You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 06 11Article 361951

Its official: Silas Tetteh is a very poor tactician

Read Comments Comments (55)

• Max 8 years ago

Inappropriate and ungrateful article. Why do we want wleverything to go our way. A loss is a loss. Accept the defeat and move on. The coach was good when we beat Argentina right?

• kwaku ghawa 8 years ago

THE TEAM WAS BAD WHEN WE PLAYED ARGENTINES: THEY WERE ONLY LUCKLY: THEY DID THE SAME RUNNING ARROUND AND WERE ALMOST PUNISHED:WE ARE TALKING OF TACTICAL PLAY:I KNOW NOT ALL UNDERSTAND WHAT TACTICAL PLAYING MEANS:

• Mr.N 8 years ago

As you know, you go to war with the Army you have my friend Donald H. Rumsfeld said this. We do not have a team we are not creating any atmosphere to have a team. Look at the local Black Stars what did they do.

I will chal ...

• Mohammed Awuni 8 years ago

a loss is a loss, but most Ghanaians do not mind when we lose fighting.

• Asem 8 years ago

Stupid Mohammed Awuni, that is what the koran taught you, insult someone for his comments.

If you're not the idiot that you are, you'd realized that only tacticians win games. That is why Mourinho will always win games.

• rhetelly 8 years ago

Haha! Asem, I am guessing you misunderstood the context of Mohammed statement. He is simple saying that Ghana should have tried to put up a challenge.
    Also, your sweeping statements make your argument weak."That is why Mou ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 8 years ago

CHEAP SHOT

Those are not my words... I stayed up all night to watch the game and boy, was I pissed off>. OMG Mali is got a great team. How they have improved, is unbelievable. A leftie was playing no 7 and he drawing circles around our ...

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

Silas wouldn't have been happy having Grant around. He is full of himself and very egoistic. However, please cut him some slack for as long as Attah Mills was murdered, there will be no glory for his killers.

• Abdel Mannaff 8 years ago

it has now become obvious that Sellas Tetteh wasn't the one who chopped success in 2009 and 2013 but his able players like Andre Dede Ayew, agyemang badu, Opuku Agyemang, Moses Odjer, Lawrence Lartey etc out of zeal encourage ...

• Qwame 8 years ago

You claim to know so much about soccer. Go and find out about the worst game lost by Arsene, Mourinho and Anceloti. But please leave Sillas alone.

• kwaku ghawa 8 years ago

you were hard on borbo but very fair. it is time he moves to learn the new treand in football. leting players just run with noipossitional play is old fashing.
    every good football nation has a systerm they play from kinderga ...

• Mohammed Awuni 8 years ago

in Ghana, you have to be dead before u are removed.

See Nyantakyi, he lacks ideas, but he wants to be at his post for life

• Rhetelly 8 years ago

Another day, another stupid article with no substance. The title of this article is one of an amateurs' with no sense of awareness and skills in writing. Secondly you neither have no clue about what you are writing about nor ...

• kofi 8 years ago

I think you have a problem of properly decoding what you read. Dont blame the wirter. he spoke his mind and wrote a good piece as a result.
    It is up to you to agree all disagree.
    Talking of the headline, I think it is very ...

• salinsa 8 years ago

generally most of our coaches are not tactically minded especially ex footballers turned coaches. The problem is two fold: one the ex players turned coaches are not neccessarily the ones with playing pedigree. maxwell konadu, ...

• Nii Armah Kweifio-Okai 8 years ago

If the writer understands tactics and has actually played soccer before, he would realise that the match was lost by the players not the coach. Silas summed it thus: if an opponent wins every 50-50 encounter, you know who is ...

• TIME FOR CHANGE 8 years ago

When the team wins then it is the doing of Coach Tetteh and his great find B.tetteh.Why can't the responsibility of this humiliating lose be at his feet.

• lol 8 years ago

Even winning teams likes Man U, Chelsea and Barcellona lose some games. We are all disappointed that we lost but if the Coach summed it the way Nii Armah is saying then we should understand him.

• kofi 8 years ago

u make no sense. the writer is right. Silas Tetteh has never been a great tactician and the game confirmed it.

• owusu 8 years ago

HE HAS DONE HIS BEST AND IT IS TIME FOR HIM TO BE CHANGED

• Rwoss 8 years ago

Mr journalist I think u have a case but my beef is linking the flaw to previous successes. The thing is, you are never a criminal until you are caught and successfully prosecuted in court.
    Answer this pls, do u think a worl ...

• Isaac Kyei Andoh 8 years ago

Big man, Bobor is a good man manager but a bad tactician
    When he gets a group of players superior to his opponent's he is able to motivate them and give them the freedom to perform well.

Tacticians dont only need superior ...

• maubs 8 years ago

Here we go again, we want local coach then local players and when we lose local coaches are no good.haba. i think the writing was on the wall when we needed a 90th minute penalty to draw with austria, we lead 3-0 abd still ha ...

• maubs 8 years ago

The local league is poor, hearts in the 70s did not lose 4-0 to no tunisia side. Look at the chan side losing to madagascar and u24 losing to congo and you know we have problems when we call up this same players to u21s.poor ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 8 years ago

But Hearts lost 4_0 to Ethiopia team called St. Georges. Hearts lost 5_2 Zambia team called Wanderers.

• Watchman 8 years ago

The writer of the article is not worth its salt. Where was the writer when Silas Tetteh was winning all matches? Borbor reads the game. He knows what he is looking for all the time. However, football is unpredictable. Anythin ...

• kofi 8 years ago

You make no sense. The writer is simply saying he hass never been impressed by ST.

That aside, he gave loudable reasons.
    ST needs to up his game.

• Dr.Chakachaka 8 years ago

I so disappointed with this result.

• Analyst 8 years ago

It is a misunderstanding of football as a game to think that, all that is needed for a team to win is to have a good coach. A good coach is indeed necessary but that is no guarantee for victory. More important is a good team/ ...

• anokwale 8 years ago

Our players simply were not good enough and got exposed by a bigger more athletic team. The teams we played in the group stage were: Austria (not as athletic or fast), Argentina (great skill but a step slower), Panama (hard ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 8 years ago

HE SHOULD HAVE PARK THE BUS AND TELL THEM TO STOP THE LONG BALLS

• yaro 8 years ago

You have to be careful not to crush the bus!

• Edem Lasisi, Atlanta, USA 8 years ago

Thanks for your analysis. It is refreshing to have such intelligent point of view. Some of the other posters here are plain ignorant.

• Emperor 8 years ago

when he won for the time he said it was the help of the Nigeria. Con man where is he now?

• kakabo 8 years ago

In the whole article you manage to point just one mistake that the coach did and nothing more i.e. floating long balls into the opponents area. Apart from that you said nothing more. It seems you do not even understand soccer ...

• kofi 8 years ago

1 in ability to change tactics
    2 In ability to effect good substitutionm
    3 Lacks touchline presence

these are points raised. did you read the article all?

• minter 8 years ago

Silas Tetteh has always been a poor tactician. You can go back and look at all the youth teams he has coached and you will see that his teama win based on individual skills. Silas Tetteh has no tactics or plan A or plan B.

• Kofi Tahiru 8 years ago

You are indeed a quack journalist with a very poor sence of judgement. Where were u all dat long without passing such a naive comments. Better shut up not 2 further expose your naivety. U are thesame people who said The Black ...

• Joko 8 years ago

These tribalist morons?

• Kweku Hinson, Winneba. 8 years ago

We need to learn from everything that happen to us, as a people if we want to make progress as a nation devour of politics and ethnicity. We are out of the competition because of tactical blunders. We needed just to close our ...

Yes I turned off my TV and stopped watching the game little after 50 minutes into play. I could clearly see our boys lack urgency playing like there was nothing at stake.

• Obrefo 8 years ago

Come on, there are better defenders in Ghana than what we saw. The left and right full backs were very weak.
    Is it a case of "PAY AND PLAY" by their agents as usual? Their performance as a team was poor even when they were b ...

• yaro 8 years ago

The defenders of all our national team categories are struggling the black stars defense use to be a fortress, and since we're not a high scoring side, a goal or two is enough to win our games..no equalizer.let groom quality ...

• Abdul Aziz 8 years ago

bobor is already faillure and his employers are faillures so they can't sack him.may God save mother Ghana.

• Omega 8 years ago

The mistakes these boys were making had nothing to do with the coach, but all to do with general Ghanaian footballing attitude which we all have to come together to erradicte. Too much style over substance. Not releasing the ...

• RAYMOND NASH 8 years ago

MORON,LOOKS LIKE YOU WERE WAITING FOR AN OPPORTUNITY TO INSULT SILAS.
    HONESTLY YOUR SO CALLED ARTICLE LACKS THE INTRICACIES OF A SEASONED (SPORTS) JOURNALIST'S WORK.
    YOU SMACK OF IGNORANCE, AND LIKE A MAN ON A MISSION TO IN ...

• Tim 8 years ago

STFU! One defeat doesn't mean the man doesn't know coaching! He gave Africa its first U-20 WC trophy on Africa soil you ungrateful twit!

• Harry 8 years ago

Ya mind is full of trush ,what do u know about football? primitive trabalistic fool .y didn't u write same trush when inexperienced kwesi appiah failed disgracefully

• woa look 8 years ago

Youi are barbaric. He raised some good points

• Boogis 8 years ago

It is clear you have some hatred for Borbor, otherwise how can you paint such pixs - lies about him. Borbor is the only African, Ghanaian coach that gave us a world cup and a third position at the world stage. How can anybody ...

• woa look 8 years ago

You just came to attack the writer. He is expressing his honest opinion and I for one do agree with him. Is Bobor a good tactician? What system does he play?
    Get a life.

• Pete 8 years ago

Idiots! With all the incompetence-caused deaths in Ghana how do you think the players' moral will be? Ghana's incompetent leaders are a liability to Ghanaians everywhere. We are not proud of you at all. You demoralize Ghanaia ...

• the truth 8 years ago

Where is SILAS TETTEH?

• Aba 8 years ago

Ghanafo) kasa. Are we the only team to be knocked out. Leave the man alone PHD guys.