You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 04 17Article 354599

K.A. Busia Was Ill-Prepared to Lead and Govern Ghana 1

Read Comments Comments (50)

• Charles Agbenu 9 years ago

Shame. The fishes in the Keta seas and the monikers in the Gonja forest shoild read this reactionary stuff

• Ekow Essamuah 9 years ago

You can force the donkey to the river but you can't force it to drink. Kwarteng can equate Nkrumah to God, that would be his own cup of tea. Ghanaians have rejected and will continue to reject his CPP which keep dwindles by ...

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

The confused Kwarteng has opened a new useless page.

• JW 9 years ago

The four Fifa boss aspirants advocating for a 40-48 World Cup slots. We shall soon see Israel, Faroe Islands and even Somalia playing in the World Cup with a kamikaze as their mascot.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/323 ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Dear Readers,

Please note the following correction: Danquah lost elections (1954, 1956, 1960), not (1951, 1954, 1960). I hope I am right on this!

Of course, he was elected to the Legislative Assembly (1951) through the ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

KF, you don't need to make any corrections to your excellent contribution. To make a long story short both Busia and Danquah were political criminals and were no match for Kwame Nkrumah. They lost the race to lead Ghana. Peri ...

Dear Brother Nana Ansah,

Good day.

Same to you.

Have a nice weekend!

Thanks.

• KanyeEast 9 years ago

Francis, Thanks for the enlightenment. What a beautiful and credible rebuttal to the nonsense we have been fed by the poorly educated degree holder in New York. I am also thankful that you did not mention the name of that foo ...

Dear KanyeEast,

Thanks for your kind words.

I will surely not go there!

That name is not worth mentioning when the beautiful minds of great leaders like Nkrumah's are being discussed.

Have a nice weekend!

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

Your reasoning that education does not necessarily connote leadership ability makes a lot of sense to me. We will therefore take education out of the equation and consider commonsense and experience as sine qua non to good le ...

• RINGO 9 years ago

The subjective,irrational and biased DR SAS like AHOOFE need psychiatric evaluation.

• Oheneba Adu 9 years ago

The great Nkrumah is universally acknowledged as AFRICA'S MAN OF THE MILLENNIUM.I wonder if those quasi- intellectuals called DR SAS and AHOOFE know what it means.

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

If anyone needs psychiatric evaluation then it's Kwarteng because he did not make any sense with that long pointless article of his. It was a complete waste of precious time . Nkrumah's "my way or the highway" leadership sty ...

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Jealosy, You will never be like Nkrumah.You got education from a varsity he started Say tx

• Kojo Arhin 9 years ago

DR SAS,the atheist has bought his 14th car-Nissan Altima so he claims he is better than Nkrumah.Is DR SAS a normal person?

• NANA YAW 9 years ago

Stop calling yourself Dr. SAS. You are Mr. SAS Esquire, which your JD degree entitles you to.
    Even President Obama and president of Harvard Law School association, and multitudes of JD's from all over the world don't put Dr ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Dr. SAS Nkrumah wasn't interested in materials things as much as you do. For someone who claims to have acquired a doctorate your penchant for frivolities is really astounding and appalling.

• Sam 9 years ago

I thought you (SAS) was a matured man. Hahaha I laughed when I read that you just bought a Nissan Altima. And you came to the States in 2002.

Do you know there is no difference between you (SAS), Ahoofe and SARPONG?. The t ...

• REM 9 years ago

And what must we make of that?

Must a man's worth always be measured in the number of cars he purchases? Or the buildings he has in Ghana or the amount of material worth he acquires?

Indeed, must a man's worth be meas ...

I love my fleet of cars which I bought with my own money!

But my point is that unlike me, Nkrumah spent fourteen years in both the USA and UK and went home empty-handed, depending on the largesse of other people, only to t ...

• Joe 9 years ago

SAS bought 14 cars in the US and wants all to know about that. Lowest of the LOW!

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

DR. SANQAS, do you really know what it means to be a student abroad in the 30s and 40s or even 60s? Even in the 50s it was only very rich people who could afford to a TV set let a alone buy a car. Look DR. SANQAS you are far ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

DR. SANQAS, do you really know what it means to be a student abroad in the 30s and 40s or even 60s? Even in the 50s it was only very rich people who could afford to buy a TV set let a alone buy a car. Look DR. SANQAS you are ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

Oh SAS, I like reading your posts about Nkrumah because I know most are factual and truthful. I cannot imagine how you could stoop this low to make such a comparison. Please note that Nkrumah was in the US during a different ...

• Isaiah Mensah 9 years ago

DR SAS is an atheist,hence his bizarre and illogical thinking.Who wants to argue with an atheist called DR SAS.Ignore this idiot.

• GOLD COAST 9 years ago

For what shall it profit a man if he shall gain the whole world,and lose his soul?

Mark 8:36

Sarfo,the mentally challenged and bogus "Dokita",is full of himself. This fool is the only lawyer in America with a JD ...

• Kojo Arhin 9 years ago

Your porous response is not worth reading.It is universally acknowledged that the great Nkrumah is AFRICA'S MAN OF THE MILLENNIUM.It is neither Busia nor J.B.Danquah.You need an in-depth research on Ghana's political history ...

• Fred Amoah 9 years ago

In the era of intense racism in United States where there was absoluteley no opportunities for blacks in the 1930's when Nkrumah was a struggling student trying to make ends meet and go to school,this KWASEA called DR SAS exp ...

• Sam 9 years ago

Busia took 3 years salary advance just after becoming the prime minister. Used the World Bank to cripple the nation and that brought in Acheampong and the yentua stance. He thought he could become rich by violently removing N ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

A ha!

• ??? 9 years ago

Why are you all fools insulting Dr. SAS? Jealous sycophants.

Thanks Bro. ???.

A few days ago, the cowardly weed addict, Prof. Lungu, made a stentorian claim that I was the person that has used the most insults against writers and commentators on Ghanaweb.

I then concluded that t ...

• GHANANI 9 years ago

Stop wasting your time on professor 'okafodidi' Kofi Abrefa Busia the terrorist who became prime minister of Ghana with the help of the CIA and was overthrown by patriotic col I.K. Acheampong.No wonder his grave has been dese ...

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

It is remarkable that the Kwarteng guy is getting more and more confused with his copy and paste nonsense. He can't get it that he makes no single sense with his confused "baked" and amalgamated copied paragraphs put together ...

• Baffour Agyemang 9 years ago

SAS remove the Dr. you attach to you name. Francis Kwateng does not attach any accolade to his name yet writes geniusly and academically. You are not even up to 20% of how good Kwateng is.

For a person flaunting his scholarship to Africa and the world, Nkrumah was ironically the alter-ego of several characters in fictional narratives or tragic drama. In the first place, Nkrumah is pretty much like Kurtz, the ch ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

".... we will now state that it is they, the Danquah-Busia-Dumbo confederates and their "right-wing bourgeois reactionaries" who must apologize to the People of Ghana for the "prevailing" and continued "socioeconomic chaos ra ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

FOREIGN RELATIONS OF THE UNITED STATES, 1955–1957
    VOLUME XVIII, AFRICA, DOCUMENT 134

134. Telegram From the Embassy in Ghana to the Department of State

Accra, December 4, 1957—4 p.m

233. Re Deptel 188.2
    Busia ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Busia...also wants...ten thousand dollars in US purchase vehicles and hire party workers to offset “dangerous indoctrination” being given people by CPP agents who have unlimited funds...He would want our help to “condit ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

It has come to my attention that you Prof Lungu is a Rastafarian and wear dread locks. If such is the case, then the assumption one can make from the preceding is that the likelihood or the chance/probability of you being a w ...

• Joe 9 years ago

What is wrong if the honorable Prof Lungu smoke weed? In any case what has that got to do with the issue at stake? The fake "dokita" is only resorting to insults and name-calling to hide his shortcomings and inadequacies, he ...

Weed is a psychotropic herb, and mixed with the opium called Nkrumaism, will make a person unceasingly hallucinate.

Thus a weedhead Nkrumaist like the baldhead Rastafarian, Prof Lungu presumably suffers from phantasmagoric ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Insults are the first refuge of intellectual dwarfs!

Tell that to your cronies Bro. Your vision is impaired if all you see here is my insult.

You're wrong. Whose misrule precipitated the first HIPIC status and whose misrule again is threatening to send the nation back to the dreaded HIPIC status? The NDC describe themselves as social democrats but whenever they're ...

• Yamoah Baah 9 years ago

Rubbish from a rotten fish.

• YAW 9 years ago

Dr. K A Busia is not even listed as a notable alumnus of Oxford university. Dr. J B Danquah is of no significance to University College of London either. Dons at Oxford and UCL are all Nkrumahist, I presume?

• Kojo Budu 9 years ago

I wonder why we can't celebrate that great man for the avoidance of doubt he is highly recognised as the best African ever hence, his bestowed African man of the millenium award by BBC listeners. He is always credited as the ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

WHETHER NKRUMAH, AKO KORSAH, VAN LARE. KOI LARBI, BUSIA, KOFI BANDA,BAFFOUR AKOTO AND DANQUAH ETC,ETC WERE ALL ILL PREPARED IN POLITICS AND TO LEAD ANBD GOVERN GHANA,IT IS STILL PITY THAT, THE NATIONS SO CALLED NOISY EDUCATED ...

You're absolutely right. We still cannot think outside the box but we spend precious time digging into the past and pointing accusing fingers at people who have already played their part and are dead. I saw first hand some of ...