You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 02 05Article 345460

Gov't blows about $165k to airlift fans to Eq. Guinea

Read Comments Comments (113)

• LAST DON 9 years ago

Akuffo Addo: No Certificate, acting like (Abu) in the thief of Baghdad movie; an old man filled with a lot of foolishness, WEE smoker, Cocaine Peddler, Drug President for Drug Barons, Ugly Dwarf litigant, Nation Wrecker sitti ...

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

Say all you can, the NDC will go!

• oj 9 years ago

"Akadu,The EDUCATED FOOL!!!!

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

Why can't supporters buy their own tickets to the game? Understood, that it is always nice to have supporters but I am sure a lot of those who got a free ride could have contributed to their tickets. We love football but when ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

You should waited for Ghana to qualify to the finals and then you do this. Results = money

• Mr.N 9 years ago

God please kill all these inward looking leaders who are now in charge. This is the reason why people do not want the Black Star to go far. We wake the follow going to USA, England and Canada begging for money. The winning pr ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 9 years ago

AKUFO ADDO WILL LOOSE 2016

• Ageoboyle 9 years ago

Akuffo Addo losing the 2016 Elections is not the issue man but the issue is should gov't be wasting tax payers money for unproductive ventures for the benefit of all Ghanaians. Our leaders are wasting a lot of resources and b ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

Kill them all thru food..these.idiots

• BOWONDA 9 years ago

If you really believe in the Power of the Holy Spirit then remember, you CANNOT use that Name in Vain!!!
    Is this type the one in your head that you manipulate all the time to suit your personal fancies? If that is the case, ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

O Lord I pray for Mother Ghana, that you reduce the number of FOOLISH VOTERS in 2016. Father the small number that will be left, wash their faces with sea sand so that they would be able to see the predicament they have put G ...

• Kekeli 9 years ago

IS GHANA THE ONLY COUNTRY SENDING FANS? SHAME ONTO U. OR THIS IS THE FIRST TIME. HAS THE COMMISSION FINALISED ITS FINDINGS?

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Because of idiots like you that's why politicians take all of us for fools. Look, there has to be fiscal discipline in every unit of government administration and there has to be transparency in every transaction so we get va ...

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

Misplace priorities …..This is what happens when you have incompetent people running the show

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Is it a norm or law that a public company like GNPC can just be using public funds to sponsor sport activities,what is the difference between somebody using the GNPC to guarantee a loan for a company which if it goes bad it b ...

• Cliff 9 years ago

Sanitation is tsill in pre-historic state, over 3 million children cannot go to schol because of poverty, shanty towns and slums everywhere and look at what our government is doing.

• Glo 9 years ago

True. When will these politicians ever learn?

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

Unfortunately, those lawmakers who can introduce laws to block these loopholes are the same people who are benefiting from this nonsense (if I am not mistaking these beneficial are all cronies of various MPs, if not the MPs t ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Seriously, do we as a nation care how all these guys who have connections with government, directly or indirectly, and have been listed in Forbes Magazine as millionares make their wealth? Do they pay taxes and if they do is ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Why are they calling it Sports fans? These people are not sports fans but Ndc fool soldiers working at the Ndc party offices around the country.

• Ebo 9 years ago

All of them comes from your stinking mother and the latrine boy, your so call father`s anus.

• king jaja 9 years ago

No wonder u ar ebo
    Kwasia ba
    foolish fool

• Constructivist 9 years ago

Unfortunately, your contribution and the content of your write up exposed your level of education and your lack of capacity to contribute anything of substance to national issues. Please, let God feel glorified he gave you a ...

• Kanawu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

What an incompent government???

• KB 9 years ago

You must be a very bitter and unhappy person to be so insulting. How can you spend so much of your energy, time, and brains to just insult? May God fill you with love.

• medin nhia 9 years ago

stop fooling urself wae, stupid ophan.de illiterate person in nana addo's home better dan any of ur useless family gimmy.

• kwadwo grusi 9 years ago

only a fool will never change j
    his mind for positive direction
    ndc is doing the same foolishNess they did in Brazil

• Kpakpakpa 9 years ago

Last don : u're a very useless human being whom am sure ur own mother and father have regretted given birth to u ignorant fool.

• ME MAN NTI 9 years ago

You are an idiot,born by idiots,fed on feaces,bathed in mud,schooled in mud houses so your whole brain is dead.Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo barima ba is the next president of the republic of Ghana. Observers are worried and it ...

• king jaja 9 years ago

wo Maame tw3

• T Roll 9 years ago

Stay where you are in your dreams and foolishness. No one will join you and yOur paddies when u have your pretty parties. Maha will dog you and spit U out. One by one dem all deh scatter.

• RaS bo 9 years ago

Tweaa jealousy

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Something definitely is wrong in the brains of these people.
    That money could have helped at least one community to get a portable water which will help thousands for generations but instead we have wasted it to transport so ...

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

The problem with this administration is they always act before thinking about the consequences. What benefit can we gain by airlifting, accommodating and feeding these people for a soccer game? Can’t someone tell this admin ...

• KOBBY 9 years ago

Go way you!

• Asoreba 9 years ago

Why is football more important than the development of the country in Ghana? Sports is sports and will always have it's place but the place it above the economic hardships people are going through now, is FOOLISHNESS

• KOJO 9 years ago

IT IS SAD INDEED FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF GHANA TO ACT SOOOO STUPID TO BLOW SUCH AMOUNT, YET WHEN IT COMES TO SOMETHING VERY IMPORTANT LIKE FIXING ROADS IN GHANA THEY CANNOT FIND THE MONEY TO DO IT. LET IS THINK TWICE.

• Commonsense 9 years ago

Your time will surely come, I can assure you. NDC will one day be in opposition. Who thought Rawlings will keep mute

• PREKESE-. 9 years ago

IT SEEMS YOU DON´T KNOW THAT TIME BUT LET ME TELL YOU THAT BY JAN.2017 THESE LOOTERS WILL BE NO WHERE TO BE FOUND.THAT THWART HAS KEPT MUTE BECAUSE HIS CHEEKS ARE FULL OF LOOTED MONEY.HE WAS LUCKY IN KUFOUR´S TIME BUT NEXT ...

• john mahama kwasea mpanin 9 years ago

Gov,t blows about 165to airlift fans to Eq.Guinea

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 9 years ago

Feeding people with rumors has become the bane of the Ghanaian press. it's a shame indeed!
    Just yesterday the there was this news splash all over about the dismissal of the " Chief of Staff " prosper Bani only to be followe ...

• Lok 9 years ago

Journalism in Ghana gas become a game of media prostituting themselves to political gangsters whose greed for power drives them to buy up so-called journos.

For FACT-based news only, go to CitizenGhana dot com

• JOJO 9 years ago

ARE WE POOREST COUNTRY? BULLSHIT.

• Forward March. 9 years ago

Ask again! We are becoming too petty. Just $165,000 to airlift Ghanaians, also an issue? What are we turning this country to? the poorest? They should travel to other countries and see. Undoubtedly, we are behind a lot of co ...

• Glo 9 years ago

It is true that we are not poorest country, but we can still spend money wisely. Spending money on fans is not as important as improving healthcare or sanitation.

• ZABS BOY 9 years ago

if travel outside Ghana, you will appreciate what you have. live in developed county, they also face the same problem we're facing, its not only in Ghana you see people living in poverty, even developed countries have pe ...

• DICK TURPIN 9 years ago

SHITE!! THIS GUY REALLY LOOKS LIKE MY DICK, YOU WILL THINK THEY'RE TWINS.

• OMANBA 9 years ago

Government blows what? Is it not in the interest of the nation for the stars to be supported by sending soccer fans there?Why always stupidly criticising the government.Such negative attitude towards national affairs is a big ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

My friend,use your head very well,I think I love this government the same as you do or may be more but I will not sport something like this,it is what we call following blindly.
    We cannot be wasting tax payers money like thi ...

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

Interest of the nation my foot when fifty percent kids in Junior Secondary School do not even have pen or pencil to use. My dear friend, next time if you happen to be in Ghana please vacate your comfort home for once and trav ...

• Asoreba 9 years ago

Fools like you are the reason why Ghana is going backwards

• BOYZ ABR3 9 years ago

USELESS GOVERNMENT

• FMK 9 years ago

WHAT KIND OF JOURNALISM IS THAT? BECAUSE OF ECONOMIC DIFFICULTIES, WE CAN EVEN 'LAUGH' AGAIN? THE GUYS HAVE REACHED AN UNEXPECTED STAGE SO WE HAVE TO CHEER THEM UP. FOOLISH JOURNALISM....!

• Niii 9 years ago

Useless government indeed. Oh God help us.

• Peace 9 years ago

Your comments are like no one should ever say anything bad about NDC way of doing business. Simple, you are looking USD 50M to deposit for emergency power plant from turkey. USD 160k is oart of that abi

• evangelist akwasi awuah 9 years ago

agyese nne3ma a 3nhoo nhia nkoaaa, nkwasiaafo))))

• Azumah Nelson 9 years ago

I don't see anything wrong with this . It's only 167K. NPP would have done the same.

• General Sukarno 9 years ago

Akuffo-Addo is actually insane and mad to suggest that he is forgiving the CPP. If somebody tries to kill the elected leader of a country and the person ends up in jail and dies from natural causes, why should Akuffo-Addo for ...

• BILLYBILLY 9 years ago

U are indeed pitiful and very insane,,,,,,where from these tribal sentiments of decades ago which have no bearing whatsoever on current socioeconomic political ghana?....stupid fool if u have nothing to say, just shut up so t ...

• Bob 9 years ago

Is this information really,true? If it is,all I will say is" GOD" help us.

• perscoba 9 years ago

am sick and want to dissociate myself from Ghana......what is this at all???

• Abbas, london 9 years ago

dis is a useless venture on the part of the government, the presidency should wise up

• Insurance Co vacancy 9 years ago

Do you know anybody in Accra in need of a job? Or even you, yourself

There are over 200 vacancies available for Sales Reps for a reputable Insurance Co, even if you don't need the job, you definitely know someone who does ...

• Concerned Ghanaian. 9 years ago

And so what? Government spent so,so and so and so what? It is about time you people stop this nonsnse all of the time. What at all is wrong with some of you insane idiots in this country? Any government in power, no matter wh ...

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Crabs. So they fly to support BS. I've no problem with that. Way I see it if they qualify for the final the GFA will make more money.

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

This is no news

• Charles Pappoe 9 years ago

Please get your facts correct. Travel Matters doesn't belong to any politician nor group of same. Ivan Cudjoe the owner whom l worship with at St. Joseph Anglican ch. , kaneshie has been working assiduously with the wife over ...

Am sorry to say, Ghanaians are becoming too petty. $165,000 spent on transporting Ghanaian fans to AFCON is also becoming an issue? Seriously? What kind of politicking and governance is this? What are we bequeathing to the ne ...

• ofiri jato 9 years ago

NDC is not showing and hasn't shown any accountability in years, beside people are being petty because the government hasn't being able to pay some of it's workers that makes little to nothing like $100 to $200 dollars a mont ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

You are simply foolish and stupid to think this way. Common sense shd tell you this is wrong especially when you can't even fund institutions for the disabled. Again, who told you those being airlifted for free can't pay on ...

• Forward March 9 years ago

You open your mouth and bisect it at any angle and think you can insult everyone. You simply do not know me and what l do, to call me foolish and stupid. Just be careful whom you insult. Is it common sense to think that $165, ...

• Wise 9 years ago

Ghanaweb must stop these bush publications . After all, are they not going to support our national team?

• John Lewis 9 years ago

ONLY THEIR GITL FRIENDS AND NDC STALWARTS WOULD QUALFY TO GO. THAT IS NDC STORY. DO YOU HAVE ANY OBJECTION? ASK AYARIIGA.

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Where in the world will this nonsense be tolerated? Except Ghana. Hospitals have no generators hence people are dying everyday for power failure. Children are roaming the street looking for light to study. Schools cannot orga ...

Do you think $165,000 would buy all generators needed for the hospitals? or would fix the energy difficulties confronting the nation? Lets stop this pettiness.

• A.M.A 9 years ago

HALF BREAD IS BETTER THAN NON.EVEN IF 165000 COULD ONLY BY ONE GENERATOR FOR THE NATION TO SERVE A SMALL TOWN ,IT IS FAR BETTER THAN TO WASTE IT ON PLANE FARE THAT BRINGS NO PROFIT.

It is still petty to think that $165,000 spent on fans to go and motivate the players and let them feel, the country is proud of them, is a misplaced priority. Can you cost the impacts of the black stars winning the trophy on ...

• Ibn Abudu @CANADASHEABUTTER(GHUWR) 9 years ago

THE STARS NEEDS CHEERING & SUPPORT OF THEIR SUPPORTERS

• jon 9 years ago

How much tickets did the Equatoria Guinea gov't bought for the country men to watch the game free of charge?

• kobby 9 years ago

Why can't individuals pay for their own expensive is about time the govt stop feeding supporters at its expense.this is just simple if you want to go pay for your own expense.i haven't any European country doing that yet it's ...

• fredsaid 9 years ago

How can a government member of parliament who is supposed to be a public servant be given a contract through his private company to provide services to the very government he is supposed to serve? Have you guys not heard of ...

• vic 9 years ago

when people are sleeping in the dark, when ordinary Ghanaians are starving you take all this monies and throw away.i pity those who vote for this idiotic fools.NDC IS A BUNCH OF CRIMINAL

• OJ, Toronto 9 years ago

Some of Ghanian leaders are not fear God, you can save this money to help even orphans.

• Nii Nortey (New York) 9 years ago

OMG Ghana media is a was. They always claim their sources are claiming anonymity

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

FIRST CONTRIBUTOR, LAST DON, I THINK YOU ARE INSANE. WHY INSULT NANA ADDO ON THIS PLATFORM? WHAT HAS NANA GOT TO DO WITH THE GAME IN MALABO?

• MR MENSAH 9 years ago

LET US DISCUSS THIS ISSUE IN CONTEXT WITH OUR NEEDS AS A NATION. WILL THIS MONEYSOLVE ALL OUR PROBLEMS?
    WHAT IS THE IMPACT OF THIS EXPENDITURE ON THE GHANAIAN.I THINK THIS ARE THE AREAS WE NEED TO DISCUSS AND ARRIVE AT RESAS ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey 9 years ago

Aaabah NDC!!!! What sort of mismanagement of a government is this?

So if this government is so corrupt and full of retarded brains, can't they prioritize simple national interest areas that need more attention with financi ...

• Oso 9 years ago

Stupid foooools!!!!!!! How many hospital beds have you thieves provided for the pregnant mothets at Korle Bu?!!
    Do you idiots think at all?!
    How do you expect donor countries give you money, when your priorities are absolut ...

• paag Ganiyu 9 years ago

Starfmonline at least learn how to hide your political coloration in your articles

• Agbo - Campaigner for the GIA Victims 9 years ago

It's on record that Ghana International Airways passengers never had their refund from your NDC government.

• JJ 9 years ago

In most sensible countries, the sports fans pay their own way to travel to sporting event. Does Mahama think he is saving his butt by giving support to sports fans...? Does he realize he's got much bigger worries that requir ...

• Artful 9 years ago

Fool of all that. Mahama you came to destroy Ghana

• Kontoh - Germany 9 years ago

All western countries wont allow Mahama or a Ghana national airline to operate on their soil unless they refund Ghana International Airways passengers their money. Its official. It was thiefing

• Amissah 9 years ago

Robbing your fellow Ghanaians.

• Niii 9 years ago

I never heard that UK or USA lifted supporters to watch their games in abroad. We have no sense

• Araba Blay 9 years ago

AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THIS GOVT DOSEN'T RESPECT US

• Asantewaa 9 years ago

They are just incompetent and have no prorities in life!

• Kpakpakpa 9 years ago

As stupid n literally dump government sending fans for what?!? plus wasting our tax money when we're without power , collapsing our sources of income :::: wish all u vagabonds but early death to ur grave .:.: mahama or e so c ...

• ktc 9 years ago

Kpakpakpa will sue you.

• Naana. 9 years ago

Poison in these leaders head. DDT

• jerry 9 years ago

ONLY FOOTBALL IS HIS PRIORITY FORGET SCHOOLS HOSPITAL ,HIGH UNEMPLOYMENT THATS MEANS NOTHING TO MAHAMA

• gloria usa 9 years ago

in us fans buy their own ticket what
    is going on with mahama and ndc they
    are heartless God punish all ndc lea

• A.M. 9 years ago

All the problems in Ghana cannot be solved with this money. Please allow the few that get the chance to go watch the stars to do so. After all participating in the World Cup brought us some money that can take care of this.

• Malord 9 years ago

What has Akuffo Addo said concerning the supporters been flown to equatorial guinea? You insult someone who can give birth to you because you are at the opposite side of the political coin...hmmm

• JAMI, TEMA. 9 years ago

Mahma is a damn THIEVE WITH SMALL BRAINS. EVEN PROFESSOR IN NDC IS LIKE PRIMARY SIX PUPIL IN NPP. THEY ARE STEALERS AND CRIMINALS.

• UFILAS 9 years ago

ghana is not the only country sponsoring supporters to the tournament but ghana is the only country among the other nations that's seeking to bail herself from the economic mess that has been caused by the mahama led administ ...

• Shortman 9 years ago

And so what?Go and ask Equitorial Guinea the amount they spent on sachets of water that was thrown at Ghanaian supporters.

• Elvis Afiryie Ankra 9 years ago

NDC GOVMENT ARE ALL FOOLS . WHEN IT NEEDED MONEY FOR IMPORTANT THINGS NO MONEY BUT STUPID THEY CAN HAVE MONEY . DO WE EAT FOOTBALL

• sansan 9 years ago

Nonsense, why publish his, it's no news.This money could have end up in someone's pocket. So if it has been shared among 250 poor Ghanaian citizens whats the big deal about it. At least they have tasted part of the national c ...

• Qwest 9 years ago

It was worth it. The Stars beat the Eq. Gs. The fans gave the BS the boost they needed.

• raskimo 9 years ago

Yes won the game sir do have any further guestion?

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

HOW MUCH IS THIS AMOUNT YOU ARE CRYING ABOUT ?EVEN POORER COUNTRIES ARE SPENDING , SO MUCH MORE TO SUPPORT SOCCER WHICH IS BRANDING GOVTS. IN AFRICA WHEN THE POLITICIANS GIVE AFRICA BAD NAMES! TALK BETTER THINGS!!

• Puapua 9 years ago

And so what????????????