You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 03 09Article 421989

Cameron Duoduo writes: I would never have believed that...

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Nana Asante 8 years ago

At the time of our Independence,the Population was around 5 million.Today we are over 27 million.Most of our citizens live in the rural areas.The few who had contacts with the British were well educated and disciplined.Most l ...

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

You simply captured a lot of what I would have said.

This Old Fart, Cameron irritates the hell out of me. He knows how to write, period, but he is a biased and disingenuous writer. He has on blinkers, like a race horse and ...

• OYOKOBA 8 years ago

Did you read the whole article or you have been nursing a deep hatred for Cameron and this was your chance to lay it out on him? Don't be a jackass. You wished you could even write at 5% efficiency and proficiency level of Ca ...

• Captain Jean-Luc Picard 8 years ago

I see that all of the oldies are for Cameron Duodu. Interesting. Those who are insulting him must all be the young ones - our own children. Those coming to Cameron's defence are the senior ones on this forum - OYOKOBA, G. K. ...

• Mantse 8 years ago

Some of us remember him from "New Nation" days, through Radio Ghana, Drum and Graphic.

His nostalgia of the good-ole-days must be buei, even though he has been branded a
    pro-Feb. 24 cheerleader!

He and his pals like ...

• tom 8 years ago

Captain, can you tell us what Cameron can't "get" because he us old, please?

He condemns those who want to show others where power lies and who put journalists in a tipper truck. What has that got to do with age?

He la ...

tom, I am not saying that Cameron is wrong in lamenting journalists who are put in a tipper truck or the desecration brought on us by galamsey or even the self-serving journalists of today.

I am addressing a more general i ...

• Tom 8 years ago

Captain, I think you are being pedantic! Of course not everything was rosy in the immediate post-independence days. But there is a a QUALITATIVE difference between then and now. Have you not heard about the stupid brochure is ...

Tom, I don't think there's anything "pedantic" about calling for an understanding between the generations. As you can see, I belong to Cameron's side of the generational gap but I will be more circumspect in concluding that t ...

All you peasants with a little bit of education or forced Achimotan upbringing think you can change Ghana. Take a look at our leadership for the past 40 years or more, they are all from Achimota and Prempeh, just as useless a ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

At least, you acknowledge your loathing of Cameron Doudu. Did you actually read the article? He was being critical of journalists today regarding integrity & courage. A brilliant piece from an experienced journalist.

...his own voice way too much. And excuse me to say, I read him whenever I come across his articles. Lengthy and full of the same old colonial ideas and mentality. What the hell is he gonna achieve by bloviating his life expe ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

You may not like Cameron Duodou. But he points out a vital sign of our Nation's retrogression with that narrative.

In fact, I have vehemently protested many of his Articles in the past, going as far back as the 70s. He ha ...

• karl 8 years ago

Mr Berko,
    While you agree that the writing is brilliant, you too, like other Ghanaians, won't analyse what he has said in the past that you don't like but merely condemn it.

I am too young to have read watever he wrote a ...

Do you think Cameron Doudou has no ethnic, tribal or political biases. Please allow some of us to criticize him the way we know him, just the same way he criticizes things from many perspectives and experiences. Once a journa ...

CITIZEN ONE, you may not be a Journalist, either, but you seem most brilliant, too.

We often give our Journalists too much credit. I bet your analytical skills and logical inferences top those of many Reporters we read fr ...

• Ebo Letrik 8 years ago

He sounds like someone who has been in the sames newsroom as Mr Duodu!

Karl, I forgive any implied insult in your response to my comment because I realized from the way you argued your criticism of me that you are really young.

First off, you erred in assuming that I would rush to judgment ...

• Ritewing 8 years ago

You may be right in the population size you have referred to at the time of Independence and now. But your claim to it as to the cause of our indispline is not true. Also not true, is the fact that people who had contacts wit ...

• Nana Aku 8 years ago

Cameron and Awoonor on TV? In another life, possibly. Sorry buy your mind is all foggy. I, like the guy who has followed him since New Nation days, don't remember him being on TV to discuss anything on 31 December 1981. The ...

• Mantse 8 years ago

Get your facts rite, Ritewing!

Quote: "Cameron later became the Editor of the Daily Graphic but later had to abandon his position and left for England, when his taughts clashed with our revolutionalist rulers."

Cameron ...

• ghanaman 8 years ago

Thanks to Cameron Duoduo for capturing few of the scars on the nation's conscience!

• osom 8 years ago

Citizen Zero,

If Mr Duodu "irritates" you, then why do you bother to read his articles? Who forces you?

You are dishonest and a double-talker to boot. Do you disagree with ANYTHING the guy wrote about? If so, why not sa ...

• Sunsum 8 years ago

The FACT is, Feb. 24, 1966 demolished our sense of consideration, discipline, responsibility and community welfare and concern!

Some NAIVELY cheered when the Genie was blasted out of the bottle in the name of of democraZy ...

• Ataajo 8 years ago

Exactly, foolish and ignorant choices have very severe consequences!

Ghanaians CHOSE to get rid of the First Republic and Busia's fake democratic "byline" was exposed.

The little man was arrogant, intolerant and a
    c ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

You are possibly an illiterate because you couldn't understand what he talked about if you were able to read it. Are you proud that a 59 year old nation would pack journalists in a tipper truck to cover her independence day c ...

• kwanena ohemeng,london 8 years ago

Cameron,the fact is the present breed of ghanaians,especially those in positions of power and authority, do not know why Kwame Nkrumah and others fought and got independence for the nation.This is the problem and it is a prob ...

• Paa Nii 8 years ago

Mr Ohemeng, You are so right. What Nkrumah and Danquah and others taught was: listen, we have been to England and gone to school with the English people and we have seen they are no better than us intellectually. What we have ...

• Suman 8 years ago

It will probably take a very bloody
    revolution to reverse Ghana's mismanagement by our elected elites!

• Apau 8 years ago

Whenever you see/hear Akufo Addo,Gaby O Darko and other NPP cum JB Danquah worshippers talking about the transformation of Singapore and all the bullcrap that goes with it, kindly print out this page and give it to them. Bear ...

• Ursula Owusu 8 years ago

Mr Duodu, you ever believed to hear a President u elected, tell you he wouldn't fight corruption because it "has existed since Adam and Eve."

• Ebo Letrik 8 years ago

Alas, We've been cursed with "competent corruption, and incompetent corruption".

• Nana Aku 8 years ago

Ursula, how can we be surprised? The man described himself as a "dead goat" didn't he?

• Ebo Letrik 8 years ago

Actually, the "Adam and Eve" from
    "tete" statement, was made by JAK!

• DAWADAWA 8 years ago

Couldn't the journalists have refused to board a tipper truck? Don't they have agency?

• Palanz 8 years ago

DAWA, we are talking about "stomach-centric blokes" masquerading as journos!

• Sasabonsam 8 years ago

A good summary of what our beloved Ghana has decended into

• Sasabonsam 8 years ago

A good summary of what our beloved Ghana has decended into

Mills was carried to the hospital in wheelbarrow and now journalists in a tipper truck. The sense here is that those journalist went to the Independence Square on foot as we use to walk from New Town to the Black Star Square ...