You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 03 07Article 349209

Danquah's Role In The Ritual Murder Of Akyea Mensah

Read Comments Comments (69)

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

So it goes!

We also understand that J. B. Danquah may have been educated in the U. K. from a special tax levied by Ofori Atta on all taxpayers in their locale, just for him.

So, his Solicitorship and Attorney-Generals ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

To say....

"That, we submit, may be another reason why he never won an election in his own locale/backyard."

• Kwaapia 9 years ago

Akyea Mensah aka Ali Masmani better tell us something about your Zongo folk.

• Obeng Rago - 9 years ago

What is wrong if he lost to Aaron Ofori Atta, a candidate of popular CPP, led by loquacious Messiah promising heaven and earth and claiming on platforms that the Eldorado has descended like eagle and that manna will fall from ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Dear Prof. Lungu (and General Readers),

Good day!

You are damn right! I am happy you bring this up. And yes, the same people Danquah and Ofori Atta 1 threatened to bomb if they voted for the CPP.

THAT WAS WHY DANQUAH ...

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

YOU ARE A NITWIT, DANQUAH ONLY DID WHAT IS RIGHT FOR GHANA. AND I SAY THAT KNOW GHANAIAN IS AS YET GREAT THAN DANQUAH. HATERS OF GHANA NUMBER ONE HERO!

You sound like a puppet with narrow reading to you credit, and therefore swallow such drivel. Your facts are invented by your own figment of imagination and wont ever dent the hardwork of your perceived enemy. Of course, Nk ...

• Sankofa 9 years ago

You cannot run away from the truth.

JB Danquah was neither saint nor martyr, as some would like us to believe.

He was human, and had his flaws. This murky side to the character of this man will be revisited again and ag ...

• Nathan Ofori-Atta 9 years ago

JB Danquah failed to win any election inKyebi because he was legally incompetent, arrogant, a liar, imposter and of course during those days, any scholar was treated like 'know it all' but the people of Kyebi quickly realised ...

• RINGO 9 years ago

You guys have already lost the debate.If you can't beat them be honest and praise them.

instead of Kwame Nkrumah, Ghana wont be such mess

instead of Kwame Nkrumah, Ghana wont be in such mess

The Father of the Author, AKABOHA KOFI EGYANKA JEHU APPIAH, spent all his life on earth lying through his flat nose to ignorant followers his notorious Awoyo Asor. If your Father spent everyday of his life telling lies that ...

ISTORICAL EXODUS OF THE MUSAMA DISCO CHRISTO CHURCH

Early Life of the Founder

In 1892, Ama Esoum and Kwao Odum of Abura Edumfa gave birth to a baby boy, whom they named Joseph William Appiah. Because he was born on a Fr ...

• Gordon Sakyi 9 years ago

When will you people stop the nonsensical argument and talk about the bribery, corruption, and thefts, the stock-in-trade, of public officials in Ghana

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

If J.B Danquah hadn't been born at all patriotic Ghanaians would've still overthrown Kwame Nkrumah with or without the help of CIA because, his leftward tendencies had reached a point of no return. The Guy was a red sickle co ...

• obibini 9 years ago

Detentions at Guantamo Bay is a move initiated by rightists in the world to silence opposition against them and to continue their economic and political dictatorship and exploitation of nations all over the world.

• RINGO 9 years ago

Mahmoud,you have a bizarre sense of comprehension.In your own interest,go back and read Kwarteng's articles to educate yourself.You and your mentors,DR SAS and AHOOFE have already lost the debate.

• Kwabena, London 9 years ago

Do you realise that every developed nation started off with a dictator to get things and the country out of backwardness.

.....then after that they stop the dictatorship, I guess, even though its supposed to be good, Kwabena of Ghana than Democratic London...you can hide under your prejudicial views and drown in the sea of self pity but the trut ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Gordon Sakyi,
    Your question is a very good one.

At a certain level, it is pointless given the standing issues you raise. Therefore, it even more asinine and bizarre for those on the partisan side of the NPP to keep this ...

Prof. Lungu,

You are hurting my ribs (I can't stop laughing)with your sincere (candid), sarcastic, and scientific opinions. I like them.

Thanks my great professor!

If its truehat taxes were leved on the locales for Danquah alone to study o become a Lawyer, why then diCPP killed him in prison for just talking about his own country, for Christ sake, Prof Bloody Lungu. You are a trouble s ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Obeng Rago,
    It is propitious that you ask that question. In fact, our essay coming this weekend, if we know anything about the Ghanaweb process and schedule, touches on that sponsorship thing, also. Hope you check it out, wh ...

• Bonso 9 years ago

I hope one day soon you are picked up and detained to your death for even the moribund ideas of yours you share here. It might be stale and sterile and need freshness but you still have the opportunity to express them becaus ...

• POZO 9 years ago

Everything the author said about J. B Dankwa's involvement in the Kibi ritual murder is based on assumptions on the part of the writer. Since there is no historical fact that proves J B Dankwa was an accomplice of the murder ...

• concerned ghanaian 9 years ago

I think you are not reading what has been said you have your own believes in covering up.

The man J B Danquah was a disappointment to many of his home-folk and hence his failure to get elected in 1951, 1954, and in 1960 wh ...

• Truthiness 9 years ago

"Are you trying to tell me no one contacted J. B. Danquah, who was also in town for the funeral over such a fundamental issue of law which had resulted in an unprecedented impasse at a meeting of the Council of Elders of the ...

• Nana Akyea Mensah, The Odikro. 9 years ago

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO
    a companion of the black star!

Hi Truthfulness,

You are right about the assumptions. You see, you and I were not there, so we can only make assumptions. The point is that in making assumptions, one ...

Brother Odikro,

Please I can't stop laughing.

Your sarcastic comments are insightful and packed with wisdom and powerful assumptions!

You are hurting my ribs. Seriously! Hahahahahaha...What happened to Truthiness an ...

• Paa 9 years ago

Your assumptions are neither reasonable nor enough to convict a man of such a crime. By your logic, all Akyem citizens, including the murdered, were guilty of aiding and abetting since they knew about the custom following th ...

Paa,

My ribs are hurting. Hahahahahahahaa...

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO

Hi my brother, Francis!I'll keep checking if there is any comment worth responding to.

Keep the "faya" burning!

Nana Akyea Mensah
    @TheOdikro

YOUR OWN FATHER WONT KNOW PEACE FOR HE HAS SKELETONS IN HIS GRAVE...

ENJOY HIS BIOGRAPHY...

HISTORICAL EXODUS OF THE MUSAMA DISCO CHRISTO CHURCH – AWOYO ASOR!

Early Life of the Founder – AKABOHA PROPHET WILLIAM K ...

Where is the ritual murder Joseph William Appiah committed in this biography?

• Bonso 9 years ago

The Author's Akaboha Father committed deaths of many innocent people labelled as Witches in his Awoyo Churches. So many poor Ghanaians were beaten up, chained and starved, and given concotions, and tied to trees overnight at ...

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO

Hi my brother, Francis!

So glad you published this!

Don't mind this ridiculous nitwit! I was slightly irritated with the assumption that Danquah was not told!

T ...

Brother Odikro,

They will never understand you.

I guess your detractors are having a hard time appreciating the value of assumptions in scientific thinking. In fact thinking in general. Assumptions are always the "best ...

• DALLACE 9 years ago

BROTHER ODIKRO, EVEN IF STORY IS AS MANY AS BIBLE,YOU CANT SUCCEED.BIBLE SAID JESUS DIED ON THE CROSS.IAM ASKING YOU HOW MANY PEOPLE BELIEVED JESUS DIED ON THE CROSS.GIVE US A BREAK.

• Truthiness 9 years ago

Murder is a serious crime. That is why no serious court anywhere on earth accepts mere assumptions as evidence to convict an accused person.
    To make assumptions, for the sake of political expedience, to accuse someone of m ...

Kwadwo or Truthiness,

Are you really a lawyer?

Do you have any clear how important assumptions are in forensic science (where murder, accounting, cybercrimes, etc., are topics of legal investigation and trial)?

The ...

• Truthiness 9 years ago

Oh, so I'm now Kwadwo? I don't know any Kwadwo, neither have I written anything under Kwadwo.
    If you can't do it yourself, get a friend to check my URL address and that of the Kwadwo you are talking about. You will see that ...

• Bonso 9 years ago

Is human sacrifice any different from deaths of people caused by exorcism of witches at Mozanto and many Awoyo Churches across the country?

For indeed your own Family's Musama Disco Cristo Church was champion so another a ...

• Kwame Abrokwa 9 years ago

This is a very strange way of accusing someone of a serious crime of murder.....Danquah was not at the meeting at which it was dicussed, and as it was not at a public forum what makes U think he knew?....Yes!....every lizard ...

• Ashkenazi 9 years ago

Assumptions are not necessarily lies but hypothesis which can be proven to be true or false. You have not proven either

This particular guys has been peddling these lies for decades...he wont stop because he is paid to do so. It is his divine duty on earth to desecrate the memory and works of Dr J B Danquah. he is wilful and persistent in hi ...

• Lexus 9 years ago

What a bunch of worthless low-lives we have in the likes of Mesmadi, 'the Odikro' and the the hobo, Kwarteng!!!

Even if their ASHAWO moms and their demon-possessed, swindling, apostatic and defective sperm-donating 'father ...

• Kay 9 years ago

This Nana Akyea Mensah is a northern tribalist from Mali who always spews tribal nonsense on the Internet. This is not his real name.

• obibini 9 years ago

Odikro,it is on record that Osagyefo was ready to release Danquah from jail but his own akyem abuakwa people stood vehemently against his release from jail citing him as the cause of the non-existence of peace in the traditi ...

• asonaba kofi 9 years ago

it seems the most prominent among the danquah family have got dodgy characters.

• JONES 9 years ago

There is a proverb that says, a dog does not give birth in public. If there is any single thing that I like about these noise makers about the incompetent and a ritual muderer like J.B Danquah, it is the way they still hold h ...

• ASAFOATSE 9 years ago

To an idiot like this ..............

• Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr., Ph.D. 9 years ago

Read Richard Rathbones "Murder And Politics In Colonial Ghana" (Princeton UP). This is the most authoritative source on the issue yet.

Prof. Rathbone lived most of the time that he gathered material and wrote the book; he ...

• Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr., Ph.D. 9 years ago

"Prof. Rathbone lived at Kyebi most of the time that he gathered relevant material and wrote his book."

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO

Hi Grandson,

You sound too excited! Try to calm your nerves down before they bust! It helps in writing correctly!

Are you seriously suggesting that JB would allow ...

• Pimpinese 9 years ago

No, I don't mean hang him in person, but rather hang him in effigy, as that muppet comands more respect than the professor himself.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Okoampa-Ahoofe is a demented one-way academic and a classic example of a moron who passes for vermin. Ahoofe, your comments on this article are based on your penchant to spew lies and deceptions. You're a crooked and a politi ...

• Crusade contre Ewes. 9 years ago

All these are lies,It is the work of these Ewes to destroy the Akans especially the enlightened and rich twi speakers.I know you are now aware of your enemies. We shall soon boycott their lawyers,Teachers,traders,pastors and ...

• Lexus 9 years ago

Akyea, the Gyimikro, be very, very afraid!!!

• Obeng Rago - Registered user 9 years ago

HISTORICAL EXODUS OF THE MUSAMA DISCO CHRISTO CHURCH – AWOYO ASOR!

Early Life of the Founder –

AKABOHA PROPHET WILLIAM KOFI EGYANKA JEHU APPIAH

In 1892, Ama Esoum and Kwao Odum of Abura Edumfa gave birth to a ba ...

• lankwei 9 years ago

Danquah did not attend Oxford university. He went to London University!

Lankwei,

The Oxford University thing had to do with Ofori Atta 1 (not Danquah).

Thanks.

• lankwei 9 years ago

Okyenhene Ofori Atta I (A.E.B Danquah) and J. B. Danquah
    These two were half-brothers on the paternal side. Their father, Yaw Boakye, in middle age converted to Christianity. He was state drummer during the reign of Okyenhen ...

Lankwei,

1) Some of the members of the [The Gold Coast Youth Conference (GGYC)], which Casely-Hayford, Ofori Atta I, Frederick Nanka-Bruce and others initiated, went to England to fight the Sedition and Water Bills.

Da ...

• lankwei 9 years ago

Thank you for your responses.
    1)You are correct.
    2)In 1934 Danquah and the Okyenhene were still on good terms.
    3)Danquah did join the ARPS which he had previously worked against.
    4)He broke with the Okyenhene, on the iss ...

Dear Lantei,

Thanks for your response.

However, Danquah and Ofori Atta 1 still continued to work and collaborate on many platforms after 1935, including both threatening to bomb voters who voted for the CPP in Akyem Ab ...

• Obeng Rago - Registered user 9 years ago

YOU ARE A PATHOLOGICAL LIAR AND MENTAL

• lankwei 9 years ago

True, but their relationship was frosty and the tone of correspondence lacked the previous intimacy.

• lankwei 9 years ago

He did not lead the defence team. He represented Akyem Abuakwa. He advised the new Okyenhene that the evidence against the eight accused was "very strong"

Akuffo Addo and Ollenu represented Opoku Afwenee, Asare Apietu, Kw ...