You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 07 28Article 458544

Pepeni, ntafuo, eblutor and the prejudices we have of each other

Read Comments Comments (76)

• Tacos 7 years ago

Whether pepeni or kambonga, headcutters,or snail eaters you are all as black as charcoal. Who cares about you all? I pity your sel-imposed superiority.

• Ken Ntiamoa 7 years ago

Serious and humorous at times

When I was a child, my friends nicknamed me "nt3 homa" because I loved playing marbles and hated to lose at the game. I used to get really angry when they called me that name. Now, I laugh whe ...

• NO NONSENSE 7 years ago

Why are you Asantes like that? Why dont you also state the derogatory names you call Ewes?

• ELINAM 7 years ago

When I asked an uncle why we call the Akans Eblu tor, he explained to me that the speakers of Twi speaks as if they're shouting hence the word blu which means raising one voice while being annoyed. But amazingly the Fantiawo ...

• KA 7 years ago

ELINAM, read Asimpi's contribution bellow. He has a slightly different take...

Your contribution is great too... If only what our grandparents told us could be based on solid research that is beyond the oral stories handed ...

• ELINAM 7 years ago

Well, we'd refused to travel and see thing for ourselves. Anexor is just three hours from Accra and one hour from Keta, and thirty minutes from Aflao.
    Following the trail of languages, you'll see the similarity in our langu ...

• Apraku 7 years ago

When l was about to read this article , l was murmuring to myself this article is too long and it will steal my lunchbreak ,but here l'm praising this writer , this is amazing , a touch of lingual and history, not politicised ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Mediocrity Stinks Cuuuhh 7 years ago

How can u be an illiterate, with no education, no business, no money, no property and have the nerve to look down on ur fellow man...? Fools

• kk 7 years ago

Well done. I enjoyed reading it.

• Ringo Star 7 years ago

History for a change. Politics must be forgotten, at least for a while. There are some phrases in this article that made me laugh though. Specially the Yevo phrase "sly dog" fits the white man's description accurately. More o ...

• the eye germany 7 years ago

This is a great and noble article! However,I feel we should try to stop this name-calling culture and unite as Ghanaians and Africans to develop our county or countries.

Whatever we do, others see us as Black people. We ha ...

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

I just listened to Obama's speech at the DNC congress, and I have come to the conclusion that we have an intellectual midget, in the person of Mahama, as our president. wow! what a speech? and Mahama called himself a communic ...

• OOO 7 years ago

Don't try to put presiden Barrack Obama and looter John Mahama in one category. John Mahama does not come even one million miles closer to president Obama. President Obama is morally upright, while John Mahama is moraally ban ...

• ELINAM 7 years ago

Have you ever listened to our tsiami/kyeami? Aren't they magic the way they play with words? And if you haven't, ask someone who had lived in a palace or around traditional ceremonies.Black people by nature can be great poet ...

How do you teach Hi-Tech to the School Kids? Do you Have Physics, Chemistry Biology books in the Ghanaian languages?

• ELINAM 7 years ago

Translate and write new books on all subjects.
    YOUTUBE Dr. Obadele Kambon a linguist of Legon who was born and raised in NY but now in Ghana teaching Akan language to crazy Ghanaians, and he is teaching her daughter physics, ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

Can you translate "Overdrive Processor, Algorithms, MetalOxide-Feild Effect-Transistor,Avalanche-Breakdown, Oscillating Frequency, impeadance matching,cross-over modulation"etc in Twi?
    Keep talking this BULLSHIT. Just remem ...

• AKM 7 years ago

Ask your parasite brothers living Akanland the languague the speak. They don't speak Ewe there, but twi. How many Ghanaians speak Twi? Almost everybody in Ghana.

How many speak your killer ewe language. Only Ewes speak tha ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

Sorry, Look at your Universities. Taken over completely BY EWES. Is their IQ higher? NO, not necessarily. The trick is they speak better English and can pass Exams!!!
    If you want to live KOKOASE lifestyle, keep REFUSING Eng ...

• K. Mensah 7 years ago

What arrant nonsense that almost everyone speaks Twi in Ghana! What are your stats to back this stupid and ignorant assertion?

What do you mean by describing Ewe as "that heavy language"? Your language Twi may be "light", ...

• AKM 7 years ago

If you and your entire householdare not speaking Twi instead of your heavy Ewe languague, how could you survive in Kumasi? Your carpentary products are bought by the Akans. If you are not speaking Twi how could you sell your ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

Stop fooling yourself. Do you really know & understand HI-TECH world? How many Twi speakers are in Ghana? Every 2 years, Technology CHANGES. Who the FUCK is there to be writing books for maybe 10 million Twi Speakers of which ...

• 1 Loaf 7 years ago

You only pointed one finger at Mahama but had the rest pointing back at yourself. What an Intellectual giant'. Chaeii!!

• Kokuvi Da Togolese 7 years ago

The twi word for a white person is oburoni coined from aburokyire. Aburo (not corn) is the original twi word for large expanse of water (sea or lake)as in abura (small stagnant water/well)so oburoni is a person who comes from ...

• KA 7 years ago

Kokuvi, do you have the evidence that Oburoni was coined from aburokyire or you're also just saying something you heard which you think makes sense?

Is it not more likely that our ancestors who first met the white man will ...

• Kokuvi Da Togolese 7 years ago

Skin colour would have been kokoo (light skin) but as you said, it's possible the actual meaning is lost!

• TRUTH 7 years ago

Did we have such sharp ethnic segmentation among Ghanaians before 'con man' JJ Rawlings and his Ewe tribemen came to steal power through the most satanic revolution the world has ever witnessed? Ghanaians should sit down and ...

Check the case "Salah & Apollo" Busia sacked most Ewes in Civil Service.
    Before that, Akans made a coup in 1967 went and killed ONLY Ewe military officers.(Capt Borkloe, Capt Avevor, Gen Kotoka) Stop distorting History.

• ACCOUNTABILITY 7 years ago

This Ewe looter, who call himself 'No No nonsense, but has no little sense in his armorphous shaped head. He is here to attack people who say the truth.

I know he is or his father is among Ewe gangsters led by 'con and bo ...

• Koo Bantoma 7 years ago

Fine. Your comments well read.
    But note that this segregation or tribalism became more pronounced when Busia took over the reigns of government.

• Kjo Krachie 7 years ago

In a recent article,a writer from one of the war-torn areas in West Africa warned Ghanaians not to introduce tribal differences in our politics since this was a dangerous path to thread.He has seen the same tribal differences ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

I am half Ewe and half Akan.I was born in Takoradi Army Barracks.
    I spoke Hausa,Ewe and Akan,
    My uncles are the Priest of the Klikor Afegame shrine and Nogokpo shrine.
    Anytime i go to visit them,they say Dzogbedzitor has c ...

• DR PROUD 7 years ago

Ewe is a structured language. Most Ewe names or nouns are actually phrases or sentences. "BLU" means "SCREAM" or "YELL". It also means "PROTEST"
    "E-BLUTOR-WO" will in this case mean "THE PROTESTER-S"- This probably came fr ...

• Dr. K. Asimpi 7 years ago

DR. PROUD, I'm afraid, you're totally wrong here. Yes, "Blu" can and does also mean to "yell" or "scream"; it's one of the homonyms we are dealing with here. And homonyms have quite different and diverse meanings. To get the ...

• kalma 7 years ago

good one there

• Peter Ayamga 7 years ago

Insightful

• Dr. Kofi Asimpi 7 years ago

I'm surprised to read your statement that the Ewes themselves don't quite know how they came to call all Akans "eblutorwo". As an Ewe, I've known the meaning of the term and I've not met any Ewe who doesn't understand it, for ...

• Kofi Akuapem 7 years ago

What is the meaning of Ohuani

• HFG 7 years ago

I don't know the meaning, but I know that certain part of Ghana, Ewes are called "shwafoc'.

• KA 7 years ago

Good contribution and quite informative especially the one about the probable etymology of "eblutowo". Your narrative about "ayigbe" also sounds more logical. If all the Gas were moving and one part got lost, how come they st ...

• Jim 7 years ago

Thank you Dr Asimpi.

• Dr. Kofi Asimpi 7 years ago

Mr. Stephen Atta Owusu, a version of the etymology of the word "Ayigbe" escaped my mind when I was writing my contribution last night in response to your article. I'm therefore adding it now.

According to Jakob Spieth, "Ay ...

• KA 7 years ago

But the Ewes do not call themselves "Ayi gbe silawo". It is others who call them ayigbe. If Spieth's thesis is right, then those who call them so must be speakers of Ewe. How else could they use such a descriptive Ewe phrase ...

• ELINAM 7 years ago

Can't be true. Ayi is for Ayikushie. The German can't be right simply because he's a priest and wrote a book about people he knew nothing about in 1909.
    My grand mother never being to school but from a royal family in Anglo ...

• KA 7 years ago

But Spieth may have talked to people much older than your grandmother and therefore nearer to the events that started the oral tradition.

I don't give much credence to his theory but you should not just dismiss him off ha ...

• I am your worst nightmare 7 years ago

absolutely brilliant. I loved this masterpiece. Wow! But again, hmmm, the oburonis suffer most. They are chased and chanted at, "oburoni k)k) makyen ya fikyri gongo"..."Yevu yevu gaiga"..."blofo nyo bi tatale"..."Bature banza ...

• ghanaman 7 years ago

Stephen Atta Owusu has displayed in yet another piece, his ability to produce articles based on background research, a characteristic lacking in the majority of opinion pieces on this platform. Also, it is re-assuring to note ...

• Kay 7 years ago

i wish to commend all of us who have commented, except one or two, for providing us with education and insightful angles. it is refreshing to read comments and articles that educate you. well done Mr. Writer

• DON DEE 7 years ago

NICE EDUCATIVE PIECE AND CONGRAT. BUT I GUESS U GOT THE MEANING OF YEVU WRONG.YEVU MEANS RED OR WHITE SKIN PERSON.

Most names have negative connotation..
    Russians are people who cut or fell trees. The Poles are people who live in the grassland. To the Slavs Ukraine is like Amedzofe as it is to the Ewhes. Russians had the French as their ...

• i and i 7 years ago

hahaha which professor taught you this that ewes defeated Asantes at akatamanso war? You are re-writing history right?

• ELINAM 7 years ago

Aye means trick and avu means dog in the Evwhe language.(a)yevu - a trickish dog - shortened as yevu. Yi means white and dzi means red. Those two descriptions are missing in yevu. Unless you wanna say the evwhe ppl do not k ...

• AA(Naked) say as it is 7 years ago

Br? in twi language means over or above the sea.
    Abr?kyire means over sea.
    The word ?br?ni in twi language means a person from over sea country, Abr?fo or ?br?ni doesn't mean a wicked person. ??br?ni k?k?? is a derogatory ...

• AA(Naked) say as it is 7 years ago

Br? in twi language means over or above the sea.
    Abr?kyire means over sea.
    The word ?br?ni in twi language means a person from over sea country, Abr?fo or ?br?ni doesn't mean a wicked person. ??br?ni k?k?? is a derogatory ...

• Markos Lemma. MD, Phd 7 years ago

It suffice to quote One of the great African leader of this millennium: Nelson Rolihlahla Mandeba or affectionately named Madiba once said quote unquote: "... I dream of an Africa which is in peace with itself "

• poers 7 years ago

a WELL-BALANCED ARTICLE. tHOUGHT-PROVOKING.

• IBRAHIM MUSTAPHA 7 years ago

I WAS ALL THE TIME WONDERING WHY THE AKANS CALL CALL ME PEPENI. WITH YOUR EXPLANATION I NOW KNOW THAT IT IS NOT DEROGATORY. THANKS FOR THE EXPLANATION.

• MARK BOLGA 7 years ago

The author of this article is a brave man. He has treated a very sensitive topic with such alacrity. Kudos

• Markos Lemma. MD, Phd 7 years ago

More quotes:
    Syephen Atta Owusu's Article has demonstrated that what The Great Scientist of the last millenium Albert Einstein has said. Quote unquote: "..Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The importan ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 7 years ago

Stephen, point of correction. First, it was my late grandmother who explained the words "pepeni and ntafuo" to us (my younger sister and I) when we lived with her. Again, I first wrote about the two words, their origin, meani ...

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

Kofi, you are right. Stephen would not be the last... as surely he has not been the first to invoke a productive discussion on this sensitive topic. But what he has achieved with his article is lifting the topic to a new and ...

• Berchie 7 years ago

This is an interesting and educative article. It would have been perfect if the author had expanded the research to know how "Northerners" refer to Akans. I am told it's translated to mean "donkey" because it was strange fo ...

• I am your nightmare 7 years ago

Ashantis are referred to as as "Asantawa"...

• Efo Atsu 7 years ago

I enjoyed reading this piece of information. It was excellently put and neutral but very educative and ethical.

• KKO 7 years ago

Stephen,
    This is an interesting piece. You forgot “Habanasefo” or people from the forest areas. As used by Coastal Fantes, to describe people from up country. That was one of the terms used by Ata mills in his 2012 camp ...

• KA 7 years ago

Those of us interested in the topic have learnt a lot from the contributions.

KKO, yours is also a very worthy addition to our stock of knowledge.

Thanks for the candid admission that "Habanasefo" is derogatory.

• Paa Willie 7 years ago

Good article. Congratulations to the author!

• Afrifa Richmond 7 years ago

No matter your race,it is the same human blood that runs through each other.We shouldn't look dowm upon anyone.Different colours,but one people.

• Kwami - US 7 years ago

Blu/Eblu in Ewe means Brong in Akan. Blutorwo/Bluawo means people who speak the Blu language which is Brong(Akan)language. One example of Bluawo/Eblutorwo (Plural) is Brong Ahafo. The Ewe language that is spoken in Aneho (Ane ...

• Bolo,Finland 7 years ago

This piece of writing has really clarified the prejudices we have with each other and it's my fervent hope that many literates/elites would read to discard all unnecessary,pessimistic and unfruitful impasse amongst tribes.Onc ...

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 7 years ago

This article has really given me an understanding as to how the word PEPENI came about and it's meaning really causes no harm. However, the way some of the Akans mention the said word sometimes provoke the northerners which t ...

• Ashenafi Degefu Phd 7 years ago

A Reply To: OOO
    You made one serious mistake because of your absent of knowledge. The recorded history of the past 70 years or so teaches us that B. Hussein Obsma is the most violent warrior and warmonger in the U.S history. ...

• Oti Akenteng 7 years ago

Good article but it doesn,t matter how we regard or call each others,Peace And Love is what we need.

• Dan 7 years ago

This is a good piece to enlighten our understanding of some terminologis used by us. Though not all may agree with the meaningsame but it worth reading.

• Cecilia 7 years ago

Very interesting article. Well done bro.

• Willie 7 years ago

Is it only now you saw this piece?

Anyway, better late than never...