You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 03 05Article 349095

What we are ignoring about the ‘Osafo Maafo’ Tape

Read Comments Comments (45)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

LOOK AT GOVERNMENT APPOINTEES; LOOK AT THE COMPOSITION OF THE POLICE; LOOK AT THE COMPOSITION OF THE ARMY;
    LOOK AT THE HEADS OF OUR INSTITUTIONS.

IF THEY ARE NOT NORTHERNERS THEY ARE EWES.

I DON'T KNOW WHY PEOPLE ARE C ...

• KOFI LAMPTEY 9 years ago

COMPARE THE PRESENT TRIBAL REPRESENTATION IN THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT TO THAT OF KUFUOR AND COME BACK TO THIS FORUM WITH A TRUE, OBJECTIVE VIEW/S TO GIVE US A CONCLUSION AS TO WHO YOUR ARTICLE SHOULD BE MORE DIRECTED OR ACCUSED ...

• kwame jr 9 years ago

Stop pointing fingers no one knows who did this, it could be a traitor at the meeting or an opponent. Please explore all options before passing judgement. I hate when people starts concluding and pointing to innocent citizens ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Doc, do you have evidence that it was the government that recorded Dr Osafo Marfo? In any case, governments, political parties and politicians across the globe spy on each other. It's done in the west. Countries also spy on e ...

• Yaw Ohemeng 9 years ago

i have given the link. Listen to it first before you engage. Kofi I know your objectivity. Please listen first and if you think I've got it wrong then tell me.

yiu write an article condemning Osafo Maafo and you are proud to admit that you have not listened to the tape. On what basis were you condemning him? On what basis are you disagreeing with me.

I have been itching to have ...

• Ben 9 years ago

Any statement arising from that meeting which will destabilize national cohesion is of public interest and is covered under special privilege.And so are matters that are subversive and likely to pose a threat to the the peace ...

if you suspect a group are subversive, you go to court to obtain an order to eavesdrop on their conversation. If what happened there was against the law, you make arrests.

Why do you think terror suspects at Guantanamo ca ...

• Ben 9 years ago

Journalist and information gatherers especially if it is in the public interest don't make arrests,they put the information in the public domain.

What will make such recording inadmissible in evidence in a court is if the ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Doc, I used either "what is attributed to him or was alleged to have said". That is because I have not listened to the tape. Again, I gave reasons why I think Dr Osafo Marfo might have said what is attributed to him. I also g ...

to clandestinely record there must gave been have been a primary facie case if crime being about to be committed. Even when admissible in court, if record someone without consent he/she can sue you outside the particular case ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

Thank you, Kofi; no one could have said it better. Instead of even lying that it was a 'spoko' (verbal equivalent of typo) some people of substance, or at least appear to be so in the public eye, rush to the media houses in a ...

This is the problem when you read what is trailed instead of going to the source. Please, please, please, I have given the link; do listen first.

I will be at the front if the queue if he had said what you are attributing ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

What is IMPLIED is what I wrote. It is not a verbatim reproduction and I thought you could get that. Those tribes I listed have no natural resources of any significance..

This is how prejudice works.

• KING BRIGHT (USA) 9 years ago

Yes Ghana must rise again but surely not when these thieves are in charge of affairs. That Mahama is filthy corrupt and a hypocrite par excellent. I would rather trust Lucifer than Mahama. He's very dangerous.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Where is the evidence the NDC is behind the leak? Cheap diverisonary tactics.

Andy-K

• Kwesi 9 years ago

You hardly comment when Ewes and NDC do bad things, but you are here like a housefly on sh.. whenever opportunities arise to attack Akans and NPP!

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

dont mind that fool ,we all know the purpose of this attempt of the ndc homogenize and to close in their ranks on the usual anti Akan ticket whilst playing divide and rule tactics among the Akans .

• AKANS UNITE 9 years ago

Forget about this tribal bigot called Andy-K. He jumps in to defend his people at the least opportunity but will keep quiet when his people make unwarranted statements against Akans.
    He has done this for well over 10 years ...

• Kwesi 9 years ago

Yes, Akans are sitting idle while others practice tribalism!

• Kwesi Ninsin 9 years ago

First, there is no evidence that a rival political party secretly recorded Osafo Marfo's cowardly sermon to his party. For you to present this as fact and then proceed to wax defensively on that basis is the mark of clever-by ...

• Yw Ohemeng 9 years ago

Someone said vote for me for I am one of yours. If they want your votes, let them make xxxx their flagbearer. That did not destabilise Ghana but my interpretion of a 'doctored' tape would? Are you not being prejudicial?

In ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

"Someone said vote for me for I am one of yours. If they want your votes, let them make xxxx their flagbearer." Well, my friend, he said it in public whilst cameras rolling, portable audio of individual and microphone tv stat ...

"Someone said vote for me for I am one of yours. If they want your votes, let them make xxxx their flagbearer." Well, my friend, he said it in public whilst cameras were rolling, portable audios of individuals and microphones ...

• Joe Canada 9 years ago

The fact is, it was a plan orchestrated by some Ewe's to demonise the Akan's, pure and simple. their next move is to court some other Akan tribes by producing a tape which will insult them. And the voice on the tape will be e ...

Hahaha, "clever-by-half idiot." I like that.

• Yaw 9 years ago

There is no need to be going round the issue. If the tape was doctored, why can't osafo marfo produce the original tape? Dr. you agreed the meeting took place I was expecting you talk to mr. marfo and let him produce the ori ...

• Louis,Mankranso 9 years ago

Hypocrisy nepotism galore! Ghanaians demonstrated against ethnocentrism. But John Mahama used it for his presidential election,Nii Lante used it for his parliamentary election and generally Ghanaians hypocritically nepotistic ...

You are sick in the head and need help urgently.

• AKANS UNITE 9 years ago

Akans unite against these faggots who are feeding fat on your disunity.

• Lawrence 9 years ago

The writer has no sense. Listen to his trash! Osafo Marfo's tribal bigotory is less harmful than government trying to secreetly tape people. You are a useless stupid idiot. Talk about the rubbish Osafo Marfo has said and leav ...

• Jhoti 9 years ago

Show the evidence the Govt did this before jumping to your conclusion. Else i would start wondering which institution would give a PhD to such a person with so poor analytical skills

Agbenyo boasted that they have the capacity to record every NPP meeting. He even extended that to what happens in Akufo Addo's bedroom. Ask him why this claim if the government is not sponsoring these. Where the Agbenyo work? ...

• Jhoti 9 years ago

Dr come again, "they have the capacity" and indicating "what happens in Akuffo Addo's bedroom" don't amount to admission they did this. If I had any doubt of your analytical kills that doubt is now removed

• yaw 9 years ago

I am extremely happy that at least some Akans are prepared to stick up for themselves and defend Osafo Marfo.

In Ghana today, it seems, you can say anything and get away with it provided you are not Akan.

Akans have no ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

The NDC (New Destination for Criminals) that rose from the ashes of the infamous Rawlings revolution to metamorphose into the party it is today is at it again. It has managed to survive as a political party because its rank a ...

• Rory 9 years ago

School taught you nothing. Great shame

• myyak 9 years ago

You have just expose your ignorance to the good people of Ghana. So please, save us your pathetic analysis.

• Owusu Acheaw 9 years ago

Campaign for a federal constitution and stop all these tribal talks if you really mean what you´re saying.

• Paa Kwesi 9 years ago

We cannot continue like this forever

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Haba another pea brain "Dr" OMG what's happening how did all these mushy brains obtain their doctorate degrees. I believe from outside Ghana possibly USA, continuation of "COMSOR" is that right?
    hahaha! te wee

• Chabba 9 years ago

I have always maintained that the NDC comprises a huge chunk of elements who are embodiment of Satan and his minions and will do everything to clinge to power. And this tape is obviously among their diabolical schemes to divi ...

• Concerned Citizen 9 years ago

"When he called for regions with resources to have a say in its management, what is wrong about that?..."
    Dr Ohemeng,
    That is an interesting academic analysis on the Osafo Maafo's tape. The loaded question, however, is why ...

I am exasperated that I gave a link yet you would not listen to the tape first before commenting. He never said anywhere that they should not be said openly. Please go and listen. It's the invention of those propagating this ...