You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 02 28Article 348178

Reminiscing about those Nkrumah days

Read Comments Comments (65)

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

"Nkrumah went to England in 1945 and enrolled at the London School of Economics and Political Science. He undertook the study of law but failed the course, probably as a result of his many outside activities in student organi ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

If you are going to quote from the DIA document the source (Governmentattic.org) to which we made available to Ghanaweb about a week ago, we could all start from the beginning:

"...Ghana's President Kwame Nkrumah is the un ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Good read from Mr Amenyo. The only part of his article that seems to have been embellished is the part about there was no shortage of goods. There was shortage of many essential every day needs.

Though I was about two when ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

You succinctly state:

"He (Nkrumah) undertook the study of law but failed the course...."

As a US trained practicing lawyer, I can assure you that neither Nkrumah nor any of his followers possess the kind of mental facu ...

• Charles Abrefa 9 years ago

DR SAS,YOUR PSYCHIATRIC EVALUATION IS LONG OVERDUE/

• Keneth 9 years ago

One of these days we will wake up regretting to have been debating sas all along because his lunacy will become obvious for all to see.

A normal person will not write the trash above especially when dealing with people w ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Don't send him to the thrash can because that is his opinion. Remember the saying that "Opinion is like a nose, it comes in different forms and shapes.

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 9 years ago

Indeed,Kwame left an important impression on the continent.A lot of who we all are today stems from the educational policies of this Great and Noble african.

Sadly(we)
    the generation that he educated have become a genera ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Indeed, refreshing and lucid as only Kofi can write it.

Kofi was very fair in narrating the views of both camps. Just a few comments of my own.

A lot has been written on Nkrumah not only 'cos of what Kofi stated but al ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Brother Yao,

Thanks for your comments.

I should add that others like the Nkrumahist Dr. Kofi Kissi Dompere, one of America's major mathematicians, philosophers, economists, statistcians as well as a scholar ranked amon ...

Any American trained Nkrumaist lawyer can show his face here to debunk my assertion, and I will search his credentials for all to see that he is an impostor like Nkrumah.

I have wasted my time arguing with the brain-dead N ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law,
    We can't help but say this: You are beginning to be entertaining!

We really can't keep from laughing.

READ: "..Tweaa Kai. Nimrods, philistines and cuckolds."

OUR COMMENT: Haba!

It has taken you too long to catch the humor Prof.

The Nkrumaists have been insulting me for so long that I spent some time today trying to engineer an appropriate response, hence "Nimrod" and the rest. I am now trying to ...

• Captain Canada 9 years ago

by prostitutes. Cuckolds? Man you are retarded. Who is more cuckold than you? Some two bit hookers made off with your car because they gave you a smell of their stinky pussy. Cuckold? You are the honorary chair of the associa ...

• TT 9 years ago

IDIOT

• Kofi Badu 9 years ago

Dr SAS,listen! considering the level of your IDIOCY and considering the fact that you are IMPERVIOUS to reason and CRITICAL THINKING,it would have been impossible for you to pass any Law examination in Britain.Do you know why ...

• Robert Okine 9 years ago

Who told this narrow-minded and biased fool called DR SAS to study LAW? To be a lawyer,you must have an open mind,have a sense of critical thinking and analyse objectively.This Texas based High school teacher lacks all these ...

You state:

"....any KWASEA like you can get a Law degree in United States."

Was Nkrumah worse than "Kwasea" to have failed his law exams in the US?

What about you? What is your frame of reference in evaluating the st ...

"necropheliacal frenzy"

• Joe Mensah 9 years ago

Did Nkrumah study Law in United States? Come on,stop propogating falsehood.

Nkrumah attempted to study Law in the US and failed all his exams.

Apprise yourself of the history of the great impostor and understand the source of his inferiority complex, you fool.

• Joe Mensah 9 years ago

Bragging with American Law degree ? This moronic DR SAS who was 4 years old in 1966 never heard the name KWAKU BOATENG,the seasoned British trained lawyer and CPP stalwart in Nkrumah's cabinet.What about Aaron Ofori Atta the ...

I was three years old when Nkrumah was overthrown. For a very long time, I could not rub off the memory of a huge euphoria that gripped my town. The memory was locked in my head for a long time, but I could not explain its so ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Wow!

Some recollection, we gather!

One cool gathering missed by so many of us!

READ: "....Nii Quaye, born 1958 in Accra, said it was true that they were told if you prayed to God, you got nothing but if you prayed to ...

• Keneth 9 years ago

Interesting narrative which was fairly fair to the opposite camp of the of political divide.But in your attempt for balance the weight of the narrative shifted a bit therefore disturbing the alignment.

Some of the anecdo ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Then on Pages 7-8:

READ: "...There is some resentment of Nkrumah's pro-Communist policies within the military and several coup plots have been under consideration in the past two years, but the armed
    forces have so far b ...

• RINGo 9 years ago

YOU ARE JUST LIKE YOUR MENTOR the CRAZY DR SAS WHERE IS YOUR EVIDENCE?

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Amenyo, I enjoyed reading your piece. The setting was rightI in a home to air divergent views on Nkrumah. It is refreshing to note that unlike Ghanaweb, no expletives were directed at anyone who critcized Nkrumah.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

What Nii Quaye said about Nkrumah given them candies while God couldn't was true. My uncle who was in the military at that time told us the same story one evening. I and three of his sons were not allowed to join the GYP bec ...

• Joe Mensah 9 years ago

Of the millions of children in Ghana how many were given candies at the Flagstaff House.Don't forget in African Politics there are many sycophants who do many things without the knowledge of their leaders.I have thousands of ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Typical of Nkrumah apologists, anything negative about Nkrumah, they will dispute. If the guy has praised Nkrumah, he would have beenb believed.

Nkrumah built a cult worship around his person and Ghanaians were demanded to ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

I love reading anything you put on Ghanaweb because you use simple English to the understanding of all and sundry. One fact is your articles are a little bit long but that is part of the game. Keep up the good work.

• Kwesi Mends 9 years ago

Nkrumah was overthrown because sardines and milk were in short supply. We didn't care about the numerous schools he built; Tema harbor; Tema township; Tema Motoway; Akosombo dam; UST, Cape Coast university; GIHOC industries; ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Do you really believe that Nkrumah was overthrown because there were shortage of canned sardines in the country? This is unfounded and quite condescending. Please don't under estimate the political Consciousness of the citize ...

They'll overthrow you over corn cobs.

• Kwesi Mends 9 years ago

These so called "provisions" were "essential commodities". Without these items in your "chop box" you couldn't attend boarding school. Soldiers flogged market women for hoarding these "essential commodities" when fresh fish ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Are really suggesting that Nkrumah would have survived if he had flooded the country with evaporated canned milk and sardines? Nkrumah had many issues that caused his downfall and assign the unavailable of canned sardines as ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Should read " assigning the unavailability"...

• Ben 9 years ago

Are you telling me you didn't queue for milk and sardines? Either you were not born Ghana or not born yet when we had to queue for essential commodities.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Fool, you need corn cob to live but can survive without Tema Harbour.

What is the use of a harbour without people?

Fools like you continue to advance this stupidity in Mahamah's government in the era of dum-dum, dum-dum ...

grandma. PS. no one eats corn cobs. its used in Ghana to wipe their ASS. Idiot. If you stop jerking off to your dead grand mother's pussy you'll grow a brain. Nkrumah says fuck you. I say fuck you and your dead grandma aslo ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

illiterate fool, you don't even understand what you write, you useless nimrod worth less than your mother's used tampon, Corn cob used her represents food, OFUI,

Go and have a threesome with your mother and father and you ...

• Ben 9 years ago

He was wicked and starved Ghanaians by shipping our milk and sardines to Guinea.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

None.

I have done enough damage to these Nkrumaist twerps to reduce their lifespans by ten years, meaning that they will go extinct in three or four years. Nana Ansah has been so livid with me that his liver is already rotting. Tha ...

• Ben 9 years ago

Is that true?

• James Obeng 9 years ago

It is a fact that artificial shortages of what Ghanaians called essential commodities e.g.sardines,milk etc made Nkrumah unpopular.Do your know why when Acheampong came to power,he urged Ghanaians not to call them essential c ...

• Charles Abrefa 9 years ago

DR SAS is now the President of the reconstituted International Association of Quasi-Intellectuals(IAQI) formerly known as the League of Quasi-Intellectuals(LQI).He beat AHOOFE by a narrow margin in the keenly contested electi ...

• Kofi Badu 9 years ago

This primitive-minded moron called DR SAS refused to respond to Joe Asibey's comment on Asantehene's marlpractices because in his own words"I am an Asante so I have to respect my king".This KWASEA with 11th century mentality ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

My gosh! This loner is either losing it or very high on some opium. I am very serious. I would advice you to get a wife immediately if you didn't have one or visit the closest Depression Center for remedies before the worse ...

• Taa Daaa! 9 years ago

What do you expect from whore-cruising and pimping idiot?

• S. Atta Owusu 9 years ago

Great narrative and a nostalgic reflection of what Nkrumah stood for in the good old days

• Paul 9 years ago

Were designed by a Hungarian architect, the same person Nkrumah asked to design the Senkyi Bridge which is a UNESCO Heritage site. As you say, replicated throughout the regions of Ghana and are perhaps the most successful sch ...

How successful were our schools when the products, like you, are mere town-criers for the brutal dictator?

There is no point debunking the"pyramid of piffle" constantly spewed out by "ignoble scholars".Can they tell us how many times JB Danquah failed his exams in England?

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Go ahead and create another lie about J.B Danquah, that is another brainwashed education they taught you Nkrumah apologists.

Go ahead and tell us since you know.

• LONTO-BOY 9 years ago

Efo Amenyo, this is a very interesting and well-articulated opinion piece. A very interesting stress-relieving discussion of the legacy of Nkrumah, nostalgia and fondness in the old days by old men.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

I started primary school at the age of 5 in 1959 to 1966 when Nkrumah was overthrown.As a kid at class 2 or 3 in 1961,I do rememeber that we were given sovernir cups for Queen Elizabeth's visit in Ghana at school.Shortly afte ...

• INXS 9 years ago

We may have been in the same class...

Remember the books we read in Middle School? Blue Book and Red Book? And in Primary School - Oxford English Reader. Class two had Sam Danso the Lory driver. Then Abdul, the doctor from ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

We must also admit that some families also suffered from Nkrumah's leadership,most especially those who were imprisoned without trial and went through bad treatment.I can understand such families will find it very difficult t ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Great conversation!

Funny, but with lots of food for thought!

Imagine, "the celebration of Nkrumah's ouster lasted only for some time/about three months!

Well, well, well!

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

How are you Prof.?I believe you are doing fine likewise myself.Please forgive me for those little letters that skipped my attention.Have a pleasant week end.Thank you.

Must you add "thank you" at the end of every infantile post of yours to presumably purge yourself of your congenital stupidity?

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Very regretfully, we must say this:
    Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law, you are in a "projection" mode, full scale!

• SPIDER IN HIS WEB 9 years ago

We tell the story of Kwame Kwakye and invariably always dwell on the humour of his bad English. What we fail to see is that he belonged to a breed of very dynamic yet illiterate leaders who played highly important roles in th ...