You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2015 01 28Article 344265

Ghana 2-1 South Africa: Player ratings

Read Comments Comments (52)

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

Onyame Nipa Speaking

• CHAKA, USA. 9 years ago

To all well wishers, Chaka says "thank you" for your prayers. "They" had cynide capsules in their hands, standing over us and impatiently waiting for a sweet defeat of the BS, to force them down our throats. It never happened ...

• CHAKA, USA. 9 years ago

I won't read any comment until I read the Emperor's but what if his highness shut off his tv and went to bed right after the BS leveled up. This isn't a good story. Where is Ogoglo & Vod? Tell them not wake his highness, that ...

• #Ern is back!! 9 years ago

Christopher Opoku......... this article is SPOT ON!!!! Very well written and an excellent overview!! I agree with every observation from the first paragraph to the last including your decision to credit Masongo for the great ...

• Game boy 9 years ago

Chaka are you Mr. Agba's friend?

• Exp Coach 9 years ago

MAN OF THE MATCH SHOULD DEDE AYEW. THE GUY WAS TOO GOOD.

• Kk3 9 years ago

Did you see how they struggled against lackluster South Africa?

What about Algeria and Senegal? I know the Black Stars will beat themselves as usual in the next round.

By the way, they have the capacity but not necessar ...

• Hahaahaa!@TXUSA 9 years ago

BY NOW THE 4 FAGGOTS AND THEIR SUPPORTERS ARE CRYING MEW MWE MWEMWE, HAHAHAAAAA!!!

• OBAA MANSAH, OCEAN CITY 9 years ago

I'm 20 and virgin but I'm not light skin. Me y3 tum tum tum kama. Watch it, I'm not a "hoe" (apologies to Ghfuo & Burmingham). In appreciation for good work done, I'm offering you my virginity. Me y3 kama kama tum tum like ch ...

• DAVE, WOODBRIDGE VA 9 years ago

Madam, don't mind the stupid againstfuo. Do what you wonna do. It's a free nation. They claim they've lived or live here but they don't know the difference between "hoe" and "ho". Ghfuo & Birmingham? Idiots!

• PRINCE-ISAAC SOVOR - USA 9 years ago

Wether the win the tournament or not Black Stars are in to comfort Ghanians from the world cup saga.

• DI ASEM PA 9 years ago

And you Christopher opoku 3.5/10.

• KANAWU 9 years ago

IT SEEMS LIKE OUR DEFENCE IS IMPROVING OVER A PERIOD OF TIME. NOW OUR MAIN HEADACHE IS TO FIND A GOOD GOALKEEPER. I THINK, THAT PROBLEM IS STILL NOT SOLVED. I WOULD RATHER CHOOSE STEPHEN ADAMS OVER RAHMAN.

• JK 9 years ago

Which Rahman?

• nokwarehene 9 years ago

Ghanaians know soccer and more so know their players. When we said the coache's formation would not work for us, it sure didn't. When we said Jordan was non-factor, he sure wasn't: every time he was substituted, we scored a g ...

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

Jordan had a good game, don't be a hater.
    For 70 minutes, he was able to keep the determined South Africans at bay.

• Busumbru. 9 years ago

Jordan is not bad,The only issues with him is- He isn't as aggressive as a modern day striker. Also, he doesn't release balls in good time. He must learn to be a total team player.

• I WAS SURPRISE 9 years ago

Jordan also did well but for one thing.He needs to be psyche to kick out of his mentality of selfishness and of vain glory. Jordan have the ability to devastate the defenders. what he sometimes need is to lay a pass for someo ...

• NANA YAW 9 years ago

All the the players in this match did well, and I see the Black Stars going in all the way to win AFCON 2015 with the inclusion of Muntari, Kwadwo Asamoah, and Essien on the team.

• Michael Boye Marquaye 9 years ago

Stop mixing politics with football and recall Suley Muntari, Kevin prince Boateng to make the Ghana Black Stars a formidable team, let by gone be by gone, what disciplinary, the case of the World Cup fiasco is over now we are ...

• Contemporary Youth 9 years ago

Astonishing and controversial AYEWS & BOYE's delivered to secure Ghana's leadership in group C. Thanks to the steadfastness, resilience and prudent technical CRIDs by the AFRICAN STARs TEAM.

• Kweku Donsuro 9 years ago

Where is Kwadwo Asamoah?

• Paa Kwesi 9 years ago

I think he is recovering from surgery.

• beauty 9 years ago

Ghana played extremly well,we are winning the cup. period

• Ayerloeflor 9 years ago

How can you give Daniel Amartey 6/10 and John Boye 7/10, is it because he scored Ghana's first goal? You say you are a critical, fair and objective journalist but i doubt if this is the case with your rating this time round.F ...

• Ibrahim Hardi 9 years ago

You rating is perfect but Jordan Ayew it's not have to the mark you give him. I rate him 1/10.

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

A typical Jordan Hater. He played better than Gyan yesterday.

• AFUA 9 years ago

NANA ADDO IN STATE OF MOURNING AFTER BLACK STARS VICTORY. HE JUBILATED AFTER SOUTH AFRICA GOAL.

• TRUTH HURTS 9 years ago

AFUA IS DAMN STUPID

• Fred 9 years ago

True Wakaso in the man of the match.

• kay 9 years ago

i agree....mubarak wakaso man of the match

• Sadik Figo Lastic 9 years ago

the players used for the last minute should be mentain

• Loway 9 years ago

Stay in goal and stop moving around and gyan was lost in the game.jordan must start from the bench

• I WAS SURPRISE 9 years ago

Dede that was a bold attempt, you are a warrior. Thump up Boy. "LIKE FATHER LIKE SON". It takes a son whose father KNEW football to score that goal.For me you need to dedicate this goal to your father

• anna köln 9 years ago

jhuzgtfrdeswamnbvcyxc

• Tolar 9 years ago

A very fair assessment. WAKASO is the Super hero yesterday. Dede is and was Inspirational as usual. Having persons with character as Dede, Wakaso, Afful, Baba Rahman and jonathan Mensah won the match for us. Kudos. But Grant ...

• Ghana 9 years ago

yes Wakaso Mubarak did play well. I now understand why his attire was so dirty.

• Emmanuel Agbesi RSA 9 years ago

Indeed Mubarak was the man of the match. Brave and forward looking young talented stars. Ayekoo!!!!

• JOSEPH TAYLOR 9 years ago

kudos to blackstars,for their good soccer display in mongomo yesterday. I wish them all the best for the rest of their matches.

• JOSANT, MD, USA 9 years ago

Mr Writer your demn right, that guy did all the dirty work. He plays like Muntari

• Jazz of Spintex 9 years ago

I arrived from to watch the second half of the match.... The Black-Stars made heavy work of it, but I knew that if the equalised they would go on to win the game. This is what happened in the end!! The last twenty minutes app ...

• Michael Boye Marquaye 9 years ago

Atsu should aim at scoring, he need to utilise his experience in giving a much better crossing into the box than blowing it always off target. His timing not very accurate and missing several opportunities won't help the Blav ...

• Koff Richards 9 years ago

Wakaso sacrificed for the country. Un-selfish. Thank you

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

THIS IS AN EXCELLENT SUMMARY OF THE GAME. WAKASO DESERVES MAN OF THE MATCH, BUT HERE WAS REAL TEAM WORK. AFTER ALL IS SAID, I THINK THAT JORDAN AYEW SHOULD BE REPLACED NEXT TIME. THE YOUNGSTER IS NOT CONFIDENT OF HIMSELF YET, ...

• sir cans ,la 9 years ago

Ayekooooo Black Stars

• Sammy 9 years ago

Even the worst player should get 10/10 if they score a crucial goal. It's like a bad boxer who knocks his opponent down - TKO~

• Ekow-Paris.. 9 years ago

Well done the Blck stars, very good.

• pep 9 years ago

I think the boys has done well..

• Anas 9 years ago

undisputed facts about the blackstars. boys are always on target wen they are needed there. the real Asamoah is revealing to the Ghanaians when he had been put to book of insults. Go BLackStars...Go for the Cup,,muaaaaah!

• Naa-zo Zaid 9 years ago

the Black Star of Ghana did us all proud on that day. but the lack of creativity in the midfield clearly testifies the absence of Sulley Ali Muntari. you see the truth shall forever be the truth even if it is buried 20,000,00 ...

• Akwesi Akwesi 9 years ago

who is not a coach in Ghana?

• ESB 9 years ago

BABA RAHMAN