You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 02 17Article 416306

Why calling me obroni is racism

Read Comments Comments (44)

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

You call this racism What idoicy!

• Joe 8 years ago

In fact, "BBC NEWS" you are wrong. How would you like to go down a street in, for exmple, England and all the kids screem at you 'Black Man, Black Man'.

• OBIBA JK 8 years ago

Jeff, I think you are very right in your assessment of the Ghanaian society. Ethnic differences are so deeply rooted and has promoted nepotism to the highest level of our society. it is an open secret that some tribes in Ghan ...

• ghanaman 8 years ago

It is true that hearing resonating calls of "obroni" every morning, in the particular way in which the shouting is conducted, may make the hearer, in this case also the person to whom the calls are addressed, harbor the feeli ...

• EKOW MENSAH 8 years ago

The writer may have a point in his objection.However, if Jeff as he is to be called or wants to be known, will be sincerely honest to himself and not to anyone, he will know or realise that, the kind of racism that he is refe ...

• Concerned 8 years ago

It is a light hearted article to just point out how being branded makes him feel alone. He clearly will like to be seen as one of us.Not an African which he clearly isn't but a human being

• Proud Ashanti 8 years ago

I have many white friends who lived in Ghana before and they all complain about Ghanaians calling them Obroni. They feel very uncomfortable to be called that way.

I felt the same way in China and Turkey when everybody wa ...

• Stuart 7 years ago

I feel stronger about being addressed as obroni; it says that: he is not one of us. Pure racism and very offensive and derogatory and shows a serious lack of respect and is criminal. It is a first abuse on the road to further ...

• Kpengson Ray 8 years ago

I can understand how you feel, I had similar experiences somewhere else in Europe and it was devastating! I agree with you that some form of racism occurs in Ghana and most people are not even aware that it is racism! I think ...

• Nimrod 8 years ago

Joe, mag ik je iets vragen? Vind je het woord, blank - een beledigen?
    Indien niet, dan, waarom voel je aangesproken als iemand je blank noemt?

• FOYOOSIS 8 years ago

Nimrod, hij vindt/ziet het waarschijnlijk niet als belediging maar als een aanval.

Zeg het eerlijk, hoe zou je je voelen als je constant en bijna overall gevolgd wordt en nog Neger genoemde wordt ondanks dat dat niet jou ...

• Nimrod 8 years ago

FOYOOSIS, alles draait om het motief. Met andere woorden, het is de gedachten achter een daad dat de daad definieert. In het kort, als het motief niet slecht is, dan hoef je geen zorgen te maken.

Verder alles goed m ...

• FOYOOSIS 8 years ago

Het gaat goed hoor! althans, ik leef nog!

Ik hoop dat alles goed met jou ook gaat.

• Nimrod 8 years ago

FOYOOSIS, het gaat goed, maar het kan altijd beter. Trouwens, ik was in Ghana een maand of vier geleden. Om eerlijk te zijn, ik was geschrokken door de armoede. Het land is nog steeds mooi, maar wetteloos.

• John Daniels 8 years ago

why not write the "franch" of dutch or holandais of flemish with translation.
    This is a public forum

• OBINNA 8 years ago

SHOW OFF

• Joe 8 years ago

Kepengson Ray, thank you for a good (and wise reply). I am an obruni who is frequently in Ghana and although I was aware of most of what you have said your reply has given me an added understanding. Nervertheless it would be ...

• Pimpenese 8 years ago

The proper education will be for Black children to be educated to realize that the White man is not superior to them! Then they wont go round worshiping these folks by calling them out on the streets.

• Pimpenese 8 years ago

I'm sure Mr Big Stuff didn't go to Damongo to be equal to anybody there. What with his "profession" ( I never knew medical student was a profession). But the "false sense of inferiority" that his forebear colonialists seared ...

• OPANINPA 8 years ago

SORRY MATE! THE PREDICESSOR OF YOUR RACE WHO CAME HERE DID NOT EVEN REGARD US AS HUMAN. THA WORD "OBRONI" DERIVES FROM "ABRO" MEANING MALICE AND OBRONI MEANS THE MALICIOUS ONE. THE CHILDREN MAY NOT MEAN THIS WHEN THEY SHOUT I ...

• Rachel 8 years ago

Jeff, I'm in the same boat as you, although I'm biracial Ghanaian. Not only i get called 'obroni' by the children but also some family members. It's so freaking annoying & rude. And they also like to always point the fact tha ...

Oh in Kumasi, you will be called
    "halv-Cash" or "Broni-Pete" which is worse. Please do not ask for the meaning of the latter.

• Okponglo Guy 8 years ago

Jeff, excellent contribution. You have a name and you must be addressed as such.

Obroni has never been a pejorative term nevertheless, it is so archaic. We are in the 21st century. Educate your friends at Damongo.

• Maame 8 years ago

Please don't pollute the German language go back and learn your spellings of words well and also I'm married to a white guy anytime I call him obroni he ask me a simple question are happy when my family also refer to as black ...

• Sika 8 years ago

Have you been reading some of the articles from the NPP supremacist here on this forum? Just simple Google an articleww from Okoampa and check on Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ivory Coast and a few other African nations to r ...

• luoning 8 years ago

I am married to a ghanaian and go regularly to Ghana. I agree it is very annoying to be called Obroni especially when it comes from family members. I feel it is a lack of respect as if I were black they would call me automati ...

• Queen 8 years ago

I agree while it is annoying most often, they mean no harm. It's more like an inferiority complex than racism. Sad but true.

Now you get why we are so mentally enslaved. It is so bad it is not even funny anymore. And worse, everyone does it to such a sickening extent and frequency. Ashantis look down on everyone, dagombas think all tribes are benea ...

• OBINNA 8 years ago

FROM ADAM, HUMANS HAVE DIFFERENTIATED EACH OTHER BY HOW WE LOOK AND WHERE WE COME FROM. THIS IS DONE IN ANY AND EVERY PART OF THIS GLOBE WE CALL HOME.IT IS DONE IN YOUR HOMELAND TOO. SO DON'T FEEL UNCOMFORTABLE.

• steph 8 years ago

Right on point brother. Even cats and dogs don't discriminate against each other because of different fur colors.

• Nana Oben 8 years ago

Jeff, ask any African American, (BLACK, YELLOW, LIGHT) in Ghana; he/she will tell you he/she has been called "Oburoni" at some time. You see the term "Oburoni" means "from over the horizon" or "foreigner". So it has been used ...

• Nii Adjei 8 years ago

we don't have any institutional discrimination or institutional racism in ghana so stop the rant of we ghanaians being racist with the term obroni.
    look at the way we treat you in ghana and compare it to the way you treat us ...

• Ama 8 years ago

He is white and there's nothing wrong with the word Obroni.

• Miss 8 years ago

So you wouldn't mind when white people follows you around and chant, obibini every time they see you? Seriously?

• MUBARAK 8 years ago

Please let's try to explain to Jeff than shearing feelings.Jeff is just trying to tell us what she has been facing since she arrived in our mother Ghana.I think if you Start to shear feelings by referring to her with the past ...

• K Fosu 8 years ago

The word "Obroni" is used in Ghana as a term of endearment rather than derogatory. I have lots of mixed-race Ghanaian born cousins ranging from 85 years to 40 and they have been called Obroni all their lives.That said, we do ...

• afua 8 years ago

Dear Jeff,being called obroni in Ghana sometimes is a connotation of a term of endearment. Meaning one is polished, civilized or superior. Sorry for the misconception.

• Ships that sailed from your counry is 8 years ago

SHUT THE FUCK UP JOE OR WHATEVER U CALL URSELF. YOU PEOPLE CALL BLACK PEOPLE ALL SORTS OF DEROGATORY WORDS. THE DUTCH PEOPLE, YOUR FATHERS WERE THE OWNERS OF ALL THE SLAVE SHIPS WHICH TOOK OUR FATHERS TO WORK TO BUILD THE WEA ...

• Ships that sailed from your counry is 8 years ago

OBRONI I REPEAT OBRONI JEFF. NOT ALL AFRICANS ARE FOOLS TO BELEIVE YOUR HYPOCRISY. SINCE YOU ARE IN GHANA GO TO CAPE COAST AND ELMINA CASTLE AND SEE EVEN THE REMAINS OF THE AC,TIONS YOU PEOPLE ON OUR CONTINENT. WHAT MORAL RI ...

• SEKPE 8 years ago

Am sorry about your situation. I can understand you very very well. Not obroni but am married to one and besides that am more more like a tour guide, I have many white friends, I worked with some and most I take around on to ...

• Matt 8 years ago

Hey Jeff. Maybe don't throw the word racism around so freely. The real racism is the capture of Ghanaian people to send abroad as chattel and the many years of colonialism. Your access to privilege anywhere in the world is un ...

• K Fosu 8 years ago

A group of young men from England got a glimpse into what it was like to be mini-celebrities during a visit to China.
    A video posted online this week shows the group of young black men in what appears to be rural China, attr ...

• Stuart 7 years ago

In England you can become wealthy by reporting the attackers and claiming compensation. In Africa the authorities will probably further assault you when reporting.

• Stuart 7 years ago

Can racism be compared? It is all power play and attacks on humanity by humans.