You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 09 09Article 324790

Private Cemeteries: A Booming and Lucrative Business in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (19)

• SYDNEY 9 years ago

HOW CAN A POOR COUNTRY LIKE GHANA TOLERATE SUCH WASTE....NO WONDER BLACKS WERE SOLD AS SLAVES...WE ARE IRREDEEMABLY STUPID INDEED....just read this nonsense here....Some private cemeteries charge between GHC26,000 and GHC36,0 ...

• GHANANI 9 years ago

All die ibi die? Does a dead person know where he is buried?This is stupidity and waste of money. I care less about where I will be buried when iam dead.Only fools will waste huge sums of money on a cadavre[dead body]

• Pastor Roberts 9 years ago

A thought-provoking article. I don't think a Christian can go into such a business because how can you pray for people to die so that your business will prosper? That will not be fair.

• The mask 9 years ago

The current practice where newly inducted doctors called house officers with no experience whatsoever are left to experiment with (attend to) serious medical cases while residents, specialists and consultants are away must b ...

• NTI FYNN 9 years ago

Mr. Owusu, you have written an article that has really touched my heart. I have a 2 acre plot near Pokuase. I can start a private cemetery business there. I have the money to invest. That is the only business that can take me ...

• KBK 9 years ago

If people don't die you won't make money ooo

• Kojo 9 years ago

The priorities we have as a people is very worrying. It appears we take pride in unnecessary things and ignore vital ones! God help Ghana

• ghanaman 9 years ago

Seems to be a wonderful opportunity to make money. Surely there must be risk somewhere.

• KBK 9 years ago

The kind of vulgar consumerism that is currently going on in Ghana is alarming. Everybody is trying hard to get rich - by any means possible. The politicians are in the lead of this mad race. That is the main reason they're a ...

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 9 years ago

I'm really interested in this business. However, but, getting familiar with the industry needs better connection with the rich and wealthy. I doubt the average Ghanaian will pay such an amount for a burial.

In fact, th ...

• AFOLABI 9 years ago

It is a good business iea, no matter where you do it. The only thing I that you cannot charge like Accra but you will still make profit.

• Mallam Tula-2 9 years ago

MASSA; ARE YOU SERIOUS ; GHANA IS NOT THE USA OR THE UK TO SET UP A PRIVATE CEMETARY ; BESIDES WHAT YOU DID NOT TELL POTENTIAL INVESTORS IS THAT THERE ARE VERRY VERY VERY STRICT CODES OF HEALTH CONDUCT IN ESTABLISHING SUCH VE ...

• Joanna (daughter) 9 years ago

I cannot believe that i am reading about graves being rented for 20 years! Indeed the body does not experience " rest in peace" A country with so much money, so much talent, so many opportunities is driven by a few terrible l ...

• Oti Akenteng 9 years ago

This not about praying for people to die.How about some people who make coffins KBK?

• the eye Hamburg 9 years ago

Ghana as a God fearing country,this practice of private cemeteries idea should be discouraged. However,as usual,this is a thought-provoking article from Steve,my brother Junior Akoks. Bravo and keep it up, Senior Akoks.

• richmond afrifa 9 years ago

This is a true story .As it is said in the bible in jeremiah 8:3,that human being will prefer death to life,that is why Ghanaian normally pay much seriousness to dead bodies .To eradicate all these i suggest that we Ghanaians ...

• Ellis 9 years ago

Hmmm.It is already existant in some countries so surely Ghanaian enterpreneurs should give it a try.

• kay 9 years ago

Hmmmm.... so expensive and heard a news report on one. so crazi

• Dr C. Opoku 9 years ago

Dear Steve,
    How many private cemeteries are in Ghana? Is there any one in Kumasi????

Clifford