You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 03 18Article 424226

Is Rawlings ready to be executed?

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

Sarp, don't you know Rawlings does not count himself amongst us mere mortals and is therefore above the law? Railings by the virtue of the drunk Scottish blood running through his veins think he is better than every Ghanaian ...

• Ebo Letrik 8 years ago

You must realize by now that "the myth
    surrounding JJ, is TEFLON"!

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

I have read through the comments of Trokosi Gersis, Kojo T, Dzikor and Princewilly, i'm yet to read from crazy bald head, C.Y. Andy K though - and I came to the conclusion that: either these Nyebros lack comprehension - which ...

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

Rawlings is not a murderer. As a military personnel I do not like the way he managed the country under his coup d'etat, I don't like the way he managed the country after taking over.

You people say the dumbest things to lo ...

• Dr. Kwame Asare 8 years ago

Pls, cope and paste the link below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWvcwYsMDew

• KONONGO KAYA 8 years ago

copy not cope

• SARPONG 8 years ago

You are not worth anybody's time. Rawlings has admitted ordering the abduction and killing of Yeyeboy so what more evidence do you need to accept that he is a murderer? What court convicted yeyeboy of killing anybody?

• Shocker 8 years ago

With all due respect to "JJ THE MURDERER" What is he saying. Please Almighty Lord don't come on Earth now.
    Those who did the murders in the 1980's/1990's should live to see thier doom. Their generations being wiped out. Lik ...

• Kwadwo. 8 years ago

Rawlings killed his superiors to gain political power to enrich his family and friends. Sadly some sycophants cheered him on and innocent citizens lost their lives. Rawlings is a murderer and it is only in Ghana such a scum b ...

• Isa 8 years ago

Yeye boy killed more people than JJ. He deserved to be killed.

• A GERSIS 8 years ago

A Gersis Reporting

Fellow Ghanaians

Sarpong is a caitiff, an agregious fool who is so foolish that he stands out from the herd. This Homo will fight for a whore but will run away from the 'Cardinal' truth.

Infact, ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

See how these incestuous daughter molesters are. Anytime you bring their bastard little god to earth by exposing him as an airhead, these blabbermouth fools go bonkers.

• DR LAUGH 8 years ago

Sarpong, I saw you cheering JJ and saying "Let the Blood Flow". Charlie, I was there. You were wearing that your green OBRONI-WAWU shirt. You were shouting at the top of your voice. You think I dont know you?

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Duh!

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

I thought this diaper wearing octogenarian called GERSIS had gone into coma after spewing garbage on this site several years ago. The mention of his tin god Rawlings has awakened him up. I can imagine the hold this herd menta ...

• H S Fire 8 years ago

Unbelievable: Rawlings sees others but NOT himself as a murderer even though he lined up individual SOULS against poles and murdered them in COLD BLOOD. 3 decades later he no longer sees himself as a murderer. Maybe ridding h ...

• Cowboy 8 years ago

You damn sure right. A lot of people in his regime are not supposed to be alive for serious offences like what he said, but you see them moving around freely.W.O 1 Salifu Amankwaa had to die out of sickness even though he was ...

• Alligator 8 years ago

Nobody shall be given the right to kill another person NO MATTER WHAT THAT PERSON DOES!

The death penalty for ANYBODY is wrong. Indeed, even killing people in war is wrong. We shouldn't even be fighting wars in the first ...

• SAINT 8 years ago

THIS IS A STUPID QUESTION. WAS THERE A LAW ON CAPITAL PUNISHMENT DURING THE TIME OF RAWLINGS. IT WOULD AMOUNT TO WITCH HUNTING IF WE ASK SUCH STUPID QUESTION.
    LET US PASS THE LAW ON CAPITAL PUNISHMENT TODAY AND IT WOULD TAT ...

• KKBK 8 years ago

Fool, there is a law in Ghana for capital punishment and there was law in Ghana for capital punishment during the time of Rawlings. Fool, what right does Rawlings had to abduct and murder somebody?

RAWLINGS didn't have ...

• kwasi baffour 8 years ago

why do you waste your time to compare somebody like rawlings to Kuffour?there is a big difference between the two men.KUFFUOR knows his father whereas the other man has no idea how his father looks like.compare their educatio ...

• Joe Manu 8 years ago

Why Rawlings and his family are still living and enjoying their stolen wealth,after murdering innocent people is still beating my understanding.

• John Bondzie. 8 years ago

Joe Manu,you're right,apart from Ghana no country in the world would let Rawlings to go Scott-free,and still live on tax payers money.After all the atrocities he and his men committed.

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

Rawlings & his Wife have proved to be more corrupt than the 3 former Heads of States (and Senior Military Officers), that were publicly executed
    at Teshie Military Range. For this reason alone he
    should face the same pen ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

YEYE BOY WAS THE EWE AL CAPONE IN THE VILLAGE AND HE THOUGHT HE WAS UNTOUCHABLE.
    SCORES OF PEOPLE HAD DISAPPEARED IN HIS VILLAGE.PEOPLE BOARD HIS CARS IN THE LORRY STATIONS AND THEY ARE DRIVEN TO HIS VILLAGE AND NEVER RETUR ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

PrinceWilly, sometimes you guys argue blindly due to your tribal or political affiliation. I am not defending Yeye boy but if he did all what you are accusing him of doing, then he should have been arrested, tried and if foun ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

THE LAWS IN GHANA DON'T WORK.IF YEYE BOY WAS ARRESTED AND TRIED,HE WOULD HAVE BEEN RELEASED.
    SOME OF THE EWE VOODOO PRIEST THOUGHT THEY WERE UNTOUCHABLE.
    THE EXECUTION WAS DONE TO BREAK THE MYTH SURROUNDING THEM.
    REMEMBER ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

"THE LAWS IN GHANA DON'T WORK.IF YEYE BOY WAS ARRESTED AND TRIED,HE WOULD HAVE BEEN RELEASED."

Is that your reason for supporting this nonsense? So if I think somebody is a murderer and if I sent him to court he will be se ...

• Sulley 8 years ago

Sarpong, same way as Rawlings; if you have good evidence Rawlings is a murder, you can bring out and initiate a legal action against him. Or is it about the INDEMNITY CLAUSE? Well I hope you gave your suggestions to the Const ...

• Isa 8 years ago

A killer of murderers can never be killed. Imagine your brother travels on Yeye boy's car and is sent to his shrine to be killed. Or your wife is a friend of Yeye boy's wife, she (your wife) visits Yeye boy's wife and you hea ...

• Kojo T 8 years ago

Do not worry about these tribalist buffoons

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Listen to this brainless smelly illiterate old trokosi idiot. Stinky fool, your little god Rawlings is a murderer and has no moral authority to call for anybody to be executed.

• Sinking Gh 8 years ago

You are still waking free in our streets
    without being arrested for all the crimes you committed during your term of office.
    You are a man animal,all that you know is killing,animal

• Dziko Kwame 8 years ago

Onua Sarpong

If in the High Court of Sarpong, located there in Texas, the murder of YEYEBOY was found to be by Jerry John Rawlings, then JJR would have to be extradited (hoping we have that treaty with the State of Texas). ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Ask JJ, You don't sound like you are the sharpest knife in the drawer. In any jurisdiction, the murderer is not only the person who actually did the killing. The person who plans the killing without actually doing the killing ...

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

Ask Yeye Boy about how many people he killed. You should be grateful of the death of Yeye Boy. It seems you were far away from the areas of Yeye Boy if you were born by then.

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

What court convicted Yeye boy of anything? Are you people just stupid or just plain imbeciles?

If yeyeboy was a criminal, why didn't we arrest and put him on trial instead of abducting and killing him?

• Lazarus 8 years ago

Big FOOL and a son of a ritualist. I think Yeye boy made juju for your father so you post this. Which court and Judge could have tried that multiple killer who killed for your father to make money.

• ebenezer nii amu first-quao 8 years ago

....when he botched his 15 May 1979 mutiny against the military junta of his day, even before his court-martial, JJ asked to be executed and his followers spared.An open trial and a revolution later,nobody had obliged.He agai ...

• Michael Adzima 8 years ago

Your question begs the point either you back death sentence or you do not. It is not about whether is guilt of murder or not

• TD 8 years ago

Mr Jato! You have said it right, but do u know that you and your wife should be the first to be killed? Pls get yourself ready to be kill.

• EMMANUEL AGBESI 8 years ago

The evil deeds he committed against fellow Ghanaians will haunt his generation one by one. Rawlings out of frustrations and bitter anger targeted mostly Ashiantis and few Ewes as a compromise. Some of us were stronger than ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

JJ is a holier than thou murderer!

Is Queen Elizabeth and George Bush Jnr ready to be executed. Tens of thousand of people were murdered by British security services in the name of Queen Elizabeth and George Bush Jnr. said that he was wrong because he did not ...

• C/C 8 years ago

This goat is guilty of MURDERING INNOCENT PEOPLE. Why is walking around free????Togolese bastard!!!

• LONTO-BOY 8 years ago

My fellow, OKATAKYIE SARPONG, I can understand where you're coming from on Rawlings' call for the restoration/reintroduction of the Death Penalty. Of course, it is a tad ironic and hypocritical considering Rawlings' own murde ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Okatakyie, I think I made my stand clear on this issue. I even said Rawlings is right but he is not the right messenger on this issue.

He as a person has no moral right or authority to call for the execution of murderers w ...

• LONTO-BOY 8 years ago

OKATAKYIE SARPONG, thanks for putting things in context. But again, Rawlings is the richest source of irony and hypocrisy.

• **** 8 years ago

Justice, more often than not, I have respected your viewpoint but this time you have failed to impress me. Go back and re-read what Rawlings said, and then ask yourself: "HAS JJR EVER BEEN CONVICTED BY A CREDIBLE COURT OF L ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

: "HAS JJR EVER BEEN CONVICTED BY A CREDIBLE COURT OF LAW FOR MURDER?"

Thanks for you comment but if one has to be convicted for murder before he or she can be called a murderer let alone executed, can you tell me what cou ...

• Sulley 8 years ago

I thought these imbeciles would have been quick to realize that he Rawlings has never been tried by any court of competent jurisdiction, let alone found guilty of murder.
    Any of these trash writers can start a court proces ...

• Yanney 8 years ago

You doltish fool, nobody needs a conviction to call a leader of a country who uses his power to kill people like bastatd Rawlings did a murderer.

What court tried Hitler, Pol Pot and mass murderers like their type but they ...

• THE CRUSADER 8 years ago

He is a joke and his time is catching up with him, (when an animal is about to die it strugles) this is what's happening,he years his own shadow sas

• LAST MESSENGER 8 years ago

Non other but ourselves can help free our minds,so says prophet Bob Marley.Of all the execution that JJ made there is one that will take him to heaven and that is the killing of yeye boy.This man yeye boy has killed thousand ...

• Concern 8 years ago

you guys got it wrong,Rawlings never did what you are claiming,if he did you are also qualify to cause his arrest.The Rawlings I know fought for the peace you and I are enjoying now,period, asah!!

• George, Achimota - Accra 8 years ago

What do you understand by revolution ? Get away with your propaganda.

• Yaro 8 years ago

Rawlings is the founder of modern Ghana, he actually open wide and broad the eyes of every Ghanaian to wake up from their slumber, ashiantes and Akan speakers only hate him because of not one of their kins men but have forgo ...