You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 07 03Article 365901

The Fallacy Of Britain Leaving Huge Sums Of Money For Nkrumah’s Government

Read Comments Comments (56)

• francis kwarteng 8 years ago

Bravo Prof. Botwe-Asamoah,

This is a brilliant piece. Dr. Kwame Botwe-Asamoah has once again shown that he is a true master of postcolonial history, unlike the professional enemies of Nkrumah who write and argue from the s ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

Sir, this is your student Samuel Adjei Sarfo, Esq.

I think the real issue to rebut is Nkrumah's dictatorship: PDA, imprisonment without trial, life presidency, one party state, dismissal of judges, ingratitude to those wh ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

In response to a comment from you, someone said earlier today that you may have a case of schizophrenia!

Having just read your "The Issue Is Moot" comment, we are forced to conclude that you must have some type of patholog ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

To say....

IN SUMMARY

• francis kwarteng 8 years ago

Prof. Lungu,

I just finished watching Charlie Chaplin.

I am moving on to the Three Stooges.

Have a great weekend.

Thanks.

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

I am happy that you have finally find something useful to do with your time and I think Adwoa Wangara would be happy too. Keep it up and the nest time you pick up a pen, think of Ghana and write something to address the faili ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

The core point is that Nkrumah had huge reserves of money when he became president. That we all agree. Therefore his infrastructural development was nothing extraordinary. In the end, a greater amount of the reserve was squa ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

I just don't know why these guys can't understand that Nkrumah was a terrible human being that shouldn't have ruled this country in the first place. Nkrumah is the source of all our troubles today, and the communist relics sh ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

CRITICAL OBSERVERS REFLECT ON THE LEGACY OF KWAME NKRUMAH & THE FORCES BEHIND HIS OVERTHROW IN 1966 BY THE KOTOKA MILITARY JUNTA THAT ESTABLISHED A DICTATOTSHIP THROUGH MILITARY RULE...ALL THE WAY TO JERRY "ACCOUNTABILITY" RA ...

• Kojo T 8 years ago

The truth is they are just haters .Most like Sarpong are idiots

• TT 8 years ago

What is the point of this article? The Writer ended up saying Ghana had five hundred million dollars at the time of independence, the same thing he tried to diffuse and it does not matter whether it was Nkrumah who saved that ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 8 years ago

Why are these Nkrumaiist trying to force us back to the politics of the 1950s, the era of the Kumasi Playing-Groud Pin-Hole Cameras.? Why are they so burnt of inviting us into useless debates when Mahama and his criminal atin ...

• Kwamebeba 8 years ago

Nkrumah wished always to be known as Kwame Nkrumah. There is nothing to be cited where Nkrumah said he should be called "Osagyefo" and again it can never be proven that Nkrumah said he should be deemed life President of Ghan ...

• Wanto 8 years ago

You don't even know what you are talking about. Lincoln University did not grant Nkrumah a Doctoral degree.

Nkrumah enrolled in a Doctoral degree program at University of Pennsylvania but did not finish it.

Nkrumah neve ...

Dr. SAS to form a government in anywhere in the world you must be elected to office. Danquah did not get the approval of the people because his policies were in the interest of the colonialist, the reason why the people from ...

• steve 8 years ago

Thank you Prof.You've made my 4th July celebration complete.You are the kind of big heads we want on Ghanaweb.God be with you.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

What a poor excuse of a Professor this Kwame Botwe is. After rambling on for a greater part of this article, this fool who tagged those people who said at the time of independence, Ghana has a large amount of money to work wi ...

• kosoko 8 years ago

You are a disgusting and pathetic individual. Who do you think you are? Have respect for yourself and extend it to others. Swallow that silly degree you have from a mushroom university you attended in America and let readers ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Moron, respect is earned not bought. If that Botwe cannot and it is you the same Botwe masquerading as Kosoko who has no cojones to come out and defend your foolishness and instead hiding under the guise of Kosoko .

You do ...

• kosoko 8 years ago

Oh now you are asking others to respect your opinion? Really? Do you have one on this forum other than insults? I'm not Botwe Asmoah. I'm Kosoko.I have been using this monika on Ghanaweb and as to why I use this Monika rather ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

You are an idiot and if you think you are fooling anybody, then you are more stupid than I thought. I know how to get your IP adoah Botwe using that moniker.

I can debate anybody in this forum but if you want to start with ...

• Joe Mensah 8 years ago

This narrrow-minded,conceited moron called SARPONG whose father is a MOSSI from Bourkina Fasso,is always casting insults and propogating falsehood.

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

A quintessential pot calling the kettle black. A rebuttal of what the sage , Mr. Sarpong said would have been appropriate. Nkrumah was not the saint you people portray him to be. There is a saying that if you are left an inhe ...

• kosoko 8 years ago

Look at another one so sick that he jumps into the fray to insult without knowing the basis of my beef with Sarong. A tired mind! You are worse than the one you are defending

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

Where is the insult. Kwasia man like you, give a rebuttal of what Sarpong has written and stop beating about the bush.

• kosoko 8 years ago

Obvious a fool like u wouldn't see Sarong's insult. How could u? Like him u don't u act before you think. Odwan!

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

Ha ha ha. Going off your rocker . You have not refuted Sarpong's statement ,still beating bout the bush . Odwendwentwie ( fool ) like you . The word " fool " does not even adequately described the Twi word I have used here. ...

• kosoko 8 years ago

What else can you do better apart from insults? You are the only one who thinks insult is an academic opinion to be refuted. Sick! I pity you. Go and take a shower and sleep. Maybe you will be normal again. A deluded fool!

• Dan 8 years ago

So tell us what the fallacy is. The Author ant to defuse the burning issue of Nkrumah having come into the presidency without any money but he ended up saying there was five hundred million dollars.

Maye you guys have a di ...

• Sylvia Denu 8 years ago

Yes, Sarpong it is Botwe. These are people who hardly publish in peer-review journals, but come here to spew nonsense. Botwe is not a historian, but a dondologist who is masquerading in America as one, and he has the temerity ...

• kosoko 8 years ago

I'm not Dr. Botwe Asamoah. I am Kosoko. Your argument smack of a tired and a lazy mind. Dr. Asamoah is giant in Ghana's political history and an experts on Nkrumah's work. He has published prolifically in this field. He is hi ...

• Dan 8 years ago

He is an "experts" indeed.

• Kojo T 8 years ago

Cash $500m , illiterate population 6m , no schools, hospitals, roads, houses, What is that $500m? Nothing

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Tema Motorway cost only 5million pounds, but Nkrumah left this country without proper rods. Even there was no befitting road from Kumasi to Accra.

• The scum of Ghana. 8 years ago

If I may add five hundred million dollars is around five 4 billion dollars in today's money(relatively).

• Sister Souljah 8 years ago

Sarpong the vulgar BUFFOON!

• DUNGEON MASTER 8 years ago

I have always believed and have articulated to some posting comments here that you possess more common sense than most people with a PhD. In fact, you have shredded this "lengthy" article from a PhD holder with just a few sen ...

• GOLD COAST 8 years ago

This certified AKURASE idiot and his boss,Bla Sarfo(another kuraseni and the ONLY lawyer with JD in Uncle Sam's country who calls himself "Dokita"),are engaged in misinformation,peddling of half-truths and contaminated truths ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Hahahahha, now all the cuckoo's cannot say that Nkrumah came to meet empty coffers.

The father of Nkrumah yahoos has accepted the fact that Nkrumah after Independence had $500 million in 1957 to spend.

How Nkrumah coul ...

• Robert Cudjoe 8 years ago

1972 born SARPONG,do you know the cost of the massive development Nkrumah undertook? You did not even know that Accra-Kumasi-Tamale road was not tarred,and there was no pipe-borne water and electricity in your hometown until ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

READ: "...In the Gold Coast, the European trading companies....exploited the Africans by controlling both the price paid for farmers’ cocoa beans and the price of imported goods from Europe...The price of imported goods fro ...

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

See how these Nkrumahism apologists have lined up to insult Sarpong .In case they are awake from their stupor, Nkrumah's party , the CPP , I hear is on life support. They should stop disturbing our ears and go to its rescue ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Minor Case, I don't know what point this Writer was trying to prove but he woefully failed miserably.

I thought he was going to prove there was no money in the kitty when Nkrumah assumed office as the President in 1957 but ...

• TT 8 years ago

Sarpong has exposed the shallowness of this article and Nkrumah supporters who have previously argued that there was no money when he became President now have no point to defend so they have to resort to insults.

Where is the fallacy when you have agreed there was. 500M dollars in 1957?

• James Obeng 8 years ago

500 million dollars was insignificant considering the massive development Nkrumah undertook.I bet you,you did not even know the Accra-Kumasi road was not even tarred,and there was no pipe-borne water and electricity in your h ...

• Sasabonsam 8 years ago

If Nkrumah could generate that amount of money from 1951-55. How much did he and the CPP generated until he was overthrown.
    We know that the country was bankrupt when C. Osei (governer for bank of Ghana )
    told him in 1965 b ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

CRITICAL OBSERVERS REFLECT ON THE LEGACY OF KWAME NKRUMAH & THE FORCES BEHIND HIS OVERTHROW IN 1966 BY THE KOTOKA MILITARY JUNTA THAT ESTABLISHED A DICTATOTSHIP THROUGH MILITARY RULE...ALL THE WAY TO JERRY "ACCOUNTABILITY" RA ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 8 years ago

Yes, Nkrumah did generate 500 million through self government under the British supervision; the million dollar question is how much he was able to generate after the British left the management of the country under his care ...

• BONE MARROW 8 years ago

hmmmmmm so we had dat amount of money at dat time and we couldnt make any meaningful projects with it i thought it was 200 million pounds with total debt of 20 million pounds hmmm den prof u did nt do nkrumah any good by reve ...

• Lexus 8 years ago

What's wrong koraa with this Asamoah Botwe?

What a load of balderdash!!!

Btw, what does my Professor first cousin [in Bloomington, IN] see in you to speak so kindly of you, even when he disagrees with you politically on ...

• Kwabena Akurang-Parry 8 years ago

Revisionism can be bad history if it is not well-pruned. The Brits left money in the vaults of the Gold Coast/Ghana. Two key questions may be tackled. First is how much did the Brit leave behind? This is clouded in relativiti ...

• James Obeng 8 years ago

Thank you Kwabena.You have hit the nail right on its head.It takes fair-minded,open-minded,objective and intellectually sound writers like you to uderstand Botwe-Asamoah's essay.

• Samson 8 years ago

Brilliant. Sadly we shall not in our lifetime see another leader like Nkrumah again. Ghana will surely have been a better country had the 1966 coup not happened. We all know who were responsible for that terrible happening in ...

• Yaw K. 8 years ago

Nkrumah the evil leader is dead cpp is gone for good.

• Anto 8 years ago

After reading just the intro, i realised the writer is just and Nkrumah apologist and probably suffers from schizophrenia as well. A disgrace to PhD holders.