You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 06 22Article 363661

A Nation, Continent and People Fooled By Religion

Read Comments Comments (73)

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

A very passionate appeal to reason. Kudos!

But there is not yet any train travelling close to the speed of light; but I understand your hyperbole.

Then again, don't be too bashful to concede that there is no God or gods ...

• Pimpinese 8 years ago

Isn't it ironic that Dr SAS will condemn blind faith, he of the two two women conning him out of his luxurious benz. Having noted that, I also agree with the sentiments expressed by Mr Nketiah, only I hope the accompanying pi ...

• Rev Yaw Adu-Gyamfi, PhD 8 years ago

God bless you Mr Nketia. It is quite unfortunate that we fail or refuse to use our brains to develop as individuals and communities. God had a purpose when He created us with brains. In fact, when God said Adam was to work th ...

• Tekonline.org 8 years ago

Well-spoken, Rev Yaw.
    If Christians truly understand the scriptures, they would be innovative thinkers and creators through-and-through. After all, isn't mankind supposed to be created in the image of the Creator? They shoul ...

• Kofi Laputa 8 years ago

Religion is just a hype, perpetuated on the human race and we have fallen for it big time. All interested to know the origin of the hype should read Tom Harpur's The Pagan Christ or watch Bill Maher's Religulous.

• Ajit Babu 8 years ago

God bless you, Rev. I wish all those bastards of preachers can think like you.

• Kweku troubke 8 years ago

Hey be careful. Don't use certain words when addressing the Reverend. Anyways solid point you made.

• Joel 8 years ago

What a wonderful piece of article but unfortunately our people will never abandon this notion of everything bad or good is the working ofGod.Have the people stop going to hear every none sense Duncun Williams preaches every d ...

• Aduana Atwea 8 years ago

You did, congratulations for starting this conversation. The problem is that most of the people who need to hear this conversation the most, will never be part of this forum. They are busy saying their so-called 'tongues' and ...

• Patriot. 8 years ago

The man has stated three or four times that the God who created the Americans etc so it means, he believes in God. and exactly the one we all believe in ,say Amen.

• KOBINA 8 years ago

Sub Saharan Africans aren't Rational Race. Religion imprisons the mind. There is no such thing as God, Even you the writer refuse to discard the notion of God, yet you feel enlightened.

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Our abysmal performance has nothing to do with religion and also, the fact some of us are well educated does not negate the fact that there is a higher power.

God does not intervene to help us with our material things. It ...

Another of the dumb ones!

• Pelicles 8 years ago

I am dumb like your father who mistakenly gave birth to a caricature like you. Fool. Did I insult you or I cannot voice out my opinion? Whatever you call yourself, do you eat your toilet to seen as a special person? Kwasea. ...

How many minutes does it take you to betray your Christ? Wicked boy!

You come around here thinking that you know some spirits hovering around, and some God you serve better than all. Now listen to yourself.....

I have n ...

• KUDJO 8 years ago

My friend you don't have to insult Nketeah what he hase written is true.

• GOLD COAST 8 years ago

Brother Nketiah,it is not only foreign religions (Christianity and Islam)that have turned Africans into useless entitities,who cannot produce anything significant,and depend on Americans,Europeans and Asians for everything - ...

• Kwame Ansah 8 years ago

Is it rather a case of abuse of religion?

Nkrumaists are also very religious, insofar as they think Nkrumah is a savior who never dies and does no wrong. They are therefore members of a religious cult worship known as Nkrumaism.

The Nkrumaist thoughts are no diffe ...

• GOLD COAST 8 years ago

Bla Sarfo,keep on showing your ignorance on Ghanaweb.For your information,at the meeting of the Council of Elders of Abuakwa State on Saturday evening,February 26,1944,the Elders discussed the WEREMPE rituals(blackening of th ...

The people will judge between me and you that indeed, you have your head in your ass.

Lawyers are not required by law to stop crimes even if they are aware. And we argue cases according to the available defenses.

So eve ...

• Mohammed Awuni 8 years ago

There is no God, but Allah

• The Mentor 8 years ago

That's a lie. Allah is the DEVIL. All the wars now are from followers. Allah is a false God.

• Mo, yendi 8 years ago

The mentor is a classic case of what the writer tries to discern knowledge to. They cannot think for themselves.

• Adams 8 years ago

Did Allah cause the first and second world wars,did he cause the crusades on the Muslims by the Christian west, did he cause the pogroms on the jews by the Christian west,was he cause of inquisition by the church where numero ...

• last card 8 years ago

all what you are saying could be or is true,but that doesn't also mean or change the fact that there are still not Good and evil forces operating around the globe,everything that has name exist on this planet,like we have,na ...

• Pastor Kofi sei 8 years ago

Not everything that has a nation exists. You can write a novel and create monsters or robots with names. Many things with names don't exist. The Phoenix is not real. The unicorn is not real. Many things with names are just fi ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 8 years ago

I am sure you've heard about Ntikuma, the first son of Kwaku Ananse, the spider. Have you seen Ntikuma before?

Ken

I am sure you've heard about Ntikuma, the first son of Kwaku Ananse, the spider. Have you seen Ntikuma before?

Ken

Ken

Ken

• Eddie 8 years ago

K, thanks for bringing very nice issues to everybody's attention and pointing few country,s we can learn from but my problem is what you as writer your little part you can do to help the unfortunate once, like the recent fire ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Right on point!

And the photo (Insert) tells the story: Ghanaians and Africans have their heads and hearts stuck in their butts, worshiping and kissing foreign religions, in clothes they do not produce.

Being primitive ...

• C'man--VIRGINIA 8 years ago

It is very sad in our society that those who call themselves profs, Drs,lawyers etc are the STUPID entities who can not reason up. I wished out of about 26 million people in Ghana just 1/4 or quarter have positive thinking li ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

Just lost an extended contribution and this is just a quick summary.

It appears that the writer himself is still under the cloud of superstition and ignorance that irks him so badly. Perhaps, he is not aware that ignraonce ...

• Wayne T Boudreau / Ontario Canada 8 years ago

I have a friend in Ghana and the lady is 82 years old.
    Her daughter got very sick a while ago and ended up in the hospital
    in which she had sickle cell. The hospital wanted 2500 dollars to save this
    young ladies life. Neit ...

Seriously

• truth 8 years ago

The word of GOD is written for all to see. If you're waiting for pastors to impact wisdom & knowledge to you,oh boy. Their INTEREST first 90%. Will not offer you their BMW whereas they sit in trotro.

• Justice 8 years ago

Well Said.

• KAY 8 years ago

AFRICA NEED YOU GUYS TO MOUNT A PLATFORM FOR THIS KIND OF GRUSADE.

• kofi 8 years ago

A very good article

• Mawunya 8 years ago

No matter how good your intentions, some religious clowns will still believe in their visual and auditory hallucinations

• Kwame Abrokwa 8 years ago

"ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT"

• Wanderer 8 years ago

Good article. The spirit world exists, no doubt about it. Being aware of that is a good thing. But the first few chapters of Genesis reveal that earth was given to man to rule. Man can rule if they take action. If live in acc ...

• Evangelist Yaw Forster - Pretoria, So 8 years ago

My people PERISH FOR LACK OF KNOWLEDGE! that is what God Himself spoke to His posterity.
    Christians are 'Spiritually Lazy'and that is why we rub crazy after prophets and go hunting for 'deliverance'all year round.
    Our leade ...

• Dennis Awah 8 years ago

one of the truest definitions of slavery is that it is infantilism meaning slavery creates the notion in a slave that nothing he/she does is due to his/her actions and decisions, because a slave has a master who decides his l ...

• Bezukhov 8 years ago

Right on, Dennis. I still don't get it as to why Christianity was accepted by Africans to begin with. As soon as a Missionary got to the part about "Doing unto others" I would have heard enough. Start practicing what you prea ...

• Ewurama 8 years ago

WELL DONE TO THE AUTHOR. WHENEVER GHANAIANS HAVE PROBLEMS, IT IS "NYAME WO HO" AND NOTHING IS DONE.

I could not agree more with the writer. Further examples: Rev. Martey, moderator of the Presbytarian Church of Ghana said prayers can end Dumsor is 3 months.
    2. Ga Traditional Council, claiming the floods are a punishment ...

• Dr Desmond Aryee-Boi 8 years ago

Hi, you have made my day... I am going to spread this article....
    Actually, we have three main challenges;
    1. Religion, opium of the masses
    2. tribalism, and
    3. politicization of everything
    After dealing with religion, ...

• Nana Nketiah 8 years ago

It is not the existence of Religion per-se that is the cause of our woes, Kwadwo. Talk boldly about our laziness.

The current form of Religion that we are talking about was brought to ghana and Africa by the Europeans. But ...

• Dadi 8 years ago

Well said Mr. Nketiah. Most of our religious leaders are hypocrites and charlatans

• Osofo 8 years ago

Kwadwo Nketiah didn't say anything new. He ended his article by asking God to bless Ghana and make us wise and strong. How ironical. This last sentence has in fact made this whole article stupid.

• Nana Nketiah 8 years ago

You might not have understood all what he wrote. To me he emphasised on our over-dependence, and misunderstanding of Religion

• kweku trouble 8 years ago

"Born as a Christian into a traditional local Ghanaian community, l wouldn't for a second doubt or deny the existence of a higher God or lesser god" This should tell you Nketiah in no way alleged that there is no God. Instead ...

• Tekonline.org 8 years ago

"...In any-case what did God give us brains for..."

One would have expected a skull filled with pure cotton-wool.

There must be a reason we were provided with a highly sophisticated organ like the brain.

If anything ...

Massa thank you. When people wake up in the morning, it's the greatest gift and miracle from God. Science cannot raise the dead nor guarantee life and that is the domain of God. The rest we have to figure out.

• GHANABA 8 years ago

Apostle Kwadwo Safo, is a living proof that religion is not an obstacle to technological advancement. Being religious did not stop Newton,Babbage,Louis Pasteur,Michael Farraday or James Britten from inventing things. What we ...

• Woestijnboom 8 years ago

This shows that our education system and in fact the cultural believe system we have inherited for milliniums (millinia) have failed us abysmally.

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

Wow, I'm speechless to read such wisdom from such a young Ghanaian! There is hope/salvation after all for Ghana/Africa from the new and modern African!! Lazy thinking has always been our downfall, hence our quick resort to th ...

• Martin 8 years ago

These are some of the things that we have to be reflecting on. God is not a God of lazy people who will spend the whole day or night in the Church claiming to be worshiping God.We worship God all the more when we use our brai ...

• Kwapps 8 years ago

...Will Fall Off Naturally!

Folks, most contributors here generally agree with the writer. What we should be discussing is how we overturn this deficit and become the majority. Our voices should be heard and our reasoning ...

• KINKI 8 years ago

You are a prisoner of religion, I agree 100% with the writer. I was really expecting a comment from your type. No GOD ANSWERS NO PRAYERS. you NEED TO WAKE UP. DO MORE RESEACH AND YOU WOULD SEE RELIGION IS MAN MADE TO DOMIMATE ...

• KINKI 8 years ago

WAKE UP PELICLES.YOU HAVE BEEN SLEEPING FOR MUCH TOO LONG.

Aldrin, a Presbyterian, was the first person to hold a religious ceremony on the Moon. After landing on the Moon, he radioed Earth: "I'd like to take this opportunity to ask every person listening in, whoever and wherever the ...

• Jude Richards 8 years ago

Nketia is right and passionate, but the argument is slightly tilted the other way round. Remember, in the Americas, Europe they do have their religious beliefs and practices. Even amongst the Asians who are taking over the wo ...

• Mary Malone 8 years ago

Many times people will cling to superstitions because it is easier than taking responsibility for their own problems.

It takes effort to try to figure out, by yourself, why "bad" things happen, and even more effort to acc ...

• Mary Malone 8 years ago

Had to say it.

• Ewurafuah 8 years ago

I like your article. Very good, brother!!

• Alomo Jata 8 years ago

This is a very well written article. The author hit the nail on the head. I wish there could be public forum where he can speak to the myopic people in Ghana.

• Fred 8 years ago

Yes - such "blind" faith is extremely common in Africa, but dear writer - there are plenty of people in the "western" world, especially in the US, who are just as "blind."

• Lee chimsa 7 years ago

This is all soo true... There's no single day that I haven't heard Ghanaians attribute a single misfortune to higher forces. Im a Christian myself and think the writer is only trying to emphasize the point that most of our pr ...

• Atumowe Charles 7 years ago

Absolutely factual.......Great message