My Honourable master at SDA training college Asokore thanks for enlightening some of us who have little or no knowledge about the real history of Ghana. BRAVO.
Kojo T 9 years ago
More enlightening than the revisionist history of Okoampa
Mahmoud 9 years ago
Nkrumah was a communist dictator and Mr. Ashanti too is a communist relic. The Whiteman left us with a parliamentary system in which the prime minister can go on ruling as long as he remains the leader of his party and the party also wins power every five years.
When Nkrumah failed to win his parliamentary seat at Bukom Square in Accra, and was no longer eligible to enter parliament let alone become prime minister of the country, he changed the system into a corrupted presidential/parliamentary system in which the checks and balances of both systems were removed, leaving him with absolute powers and later on turned Ghana into a one party state.
If Nkrumah had wanted to rule Ghana throughout his life and had the support of the electorate to renew his mandate every five years credibly, there was no problem because the system allowed it, and we saw how Tony Blaire ruled for more than ten years and finally relinquished power to Gordon Brown in his third five year term. But the system is not as loose as one might think, it has its own checks and balances embedded in it, and we saw what happened to Margaret Thatcher in 1990 when she was forced to resign by her own party because she was becoming too "iron" for them.
Just like Nkrumah, Mr. Ashanti wants us to remain in the presidential system without real separation of powers as found in the Rawlings Green Book Constitution, and without 2-term limit to enable the relics turn our country into another one party state again. Let Mr. Ashanti get it into his head that we can either choose the modest parliamentary system without term limits, or the almighty presidential system with 2-term limits and real separation of powers as practiced in democratic countries.
fairplay 9 years ago
If Kwame Nkrumah had been left to rule all his life Ghana and Africa would have been far better than now.
It was the traitors and terrorist who sent us back. It was the colonialist mentality of JB Danquah and his cohort ... read full comment
If Kwame Nkrumah had been left to rule all his life Ghana and Africa would have been far better than now.
It was the traitors and terrorist who sent us back. It was the colonialist mentality of JB Danquah and his cohort who derailed our forward much under Nkrumah. The traitors of this nation and the whole of Africa joined the imperialist to abort our common dream.
Nkrumah believed in the Ghanaians and the Africans. These greedy brats with their colonial mentality see the white man as gods. They were even angry at Nkrumah for not dressing like an European.
So when they succeeded in his overthrow they thought they will rule Ghana forever.
As fate will have it they did not last even one term. Evil may succeed but for just a short time. The Danquah, Busia and Dombo tradition should never come to power in Ghana. They are real traitors.
??????????? 9 years ago
In all this long talk, it's evident - there history about Mansa Musa and Sundiata are FALSE!
The pyramids are evident in Egypt, aside bush and animals; where is anything to show civilization in West Africa or the place you c ... read full comment
In all this long talk, it's evident - there history about Mansa Musa and Sundiata are FALSE!
The pyramids are evident in Egypt, aside bush and animals; where is anything to show civilization in West Africa or the place you claim to have hosted a great empire?
KYEBI ADVOCATE 9 years ago
You have wrote what you known, refused to let readers to know who suggested the name GHANA, Before Nkrumah came in Danquah and other four members of UGCC has put everything together and Nkrumah took all the information away.
PREMPEH I. Who ruled his Asanteman March 26, 1888-1931 was nowhere to found when OKYENHENE OFORI ATTA I. and AZU MANTEY KOLE (OKLEME KUKU) negotiating with the GUGGISBERG, where was Prempeh ? the truth hurt.
J. D. Mahama 9 years ago
Most of his article was goggle, cut, and paste. Goggle who were the first Ghana's colonial masters and you will understand my point,
Asem Abeba Dabi, Toronto-Canada 9 years ago
The article is good point for discussion on whatisin the name 'Ghana'. I am enjoying the discourse as different views are brought to bear upon it. No matter how the writer did his research-google or not
Kweku Donsuro 9 years ago
The Ghana Empire ended in 1240 A,D when the Muslim Almoravids attacked it. It loasted from 300 AD to 1240 AD. The rulers had the title Gyan which is a name common among the original people of Ghana, the Guans. Out of Gyan, we have anglicised versions like Ghunney, Ghartey, etc
Kweku Donsuro 9 years ago
The name Ghana was suggested by Joseph Boakye Danquah.
kwabena Ohemeng,london 9 years ago
Mansa[kanka] Musa to me was the greatest king of Ghana and his haj to Mecca where he went with a large entourage and displayed opulence and power put the name of Ghana firmly on the world map.No wonder the Almoravids[a group of moslem conquerors] who eventually conquered Ghana and occupied it regarded it as a prize worth taking.So for years and years islam had made inroads into the ghanaian society till our colonizers introduced christianity to Ghana later to be named Gold Coast by them.
fairplay 9 years ago
The so called Islamist converters also came to colonise the north of Africa. They were the worst slave masters.
This is what they are still importing through boko haram, ISIS, alquaida etc.
The so called Islamist converters also came to colonise the north of Africa. They were the worst slave masters.
Yaa Asabea 9 years ago
Just read the autobiography of Kwame Nkrumah to learn the source for adoption of the name Ghana.
Jewels Maecenas 9 years ago
The name of Ghana was not named after muslamadian or mohammadean Ghana,it was named after the original Ghana which existed before d timbuktu one.At d tym dat d original Ghana existed timbuktu was a village,it ws located samwhr around Guinea,n d nm ws suggested by Dr JB Danquah,whom i hv a copy of his letter which sought to explain his reasons for choosn d nm Ghana as d true origin of most Ghanaian tribes but not d mansa musa or any moslemic Ghana,
George Smith 9 years ago
One love Ghana will mark it to become as maama GHANA of AFRICA
K Fosu 9 years ago
UGCC was the "brainchild" of Alfred Paa Grant and not JB Traitor Danquah as we are made to believe.
Osu Klottey 9 years ago
You said ,you are going to tell us ,how we chose Ghana
Love 9 years ago
It was not J.B.Danquah who brought Nkrumah.It was Ako Adjei.
K Fosu 9 years ago
Well Ako Adjei knew him but Alfred Paa Grant an "Nzema" gentleman who paid the £100 fare.
drop de stupid dead goat in 2016, 9 years ago
great piece.
In fact,some of you are very annoying.It's good to criticize sometimes but not all times.Granted this piece is 'cut and paste' taking it from the source to ghanaweb alone must be commended.Some of you knew where ... read full comment
great piece.
In fact,some of you are very annoying.It's good to criticize sometimes but not all times.Granted this piece is 'cut and paste' taking it from the source to ghanaweb alone must be commended.Some of you knew where this stuff is but it has taken this writer to share.
Sometimes 'mo ho y3 3hi dodo'.
I know this will also attract debate hahahaha.Eiiii Ghanafuo and booklong.
THE TRUTH 9 years ago
Mr. Writer, d first lie u told is dat sundiata ruled d Ghana empire... Pls do ur research n don't lie... Sundiata Keita ruled d ancient Mali empire of West Africa, after defeating Sumanguru d sorcerer...
THE TRUTH 9 years ago
I'mssurprised many of u so called intellectuals commenting here r also dis ignorant... Mansa Musa did not rule d Ghana Empire... It was d Mali empire... Pls u r irritating me wif ur ignorance... Research, read, understand den comment... Thank u
True Truth 9 years ago
If you read the article very well the writer said Sundiata ruled over Mali after conquering Ghana Empire.......
Nkrumah was a communist dictator and Mr. Ashanti too is a communist relic. The Whiteman left us with a parliamentary system in which the prime minister can go on ruling as long as he remains the leader of his party and the pa ...
It was the traitors and terrorist who sent us back. It was the colonialist mentality of JB Danquah and his cohort ...
The pyramids are evident in Egypt, aside bush and animals; where is anything to show civilization in West Africa or the place you c ...
You have wrote what you known, refused to let readers to know who suggested the name GHANA, Before Nkrumah came in Danquah and other four members of UGCC has put everything together and Nkrumah took all the information away. ...
The Ghana Empire ended in 1240 A,D when the Muslim Almoravids attacked it. It loasted from 300 AD to 1240 AD. The rulers had the title Gyan which is a name common among the original people of Ghana, the Guans. Out of Gyan, we ...
Mansa[kanka] Musa to me was the greatest king of Ghana and his haj to Mecca where he went with a large entourage and displayed opulence and power put the name of Ghana firmly on the world map.No wonder the Almoravids[a group ...
The name of Ghana was not named after muslamadian or mohammadean Ghana,it was named after the original Ghana which existed before d timbuktu one.At d tym dat d original Ghana existed timbuktu was a village,it ws located samwh ...
great piece.
In fact,some of you are very annoying.It's good to criticize sometimes but not all times.Granted this piece is 'cut and paste' taking it from the source to ghanaweb alone must be commended.Some of you knew where ...
I'mssurprised many of u so called intellectuals commenting here r also dis ignorant... Mansa Musa did not rule d Ghana Empire... It was d Mali empire... Pls u r irritating me wif ur ignorance... Research, read, understand den ...