You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 03 11Article 349700

Is Dr Osafo Marfo’s Ethnocentric Executive Formula Rational?

Read Comments Comments (28)

• Ben 9 years ago

Ghana is well-endowed with natural resources and agriculture accounts for roughly one-quarter of GDP and employs more than half of the workforce, mainly small landholders.

However the services sector accounts for over 50% ...

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Ata kudos. I asked what an ex Minister for education and finance minister could be talking about Human resource is a big ingredient So as Ace said resources are being It is IDEAS that come up with solutions that create resou ...

• OBIA DIE MIENU MIENU 9 years ago

ALL OSAFO MARFO WANTS IS FOR HIS FRIEND AND ETHNIC AKYEM - NANA AKUFO ADDO - TO BE THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA, AND AKYEMS AND ASANTES TO BE THE ONLY GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS MANAGING GHANA'S MONEY, AND ALL FUTURE PRESIDENTS TO COME F ...

• Aba 9 years ago

They just hate to hear a government official's name who is not Asante or Akyem, or conducting official and public business in twi-english. That is NPP for you.

• Wayo 9 years ago

This is a well balanced written article. Most of the NPP members supporting Mr Marfos comments do not understand multiparty democracy as numbers game.

NPP DOESN'T SEEM OR WANT TO UNDERSTAND THAT THEY HAVE TO PRESENT A NATIONAL PARTY TO WIN. THEY PRESENT THEMSELVES AS AKAN CHIEFTANCY PARTY AND DONT APPEAL TO OTHER ETHNIC GROUPS. TRUE AKANA ARE MAJORITY BUT IF EVERY AKAN VOTE ...

• Odikr@ 9 years ago

JOHN PAUL GETTY...
    "the meek will inherit the earth,but not it's mineral rights"
    Is the debate about "Positive Discrimination"?
    All Inclusive Governance"
    Proportional Representation type of Governance?....

• Close Observer 9 years ago

NDC IS AN ENEMY OF GHANA'S PROGRESS. WHY SHOULD THEY THINK ABOUT 2016; TO MAKE US SUFFER MORE?

WE HAVE LIVED TOGETHER PEACEFULLY UNTIL THE USELESS NDC PARTY WAS FORMED.

''We have been vice presidents for far too long, i ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

If even Osafo Marfo has grounded the issue on qualification of those appointed by Mahama, he would have been attacked as being ethnocentric. This is because most of the appointees are Northeners and from the Volta Region. Tri ...

• Rogue lawyer 9 years ago

Kofi , Ata CAN YOU ALSO JUSTIFY BEEN IT CONSTITUTIONAL OR NOT -why People in the North had free education and children in the south have not? are the People in the North more ghanain than others?

This is where dr osafo ...

• Akua Afansor 9 years ago

Did you mean MR. YAW OSAFO MAAFO?

• Yaw Ohemeng 9 years ago

If you want an honest debate, surely you have to be true to the facts first. I interacted with you last week on this issue where you confessed that you have not listened to the said tape, so on what basis have you written thi ...

• luther king 9 years ago

Osafo marfo did not mention that some ppl can't be President but he implied it. Who manages Ghana's resources? The president. Since 90% of resources come from these five regions it means only ppl from these regions shd manage ...

You cannot find implication of what a person says outside what he has said. You only go seeking implications outside where none is given.

The man talked about 'having a say in the management of your resources'. He talked a ...

LOOK AT THIS YAW OHEMENG CHARACTER TRYING TO PUT LIPSTICK ON A PIG. YOU THESE NPP PEOPLE AND YOUR FORKED TONGUES. THE WHOLE WORLD KNOWS THAT WHEN YOU ARE ABLE FINALLY TO ACHIEVE YOUR LONG-SOUGHT DREAM OF AKAN SECESSION FROM G ...

• Ben 9 years ago

Ohemeng must be talking loose.How do you equate decentralization to suggesting that the Akan regions have all the natural resources of the country and therefore they must be in charge of it.Decentralization only means means a ...

• Kwapps 9 years ago

As the Presbyterian moderator said recently, the recent Muslim - Christian brouhaha was a well orchestrated plot to ease pressure on the government from the dumsor tightrope but guess what, you joined in merrily didn't you? I ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

The fore going article and practically all the comments do very little justice to the debate is couched using the wrong economic valuation approach, rather than the ecological economics approach.

Ecological economists argu ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Good morning Doc. I did not make President Mahama a subject or an example of the article but rather public office holders, including the Executive from the three Northern Regions. Therefore there is no indication or suggestio ...

The use of the German case, to me, was not to say that people from certain regions cannot be presidents. He was using it to illustrate the importance of not ignoring these five regions. Look at the sequence of the speech.

• Sister Souljah 9 years ago

All that Kofi is saying is that if Osafo Marfo claims the tape was doctored then he must provide us with the original tape. If he can't get us a copy of the original tape then he is guilty as charged, the burden of prove has ...

if you routinely record private conversations you have with your friends and family then your demand would be reasonable. However I bet you don't that.

• Osei-Bonsu 9 years ago

We live in a country where the people of Kpone demonstrated and demanded free electricity for having a power plant built on their lands. Imagine this happening in the Ashanti region, the insults from you guys and the Presiden ...

• Kwame Ofori 9 years ago

Massa stop lying

• Charles Agbenu 9 years ago

So long as Osafo Marfo comments were said in private and never was meant for public consumption, I put no premium on it. It is a non event. Are we going to secretly tape private and bedroom and party caucus meetings and make ...

• Kwaku A. Danso 9 years ago

Oh! Osafo Maafo went back to school and got his PhD?
    Congrats to him!
    Who said age is a barrier!

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Sorry, I might have made a mistake in calling Dr.

• Ghana 9 years ago

The comments that came out of Osafo Marfo isn't a secrete in Ghana so, most of Ghanaians completely understand these ethnocentric tribal bigots.

And that's the reason why they keep wining in only two regions.

I don't k ...