Should Ghana Revert to the Old System of Education?

Read Comments Comments (43)

• Pelicles 10 years ago

JJ is the person to answer that question. With the gun, he destroyed what give him the head start in life.

I am not a supporter of this JSS shit and I have been saying all along that we should reverse the current system to ...

• Prof Lungu 10 years ago

On this one, we are in agreement with you!

Greetings!

• YIKRA 10 years ago

They should have known but for ego and corruption

• Abingo 10 years ago

My brother I am so sad and worry a lot about the future of mother Ghana. The future looks bleak. The system we have now is a mess. No mention of Geography, History, Civics, Home Economics, etc. Instead we now have Social Stud ...

• Sam 10 years ago

Old system of Education was much better

• Janet Brew 10 years ago

Please don't forget that the breed of students nowadays are lazy and they do not want to work hard. They also have parents who would rather "buy " their way through school than chastise them to study hard.

• Bfire 10 years ago

We should relised there is a lot of distractions nowadays for the children to learn as compared to those days.Gone are the days when most students used lanterns and wake up in the middle of the nights to study.Gone are the da ...

• Pumpuni 10 years ago

"For those who passed through the old system will you agree with me that the old system of education must come back?"
    Good job Papa Stephen. I can tell without you or anybody telling me that you are a graduate of the old sys ...

• Yaw Brefo 10 years ago

Indeed I feel so frustrated about this JSS/SHS system. Can you imagine how poor my son's English has become? Can somebody tell me what he means by, "nys wan der" Holy Jesus""

• Ellis 10 years ago

I support the old system even though I was not a product of the old system. But lets face the fact we have nowadays. The problem of teachers even receiving their regular monthly pay is a blow. So how can a hungry teacher teac ...

• Military Man 10 years ago

I was a beneficiary of the old system and I'm glad and proud of the quality education the system offered me.

I hope those in authority will realize that this JSS bullshit has been a total flop and swallow their pride and r ...

• Benash 10 years ago

I couldn't have agreed with you more on this subject. Everything you said is damn right and it's about time our so called leaders swallow their pride and allow us to go back to the old system.
    The statistics are there to sho ...

• Sakawa 10 years ago

The useless education system JJ Rawlings introduced has been the cause of the moral decay in Ghana and our downward spiral economically. JJ himself must answer for his poor decisions. We must revert to the old system with som ...

• Sakawa 10 years ago

NDC is a very useless and greedy party with half-baked scholars. This party must be made extinct and never ever be given the chance to come back to power. All the fault of patapaa JJ.

• Michael K. Tettevi. 10 years ago

During the Gold Coast we had standard 1 to 7 before college. After independence we had primary class 1 to 6 and middle form 1 to 4 known as elementary education. Now we have junior primary and secondary and senior high educat ...

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 10 years ago

The present system of education needs to be overhauled for it is poor. Owusu's comments useful and needs to be studied carefully. I would propose the following:-
    1. Kindegarten(Nursery) 3years
    2. Primary ...

• Michael K. Tettevi. 10 years ago

During the Gold Coast we had standard 1 to 7 before college. After independence we had primary class 1 to 6 and middle form 1 to 4 known as elementary education. Now we have junior primary and secondary and senior high educat ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Tettevi you described the same system as 2. Before the 60's Class 4 was referred to as standard 1. It went all the way to middle form 4 which was standard 7.

• ghanaman 10 years ago

The author describes at least four (4) systems of pre-university education preceeding the current one: colonial (Standard 7 plus college); post-independence (6 years of primary, 4 years middle, plus 7 years secondary); JSS (A ...

• Military Man 10 years ago

6 years of primary, 4years of middle, 4 years of Teacher Training College or 7 years secondary.

With a few tweaks here and there of the post independence system, Ghana can once again be the beacon of good education on the ...

• Prof Lungu 10 years ago

Looks like this calls for renunciation of the Rawlings experiment in education, stand-up of the scheme you propose, and a lot more attention to trades and technical education at the pre-University levels, beyond cooking and h ...

• SIMON BOAKYE 10 years ago

Oh Ghanaman! The author says clearly that we should revert to the old system which is 10 years plus 7 years before university. It seems you left Ghana a very long time ago and that is why you don't even know that JSS and JSS ...

• Bfire 10 years ago

Lets be truthfully to ourselves and for the sake of our children and stop the politics.
    Look at it critically.What was the subjects in the only system, there are Maths, English, Geography,and History.These are the major subj ...

• Ke 10 years ago

I definitely aggreed with you. No mater what changes you may bring, will not solve the proble, but just waist of time and money. Hence we are in the IT generatio, the brain dont necessarily need to memorize everything, you ju ...

• peace 10 years ago

what primitive thinking is this? ghanas educational system is modeled along side of the USA education system that the writer so envy. it is not how long one spend in school but the quality of instruction etc

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

Quality education is decisive not duration. Focus on quality is what we want.

Many African pupils educated in the UK, Europe and the US in good Independent Schools do six years in Primary School education and six years in ...

• Gruse Nash 10 years ago

It's true da

• KKO 10 years ago

Stephen,

This is a good piece, but part of your historical premise is wrong. You state, “
    It was, however, a system inherited from the colonial days from a colonial master whose own educational system had changed. There ...

• Kobby 10 years ago

SANKOFA is not an insult , but this question should be tackled by the horn and not by insults ,those involve in this argument must sit down around a table and strike good solution and fix where there is lapses in our educatio ...

• Kwobia (Toronto) 10 years ago

Ghanains have sacrificed quantity for quality.The old system must come back.The govt does not have money to educate every child.Ghanains themselves must accept this fact.

• Uncle Ebo 10 years ago

Oh! What can I say? It is such a pity and worse still the conditions are worsening. With domsor and high rate of strikes, how can things improve academically? Anyway Agya, Hope "they" all read this.

• PAA STEELE 10 years ago

A great article. Kudos Stephen

• Kwapps 10 years ago

In a way, the seriousness of the issue can be measured by the grasp of English displayed here by respondents!

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 10 years ago

Even though I had the JHS/SHS education. I strongly side with the writer for the government to bring back the old system of education.

How I wish it is been implemented again.

• Kofi Boakye Bonsu 10 years ago

A very well written article. It's pathetic that current Politicians appear to be nonchalant to the plight and deplorable status of education in the country. Is it because almost all of them can afford to educate their kids in ...

• Richmond Afrifa 10 years ago

The practice of conservative ideology is meaningless when no good results comes out of it.The should be possitve change in the educational system.

• Richmond Afrifa 10 years ago

The practice of conservative ideology is meaningless when no good results comes out of it.There should be possitive change in the educational system.

• scilla 10 years ago

am much sad n worried about our mother Ghana sm years to come. corruption everywh
    ere. God help mother Ghana cos we are leading to hell

• Oti Akenteng 10 years ago

Yes indeed back to the old system.And one thing i don,t understand about ghanaians is that, they are very religious but highly corrupt.

• bryan dopp 10 years ago

Remedial courses taught by elderly citizens are needed. Those of the old school times need to be used to bolster this weak system, whether paid or as volunteers. All retired teachers under 75 need to be employed to bridge t ...

• JOSHUA(CANADA) 10 years ago

Thanks Bryan, I hope the directors of Ghana's education are listening.

• CECIL;IA 10 years ago

The old system was much better.Well written.

• King James 10 years ago

Well my fellow readers, it has well been said by the writer and this to me is a lovely masterpiece.

I have been a teacher if not for nothing at all at least 10years and I do see the huge difference between the A and O leve ...