You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 03 30Article 426527

'Mrs' Charlotte 'Osei', Ghanaians want to know your maiden name

Read Comments Comments (125)

• Victor A.Young 8 years ago

You're right! The position of the EC boss can't just be given to anyone anyhow; you got to be a full-blooded Ghanaian to hold that position. John Mahama being as dumb as he is just put Charlotte Osei there. It's also emerging ...

• BLADE 8 years ago

the ndc is aliens party. i once heard their campaign car blasting loudly in accra, "don't vote for npp because when they win power, they will deport you again." this message also means the ndc encourages aliens to vote and th ...

• king B 8 years ago

Kesson Smith is her maiden name? Anyting wrong?

• Yaa 8 years ago

Her mother is Nigerian and had her with a Ghanaian and married a Nigerian man ( Charlottes Step father)

Her was given her stepfather Nigerian name but later changes it to her Ghanaian fathers name.

Also for your inform ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 8 years ago

There are certain posts which are the exclusive preserve of Ghanaians.
    This issue revolves around Loyalty.
    Where did she spend her formative years and could I go to Nigeria and claim such a highly sensitive and prized posit ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

The author wants clarification from Charlotte herself. Ghanaian men never married Nigerian women in the past.Rare.Ghanaian women married Nigerian men.She is phony.If a Lebanese acquires Ghanaian citizenship yes.When did Charl ...

• Yaa Toronto 7 years ago

No, no Obama was born in USA that made I'm full American only hi dad was a Kenyan living in USA ,so if Charlotte Osei was born in Nigeria ,then he is full Nigerian regardless of his parents.

• Yaw Amofa 8 years ago

The NPP arogance has become a disease afflicting their leaders and supporters alike. They should learn to conduct clean campaign. You keep on saying if all Ghanaians were as educated as your miserable selves. NDC would never ...

• Esi Quaynor 7 years ago

Ahaa! That woman doesn't look like a Ghanaian at all!Those big wide lips and big jaws. HV always wondered why she has such features.Ghanaians must be wise oo

• Kweku 8 years ago

She can call herself anything she wants to. Ghana is full of old darts who can't stand women doing well. Idiotic make chavaunists!

• Kojo T 8 years ago

ay that again.Fucked up reasoning

• fafa 8 years ago

this article is very foolish to fools.

• Osei Kwame Boateng 8 years ago

Kwaku u are right. Is this person itself a Ghanaian? I know women called Christiana Osei and Sandra Osei

• DAVID AMUAH-SEKYI 8 years ago

You are hiding in the UK and posting a rubbish article. Your telephone number is a UK number. If you are a man/woman. come to Ghana and challenge our Mrs. Charlotte Osei. You illegal immigrant and cleaner in the UK too is mak ...

• Ada Boy 8 years ago

This is a blackmail that any civilize society cannot accept.Utter nonsense!

• nana 8 years ago

kwasia man keep mute, ofui

• joe 8 years ago

MY FRIEND THIS WOMAN IS A NIGERIAN FRAUDSTER ,WE WILL EXPOSE HER SOON.VERY SOON

• Esi 8 years ago

Dear author, how dare you?! You want to know her maiden name?

I won't say I am a fan of the EC Chair, but being a woman, I think your article completely misses the point and is dangerous to our society. I can't believe Gha ...

• Man of reason 8 years ago

She had part of her secondary education at Ghanacoll so you can find out about her maiden name.

• BlackMan5 8 years ago

This is one of the many idiotic pieces NPP adherents flood the internet with. What has a person's maiden name got do to with efficiency and effectiveness on the job? Your leading member Atta Akyea'a in-law is Georgina Wood ...

• ALIMI YAO 8 years ago

Her maiden name will provide clues as to her true nationality. It is essential that the Electoral Commissioner is NOT a foreigner. In a country where people with dual citizenship, irrespective of their capabilities, are barre ...

• BlackMan5 8 years ago

It's only on paper that dual citizens are barred from holding certain positions. But I can tell you that in Kuffour's administration, Ghanaians with dual citizenship even served as Ministers of State!

• Lyodd 8 years ago

This is sexual and gender harrassment. This is her privacy. Are you her employer? Shame to all aimless Ghanaians. Think of contributing better things to the economy.

• kwabena Nuhu 8 years ago

Foolish article next time use ur senses well

• Kofi Agbota 8 years ago

imbecile living abroad, woye kwasia paaa. what is your mother's maiden name? bastard boy

• nana 8 years ago

shut up illitrate, thunder fire u

• Miss Etweba 8 years ago

She's Charlotte Kessen from Bamiagoh , Axim ,Western Ghana. Travel there and see for your eyes. Ghana is not for Akyem i or Ashanti . Your family don't even come close to the Kessens. Idiot

• Papa Kwaku 8 years ago

Etweeba, are you not committing the same stupid mistake that the writer of this article has done? What makes you think you have the right in your anger to attack Akyems and Ashantis. Such separates like you are those who thro ...

• EBBY 8 years ago

They are so scared of the Ashantis and the Akyems that they start to shiver and panic. The inferiority complex they feel is unimaginable. Take the chill pill because Asante/Akyems don't have any intention of dominating Ghana. ...

• Ollenu 8 years ago

kai...scared of who? you filthy bat and dog eaters? what can you do? you can't even protect your wives and children from the fulanis. these fulanis who were brutalized by the kokomba people. nobody has your time

• GORGORDUTOR 8 years ago

Akpe Madam Akpenawo!! These idiots always calling people foreigners! Today Acheampong is their martyr, when he overthrew Busia they labeled Kutu Asanteninba from Trabuom a Yoruba from Nigeria

• Charwetey Matthias Teye 8 years ago

u are not serious at all. think abt de challenges in de country not somebody's maiden name. Go ask ur mother

• Carlos G 8 years ago

The NPP lawyers and supporters are all idiots and certificate buyers who have no brains. what is the meaning of this senseless and stupid question. God hv mercy.

• witch hunter 8 years ago

Very Stupid, insane and idiotic article.lntrestinglly, her maiden name is Osei and coincidentally her family name is Osei so are you satisfied??Stupid fool . I hope your question is answered.

• BARRISTER David. 8 years ago

Madness in the Highest Order !!! If you are really a Man with two balls ib between your legs, Why cant u take her to court if u have any imperical evidence that prevent her from holding this positions which none of your gener ...

• witch hunter 8 years ago

With all these speculations about the EC chairperson going on,I don't blame any one apart from 'abyiwa' koadu Agemang Rawlings who started peddling lies against the electoral commissioner as a former first Lady, she supposed ...

• Kwame Addo 8 years ago

Konadu is half-educated. Lucky to have married Rawlings.

• okrufi 8 years ago

Alata yaa osei charlotte that is her Maiden name

• Joseph Apraku 8 years ago

You don't mean it, Damon. Are you threatening her or what. Who are the majority you talked about? The moment an npp talk, it should be final, bcos they are Ghanaians and the majority. Do you actually understand what you talke ...

• ABONSAM FIREMAN,LEICESTER CITY,UK 8 years ago

Adreba,u just managed to show how incouth and stupid u are.Ur write doesnt make any sense.What if Charllote Osei isnt married or divorced?Tell ur NPP to get a better campaign message and put ur party in order.JUST LEAVE CHARL ...

• YF 8 years ago

What is "incouth"? Hahahaha. Leicester City my black ass.

• pope 8 years ago

kwasia bi inti Ghana ay3 basaa

• Kwasi.London 8 years ago

Google the name Charlotte Osei and know about her

• Pilolo 8 years ago

When you cry-cry own cry. I'm Ghanaian and I don't want to know her maiden name. Names have nothing to do with competence and qualification. You are one of those people consumed by tribalism

• Andrews Nyarko 8 years ago

All those commenting again the article are shallow minded. Let the one in question talk for herself. She must prove the author of the article wrong by providing her birth certificate (the original, of course) period. Why are ...

• Omanghanabapa 8 years ago

how she waste her precious time to engage stupid minded people,made,find yourself something doing

• Asuman 8 years ago

infact,you are big big fool.I ll non even comment on this useless article of yours

• Ebeneezer Bosomtwi Constituency NDC 8 years ago

Oh Kwaku, maybe you don't have anything to do where ever you are, you just come to Ghana your own country I will surely find you a better job like ZOOMLiON to do because that will help than written this USELESS, STUPID arti ...

• Mark 8 years ago

I doubt if the author of this piece is a Ghanaian. Do people bearing Ghanaian names in high office in other countries a crime? Must someone bear a native to qualify to hold a high office? Is it in the constitution? Ethnocentr ...

• Osei Kodjo 8 years ago

O judgment, thou art fled to brutish beasts, and men have lost their reason.This is a typical text book case of delusion of grandeur.This man is suffering from a serious mental disorder otherwise he wouldn't have stooped that ...

• Omanghanabapa 8 years ago

kwasia,your stupidity shows you are mentally retarded,come home and stop fooling yourself in modern slavery in the UK

• GABBY INKOOM (0543066586) 8 years ago

This is totally a foolish and stupid question that any sane person may ask. Why not go to court as you people knows best.

• IKE 8 years ago

She is a Ghanaian and that is the most important thing. Stop this Asante divisiveness.

• Papa Kwaku 8 years ago

Ike, What makes you think the writer is an Asante? is it by name? You see how people like you and the writer of this article can expose your stupidity?

• Sister Souljah 8 years ago

Bullshit article complete waste of time and space

• Al Hajj AAA-Rashiid(Oh.USA) 8 years ago

Who is Nana Konadu to question the citizenship of an Electoral Commissioner when her husband who falls in the same category was head of state of Ghana then President of Ghana for 19 years?

Charlotte's maiden name is Kess ...

• ghanani paa 8 years ago

Is konadu agyemang Rawlings the yardstick for truth in ghana? She wasted our precious tume by alledging that Nana addo is not a lawyer. Now u guys take her words to be sacrosanct. What did u say when she challenged the authen ...

• Al Hajj AAA Rashiid (Oh.USA) 8 years ago

I was going to answer your question, but I just realised that I would be wasting my time on you. Until you learn how to spell GHANAIANS I have no use for you. ( courtesy.. Joe Pesci )

• Dr. Kojo K. Bosompem ... Atlanta Ga. 8 years ago

"Ghanani paa" common parlance has it that a word to the wise is enough, please do not start a fight with this Alhaji guy, he is worse than a street fighter. He does not stop till he sees blood...lol. For your information he i ...

• KB 8 years ago

Her STEP FATHER is from Ghana. Her BIRTH FATHER IS NIGERIAN. She schooled in Ghana so what. If her mother was Ghanaian there would be no case here. But both biological parents are Nigerian and she was born in NIGERIA.

So ...

• Kwame Dompreh...Achiase 8 years ago

What are you talking about? How well do you know Charlotte? Her father is Nzema period!

You are in a country where the CDS (Chief of Defense Staff) is Nigerian as well and in fact you are in a country that was once headed ...

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

Al HAJJ even supported woyome when it's a clear case of fraud against Ghana.... Poor Ghanaians, most of which come from the north....... They are virtually slaving in Accra and Kumasi as kayayes yet AL HAJJ keeps supporting w ...

• Al Hajj AAA Rashid(OH. USA) 8 years ago

Yaa-Yaa or whatever you call yourself, let me correct you before you go astray. I am NOT the Al HAJJ in Ghana who either has a Column in most Ghanaian newspapers or is a journalist with his own publication.

I don't know Wo ...

• Douglas Acheampong..( Columbus. Oh) 8 years ago

Yaa-yaa I am afraid, you got the wrong person. This is not the AL HAJJ newspaper guy. I know both of them.
    Whereas the newspaper guy has tribal marks this Al Hajj has no marks.

I believe this Al Hajj has ties with the NDC ...

• STEAL/DEFEND 8 years ago

She is Nigerian, and so is the current Chief of Defense Staff. Any agenda ?

• nana addo 8 years ago

Since akans are matrilineal. Nana S children with the Nigerian woman are nigerians is that not so

• Divine 8 years ago

Nonsense

• Sky blue 8 years ago

NO! IDIOT! IAM A GHANAIAN AND SATISFIED WITH THE NAME MRS CHARLOTTE OSEI. IDIOT IF YOU WANT HER MAIDEN NAME I CAN GIVE IT TO YOU. SHE IS NANA CHARLOTTE BINADOKUFFOADUUUU.

Bravo! Pls continue with ur investigations n if she's found culpable, impeach her n let her leave de office for a more competent person. Every thing shows clearly that she n de EC are in bed with NDC. She's simply a PUPPET.

• jojo 8 years ago

well done Kwaku Abrefa Damoa,l will like to know from you if nana Addo was able to finish his law school.people have been accusing him of this please try to clarify this for us.

• Ebenezer Bosomtwi Constituency 8 years ago

Oh what a shame. So you think that you are given s good information about Mrs Charlotte Osei? Than am sorry to you.

• Koklotsu 8 years ago

I bet you the FATHER of the fool who wrote this article is either from Mali, Niger or Burkina. His dwarfish mother was crossed to give birth to him as a human being. He does not know his father who was eliminated by his mothe ...

• YF 8 years ago

Do you even know your father? The one you call a father is just a surrogate. Your real father is also who you call your grandfather.

You smelly incestuous daughter fucker. You are a product of incestuous relationship betwe ...

• Little Safari 8 years ago

You are as stupid as Nana Konadu, mind you that this is not her first public office she had held.Nonsense

• Nana Yaa Asantewaa 8 years ago

so who does not know, she was Charlotte Kesson-Smith. a pure Fante name. If her mum has naija roots, so what? this article is sheer balderdash.. Please stop trying to hound the lady. Just go to Legon and check her records.

• Jamez 8 years ago

Both mother and father are Nigerians. Her STEP FATHER is Ghanaian. She was born in NIGERIA. She is a Ghanaian by marriage or maybe adoption. But she was Nigerian first.

• Gudwan 8 years ago

You are just following the path of your forebears who tormented Gen. Acheampong that he was a Nigerian because of his middle name Kutu. I want to assure you that your diabolical campaign will come to not just as your forebear ...

• Koklotsu O 8 years ago

Abrefa, asked urself dat stupid fool question. bullshit, silly. R we ur researchers tu find out dis for u. U piple always go tu law court so if u can't understand urself, de court is dere 24hrs. who r de majorities of Ghanaia ...

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

Volta and northern Ghana, no wonder you remain the poorest in Ghana because of your mindset...... If charlotte osei isn't Ghanaian then kick her away because she can never never love Ghana like a true Ghanaian...... Ooooooooh ...

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

Whatever you do, Adreba Kwaku Abrefa Damoa, please tell us peasants what we should do about those Ghanaians in the Diaspora who want to vote in Ghana's elections and or influence election outcomes in Ghana? If parentage is th ...

• YAA-YAA 8 years ago

FULANIS are killing us and raping our women ....... Chinese are doing galamsey,...... Nigerians control our EC..... hahahaaaa hahahaaaa hahahaaaa hahahaaaa....... No wonder ndc government is duping Ghanaians big time while k ...

• Kwame Addo 8 years ago

Ojam Damoa, why not go to court and check on the EC records to verify her maiden name before she got married. What you guys are doing is counterproductive - it is going to make Ghanaians VOTE MASSIVELY for NDC. Mark my words.

• Solomon Opoku Sekyere 8 years ago

Very interesting
    if someone writes an article and you dnt like the idea why insults oooh lack of knowledge and understanding Ghanaians will continue to be slaves to politicians

• Brady 8 years ago

Why not pose your questions to the person who appointed the EC.You have to go to the source of her appointment and stop your nonsense.

• Dengo 8 years ago

This lady's attitude and behavior is not different from that of a prostitute. How did she get job after the Judicial Council rejected her severally to go to the bench. She must surely had or having s.x with the shameless woma ...

• Jake 8 years ago

Indeed these are the thoughts of most so called educated Ghanaians.

• KING LOMOTEY 8 years ago

Brother Kwaku Damoa, please stop using "Ghanaians want to know" refrain, when you haven't been to Ghana for quite a while.
    Also the term 'radix' , usually plural radices, is used in Mathematics, and in Botany, a root; radicl ...

• Kwame Addo 8 years ago

Damoa, what does parisosis mean?

• nana yaa 8 years ago

Ehhhh,Npp, always on the move to destruction. God is in control of Ghanaians, allow people to have rest and peace. What do gain undermining issues or people ? This is too much of the Npp party members. They always have negati ...

• Alhassan frm kasoa 8 years ago

complete nonsence article

• joe 8 years ago

MY FRIEND THIS LADY IS A NIGERIAN FRAUDSTER WAIT AND U WILL HEAR SOON ASK HER WHERE SHE WAS BORN AND WHERE DOES HER MOTHER COME FROM ALL THESE WILL COME UP WAIT

• HONESTY 8 years ago

Before you start asking about Charlotte Osei's maiden name,let Nana Akufo Addo tell us the name of the law school he attended in the UK, why he was sacked from Oxford University, how he entered the University of Ghana and cam ...

• Ghanaba Babs In the Diaspora 8 years ago

Whatever name one wishes to be called is no one else's business.

• Jango Albert 8 years ago

How do you win elections wit this attitude? If you had succeeded in changing the voter's register, her name and the rest wouldn't have been any issues to you. We are all wise and awake.

• BABA AHMED ACHIMOTA 8 years ago

Why do you choose to give readers half information on this lady. Be bold and come out with all you know about her or shut up for the rest of your life. So if the President appoints somebody of not your choice you lable the pe ...

• Bell 8 years ago

Mr Damoa.....u are chasing a shadow formed from a translucent body.....keep on chasing.....u mite catch it one day.

All the best......politics is good for some of u who spents most of ur time and space researching into and ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

Gentleman, you are a novice in the field of politics. You should have been heading to the courts by now if really have something against the EC boss. Keep deceiving yourselves whilst others are winning the hearts and minds of ...

• Marquis 8 years ago

Does it matter? Obama is US President. So whatever you think she is, she is your EC Boss. Be progressive and stop hiding behind wherever you are to bring her name into disrepute.

• Kwaseato! 8 years ago

I hope this will help the "Glorified Idiot" called Abrefa Damoa.

CHARLOTTE KESSON-SMITH A.K.A Mrs Osei.

Detailed Biography
    Charlotte Kesson Smith Osei Charlotte has a LL.B Hons (second class upper division) from the U ...

• Nii Kojo 8 years ago

What shows that you are a Ghanaian. Bearing a Ghanaian name does not make you a Ghanaian my brother from Togo

• NOBODY 8 years ago

You're the only person wanting to know the lady's maiden name, not Ghanaians. Stop peddling your serial lies. The NPP tried to bully the EC without success, and immediately reverted to attempts to undermine Mrs. Osei with per ...

• Obolai 8 years ago

Leave the lady alone!
    Since when did the use of a husband's name become a crime??
    You are clearly clutching at straws. Get a job my brother!

• Jo Alaa 8 years ago

Your writing is nothing but nonsense, garbage, and good for nothing

• Salifu seidu 8 years ago

Please,please, please, Mr Damoah,the woman has said repeatedly that whoever problem with her identity,serving on boards, and what have you should meet her in court.so please spear our ears.what you are doing is akin to beatin ...

• Omanba Kwame 8 years ago

I am telling you because this Charlottesville girl is arrogant and will not clear the air.
    Take this,Her full name is:
    Charlottesville Mahama Africa Gyan Osei.
    This the true name of the EC of Ghana.

• Joe Mensah 8 years ago

Granted both her parents are Nigerians. Have you bothered to find out her place of birth? If she was born in Ghana then she is a full Ghanaian. Unless she decides to choose Nigerian citizenship. Are you trying to imply that t ...

• Kwame Joe 8 years ago

Obviously Damoa is not a thinking being. I'm a Ghanaian citizen living in the US, where my children, US citizens are holding important, critical jobs for the federal govt. Ergo, if the EC has non-Ghanaian parents, but was bor ...

• joe 8 years ago

THE FACT U ARE NOT THINKING IS THAT THE CONTITUTION OF GHANA DONT ALLOW DUAL NATIONALS TO HOLD A HIGHER POSITION LIKE PRESIDENCY , HIGH COMMISSION, ELECTORAL COMMISION, NOR MILITARY , COMMANDER SO PLEAS WAIT SHE WILL BE EXPOS ...

• K.Bolaji 8 years ago

Please do not insult the author of this article but try to educate him. My surname is Bolaji and I am a Ghanaian. What if Mrs Charlotte Osei has Nigerian parents, that doesn't make a none Ghanaian. I only hope you and your i ...

• joe 8 years ago

IF SHE HAS DUAL CITIZENSHIP WHICH WE FOUND OUT AT THE UNIVERSITY SHE WENT IN CANADA, IT DOES NOT QUALIFY HER TO HOLD A HIGHER POST IN GHANA AS GHANA CONSTITUTION DONT ALLOW. SO WAIT AND YOU WILL SOON HEAR KEEP ON READING THE ...

• Amponsah 8 years ago

Hmmmmmm asem ooo

• Jenny 8 years ago

Eii Ghanaians, hmm you are suffering yet you lot are still here supporting your assassinators, wow I guess suffering is good for you. You deserve to suffer under NDC.

• DANIEL 8 years ago

Look go grab some food and get off this block.Stupid, crappy article is what comes from a politically hungry fellow.

• dayer 8 years ago

Because u people r just stupid NDC people who can't think just like ur gov, that is why u can't understand a simple question , she should come out n tell us , idiots.

• David 8 years ago

Massa if u have evidence file a law suit against her

• neropraise 8 years ago

I think this is not the proper platform for you...if you are convinced of all your allegations, the woman says 'take me to court' ...until that is done, you are, but making noise

• joe 8 years ago

THE PROPER CHANNEL WILL COME VERY SOON DONT WORY

• joe 8 years ago

HER MOTHER JUST DIED IN NIGERIA 2MONTHS AGO.she was born in NIGERIA AND WENT TO SCHOOL IN NIGERIA AT HER EARLY AGE IN EASTERN NIGERIA.AFTER SHE WAS TAKING TO GHANA . THE NAME KESSON SMITH IS HER MUMS BOYFRIEND NAME. OSEI DID ...

• neropraise 8 years ago

Did you ask where was her placenta buried?...strange question....so what if those Ghanian citizens living in other countries, do they bring the placentas of their kids home to bury in Ghana??

• thelynq 8 years ago

Ignorance. Ghanaian by marriage. Dummy

• J B 8 years ago

The writer has a point . Google search for Mrs Charlotte Osei reveals clearly that the commissioner's identity nd citizenship is questionable. She is definitely not citizen of this country to deserve such higher nd delicate o ...

• Stephen Matib 8 years ago

Someone should tell this lazy lying idiot to go to court and make his case. This old fashioned way of tagging high office holders as non-Ghanaian has lost its shine. From Kwame Nkrumah through Acheampong , Busia to Rawlings a ...

• J B 8 years ago

Some idiots are are comparing this bastard woman who even dosen't know her father let alone where he hails from to USA president Barrack Obama . Every body knows the identity of Obama's parents. besides he was born in USA . D ...

• Gold R.K.L 6 years ago

I love charlotte Osei so much she is the most beautifull pretty gorgeous woman have ever seen and she's lovely

• Gold R.K.L 6 years ago

I love Charlotte Osei so much she is the most beautifull,cute,pretty gorgeous woman have ever seen and she's lovely