rule over you with Asiedu nketia, Koku anyidohu, kofi Adams, Okudjato Ablakwa, Felix ofosu kwaakye, ...

• William 7 years ago

THOSE WHO HAVE EARS LET THEM LISTEN AND THINK!

• AMUZU 7 years ago

MURDER IS THE TRADE MARK OF P/NDC."THERE ARE SOO MANY WAYS TO KILL A CAT(JUDGES)"BY FORMER CHAIRMAN OF NDC KWABENA ADJEI.WHO KILLED PRESIDENT JOHN ATTA MILLS AND EIGHT OF OUR FORMER HEAD OF STATE AND GENERALS.

• j0eY l0nD0n 7 years ago

Ah I remember those days daavi's joint between Teshie police station and the Anglican school Hahahaha all the way to the airport down zone area then straight to Tema community seven and its environs banku akpenle and light ...

• Sinclear 7 years ago

THEY WILL ALLOW TO WALK FREE ON GHANA STREETS WHILE THE MONTIE 3 WILL REMAIN IN JAIL

• Sinclear 7 years ago

THEY WILL REMAIN FREE ON OUR STREETS WHILE THE MONTE 3 MUST REMAIN IN JAIL

• Allan 7 years ago

If you have of them in your family he or she will be the head of your family, useless man washing plates and old men before you have food on table, idiot foooooooool

• TM's 7 years ago

Twaaaa, na these dirty positions? Who fancy them! U may hold them on high. Ministerial position on sale, if we r to pick up the best to be ministers, no way would these come close to where they are.....

• Epson Akatorpore 7 years ago

Respected Lawyer by who? By NDC criminals

Don't even go there ,you will be chocked by big hands .

• independent voter 7 years ago

They threaten to go the houses of the judges and kill them. Because such a thing happened in Ghana before they should have been given a minimum of 10 years each.

• miky 7 years ago

Very exciting speech, I hope people in our party will take it in good faith. because there is no way that dwarf will be president, god for bit.

• joejoe 7 years ago

montie 3 are sending you in opposition. my God!!!! EACH ONE FOR HIMSELF GOD FOR US ALL!!!! They shd take it cool. nsawam is a nice place to stay or ???

God for bit, funny how you illiterates can insult. Hijack to school.

Messages across the globe and hereditary patient as you are couldn't make any concessions towards your goals rather here you are again not minding your own businesses man wise up ! Texas my arse!
    Baldness not funny my frien ...

• common sense 7 years ago

God for fit indeed. These ppl can open their eating holes and insult... them time go come.

• Coaches 7 years ago

Micky,mind your choice of words used in platforms like this,I am not into partisan politics,attacking the personality of someone is not worth anything,whether dwarf or not,He was equally created by God,I bet you don't have sh ...

• Bukana 7 years ago

@Coaches: Tell that also all those insulting the President - attacking his personality and not the decisions he takes. One can criticise the President but not to the extent of being rude about it. That is the true mark of an ...

• Boss 7 years ago

Even mahama who is a murderer is a president why not good man nana ado?

• Ibrahim 7 years ago

Sit there and lough to yourself it will surprise you. You guys think Ghanaians are fools we are watching

• kyei 7 years ago

we have a goat ruling us abi he said he is a goat. a dwarf is better than a goat I prefer a dwarf to a goat no wonder Mugabe is ur party
    NDC is full people who don't think far if u do u will not ask of pardon

Stand well or get ready to fly out cos wise Nana is coming. U like am or u no like am. Fire burn u.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

One of the great attributes of a leader is to look at the collective good of the nation and show maturity of judgement.
    I doubt Mahama will get the approval of the Council of State on this issue.
    The best the NDC or any oth ...

• The General 7 years ago

great message

• Salifu 7 years ago

Several people have said the same thing. However, people like you branded them as ANTI-NDC. You shouldn't allow your party affiliation blind your thinking power.

• king 7 years ago

And who mentioned ex president Kuffour's undermined the judiciary by appointing judges to overturned the ruling to his favour

• Israel Jude 7 years ago

Yes, well noted. To do now all the damage control. NDC will still loose in elections 2016

• ISSA CAMBORE/NIMA 7 years ago

FINALLY, YOU ARE MAKING SENSE THIS TIME! I APLAUD U TONY LITHUR

Bravo... well said. U be guy. U say am all

• unclejoe 7 years ago

really its well said. i do like it too but his problem is there are too many illitrates and half illitrates in the ndc. this simple message will take them days for them to understand. some will go to the extend of insulting h ...

• kuvor 7 years ago

WELL SAID THE NDC PEOPLE EVEN THEIR LAWYERS ARE NOT GOOD IN LAW, THIS THINGS LITHUR HAS IT WILL TAKE THE FOOL SOLDIERS 4 MONTHS BEFORE THEY WILL UNDERSTAND, AND THAT WAS THE DAY THEY WILL BE RELEASE

dumb npp man wanting to display stupidity as usual. This even tells yu that NDC have the men who speak n dont get suspended. Party in power displaying maturity!

• unclejoe 7 years ago

one out of ten wise man in ndc. of course tony not the usual "the general" hahahahaha

• Oko 7 years ago

Mr Toni. No wonder you are such a good lawyer. God bless you for such wise counsel.

• yesutor 7 years ago

Tony you are my man. All our party members should listen to him and let there be peace. Tony you be too much.

Shame onto Okudzato and co. You need to grow. Ghana is bigger than NDC our dear party . Ghana First

Divergent views is NDC! All are welcomed!

• Ntifu 7 years ago

Lawyer Luther I respect your views, and wish party members will listen, and rather plant to canvas correctly for votes to retain their party in power.

• Joyce 7 years ago

All being paid with tax payer's money?
    Lawyer for mahama and director of civil Aviation? He has 2 jobs.

• Master & Commander 7 years ago

John Mahama is caught between a rock and a hard place. When you sow the wind you inherit the whirlwind.

This is what non-stop propaganda conceived, instigated and directed by the top dogs in NDC including you, Tony Lithur ...

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER 7 years ago

WHAT WAS THAT CRIMINAL WITH CAT NOSE TALKING ABOUT KUFFOUR?.TSATSU DESERVED WHERE HE WAS KEPT.TROKOSI THIEVES YOUR TIME IS COMING.

• edem-one 7 years ago

your stupid idiotic ugly shit eating group are the the real professional thieves.

They 'll soon sell ice in winter, water to a well. Ghana must work again.

• Amenyo, Tema 7 years ago

Well said Lawyer.

• HASHIM 7 years ago

i i new that noway our president will do that,God bless you you. mr LITHUR

• Adako 7 years ago

You are well educated.Help educate the stupid in your party.

• Charles Higgi 7 years ago

One of the few wise ones in NDC. Respect!!

• Cash 7 years ago

Tony Lithur, you are 100% right. I hope those who are forcing the President to do the unthinkable will take your advice and leave the President out of this predicament.
    The President should also take to your suggestions.

• Bentum 7 years ago

Tell lordina to send Monte 3 some food.
    There is no food in Nsawam prison

• KK. 7 years ago

Spot on Tony. They shld serve d sentence and cm out changed beings.

• Kwami - US 7 years ago

Is it true that the SC judges (plaintiffs), who were insulted, offended, and aggrieved in this case, were the very and same SC judges who were involved in the trial and conviction of the three defendants? Can a traditional c ...

You're a stack illiterate for asking the question. CJ T. Woode and S. Gbadegbe recused themselves because their names were specifically mentioned. Jail they belong now!

• The Don 7 years ago

Mr. Lithur, you appeal for moderate language, and yet you claim 'we all felt disgust" at the severity of the sentence. How can you reconcile moderation whilst using such language? Are you not a lawyer?

• sulley 7 years ago

Admirable comment@ Don

• Francis 7 years ago

Good thinking, I do agree with u, why is the NDC putting too much pressure on the president including ministers of state why????
    Pls let's allow tt hem to serve their jail term but we show them love, after all they are NOT l ...

• Kokuvi Da Togolese 7 years ago

So, you cannot make your point without equalization? What was the reference to President Kuffour about? Tcheewww!!!

• Adukobila . .....Bolga 7 years ago

NDC PRESIDENT NOT GHANA PRESIDENT I PITY NDC ACTING LIKE KIDS.THEY THINK THEY CAN GET AWAY WITH PRESIDENT ACTIVATING AN ACT TO RELEASE THE TRIO.THESE TRIO WERE JAILED BY THE SUPREME COURT OF GHANA TGAT RULED AGAINST NPP IN TH ...

• Kwaku Broni 7 years ago

A sane partisan. Thanks my brother.

• Allan 7 years ago

Well said Mr Tony but I will not accept this advice, if Mahama refuse to pardon these men he will lose my vote as well as many NDC supporters, we will not be in power for opposition to rule us then it will better to be in opp ...

• Charles Higgi 7 years ago

Another NDC hot-headed. Some of you people are stupid

• Aduna 7 years ago

Tony Lithur may Allah richly add you more wisdom. All lovers of montie 3 convicts should heed to this advise and take a second look and stand down our pressure on the President to pardon them.

• Jeff 7 years ago

Mr lithur, I hav reali respected u to de max. Am an NPP supporter but wit dese yur advice nd yur true statesmanship, I respect u bunch. May God continue to grant u wisdom. lng live gh.

• vvk 7 years ago

Am n.d.c member and support this man 100% all the n.d.c members must mature save mother Ghana from war, n.p.p can't fight n.d.c we are more stronger than them.

• Obaatanpa 7 years ago

Why didn't you speak the same truth in the election petition Tony?

• abraham 7 years ago

The judiciary has already lost credibility because of the chicken and the cassava gifts. We can't afford to allow such corrupt and disgraceful arm of government to destroy the lives of these youth

Yes. Just as the president, John Ford Dubai Mahami, is busy collecting bribes without being mindful of youth unemployment, but for his wives and 17 children.

• Yaw, Prestea 7 years ago

This is wisdom Mr. Tony, I agree with you. People should not forget that his Excellency has sacked many judges which is unpresidented in our history. Again, the murders that has necessitated the celebration of a day yearly sh ...

• Kobby 7 years ago

This is wisdom. And all shall say Amen. God less you Tony Lithur.

• apuuuu 7 years ago

You ndc party nuisance should listen to Tony Lithur dead goat President John Ford Drama Mahama can not do FOKO apuuuu

• ROSEMARY 7 years ago

GEORGE Lou spews nothing but pure garbage...... He is inciting the masses against JOHNMAHAMA.. .... .. he's supposed to educate the masses just like Tony is doing... ...

• Togbui Delavi 7 years ago

For once I have heard a voice of reason coming from the NDC.

• ROSEMARY 7 years ago

TONY LITHUR SPEWS COMMONSENSE paaaaaaaaaa...... He needs to educate George Lou... ...... Ghana lacks leadership with common sense....

• Kwesi 7 years ago

Tony, What will you prescribe as remedy for this gross misuse of power other than a pardon?

• Vinss 7 years ago

ACTULLY WHO ARE THESE CONVICTED CRIMINALS?AAA WAS SHOT BY FIRING SQUAD WHO DARE SAID SOMETHING?THESE PICKPOCKETS ARE NOT TRUE GHANAIANS.ndc AN EMPTY BARREL MAKING TOO MUCH NOISE.MAHAMA MUST REPLY TO CHARACJ LETTER HIM ABOUT T ...

• ISSA ABONGO 7 years ago

THESE NDC THIEVES IN LAWYERS GOWNS REMIND ME OF NEW YORK CITY MAFIA BOSSES WITH THEIR IN-HOUSE COUNSELS. THE NDC PARTY IS A COMPLETE CRIMINAL ORGANISATION WITH ITS OWN LAW COUNSELLORS, WHO SHARE IN THE LOOT OF THE STATE RESOU ...

• ROCK 7 years ago

Tony Lithur you have have spoken very very wisely

• Ed 7 years ago

Hahaha, lawyer tell your friends the truth that you have lost the fight. Stop messing around with your legal terms. Stop misleading ghanafour with lies. Please for God's sake stop make yourself and your family well off at th ...

• Paa kojo 7 years ago

Good spoken, well done

• Hmm 7 years ago

NDC now has one sensible lawyer. Any lawyer who follows the crowd by inciting the NDC foot soldiers to invoke parogative of mercy of. Those who called themselves lawyers but follow such move to degerate their

• Charles Agbenu 7 years ago

Tony is not impressing me so far as he tends to cloud his bright idea with that Kufuor example. It is just the usual NDC way of drawing unnecessary NPP parallels to appease their angry and frustrated supporters. At the SC ...

• Robert Ofori (Elias - Koofori - Bron 7 years ago

Mr Tony Lither thanks for your thought of wisdom and had proven that you are an intelligent lawyer and understand the rule of law. I am very very disappointed in some of the baby ministers with a sharp teeth who went and sig ...

• Yussif 7 years ago

So far the only wise piece coming from an NDC member,but this advise should go to Nana Ato Dazie and the other lawyers who has publicly stated that they don't stand a chance in the review and the only and cheap option was to ...

• kam 7 years ago

The lawyer of the president has spoken and that is his views. He had saved the president. But Will it stop the band criminal his party had created from voting against him. Stupid Kofl kpotophe is the ndc chairman sending ndec ...

• Ibn Batuta 7 years ago

If the judiciary in its wisdom decides to undermine the NDC, it is fair game to undermine it as well.

• Donkor 7 years ago

NDC people only talk about the punishment as if there was no crime.These guys threatened to kill.rape/marry some judges and the CJ in a way similar to what they did in 1982.
    Which is more serious, the offence or the judgemen ...

• Nartey 7 years ago

Tony very good advice. The president must listen to you. Not because he can't do it but deliberate set up by Sophia Akuffo and her NPP cohorts. If the president pardon these people when NPP loses the election they will go bac ...

• Ama Densi 7 years ago

no amount of damage control now will do. Your NDC's historical penchant for extra-judiciary solutions to conflicts continue to dog you.

Yes, say it again, Tony. But fact of matter is that you all are doing "damage control" for "Who killed the Judges" (J. J Yidana), "There are several ways of killing cats" (Dr. Chairman Adjei Kwabena) and now, "I know the hous ...

• Niii 7 years ago

This we call wisdom. This talk should come from president. Just listing to KOFI Adams and co. U can that they have no sense at all

Hmmm, I should like to know where Nketia Aseidu, Amaliba Abraham, Dogbe Stan, Nkansah Solomon, Kwertey Fiifi, Ablakpa Sam, Amani Boamah, Dzifa Ativor, Nartey S. George, Dr. Atubuga Raymond, Dr. Ayine Dominic, etc are.

• kam 7 years ago

The lawyer of the president has spoken. Whose advice is he going to take. His lawyer or party hooligans and nation wreckers who are prepared to sacrifice the motherland for party to their own shame

• Edward 7 years ago

Great courage and a beautiful piece of advice. A word to the wise.

• Jtettey 7 years ago

GOOD COUNSELLER. GENTLEMAN SO FAR.

• Kankama 7 years ago

Sensible lawyer. The lawyer advise is very very sensible. I respect you a lot hope your advise will be taken .

• Kankama 7 years ago

Tony ,s advise is perfect you should take it and not insult him.

• JAMES 7 years ago

God will see them through

• Paul 7 years ago

You are a great man and a great thinker God bless you for your advice. My people listen to the gentleman thank you.

• Michael Hammond 7 years ago

I respectfully share the view of Tony Lithur. This is the time for the president to choose statemanship ,love for God and country over political lineancy .It will be politically unwise to pardon them especially when we are h ...

• Cobby Pratt. 7 years ago

A good one there!! Indeed,you're a learned Lawyer. Followers of the NDC Party must listen to your advice and let's sleeping dogs lie, else defeat awaits us on December,7th.

• kingdeboo 7 years ago

INFACT AM AN ARDENT SUPPORTER OF THE NPP BUT INDEED MR LITHUR HAS SPOKEN VERY WELL AND FOR ME THIS IS THE BEST IS THE BEST ADVICE I HAVE SEEN COME FROM THE NDC

• Hasan 7 years ago

Welcome passegers on onboard flight Tony L300,fasten ur seatbelts we taken off from Montie fm to Nsawam.have a pleasant stay.

• BBB 7 years ago

This is your opinion. What happened to Kennedy Agyapong when he declared war in Ghana and asked that certain people should be killed.?.He was acquitted and discharged. This does not undermine the Justice system.

• mosaic 7 years ago

Just one example of Npp leaders behaviour when they were in power and you are crying .people do not want to hear their past again .Tony Lithur continue reminding them the worse things they have done.

• komfo 7 years ago

Tony,God bless you.I hope the president is listening.A timely advice indeed.

• razak seini 7 years ago

Hmmm .....the lawyer has a point here.
    I was one of those for a presidential pardon. I think emotions were high but lets see reasoning take over.
    Lets go for a review n let it be with the judiciary.

• Paa Willie 7 years ago

Thanks Mr. Lithur. I hold a similar view when the pressure started mounting on the president to invoke article 72. It will be suicidal for the president to pardon the Montie 3. They are entitled to one-third remission by law ...

• onipanua 7 years ago

that is a lawyer who actually worked to acquired his certificate not those who bough theirs.

thanks my lawyer

• Alhaji Abbas 7 years ago

Tony Lithur is playing mischief and politics cannot Ghanaian see it ; he is one of the BIG lawyers within the NDC and government he has oversight over the AG ; Transport and Finance ; NEVER TRUST WHAT THIS GUY SAYS BECAUSE HE ...

• king 7 years ago

Great speech from a great person. Thony i love that

• Freddy 7 years ago

A sensible man has spoken & is loud n clear. They shd hv rotten in jail. Idiots threatening wise old men & women.

• Adom.2010 7 years ago

Well said tony.im not an ndc person but applaud this words of wisdom.

• TRULY LAW 7 years ago

This man is truly a lawyer. He understands the meaning of law.
    thank you for your wise advance to NDC supporters.
    God Bless You

• Jibo 7 years ago

NDC is behaving as if Ghana is for them. This shows clearly that it is good the 2012 petition judgement favoured them, otherwise, Ghana would have been in tatters Long time ago. Whether they like it or cry Nana b?ba 2017

• Abunga 7 years ago

Thank u Mr learned man for explaining issues to ur party members who wants to take the law into their hands n misbehave.I want the NDC to understand that Prez. Mahama is not only president for the NDC but for whole country Gh ...

• kyei 7 years ago

if a dwarf can be a president then we have a goat leading us a dwarf is better than a goat
    no wonder Mugabe is in ur party

• Rev. Anokye.@ Royal Temple. 7 years ago

Well done Tony Lithur, but l am very much disappointed in the education minister who gone to sign for the release of the montie 3. She should go and listen to what they said about the C J attentively and see if she was in her ...

• Thomy 7 years ago

If people are pleading for a presidential pardon,what will happen if someone also rises to threaten the President himself? Let's be serious as a nation.

• Sam Mawuise 7 years ago

Thanks, U have shown, U are great Lawyer.

• Bukana 7 years ago

Tell that also to all those insulting the President. Tell them to criticise the decisions he takes and not his personality. Tell them to criticise constructively and not be rude about it. That is the true mark of someone who ...

• YAM SELLER,KRACHI 7 years ago

Whether John Mahama pardons the appointed agents of anarchy, terrorism, extremism, murder and death of his party which the Montie 3 represented as a microcosm of a broader platform, he will still lose the 2016 elections massi ...

• HARDER@'89... 7 years ago

Mr Lithur am exceedingly proud of ya WISDOM..n these are profound words of impeccable counsel....NUNYA A ADZIDOE ALOR DEKA ME TU NE OO....i pray our teeming supporters would take cue n act accordingly...

• dallas zulka 7 years ago

What a wonderful God, it is a lesson to us all. The montei 3 thought they are fighting for the president and the EC as the party supports the EC. Now listen to the president lawyer tony lithur because of the period and the s ...

• Abdallah Galloway 7 years ago

Npp u are happy now u well steel Loos 2016 Insha Allah

• Abdallah Galloway 7 years ago

Npp u are happy now but u steel Loos 2016 In sha Allah

• Waaluk 7 years ago

Threat against someone's life and you call that press freedom. Where did you get that from?. Read R v Ireland:a 'silent' phone call was construed as assault. Yet you call these public display of threat of violence freedom of ...

• eben 7 years ago

Great I intervention; it reduces the tention in the system. To me the 4 months serving term is okay. No malice intended. My point is , in my view the up coming elections shall be the most difficult yet and looking at the see ...

• kd33 7 years ago

I no this lawyer is speak in wise and maturity So please the people of Ghana and NDC should not let us sell our life to just two people all because of leadership ,I hope the president will listen to the people of Ghana no ...

• Abu 7 years ago

Nobody undermines the judges but themselves. They have no credibility by corrupt practices and bribery.

• Mathias Kwasi Yakah 7 years ago

The contempt law of Ghana.and the whole trial and conviction is void and unyconstitutional as an matter of law.

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

Mr. Lawyer, tell the NDC and the ignorant people the truth. NO PRESIDENTIAL PARDON.

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Let Justice Akuffo and the NPP have their day in the sunlight, for the sunlight will not last long. Things will come to pass, and the clueless incompetent monumental failure Serial Loser Akufo-Addo and his confused and desper ...

This guy is among the three laws in Ghana. He, Tsatsu and the rest.

• Kofi - USA 7 years ago

THEN TELL YOUR WIFE TO EXERCISE RESTRAINT. HE SIGNED THE PETITION. SHE IS A LWAYER AND I THOUGHT SHE SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER. MONEY IS THE ROOT OF ALL EVIL.

• Ghana Warrior 7 years ago

I`m 100% with Tony on this one but how come his wife is signing the petition to free these criminals? Seems that they don't communicate much in their house. Its sad that ministers don't really think about their President and ...

• Fuzzyy Modem 7 years ago

About the best counsel to the President, so far. I'm very much impressed by Mr Lithur's contribution . Much as we share the psychological pain with our brothers, I humbly believe that 4 months of incarceration should be thei ...