You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 09 06Article 324452

Intellectual Bankruptcy In Ghana:

Read Comments Comments (24)

• Ghanaman3 9 years ago

And petrol, maid, garden boy, chauffeur allowances for lazy incompetent corrupt MPs, ministers and judges?

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Perks,were never designed for the African elite,which took over from 'adventurous' European who risked his life in the service of Her Majesty`s govt! besides, you never heard of cases involving any of the colonial administrat ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

We got it so wrong that we think the more money we steal from govt makes us civilize . We steal more and build ugly mansions with expensive automobile but forgot to build good roads with better sewage systems.
    The cart is ...

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

C.Y.-ANDY! YOU BLOODY BRAGGART IDIOT WHAT DO YOU THINK IS THE MEANING OF YOU FOLLOWING STUPID ENGLISH?
    --> "since they have no alternative to deleterious wasteful system." (STUPID ENGLISH)

I HAVE SAID IT AND WILL ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Perhaps, if you put the definite article, "the", before "deleterious", you'd understand it better.

Btw, I noticed downstairs that you wrote "cemented heards". What's THAT? Ha! ha! ha! Semi-illiterate like you too calling ...

Annorwuo, thanks for your contribution. I have dealt in Part 3 (in which I examined the pros and cons of the arguments in support and against the R&B allowances) with these egregious allowances which have been encapsulated in ...

C.Y.-ANDY, WHAT KIND OF "NON-SENSE" AND STUPID ENGLISH IS THE FOLLOWING FROM YOU IDIOT AND PRETENDER?

--> "The time has come to dwell on the processes that make Ghanaians intellectual bankrupts, despite their “plenty, pl ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

To comment on this article, first allow me to quote Kwame Nkrumah's take on it.
    "A few colonial students gained accessed to metropolitan universities almost as of right, on account of their social standing. Instead of consid ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Dear friends,

Excellent piece, Andy.

I love your contribution here, ELINAM. In fact I have always enjoyed reading your constructive contributions on Ghanaweb!

WThat said, Walter Rodney takes a swipe at KA Busia ("a ...

Elinam,

Thanks got your comments and let all know what indomitable Kwame N said on the issue. And how his nemesis Busia also felt about his disassociation from his origins. At least he was aware of his inadequacy and lamen ...

Thanks for your comments and letting all know what indomitable Kwame-N said on the issue. And how his nemesis Busia also felt about his disassociation from his origins. At least, he was aware of his inadequacy and lamented it ...

• Kobina 9 years ago

Africans are sent to school just so they can fight anything African.
    Speaking your own mother tongue is forbidden, libation is frowned upon, but Evangilism and Islam takes centre stage. The Chinese, Japanese and Indians have ...

• Asiwome 9 years ago

It is a different reality.

• African Patriotism 9 years ago

Thanks brother Andy. As a Diasporan, I have followed Ghana's economic and intellectual development for the last 49 years.just an ordinary guy just out of high school who got introduced to Africa and Ghana during the last 2 ye ...

• Yaw Ben 9 years ago

Anytime this UTAG/POTAG strike issue surfaces, some disgruntled hustlers and underachievers living in secluded quarters abroad keep scribbling rubbish to cloud the issues under discussion. There are also some who have benefit ...

Skin pain? What's that? Ad hominem attacks in support of the mad cap allowances are the hallmark of bankrupt intellectuals. I've dealt with them in Part 3. I dealt with some of the issues you raised in Part 2 so I won't be in ...

• Mark 9 years ago

Fake Adjoa Wangara,we know who you are.If you have nothing good to offer,leave this forum.You are a big fool.Give due respect to your master, the more learned Andy-K.

You see! C.Y.-ANDY very soon the whole Ghana will get to know as I use to say that the whole bunch of the KWAWUKUMES' are blank IDIOTS. You cemented heards are always trying to be what you can never be. Typical yahoo family.

• Kobina 9 years ago

@Yaw Ben, you epitomise the Intellectually Bankrupt Ghanaian. Everyone who complains about a rotten system is envious of the beneficiary.
    Otabil dupes feeble minded people. You must be jealous.When pregnant women can't even ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Brothers,

I agree with Kobina.

Andy, ignore the negative commments.

Good advice, Kobina!

• Ama Grace 9 years ago

Opps! And you are not an intellectual abi!

• YAW 9 years ago

Expansive and incisive enough to take account of the many problems we have endured since independence.

• Kobina 9 years ago

1. All church and assets will be nationalised.
    2.40% will be re-equip into schools.
    3. 40 % converted into clinics, maternaty wards, and elderly care homes and mental institutions.
    4. 20% turned into re-education camps, to ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

A very good write-up Andy, and I would have agreed with you totally if you had confined your criticism to the intellectual bankruptcy of the typical Ghanaian elite...But your thrust is weakened by your digression into the R& ...