You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 02 09Article 345787

Kwame Nkrumah’s Take on “Bringing Unity to Ghana”

Read Comments Comments (72)

• The mask 9 years ago

Are contemporary politicians as good or better than the big six??

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

If J.B Danquah hadn't been born at all patriotic Ghanaians would've still overthrow Nkrumah with or without the help of CIA because, his leftward tendencies had reached a point of no return. The guy was a red sickle communist ...

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

For more and solid Information about Nkrumah, call Francis Kwarteng on 001-301 277 5871 USA in (Address) 4203 Oglethorpe St. MD 20781 Hyattsville, USA

• Grant K 9 years ago

What Nkrumah was facing is exactly what is happening in Ghana. THE OPPOSITION WILL DO THE MOST EVIL TO DEAR OWN COUNTRY FOR JUST POWER. HATRED FOR THE PRESIDENT FOR NO REASON.

• ??/ 9 years ago

I wonder why this disgusting Arab clone doesn"t fuck off to Arabia to see real dictatorship in action.

• Humanity 9 years ago

The Ashanti's are not interested in others accept their own. They use other tribes for self interest.

Those tribes rallying behind the Ashanti's are nothing, but people with low IQ.

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

@Paul: Understood there was opposition and there should rightly be opposition -- but my issue is why the PDA? Obviously, our freedom and justice that is boldly displayed on the Arch should allow every criminal, terrorist, or ...

• KKO 9 years ago

PDA was just a crude and dishonest means to cow all opposition. He had made sure that Parliament was filled with idiots, just as we have today (aka ordering chairs and tables from China), all critical newspapers had been clos ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

All your comments on every subject are insightful and well reasoned. You are a true due process advocate. Keep up the good work. I am shocked some Ghanaian college professors are defending the PDA and other dictatorial polici ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Thanks, Kwadwo,
    For your nice comments. We really need to rescue our country next year.

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

We have to

• Bonsu 9 years ago

Nkrumah's tolerance and reluctance to take the Danquqh elements on is obvious for all to see.When you push patience and tolerance to the limit,it will only be the one on a suicide mission who will eternally condone such provo ...

• Dr. SAS, Criminal Defense Attorney 9 years ago

Nkrumah was actually the one who embarked on a suicide mission....
    Less than two years after his open proscription of all freedoms, he was back in lonely exile and extremely paranoid, bereft of family and friends none of who ...

• RAVISHING-07 9 years ago

THIS IS ONE OF THE OBJECTIVE PIECE OF THE OSAGYEFO-LAME-DUCK-DANQUAH SAGA.

YOUR REFERENCES ARE INVALUABLE TO NAIL THE LIES OF UGLY AND INWARD-LOOKING AKUFO ADDO AND THE LAZY NPP DOGS.

GHANAIANS ARE WAITING FOR SHORTISH- ...

• Bonsu 9 years ago

Stupid and meaningless ranting.SAS, you must be cracking up I believe.

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

"...In times of national emergency, the Western democracies have been compelled to limit their citizens’ freedom. We were facing a time of national emergency. We were engaged in a kind of war, a war against property and dis ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Tell this to all the Jews who suffered brutalities and deprivation of their due process in Nazi Germany. I guess you can find a Nazi to argue that we should go easy on Hitler because the country was going through an emergency ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Tell that to Akuffo-Addo, the reflective one, lately!

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

He simply wants to forgive, but he is not excusing what Nkrumah did. On the hand, you Paul, Kwesi Sakyi Atta , Kwarteng and others are trying to rationalize and justify Nkrumah's dictatorial policies but we will not permit it ...

• INXS 9 years ago

Kwadwo, this Akufo-Addo forgiveness thing is just meant to capture votes. The man desperately needs the "few" votes he thinks he must capture from the footloose voters and some from "the other side" to turn the tide in his fa ...

• Vuvuzela 9 years ago

So, aren't you trying to spin the the opposite?

Nkrumah called it preventive and that was what it was. With too much work on the sleeves, fissures to glue together, etc., the prevention was to forestall other instances of ...

• Paul 9 years ago

I believe the numerous ghanaweb readers and commentators need to know exactly how Kwame Nkrumah himself viewed and reacted to the things that were going on at the time.

He (Nkrumah) did us all a favour by DOCUMENTING his t ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Kwadwo,

I follow you closely too. With Ghanaians like you still around, there is hope for our country yet!

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

As if to say all dictators like Hitler, Stalin and Pinochet didn't have reasons for abusing the human rights of those they brutalized. This what Paul is attempting to do and I find it hard to believe.

• Bonsu 9 years ago

This another nonsense,The Israelis have been using emergency measures to detain the Palestinians all the time without trial so get your facts right.

• James Okine 9 years ago

Prof.Lungu was right.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Akan saying that:"Koto onwo Anoma"!
    W@hat we are seeing before our eyes,is a page from the playbook of the predecessors on certain disruptive elements of our society. Thanks to Paul Amuna,for letting the historical record sp ...

• Mensah 9 years ago

Any demented dictator can conjure and make up perceived enemies, and take any illegal measures to suppress them. A typical example is Rawlings. Anybody who doesn't agree with him or tow his line is considered as an enemy by h ...

• Truth-teller 9 years ago

Firstly, let everyone here know that this writer supports NDC and Nkrumah"s apologist. Secondly, what he is trying to do here is to victimize or blame the victim

Just think about this illogical nonsense from a bonehead; ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

We have been tracking his comments on Danquah's incarceration without charge or trial and we know where he stands. Incidentally, he was the same guy who came out the crap that Mahama's visit to Quatta was historic . So Paul ...

• Paul 9 years ago

What I am attempting to do, is simply let people know what Nkrumah's own thinking, feelings and actions were in a turbulent period in our history as a young nation. You do not need to agree with what he is saying, simple as t ...

• Paul 9 years ago

For your information, I do not support ANY party, not even the CPP which is Nkrumaist. I have never hidden my Nkrumaist leanings but this is based purely and simply on conviction - being an avoid student of contemporary Ghana ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Perceived enemies or whatever. That notion is with us today and that pushed a rat-like creature like JJ to kill and main for no reason.

Nkrumah set that ball rolling. He conjured that "opposition this and that" just to pl ...

• Lexus 9 years ago

Mon Ami, save your lullabies for the gullible "eierkopf" sycophants.
    Danke schoen!!!!

• Paul 9 years ago

nor do you need to agree with it or accept it. All I can say is, this is the authentic voice of Nkrumah, whether you agree with his arguments or not.

• Kwabena Akurang-Parry 9 years ago

I am an avowed Nkrumahist and have elsewhere argued that Nkrumah took the wind out of the political sails of Danquah and co who were pro-imperialists and anti-Nkrumah. That said, using Nkrumah's work, Africa must Unite, as yo ...

• INXS 9 years ago

Please, explain to us the "veranda boys"... Remember our role in support of Kwame Nkrumah in the struggle? You think Kwame Kwakye and Krobo Edusei understand "antipodal"?

Ghanaweb is for all of us "Ghananians". Don't forge ...

• JAMES 9 years ago

What crime did Nkrumah commit to face assassination attempt barely a year after Ghana's independence,and how could a newly independent nation allow the opposition to destabilise the nation and engage in subversive activites r ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

I guess this is how Some college professors communicate to feel important. The Jacque Barzun "simple and direct" approach is better as you just demonstrated. Lol

• KKO 9 years ago

Kwabena,
    THis must be the most sensible post I have read on this web for a very long time. How can anybody who wants to set the records straight just pick the work of just one of the sides in a complex argument and present ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

Please read JOE APPIAH's Book...he confirms the intentions of the UP parliament... to make Ghana ungovernable.

• KKO 9 years ago

Sorry, I do not need to read Joe Appiah's book. He crossed carpet and agreed with Nkrumah's treachery until he hauled his sorry a*** to detention without trial. I saw enough of the CPP's trickery not to be fooled by anyone. B ...

• JAMES 9 years ago

ALL the pronouncements of DR SAS,like AHHOFE clearly indicate he needs psychiatric evaluation.Please,ignore him

• Paul 9 years ago

Mind you this is not anacademic analysis. I am merely trying to present Nkrumah's OWN arguments onthe goings-on at the time. This is but a single source. There are other sources I could bring in but that wouldn't be Nkrumah's ...

Doc,
    Ever since you evicted the Ebola infested Akadu Mensema from your house, your mind has been clearing of all the blood clot that had hitherto beclouded your otherwise fine brain. Having broken free from that enchantress, ...

• Grant K 9 years ago

AKADU IS NOW OUT OF THE CLOSET. THIS IS THE GUY WHO FAKES AS aKADU MENSEMA

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

This writing shows Nkrumah's condescending and simplistic attitude for democratic principles: some political disturbances in the North and Ashanti and parts of Accra were the excuses he needed to slap imprisonment without tri ...

• INXS 9 years ago

If you were a more objective person, you wouldn't call Nkrumah a "dimwit". Then, perhaps, some of his supporters may buy into your arguments against him.

Strange from a person who accuses others of making ad hominen argume ...

• Dr. SAS, ATTORNEY AT LAW 9 years ago

Dimwit means foolish, dull and incompetent person.
    Plato defines a fool as a person who has no clue of the consequences of his own actions. When Nkrumah was jailing his own friends and enemies and declaring himself president ...

• K5 9 years ago

Such sentiments from an Attorney At Law, robbed by hookers!

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 9 years ago

Please apologise for calling Nkrumah a dimwit because an enlightened academician like you should not stoop so low. If you do not apologise, to use your own words, ' you will become my eternal enemy!'

• Prof. Kofie Bokovi 9 years ago

Nkrumah as well as all his followers are dimwits!!!

• YAW 9 years ago

He will keep spouting his ludicrous partisan and conceited drivel because he cannot "libel" the dead.He is a war monger.NPP will pay the ultimate price for his condescending supercilious arrogance.He cannot blow his nose wi ...

Akuffo Addo is a sage, patriot, pacifist and urbane person who is balanced, judging from his utterrances and actions. You don't give a dog a bad name and hang it. Every dog has its day. Late Col Ojukwu wrote a tribute at Awol ...

• Paul 9 years ago

I wonder how Dr SAS would have stood up to his "enemies" both real and imagined. His 'threats' to people who have been critical of him even on this forum of mere mortals speaks volumes. I rather suspect we are dealing with a ...

• Bonsu 9 years ago

What sort of education an JD which is merely a first degree? then what do you call those with higher qualification then.The man is a megalomaniac and only seeking attention.Do you take any man who denigrates his own culture a ...

• Yaw Botah 9 years ago

This SAS guy is turning into a big big monster.

• Franco 9 years ago

DR SAS,LISTEN!IN YOUR MENTALLY DERANGED MIND YOU AND SARPONG BELIEVE THAT YOUR MONARCH CANNOT BE CRITICISED BECAUSE HE IS GOD,BUT YOU HAVE THE NERVE TO PREACH DEMOCRACY. ARE YOU MENTALLY SOUND? WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU SAW ...

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

You add up the terrain you have listed,and what do you get? I am not too sure that you realize Ashanti then,included areas like Berekum!
    You call the reign of terror that was unleashed on innocent citizens,"some political di ...

So these disturbances adequately explain Nkrumah's life presidency, one party state and imprisonment of political cronies and opponents without trial? And how did all these draconian measures add up to resolve anything?

Nk ...

• Son of man 9 years ago

The Texas-based psychiatric patient and non-evidentiary lawyer(NEL)DR SAS now says Nkrumah was paranoid.For your information,DR SAS has proved over and over in all his non-factual and subjective articles that he does not beli ...

• ghanaman 9 years ago

Dear Paul, your effort to correct misrepresentations of historical facts has began on a good note. The challenge is to continue in the vein of objectivity and the lens of transparency. Do come out with a matching sequel and y ...

Danke Schoen by one Lexus is unfortunate. We expect people on this forum to argue decently and rationally without insults. Do we have to show our incivility or immaturity on Ghanaweb? Well written article, Paul Amuna. Let obj ...

• No insult, please!!! 9 years ago

Why no insults? a fool like you, Kwesi Atta Sakyi must be put to his proper place, so that you will know where you belongs to. "Kwasea"!!!

• Sulley, Cincinnati-USA 9 years ago

Paul's piece, if read properly and objectively would surely bring to an end the whole issue of who did what and who did it best and how.
    I pray he continues with the quotation in his next publication so as to lay the facts ...

• Old CPPist 9 years ago

The imperialists/neo-colonialists have never taken anything for granted when it comes to Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah. For almost 50 years, on their own and through the Danquah-Busia reactionaries (their "natural allies" in the wo ...

• perscoba 9 years ago

In the end you quoted wholly from a self serving book by Nkrumah himself.That clouded all your good intention. Also nowhere has Nkrumah himself addresses and or justified the PDA. He has not denied involvement in JB'S d ...

• ?? 9 years ago

Use your loaf.....it says at the bottom.To be continued.

• Paul 9 years ago

Don't underrate Africa Must Unite. Please check on its citations. "Self-serving" it certainlyis not. By all means disagree with the man or his ideas, but the "self-serving" narrative is not only false, it demonstrates lack of ...

• 1234 9 years ago

Nkrumah should have tried JB if found guilty then jailed if not then set free jailing without is never right that's is where Nkrumah went wrong

• James Obeng 9 years ago

DR SAS IS BOTH KWASEA AND DIMWIT.ALL HIS PRONOUNCEMENTS DON'T MAKE SENSE.

• Emmanuel 9 years ago

I make $200 monthly on paidverts to advertize. Very easy instructions.. www.paidverts.com/ref/jakespencer