You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 05 16Article 358369

How Ghana Descended to the Bottom of Global Education

Read Comments Comments (28)

• JKK 8 years ago

The OECD report did not say or show that Ghana is at the bottom of global education.

I wish people will stop saying such things. You don't need a degree in Statistics to see that the report makes no such claim. The report ...

• Olu 8 years ago

You are not serious. You did not refute the truth but defend GHANA bad education system with technicality. What are graduate of say a jss or SSS or legon compared to their counterpart elsewhere? if you were to employ them wh ...

• JKK 8 years ago

Olu, read my post carefully. I am not saying that Ghana's education system is good and should be defended against the OECD study. For all I know, Ghana may be at the bottom of global education. My point is that the OECD study ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Statistics also has something in the syllabus called "inference." This is - probably - something you missed in SSS. One does not have to wait for OECD to do that inference for us, and their study was not aimed at drawing that ...

• JKK 8 years ago

You write that from the OECD statistics we can infer that Ghana's educational structure is horrible - very horrible. Yes, I agree. But you cannot infer from the OECD study that we are at the very bottom of the global pack(?). ...

• cano 8 years ago

A good piece Doc, however, in reference to your second paragraph, I want to state emphatically that the curriculum we have in Ghana is teacher centred.It is not student centred. Teachers come and teach whiles students do litt ...

• kojo nzo ekangaki 8 years ago

Dont be so naive,with its76th position,Ghana cant be de last since de world has over 220 countries,again.note all Rawlings daughters attended Wesley Girls,Cape Coast...

• obroni 8 years ago

The only reason is that Ghana's education system is completely outdated. Based solely on knowledge without concentrating on understanding. About the teachers, who in Ghana follows his dreams and loves his job?

• obroni 8 years ago

The only reason is that Ghana's education system is completely outdated. Based solely on knowledge without concentrating on understanding. About the teachers, who in Ghana follows his dreams and loves his job?

• PROFESSOR ASHAWO!! 8 years ago

NONSENSE

• Olu 8 years ago

Doc,

You have spoken well. Ghana education is even worse than you put it. Cheating is now common practice at the universities so what students will such produce?

There is no surprise why graduates are interested nothing ...

• HANS 8 years ago

IT NEVER DAWNED ON US THAT ONE DAY,NKRUMAH'S GHANA WILL FIND HERSELF ON THE LOWEST RUNG IN MATH & SCIENCE. THIS RESULT IS AN INDICATION OF THE DOWNWARD SLIDE OF GHANA IN EVERY SPHERE OF NATIONAL LIFE SINCE 1966.THE MEMBERS OF ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

WHEN YOU PLAY YOUR POLITICS KEEP YOUR HEADS FOCUS ON THE TRUTH, EVEN IF ANY ONE FROM OUTSIDE THE COUNTRY THINKS THAT 70 IS THE LAST OUT OF MORE THAN 200 CAN'T YOU USE YOUR HEADS?

• logic 8 years ago

its funny how Ghanaians have taken this....there are over 200 countries in the world and ghana is 76th by whatever standard or criteria....its nt as bad as people are painting it. Ghana education however is in bad shape, more ...

• Emelia Tawiah. 8 years ago

Indeed,everything u r saying is trur,even common teaching materials for teaching at de basic level u can't get n how do we compare ourselves to de top educationist.These country is destoryed totally b'cos it future is been de ...

• Alfred Kofi 8 years ago

Come down and help. But i don't get it Ghana is among the best so why all this? You praised Kufour and condemned Rawlings meanwhile the ranking was a fifteen year ranking so Kufour should also be condemned. Use your title wel ...

• The mask 8 years ago

Reports say that over the years the Ministry of education directive to medical schools to cease holding private classes has been flouted by the KATH section of SMS-KNUST

• dan 8 years ago

why are we always quick to defend the indefensible. even if the report is nothing to go by, why not take a cursory look at past reports on education in Africa and the latest rankings of best universities in Africa. Ghana stil ...

• back door director 8 years ago

No wonder you are a product of that failed system. All talk but no substance

• Leo R. Sam 8 years ago

Congratulations to Dr. Samuel Adjei Sarfo for this highly thought-provoking article.
    First of all Ghanaians must learn to accept the fact that THE TEACHING PROFESSION COUNTS. The profession needs some of the best students i ...

• Kwaku Spider 8 years ago

Isn't it ironic that Ghana, the most religious country in the world is the least educated? Not to mention the obvious economic hardship. Whereas Chinese who are atheists (don't believe in god) are smarter and more successful? ...

• Kwapps 8 years ago

...but please replace your 'Spider' with 'Ananse' to set the tone properly.

I have advocated on this platform and elsewhere the very points raised by you. In addition I suggest we do away with religion altogether and turn ...

• Pimpinese 8 years ago

Does this also mean that the best prostitutes you know in Texas got more skilz than the best ones in Ghana?

• Nana Borrow Dumsor 1 8 years ago

If all countries in the world had been graded, Ghana will still be at the last position. If a circuit supervisor tells a teacher to use his own money to buy a lesson note then what do you expect?

• komme 8 years ago

Dr Safo I presume you have not seen or read the interim report that put Ghana at number 76 which is the bottom of the pack but you have gone ahead to criticise our system, I think it is very sad you call yourself a doctor but ...

• Avosoglu 8 years ago

So you are happy! You are among those people in Ghana who do not want the country to progress. You these NDC people you always want to insult anybody who want the best for the country. No wonder most of the NDC people are fro ...

• Miller 8 years ago

How can the director general of education think strict monitoring would work when most teachers are waiting for their salary arrears to be paid for over a year,and when unqualified SHS graduates have been recruited as pupil t ...

• Kwapps 8 years ago

You get results like this if a self-imposed leader like Rawlings toys with a country's educational system based on his beliefs. Could you imagine this man imposing a single uniform on all school children in the country! Which ...