You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 09 29Article 384694

'Grandpa, what will be the fate of the earth?'

Read Comments Comments (15)

• Joojo 8 years ago

You should have ref the young lady to some so inspirational and comforting REALITIES!

Volcanoes, hurricanes, floods, earthquakes ...

"And whether or not it is clear to you,
    no doubt the universe is unfolding as it sho ...

• dwete 8 years ago

You go and tell a young lady with a B.Sc degree that volcanoes and earthquakes have existed on Earth since time immemorial, so she should expect the earth to be destroyed. She will accurately tell you that the Earth has been ...

• Dono 8 years ago

Quote: "It is man's stupidity in creating carbon emissions that will kill The Earth, not a pre-destined destiny."

That is alarmist, defeatist "prattle"!

Man who created the internet, can also find ways to ELIMINATE "car ...

I can see, they have started planting trillion trees in the Sahara desert. Have you not seen the wanton destruction of the Amazon forest? Have you not seen the severe drought in California? What sort of artificial intelligenc ...

• Apransa 8 years ago

The Sahara and harmattan have been there since
    Stanley, Livingstone, Rhodes and other
    explorer-exploiters and not a modern man-made
    carelessness from carbon emissions!

You are missing the point! Once we have destroyed our eco systems through wanton destruction for our own selfish ends,
    the situation will be irreversible.The Sahara was once an ocean. There are millions of whale bones and o ...

• Blimey 8 years ago

You sound so hopeless!

Bill Gates and his billion$, is doing more in the fight against malaria than all the useless African
    Union members!

If "ozone depletion" is a careless man-made problem, then man's ingenuity can f ...

You got to be super intelligent to equate Bill Gates"s act of kindness in eradicating diseases such as,polio,malaria etc to the mindless destruction of our river bodies! VW management deliberately lied about the carbon emissi ...

• Joojo 8 years ago

Quote: "The Sahara was once an ocean. There are millions of whale bones and other skeletons of marine creatures scattered all over the Sahara."

So your great-great-granpa was displaced from the Sahara?

How many eons a ...

• Awiraakua 8 years ago

Well said, Kofi. Some people need to say something, no matter how foolish it is, just to convince themselves that they are clever.

• Joojo 8 years ago

"A young lady with a B.Sc" should NOT be saddled with the cynical grandpa's projection of DESPAIR!

Old folks, some, have ENJOYED life, despite the Cold War era of Mutually Assured Destruction of the USA and USSR rivalr ...

• c.stephen sackey. 8 years ago

This former journalist reminds me when the scribes were the sages.

The quote below was a headline of an article he wrote in the Daily Graphic when the "ODAW LAGOON"over flooded its banks during the Busia administration.

• Awiraakua 8 years ago

But where is the quote from the Daily Graphic?

And I don't think Mr Doudu would write the ungrammatical sentence on the civil rights struggle you attribute to him. Give us the real quotes, not what cokes from yout faulty ...

• Yoomoba 8 years ago

Tweaa, galamseys' killing of our rivers and environmental destruction can be blamed on "carbon emissions!"

• Mauhuru 8 years ago

Don't 4-get our chronic DUMSOR!