You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 10 17Article 330922

If Ghana has $10m to host AFCON why go for bailout - Chris Opoku

Read Comments Comments (34)

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

"Bad Aid" by Dambisa Moyo
    thats the only reason behind these loans from imf. the Ghana govt artificially create the monetary and economic conditions in Ghana that we need the loans. They dilute the numbers. they dont care ab ...

• banger 9 years ago

Useless country.

• MAD COBRA 9 years ago

I have never heard of an insane and an insensitive Government in modern day politics like this NDC government,after bringing economic hardships to Ghanaians this NDC government wants to worsen the plight of Ghanaians by also ...

• fish 9 years ago

You describe our country a useless country?.You are rather useless,because you sniff cocaine.

• Linda 9 years ago

Hosting this tournament is all about making money, forget about the welfare of Ghanaians. But, somebody forgot to put on their thinking cap & realize that, Ghana stands in losing millions, if a tourist from these countries, u ...

• IMHO 9 years ago

This is what happens when ignorant people get hold of power. Foreing countries are sending thier citizens to help and possibly die saving African lives. The best a minister can think of is to have fun!!!
    This goes to show ...

• Alah 9 years ago

Guys we need to be well mannered when using words. Why called our country a useless country just because some one erred.

• OGOGLO QUARTER! !!! 9 years ago

YOU WROTE WHAT I ASK YOU TO WRITE,P3 P3 P3 ,GOOD JOB,,SOME THINK YOU HAVE A BIG OKRO MOUTH BUT I SAY TO THEM ,,,SICK PEOPLE,,,,

• apuuu 9 years ago

This is auteur time we have a government in power who don't use their heads but rather use their dick and mouth to do their thinking we have bad sanitation electricity roads water problems no money going to imf for money and ...

• Kwasi Michael 9 years ago

They looking for money to buy and steal votes in 2016.this is a clear testimony that this crooks don't give a damn about the citizenry.

• Affordable 9 years ago

Mahama Ayariga is so visionless he can't foresee that should the EBOLA eventually reach alarming proportions he may go watch the matches with his wife and kids alone or possibly with the corrupt NDC kingpins. Has he thought o ...

• HAJJ-NIMA 9 years ago

NO AFRICAN CUP UNTIL THE EBOLA ISSUED IS SETTLED.

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

Why did your monkey ass ask Kufour this question during the Ghana@50. Tribal bigot.

• Musah 9 years ago

This is not about what Kuffour did.Its about this stupid guy who call himself a minister.Morrocco and SA refused to host for a reason.Ghana is just a joke republic with clowns as leaders

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

You stinky Savannah cow. Ask your SHIT carrier father and all the questions and the answers would be given.FOOL.

• EKOW PHOBIA 9 years ago

I am disappointed by this regime if it is true that they have offered to host this tournament.At least have a debate in parliament and test the pulse of the people through their representatives to see how they feel....this is ...

• suuuuuukalaborbor 9 years ago

What is wrong with us? Tackling disease and infection should be equaled to a war. Wake up Ghana! These politicians don't care a sh##### about us. Morocco is right. She cares for her children. She is aware there is crisis ...

• Nana 9 years ago

You are right Christopher , I don't just understand the so called minister, on what grounds is he saying we (Ghana ) are ready to host the AFCON 2015 ,upon these serious Ebola outbreak...even common cholera we can't eradicate ...

• I.K,Donkor 9 years ago

The citizens should stand on their feets to say no

• paa 9 years ago

They just want to steal, cos it does not sit with common reasoning,

• KEEWUO 9 years ago

Come to think of this again and again, Maha and his cronies want to create another Woyorme. Considering the current hardships in the country, it is unfortunate that the Govt wants to host AFON 2015. An attempt to add the noto ...

• Emmanuel 9 years ago

This Sports minister should decline hosting the tournament on health grounds . period.

• Kwame Asante 9 years ago

Ghanaian must look shape and not to behaves as fools ......

• Principal 9 years ago

If these stomach government decide to host this AFCON in my beloved country Ghana. They would be the only cocoons to watch the matches. Besides, we will make CAF understand that all the matches would be played in empty stadia ...

• nana 9 years ago

For the first time this guy is talking sense! I am a strong NDC but this time round my party goofed. Hopefully somebody comes out to denied this Ayariga man.

• Rastafara 9 years ago

the president and minister shd be removed...

• Emma Spain 9 years ago

What 10 million will do for holl Nation my brother stop this useless topic.

• jon 9 years ago

The only problem about the hosting of the tournament is Ebola. I think Ghana should not host it. So many sport writers, critics, think tanks in ghana do not have any idea about government. They only have mouths to talk. I won ...

• JOE LONDON 9 years ago

LETS GO RAMPAGE AND KICK THIS KILLER PARTY OUT

• kwame 9 years ago

I our concern should be about the EBOLA and not some $10M. The IMF bailout is not about $10m.

• STRA 9 years ago

We for hear what Christopher Opoku is saying very well. CAF President and his cronies are there for their interest, so whatever means they will push for it to be hosted by hook or crook means they are for that. But as said b ...

• Francois 9 years ago

A very educative and insightful article Chris Opoku,i admire you so much Chris because you always STAND FOR THE TRUTH,keep it up man,the sky will only be your starting point... your frankness will take you very far

• TWEAA 9 years ago

FOOTBALL FANS WILL HAVE TO BOYCOTT ALL MATCHES SHOULD AYARIGA AND HIS LIKES BRING THE TOURNAMENT TO GHANA. PERIOD.

• Mr.Awuku,London 9 years ago

to our inept GFA officials,Ebola is real with death tolls in its thousands and counting,and if the decision makers are in a blatant doubt and stupid denial they should contact WHO for stats on this pandemic. Morocco's grounds ...