This is a very strong and accurate piece. In actual fact, the Kuffuor faction in the NPP is an Ashanti faction. This faction only wants an Ashanti as the leader/presidential candidate of the NPP period.If the Ashanti faction does not support Nana Addo to win the next election, it will be the end of NPP as we know it.
OBIA DIE MIENU MIENU 9 years ago
NANA ADDO DOES NOT HAVE THE LEADERSHIP SKILLS NOR ANY VISION FOR PARTY OR GHANA, BEYOND WANTING TO LIVE AT PEDUASE LODGE AGAIN AND TO ENTERTAIN LIKE BRITISH ARISTOCRATS WITH HIS SELF-ACCLAIMED ELITE, SUPER-GHANAIAN FAMILY AND FRIENDS.
HE JUST A PRETENTIOUS GRANDEE WANNA-BE, PRETENDING TO BE MORE BRITISH THAN EVEN PRINCE CHARLES HIMSELF. CLUELESS, LAZY POLITICIAN WHO JUST ENJOYS BEING A DEMI-GOD AND THE FUNFAIR OF BEING FLAGBEARER. IF YOU ARE HONEST, YOU WOULD SEE THAT HIS CHARACTER IS BEING A SEE-NOTHING, DO-NOTHING LAISSEZ-FAIR "PRESIDENT" WHILE THERE IS UTTER CHAOS BELOW HIM AND WITH MANY SYCOPHANTS TRYING TO PROVE THEY LOVE HIM MORE THAN HIS WIFE BY DOING BUFFOONISH THINGS. HE IS NOT INTERESTED IN THE HARD WORK OF LEADERSHIP OR SOLVING PROBLEMS. SAME WAY IF HE EVER BECOMES PRESIDENT, HE WOULD DELUDE HIMSELF AND TELL GHANAIANS THAT THAT THERE IS NO DUMSOR, POOR ROADS, POOR HEALTHCARE, ETC IN GHANA, WHILES HIS LACKEYS WOULD BE PRAISING HIM AS A DEMI-GOD, THE BEST LEGAL BRAIN IN AFRICA EVER, AND THE BEST BLACK MAN THAT EVER LIVED, PERIOD. MIND YOU THE PROBLEMS OF A DEVELOPING COUNTRY ARE TOO BIG FOR ANY GOVERNMENT TO SOLVE QUICKLY, OTHERWISE IT WOULD ALL HAVE BEEN SOLVED DURING NKRUMAH, BUSIA, ACHEAMPONG, RAWLINGS, KUFUOR AND MILLS/ MAHAMA PRESIDENCIES. YET WE ARE LED TO BELIEVE THAT SOMEONE LIKE NANA ADDO, A LOCAL ACCRA LAWYER WHO HAS LIVED AND WORKED HERE IN GHANA ALL HIS LIFE, WITH NO EXPERIENCE SOLVING ANY COMPLEX LEGAL ISSUES OR MAJOR SOCIO-ECONOMIC PROBLEMS EVEN IN HIS OWN SMALL KYEBI AREA, JUST POMPOSITY AND PRETENSIONS OF BEING SOMEONE SPECIAL IS THE SOLUTION TO ALL OF GHANA AND THE BLACK MAN'S UNDER-DEVELOPMENT!!! THIS IS SOMEONE WHO DIDN'T APPLY HIMSELF IN SCHOOL, GRADUATING WITH A 3RD CLASS DEGREE, SOME ONE WHO WAS MP OF HIS AREA FOR THREE TERMS, YET THERE IS LITTLE DEVELOPMENT IN THE AREA TO PROVE HIS SPECIAL LEADER CREDENTIALS. GO TO KIBI AND SEE UNDER-DEVELOPMENT!
AND TO THOSE MUSLIM YOUTH AND YOUNG PEOPLE KILLING THEMSELVES FOR NANA ADDO TO BECOME PRESIDENT - YOU DO NOT KNOW THESE PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THE MAN IS NOT EVEN PRESIDENT YET, HAVE YOU SEEN HIS CONVOYS? DO YOU KNOW THE COST OF THE HOTEL ROOMS HE PREFERS TO STAY IN WHENEVER HE VISITS LONDON, NEW YORK, AMSTERDAM, ETC??? HAVE YOU SEEN HOW HIS BODY GUARDS BEAT UP RAWLINGS AND ATTA MILLS AIDES TO A PULP IN NANA ADDO'S PRESENCE AT DIFFERENT OCCASIONS IN KUMASI AND IN THE CENTRAL REGION, WHEN NPP WAS IN POWER IN 2008? YOU ARE JUST KILLING YOURSELF FOR HIM AND HIS SELF-ACCLAIMED "ELITE AND SPECIAL GHANAIANS" FAMILY AND FRIENDS TO COME AND AMASS GHANA WEALTH AND SET UP THEIR CHILDREN'S CHILDREN CHILDREN'S FOR THE LIFESTYLES THEY BELIEVE IS THEIR "BIRTH RIGHT IN THIS WORLD". AND YOU SHEDDING YOUR BLOOD, YOU WONT EVEN GET 100 GHANA CEDIS OVER HIS "3" TERMS. YES, THIS NANA ADDO MAN AND HIS FORKED-TONGUE BOOT-LICKERS WOULD CHANGE THE CONSTITUTION OF GHANA TO ALLOW HIM TO RUN FOR A THIRD TERM AFTER RIGGING. YOU, YOU WOULD REMAIN AS POOR IF NOT POORER THAN BEFORE YOUR DEMI-GOD NANA ADDO BECAME PRESIDENT.
NANA ADDO WHO CURRENTLY HAS MUCUS DRIPPING DISGUSTINGLY FROM HIS NOSE ON STAGE. IS THIS THE SUPERMAN SUPPOSED TO REPRESENT GHANA ON A WORLD STAGE WITH THAT HIS FAKE LOCALLY ACQUIRED FOREIGN ACCENT???? DOES NANA ADDO LOOK LIKE A MAN WHO LIKES HARD WORK, OR CAN DO THE WORK OF GHANA PRESIDENT? - IN ONE WEEK, FROM CABINET MEETING, TO UN CONFERENCE, TO AU CONFERENCE, TO CENTRAL REGION, TO ASHANTI REGION, TO MEETING WITH AUSTRALIA PRESIDENT, ETC ETC. HE CANT DO THE WORK, ITS HIS FAMILY MEMBERS "I USED MY FATHERS CREDENTIALS FOR LAW SCHOOL" NANA ASANTE BEDIATUO, "RECENT LONDON RASTAMAN/ DJ AND GRADUATE" GABBY OTCHERE-DARKO, "SSNIT OBOTAN" KEN OFORI-ATTA, "I AM TOO GOOD TO DATE A BLACK MAN, AND WOULD ONLY F*CK AND MARRY OLD WHITE AMBASSADORS TO GHANA" HARD-LOOKING NANA YAA OFORI-ATTA, AND OTHER FORMER TORONTO TAXI-DRIVER RETURNEE FAMILY MEMBERS, ETC ETC ETC WHO WOULD BE PERFORMING THE PRESIDENTIAL DUTIES (ALL HOLDING BLUE POLYTHENE BAGS FOR MONEY COLLECTIONS), WHILES THE PRESIDENT HIMSELF IS LIVING LARGE AT PEDUASE LODGE.
HAVE YOU SEEN HOW HE HAS PUSHED ASIDE LONG-SERVING NPP MEMBERS FOR HIS SOCIAL FRIEND, CPP MAN FREDDY BLAY TO COME AND CHOP CHAIRMAN. IF HE EVER BECOMES PRESIDENT, YOU PEOPLE THAT CAMPAIGNED FOR HIM WOULD NOT GET SQUAT, NANA ADDO AND HIS KITCHEN CABINET WOULD GO AND BRING THEIR FRIENDS, BRITISH CITIZENS WITH GHANAIAN BACKGROUND WHO HAVE NOT STEPPED FOOT IN GHANA FOR FIFTY YEARS TO COME AND CHOP MINISTER, GOVERNOR, AMBASSADOR, ETC. YOU DON'T KNOW THESE PEOPLE WHO (ACCORDING TO NANA BEDIATUO ON ONE DSTV SHOW) ARE THE AMERICAN KENNEDY FAMILY OF GHANA WITH THEIR SO-CALLED HOLLYWOOD WIVES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kofi Agyare 9 years ago
Nana Addo is a monumental failure who has blame everyone except himself.
Who told you that Nana Addo supported Kufour in 2000? Nana Addo after losing the primaries to Kufour left Ghana to UK and was only convinced to come to Ghana when his people realised that Kufour was winning the election and came to join and attended only one rally in Accra. This is a fact I want any Nana Addo supporter to dispute with fact about the number of rallies Nana attended for Kufour in the 2000 elections.
I will also urge you as a member of the party with access to the party constitution to go back and read how to remove an elected officer from his position and compared with what Nana Addo and his cronies have done in suspending Afoko and the others.
Even though Nana Addo did not support Kufour, Kufour as a unifier, patriotic and a true democrat gave him two top positions in his government which Nana Addo failed miserably. Have you forgotten the President Vrs Tsatsu?
Nana Addo is incompetent, arrogant, autocratic and lack managerial skills to lead party like NPP. He prefer to surround himself with family members and thieves like Freddie Blay and Abankwah Yeboah whose only aim to lead NPP are not to win power, and deliver Ghanaians from the NDC mismanagement and corruption but rather to steal party money and divert party resources to secret account.
My final advice is for NPP to change Nana Addo and replace with Bawuamia or Alan with other as running mate.
My prefer position is for Bawuamia with Alan as his running mate. This is what can win NPP 2016 election but not grand pa and incompetent Nana Addo who does not know anything about management.
SENDERO 9 years ago
I agree with your thoughts. Nana Addo does not have the unifying skills that Kufuor has.
Kufuor is a unifying moderate. He was able to bring the entire party together irrespective of differences. He also added the CPP mo ... read full comment
I agree with your thoughts. Nana Addo does not have the unifying skills that Kufuor has.
Kufuor is a unifying moderate. He was able to bring the entire party together irrespective of differences. He also added the CPP moderates in the Western and Central regions and this was key to beating Mills in his home region in 2000 and 2004. In 2008 Nana Addo broke that alliance and saw the NPP fall in that part of Ghana enabling the NDC to win there.
Then his campaign style was the exact opposite of Kufuor in 2000. Even though Kufuor had no money (I recall he had just 3 cars) he ran a grassroots campaign, sleeping in villages, and towns, endearing himself to the people and winning their love, admiration, and support. Fast forward to 2008 Nana Addo runs an ostentatious campaign whizzing around Ghana in huge convoys, horns blazing and sleeping in expensive hotels. It allowed NDC to tag him as arrogant and detached from the people.
Meanwhile Mills was campaigning like Kufuor did in 2000. Kufuor was actually the first to run a house to house campaign in Ghana by visiting Nima and other places. Mills copied this and NPP laughed at him at the time.The result was there for all to see in 2008.
Also the early allegations about drug use and dropping out of Oxford were not handled properly. Nana Addo should have been like Obama and Clinton - admitted using drugs and being irresponsible and brushing it off as being part of his youth 5 years ago. By keeping quiet he allowed NDC to tag him as a drug user and drug dealer!
Another issue was in his statements on TV between the 1st election and run off. No one has the destiny to be President. No one was born to be President. When you say these things it will make people angry. Some people I spoke to said these statements turned them away from NPP to NDC for the run off
These statements reinforced the sense of triumphalism by Nana Addo. When he won the nomination in 2008 he was welcomed by a red carpet at his house and there was also a later big bash at Kennedy Agyapong's place with champagne, flashy cars and expensive suits on display. When Kufuor won NPP primaries in 1998 there was nothing of the sort. There was just a church service in Sunyani the day after, then he went back to Accra
Also Nana Addo's militant stance anytime he loses reinforces the view that he is a hothead who will plunge Ghana into darkness. When Kufuor lost in 1996 he did 2 things that stunned Ghanaians: 1st he went round Ghana thanking the people for voting for him! This had never happened at the time1 Second he went to congratulate President Rawlings at the inauguration and again this was surprising to Ghanaians as it was apublic display of leadership. Here is the key to his success
He had so much advice for Nana Addo but Nana deliberately kept him out of the campaign. As someone said this was a killer blow. Kufuor had campaigned 4 times for president, 1996, 2000, 2000 run off and 2004 and had won 3 of them. Nana Addo had never campaigned for this and had no experience
I wish Nana Addo all the best but deep down inside he knows he has made a big mistake cutting Kufuor out of the 2008 campaign and deep down inside I think he has lost the opportunity to be president through his errors and attitude
DARDOM, LONDON 9 years ago
VERY GOOD AND ACCURATE ACCOUNT OF WHAT HAPPENED. I HOPE THE WRITER OF THE MAIN DISTORTED ARTICLE WOULD LEARN THE HISTORY OF THE NPP FROM YOUR PIECE AT LEAST
DARDOM, LONDON 9 years ago
VERY WELL SAID!YOU SAID IT AS IT IS. THAT'S THE TRUTH OF THE MATTER. I WON'T DOUBT IF SOMEONE TELLS ME THE WRITER OF THAT DISTORTED ARTICLE IS A JHS PUPIL
Paa 9 years ago
Stop lying out of hatred. I personally saw Nana campaign many times for Kufuor. I remember this so vividly because my housemate and I used to argue about which of them, Kufuor or Nana, would be a better leader for Ghana anytime Nana showed up to speak at a rally and was captured on TV. In the heat of the run-off, Spio was having a field day on joyfm digging in at Kufuor. Fortunately, Nana Addo was put on the other line, and, damn, didn't he demolish Spio! I was at Legon then and I remember an NDC roommate being left in awe of Nana's oratory, not least because he demolished someone known to be a good talker. From the corridor we could also hear shouts of Nana O from the block mates! Stop the lies!
Kofi agyare 9 years ago
That is what I said, Nana Addo did not help until he realised Kufour was winning the elections.
Where was Nana Addo before the run-off? He was in London enjoying himself.
Nana Addo did not help Kufour but as a true dem ... read full comment
That is what I said, Nana Addo did not help until he realised Kufour was winning the elections.
Nana Addo did not help Kufour but as a true democrate and unifier, Kufour has still try all his best to help Nana Addo.
SARPONG 9 years ago
I am really disappointed in your comment. Let even assume you are right about Nana Akuffo Addo attending only one rally for President Kufuor, it is the Party that is important and when we elect a flag bearer, we should all close rank and support our leader.
You seem to believe it is a payback time so the Kufuor faction should do everything to derail the election of Akuffo Addo as President. Maybe you want the demise of Npp because if Nana is not elected President in 2016 and the defeat is blamed on Kufuor faction, then Npp will break up.
Anyway, I don't belong to Nana or Kufuor faction, I belong to whoever is the flagstaff faction.
Amen 9 years ago
Are these people afraid after Nana Bawumia will take over and they have a slim chance? Or some of them are afraid Nana will probe their corrupt actions when they held various positions in KF administration?
Amen 9 years ago
Good piece if Kuffour loves the party he should broker peace and call his so called members of his faction to order. We cannot afford to lose this election
Ophelia 9 years ago
President Kuffour is not the current leader of the party. Your so called Nana does not have leadership skills and you the supporters have made Nana think he is all that but not. Nana is a divider.....who has surrounded himself with 'yes' people. So leave President Kuffour out of this.
SARPONG 9 years ago
You guys are destroying the Party. If you really love the Party, you wouldn't be choosing sides and talking against your own flag bearer. I am really sad we have people in Npp who hates their own party members because of factions.
I have lost hope in this party. With this attitude, I have no hope Npp will win any election anytime soon.
SENDERO 9 years ago
Spot on with the response.
If Nana Addo cannot open his arms wide and embrace all then he is not a leader. Mills worked hard to bring Obed, the Reform Party boys etc back into the fold. At the time he was doing this Nana Addo was alienating Kufuor, Alan, etc. After sowing the wind, he is weeping the whirlwind
Paa 9 years ago
How does he unite people who don't want to be united, some because of ancient grudges (Victor Owusu vs Paa Wille)? But it's clear the game they're playing. Keep the disunity going while blaming it on Nana's leadership skills in order to discredit him. they couldn't beat him at the primary. This is their last card to stop him from becoming President and pave way for Alan in 2020 because a Nana presidency might pave way for Bawumia.
Mensah Pee 9 years ago
It is funny that you should ask Kufuor to broker peace. Does that not suggest his leadership skills unmatchable in the NPP? But is it simple, just tell Nana Addo to stop messing up the party.It is better than disturbing the old man, let him enjoy his retirement.
Dan'boko 9 years ago
Where is nana aduu's law certificate?
United Ghana 9 years ago
Gyikan Manya, in your intro, you should have stated that the Danquah/Busia tradition assumed power by treacherous liaison with foreign powers. As far as your present day in-fighting is concerned, GOOD.
Joe Alaa 9 years ago
Come clean by telling your readers that you're a staunch member of Akuffo Addo faction and stop beating about the bush. It is people like you, Bawumia, and those ragamufin names you have listed who are rather destroying the already defeated 2016 candidate a Akokora Akuffo Addo. Kufour has already made his name as a unifier, you better advice your lazy Oldman to go to the "ant" (Kufour) learn his ways and be wise.
Hanson 9 years ago
This writer is a joke. If Akufo-Addo is a unifier, he would not have allowed his people to scheme against Afoko and Agyepong in the first place. This is the first time a party's national executives have fabricated stories to discredit an aspiring national chairman. Afoko won the election after all the evil machinations but Akufo-Addos men won't let matters rest. They continued to tag him and Kwabena as people with agenda 2020 without any evidence. They organized the whole party against them, chased them with hooligans and finally booted them out. Now all the executive left apart from Otiko are known die hards of Nana so why do you complain again?
Ghanaian Nationalist 9 years ago
The writer belongs to the Akyem/Nana Addo faction. This article will serve to intensify the factional struggle in the party and jeopardize the chances of the NPP in the 2016 elections.
paradox 9 years ago
This is a wrong time to write these stupid things. in fact you have really opened your Nana up for bashing.. kufour went through a hard time than you find your Nana but managed to triumph and won the 2000 election. This useless article of yours is rather to muddy waters for your Nana like he allowed the okyehene laughed the akyem book, titled The Royal Akyem Kingdom the new frontier. massa apologize for your silly piece otherwise the rebuttal won't favour your tin god. nonsense
Dardom, London 9 years ago
You can twist history and facts for your own pleasure but the truth of the matter as against your bias and unintelligible article will catch up with you later in the November poll. For your information Dr Jones Ofori Atta was not there at the time NPP was formed. He arrived from abroad couple of months back after the formation of the NPP. Say the truth and the truth shall set you and your colleagues free!!!
Paa 9 years ago
So your problem is Jones Ofori-Atta? Maybe the so-called Ashanti conspiracy is true. Then NPP should prepare to be in opposition for a long time if Nana Addo loses or Bawumia doesn't succeed him. The NPP should become a national party or forget it.
SENDERO 9 years ago
Why is it compulsory for Bawumia to succeed Nana Addo? Surely there are others who can compete in an open market. If Bawumia wins, then fine if not, fine. I do not recall anyone saying in 2000 that if Kufuor lost and Aliu did not succeed him there was going to be trouble
It is this property rights approach to the flag bearer position that is killing your party. Even KA Busia had to go for primaries in 1969 before he was elected leader of the Progress Party. So too did Danquah had to contest the leadership of the UGCC and had to settle for 2nd vice chairman in 1947 even though he was key to leading the attack on colonial rule at the time
Ever since Akuffo Addo took over NPP there is a sense of entitlement. He went on TV in 2008 and said he saw the presidency as his destiny. This made so many people furious. He also said he was following his dad's footsteps into the presidency and this too made people angry. In 2007 before that he had been going round saying it was his turn (like we are sharing Kenkey) and that anyone who interfered with his turn was going to cause a split in the party
In 1979 his Uncle Paa Willie took the same attitude and together they formed UNC just because Victor Owusu said there should be primaries to chose the leader of the tradition and the fact that Paa Willie was in the UGCC did not give him the right to lead
Some one posted here a few days back what will happen if Nana Addo loses in November. It was a brilliant piece rebutting the fear that if Nana loses the party will collapse. It won't. If he loses the party will re-strategize for victory at the next election. When Kufuor lost in1996 we did not breakup and he went on to win in 2000 and perform wonders during his 8 years in power. What is sad is that despite that track record, Nana Addo still lost 2008 elections so instead oif trying to threaten NPP you people should examine why he keeps losing.
Paa 9 years ago
If there's any sense of entitlement here it's certainly not on Nana's part. He competed and won, the last by over 90% of the votes. Yet the supporters of the one who barely managed 6% of the votes insist their man ought to be leader and are doing everything to stop Nana from winning the elections. Again, they're doing so partly because they're afraid that Bawumia as VP might develop so much clout and gravitas that he would become the putative successor in the eyes of the electorate. So it's Alan and his supporters who afraid of competition and using backdoor tactics to eliminate contenders.
SENDERO 9 years ago
Doing everything like what? We keep hearing allegation upon allegation yet no one produces a single piece of evidence. Who cause Nana Addo to lose the swing regions, parliamentary majority, and the overall 2008 election? He always has a list of suspects: Asantehene, JAK, Alan, Nyaho-Tamakloe etc etc. He needs to accept he has an impage problem in Ghana and a serious one at that. He is seen as arrogant, out of touch and there are questions about his past that are used to attack NPP in each election (strangely you folks keep electing him to lead and they use the same allegations to ensure your defeat)
So please tell the world how Sammy Crabbe is working against Nana Addo? Has he sold election strategy secrets to General Mosquito? Has he diverted campaign funds to his own pocket? Has Kwabena Agyapong put sleeping tablets in Nana Addo's food ensuring he falls asleep at every turn giving the impression he does no thave the stamina for the job? Has Afoko punctured the tyres of Nana's campaign cars? Is Tarzan swinging through the country tearing down Nana's campaign posters? Please tell us as we are anxious to find out
The one problem in the NPP is that Akufo Addo does no wring (like Kwame Nkrumah and see how that has impacted that tradition). He loses, loses, loses, loses and continues to lose and it is never his fault. Check your by election results since he took over. Check the decline of your votes in Asante and Eastern regions. It is possible Eastern will fall to NDC and I assume this will be the fault ofJustice Atuguba.
Nana Addo leader of the Danquah-Busia traditionlost in Wenchi - Busia's hometown in the 2012 election. Who caused this JAK, Madam Theresa, Kwadwo Mpiani or Alan's aunt in Ejisu
Stop making excuses, stop making wild allegations and campaign lest you fail again.
Alligator 9 years ago
SENDERO, this is, for us the neutrals, the problem with Akufo.
"He needs to accept he has an impage problem in Ghana and a serious one at that. He is seen as arrogant, out of touch and there are questions about his past..."
For me as a neutral, this is how I perceive him and that is why I cannot bring myself to vote for him. I don't like NDC but if I see that abstaining from voting in a close election will help Akufo, I will vote for NDC just to spite Akufo.
KING 9 years ago
USELESS ARTICLE....
atta kwadwo bonsu 9 years ago
you are the very people who are destroying the party's chances of winning power. your article is needless and illogical. How can u labeled anybody who attacks nana addo as a member of kufour faction when president kufour gave about 80% of members of so-called two factions to serve him. stop writing a divisive articles and focus on how to win power
Koklotsu 9 years ago
NDC will solve your problem by winning 2016 there by pushing Nana into the political dust bin. Thereafter comes the real fight within the party before 2020, leaving NDC to break the tape with ease.
SENDERO 9 years ago
You are most probably right. What I see happening is defeat for Nana Addo come November 2016. He will of course realize that for him the game is up. But he will not want someone from the so-called Agenda 2020 group to come to power so he will try and plant his man there - Bawumia of course. This can easily lead to a split because Nana Addo has always stressed it is his turn to lead the NPP - He started saying this in 2007, repeated it on and on afterwards telling Alan that he had to wait his turn to lead. Of course Kyeremateng and his supporters will now insist that the party gets gehind them. Question of course is whether the party members at the polling station level go along with this or whether they buy the propaganda that the Agenda 2020 forces have deliberately sabotaged the NPP and Nana thus causing defeat.
If this idea prevails then the NPP is weakened further with a UNC-PFP style split and htis hands election 2020 to the NDC once again 9and most probably also election 2024)
Paa 9 years ago
If your prognosis is correct, then the future of Ghana is equally uncertain; for, 4 or more years of this bungling NDC administration will be a disaster for Ghana's economy!
KKO 9 years ago
This is an excellent piece, Gyikan.
The most annoying bit is the fact that before Election 2000, Wereko-Brobby broke off to form some useless party which he used to cast aspersions on the NPP. However, after Kufuor came to power, he gave him a position at the Castle from where he threw his sickening weight all over the place on energy and petroleum exploration, ending up doing absolute damn all!
That did not prevent Kufuor, for whatever reason, from making him Chief Executive of Ghana@50, where he once again messed up big time. If the NDC's legal teams had been a little smarter than a first year law school graduate, he should be languishing in jail for the utter waste of the Ghanaian taxpayer's money that he and the old fool Mpiani, perpetrated.
Apparently that faction of wooden heads claim that they want NPP to lose Election 2016, so they can win Election 2020. What infantile nonsense!
SARPONG 9 years ago
Doc., don't worry, if they don't change their attitude and help Akuffo Addo to win in 2016, they should forget about 2020 because Npp as we know it now will not exist in 2020.
Joel Yamoah 9 years ago
Mr. Writer I do not know you personally and will not question the motive behind this write up. Let me state it clearly that you have either been misinformed on the real happening in Npp or it is just mischief you are up to. I am going to respond to 7 critical points I picked from your piece.
1 As you rightly said it was Nana Addo's people(Victor Owusu & William Ofori Atta) who showed bad faith to this great tradition when they broke away to form the UNC which affected the chances of PFP in the 1979 elections. Where was the Kuffour faction?
2 In 1998 when Kuffour was the flag bearer was it not Nana Addo and his people (Ala Adjetey, Adjiri Blankson etc) they were scheming to get Kuffour stripped off the Flag bearer-ship position and it took people like Kwadwo Mpiani and others to deflate that agenda? Where was the Kuffour faction?
3 Matters of drugs and related issues. What has Nana Addo himself and his handlers done to refute the tag Ndc has put on him. In recent times a close family of his was arrested and jailed for dealing in drugs. Where does the Kuffour faction come in?
4 Right from Tamale Nana Addo made it clear that he can not work with Chairman Paul Afoko. His boys including Gabby Otchere Darko called on 2nd Vice Sammy Crabbe to join their faction and frustrate Chairman Afoko and Secretary Agypong. They even said the best they can offer is One of them can stay but not both. Have you not read the SWOT analysis they did in 2014 before they went to Tamale. How does the Kuffour faction play in this?
5 The Ecobank saga that brought about a whole lot of noise in Npp if you do not know let me tell you. Freddie Blay even confirmed that the meeting that brought about that and the overspending in Talensi the meeting was called by Nana Addo at his office he only chaired it. The brouhaha that came with it how do you blame the Kuffour faction for it.
6 Please get a copy of the party's constitution and look at the composition of the National Disciplinary Committee and it will educate you that the composition was not up to. Even Lawyer Ayikwe Ottoo raised that objection and left the committee. This too did Kuffour's faction ask the to goof.
7 Finally the procedure to call a member of the National Executive to the Disciplinary Committee was breached. I strongly you did not know this or you are being mischievous as I said earlier. If not then my question to is this:
WITH THE VARIOUS POINTS RAISED DO YOU STILL STAND BY YOUR MISCHIEF AND PROPAGANDA?
KKO 9 years ago
Aren't you being mischievous yourself? How do you pin the UNC breakways on Nana Addo? Isn't Wereko-Brobby making all those ugly noises because Victor Owusu was his uncle? What did you expect Nana Addo to do in that case, denounce his maternal uncle, although he was not comfortable with his stance? Is that not the reason why he refused to stand on the UNC ticket?
Is it not a fact that the combination of Kufuor's creation of the gold medal awards, his "corruption is a perception" mantra and Anangate that angered Ghanaians to vote out the NPP in 2008?
Where exactly did Nana Addo specifically say he could not work with Afoko and Kwabena Agyepong? What exactly did the duo do for the eighteen months that they were in office before Afoko's brother was arrested for the murder of Mr Mahama?
Was it also Nana's fault that Afoko tried to lie for his brother?
If through factionalism or sheer treachery of elements within the NPP, Mahama sneaks back into office for another four years of this rubbish, the people of Ghana will never forgive the Danquah-Busia-Dombo tradition and in that case, they should prepare for a very long time in the political wilderness of Ghana!
G. K. Berko 9 years ago
Stop faking being fair. In your analysis did you ever touch on anything that Akufo-Addo's faction might have done to jeopardize its own chances?
Cut that baloney that Kufuor's faction has any intention to derail Akufo-Addo ... read full comment
Stop faking being fair. In your analysis did you ever touch on anything that Akufo-Addo's faction might have done to jeopardize its own chances?
Cut that baloney that Kufuor's faction has any intention to derail Akufo-Addo. It is Akufo-Addo's own egocentric recalcitrance and bigotry that have caused him all his failures in his pursuance of the Presidency. And this time around has not been any different.
The nonsense about the so-called 'Agenda 2020' is what you are coyly protracting, and using as an excuse for Akufo-Addo's likely failure this time around, too. Yeah, blame Kufuor in advance of your envisaged heavy loss at the next election for which your Akufo-Addo faction has chosen to sideline the Kufuor faction.
Who started what? And when? For all decent and honest folks, it has been established that the Akufo-Addo faction began destroying the reputation of Afoko, for example, even before the Congress that elected him to the Chairmanship, by selling him out to the Interpol for some trumped up charges of some crime overseas.
Luckily, the gentleman, Afoko, was cleared of any such charges and went on to cleanly and fairly win the Chairmanship, much to the chagrin of the Akufo-Addo faction which hoped to hijack the whole NPP for their elements.
Only God knows why the Akufo-Addo faction ignored the basic principle of unity after the Congress to join hands with the Kufuor faction in the NPP to chase the prize. Instead, the Akufo-Addo faction set off a deliberate campaign to sideline Afoko and Agyepong, among others on the Kufuor faction. Hence, that fatuous claim of some 'Agenda 2020' by Nana's faction to use as some justification to run Afoko and others out of the Party.
If any group wants most the NPP to stay close to its roots in the UP/NLM, it would be the Kufuor faction. It is Akufo-Addo who has the unenviable record of abandoning the Party's incarnate of PFP to join his disgruntled Uncle, Paa Willie, when Uncle Willie lost hope of becoming the Party's flagbearer and formed his own UNC.
Yet, hypocrites like the nutty Professor Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr. , the Goebbelsian Academic backbone of the Akufo-Addo's camp, had the audacity to brainwash the Public that the transient withdrawal of Alan in protest to his maltreatment by the NPP's elders was some precedent in desertion of the Party, and used that, also, to engender anger against the Kufuor faction and undeserving sympathies for Akufo-Addo.
Look, you are entitled to your opinion. But you are not entitled to your facts on what has been happening in the NPP. So, if you want to see Akufo-Addo win the Presidential bid, you better stop alienating the Kufuor faction with such blatant lies and rotten analyses.
All Afoko and Agyepong did at the very beginning of assuming their Offices was to bring financial diligence to NPP, and suddenly, the Akufo-Addo faction organized violent, potentially murderous assault with machetes and guns on Afoko and Agyepong. How could you forget that and the many similar incidents against them by the Akufo-Addo faction?
Such infuriating articles as yours only go to deepen the rifts, and if you have any trustful desire to construct bridges over the fissures in NPP, you would not come to the conclusion you arrived at with sloppy fact gathering.
Long Live Ghana!!!
SENDERO 9 years ago
Nana Addo has a chequered career and it is not strange thathe is in NPP causing havoc and failing to unite the party. He was CPP until the day of the coup in 1966 when the UP boys chased him off Legon campus and he had to flee to his father's hous wiith his fellow CPP friends JC Akosah and Abel Edusei
Thne he joins the UP tradiiton in 1979 and manages to pslit it in 2 becoming deputy general secretary of the infamous UNC
In 2008 he takes over the very tradition he destroyed and shows he is still an expert at dividing organizations.
No one seems to have picked this up and the NPP is now suffering for overlooking these traits of Nana Addo
LAKASAGBA 9 years ago
Gyikan Manya, or whatever you choose to call yourself....continue to delude yourself. Because all those you have cataloged, have views different from yours, you see them as a set of deviants who are poised in their individual capacities to scottle the chances of Akufo Addo from becoming a president in the November 2016 elections. If I may ask,why do the majority of you people see others who express their views, contrary to yours, as anti-Akufo Addo? Continue to bury your head in the sand like the proverbial ostrich, thinking, Akufo Addo has got all it takes to be a good leader.The leadership skills are not there. He does not have them. Period. Keep blaming everybody in the party , except your tin god. The day of reckoning would soon be here, come November, and we shall know the loser....just continue to churn out the garbage coming out of you....bootlicker
Cassius 9 years ago
What a stupid article!.Should Akuffo Addo be president at all cost just because his greedy father,a thief by all standards was once a ceremonial president?.Is the presidency in Ghana of inheritance?.Nana Addo's late father is partly to blame for Ghana's financial & or economic problems when he diverted huge amount of gold bars to the UK into his private in London which Nana Addo is enjoying all alone now,a wealth that belongs to all Ghanaians.Akuffo Addo should better or rather wait for his turn to become the next Okyehene,but to be the president of Ghana which his own father & other family members like JB Dankwah sabotaged,it will never happen.He is actually & now paying the price which his family commited to the state which is why he will never achieve his selfish dream.
One Ghana For Change 9 years ago
God bless the writer and Nana Addo .Come Nov 7 Ghanaians will give the Npp a chance to restore the lost hope under clueless john mahama.
dombo 9 years ago
And what good will this reopening of party wounds do to the NPP? If you have advice ti give, do so, but endlessly raking up past events only signals propaganda points to its opponents.
Baah 9 years ago
Hahaha a funny piece. I think you are young to know that Nana Addo never supported Kuffour in 2000 untill it got to the 2nd round. It is never true that any candidate would have won the 2000 elections because the gate of opportunity in 2016 is wider than that of 2000. You stated that it's of high difficult for any party to win for the third time in any serious democratic country but latter blame president Kuffour for not helping Nana Addo. It's worthy to note that Nana Addo forced president Kuffour to reduce fuel prices and release those prisoners, please get your facts right before writing.
This is a very strong and accurate piece. In actual fact, the Kuffuor faction in the NPP is an Ashanti faction. This faction only wants an Ashanti as the leader/presidential candidate of the NPP period.If the Ashanti faction ...
NANA ADDO DOES NOT HAVE THE LEADERSHIP SKILLS NOR ANY VISION FOR PARTY OR GHANA, BEYOND WANTING TO LIVE AT PEDUASE LODGE AGAIN AND TO ENTERTAIN LIKE BRITISH ARISTOCRATS WITH HIS SELF-ACCLAIMED ELITE, SUPER-GHANAIAN FAMILY AND ...
Who told you that Nana Addo supported Kufour in 2000? Nana Addo after losing the primaries to Kufour left Ghana to UK and was only convinced to come ...
Kufuor is a unifying moderate. He was able to bring the entire party together irrespective of differences. He also added the CPP mo ...
Stop lying out of hatred. I personally saw Nana campaign many times for Kufuor. I remember this so vividly because my housemate and I used to argue about which of them, Kufuor or Nana, would be a better leader for Ghana anyti ...
Nana Addo did not help Kufour but as a true dem ...
I am really disappointed in your comment. Let even assume you are right about Nana Akuffo Addo attending only one rally for President Kufuor, it is the Party that is important and when we elect a flag bearer, we should all cl ...
President Kuffour is not the current leader of the party. Your so called Nana does not have leadership skills and you the supporters have made Nana think he is all that but not. Nana is a divider.....who has surrounded himsel ...
You guys are destroying the Party. If you really love the Party, you wouldn't be choosing sides and talking against your own flag bearer. I am really sad we have people in Npp who hates their own party members because of fact ...
If Nana Addo cannot open his arms wide and embrace all then he is not a leader. Mills worked hard to bring Obed, the Reform Party boys etc back into the fold. At the time he was doing this Nana ...
How does he unite people who don't want to be united, some because of ancient grudges (Victor Owusu vs Paa Wille)? But it's clear the game they're playing. Keep the disunity going while blaming it on Nana's leadership skills ...
It is funny that you should ask Kufuor to broker peace. Does that not suggest his leadership skills unmatchable in the NPP? But is it simple, just tell Nana Addo to stop messing up the party.It is better than disturbing the o ...
Come clean by telling your readers that you're a staunch member of Akuffo Addo faction and stop beating about the bush. It is people like you, Bawumia, and those ragamufin names you have listed who are rather destroying the a ...
This writer is a joke. If Akufo-Addo is a unifier, he would not have allowed his people to scheme against Afoko and Agyepong in the first place. This is the first time a party's national executives have fabricated stories to ...
This is a wrong time to write these stupid things. in fact you have really opened your Nana up for bashing.. kufour went through a hard time than you find your Nana but managed to triumph and won the 2000 election. This usel ...
You can twist history and facts for your own pleasure but the truth of the matter as against your bias and unintelligible article will catch up with you later in the November poll. For your information Dr Jones Ofori Atta was ...
So your problem is Jones Ofori-Atta? Maybe the so-called Ashanti conspiracy is true. Then NPP should prepare to be in opposition for a long time if Nana Addo loses or Bawumia doesn't succeed him. The NPP should become a natio ...
Why is it compulsory for Bawumia to succeed Nana Addo? Surely there are others who can compete in an open market. If Bawumia wins, then fine if not, fine. I do not recall anyone saying in 2000 that if Kufuor lost and Aliu did ...
If there's any sense of entitlement here it's certainly not on Nana's part. He competed and won, the last by over 90% of the votes. Yet the supporters of the one who barely managed 6% of the votes insist their man ought to b ...
Doing everything like what? We keep hearing allegation upon allegation yet no one produces a single piece of evidence. Who cause Nana Addo to lose the swing regions, parliamentary majority, and the overall 2008 election? He a ...
"He needs to accept he has an impage problem in Ghana and a serious one at that. He is seen as arrogant, out of touch and there are questions about his past.. ...
USELESS ARTICLE....
you are the very people who are destroying the party's chances of winning power. your article is needless and illogical. How can u labeled anybody who attacks nana addo as a member of kufour faction when president kufour gav ...
You are most probably right. What I see happening is defeat for Nana Addo come November 2016. He will of course realize that for him the game is up. But he will not want someone from the so-called Agenda 2020 group to come to ...
The most annoying bit is the fact that before Election 2000, Wereko-Brobby broke off to form some useless party which he used to cast aspersions on the NPP. However, after Kufuor came to p ...
Mr. Writer I do not know you personally and will not question the motive behind this write up. Let me state it clearly that you have either been misinformed on the real happening in Npp or it is just mischief you are up to. ...
Aren't you being mischievous yourself? How do you pin the UNC breakways on Nana Addo? Isn't Wereko-Brobby making all those ugly noises because Victor Owusu was his uncle? What did you expect Nana Addo to do in that case, de ...
Cut that baloney that Kufuor's faction has any intention to derail Akufo-Addo ...
Nana Addo has a chequered career and it is not strange thathe is in NPP causing havoc and failing to unite the party. He was CPP until the day of the coup in 1966 when the UP boys chased him off Legon campus and he had to fle ...
Gyikan Manya, or whatever you choose to call yourself....continue to delude yourself. Because all those you have cataloged, have views different from yours, you see them as a set of deviants who are poised in their individua ...
What a stupid article!.Should Akuffo Addo be president at all cost just because his greedy father,a thief by all standards was once a ceremonial president?.Is the presidency in Ghana of inheritance?.Nana Addo's late father is ...
Hahaha a funny piece. I think you are young to know that Nana Addo never supported Kuffour in 2000 untill it got to the 2nd round. It is never true that any candidate would have won the 2000 elections because the gate of oppo ...