You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 08 09Article 320435

Kwame Nkrumah ‘I speak of freedom “

Read Comments Comments (56)

• James K. Dadzie 9 years ago

Kojo,I am humbled by your wisdom and I have taken food for thought in the biblical stance "no prophet is accepted in his own country".It an undeniable fact that Nkrumah lived severl years ahead of his time.Even his arch enem ...

• James K. Dadzie 9 years ago

It is an undeniable fact that Nkrumah lived several years ahead of his time.

• Ghanaian Patriot 9 years ago

Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah would have succeeded but for the then Asantehene, NLM (Mate), the Abuakwas (JB Danquah) encouraged by the Colonialists and stoogists in independent African States.

Ghana in particular is paying t ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

If Kwame Nkrumah was not removed, he would have found antidote for death itself. I wonder why he did not see his own doom before leaving for Hanoi, Vietnam.

• Joe 9 years ago

Sarpong, you never speak sense and that baffles me. You are a waste in society

• Kwesi, Cape Coast 9 years ago

If Nkrumah was an Ashanti he would have been Mr. Sarpong's hero. No wonder he's been battling with his co-tribalist Okoame Ahoofe over Nana Addo (Akyem) versus Kyeremanteng (Ashanti).

• James 9 years ago

Hey Sarpong! If you can't beat Nkrumah's admirers,join them.Don't be ashamed to praise Africa's political genius and visionary,the great Nkrumah.Don't pretend you don't appreciate Nkrumah's achievements.I thought you were ver ...

• Albert Owusu-Ansah 9 years ago

Is this jealousy or tribal hatred ?Nkrumah's achievements are self-evident.SARPONG is the only stranger in Jerusalem.

• Areo 9 years ago

If you have a beaucoup of money as Nkrumah was given, any fool would have done what Nkrumah did but what did he do when he ran through the money he inherited? He was clueless like Mahama and went back to the colonial masters ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Why are you guys all tripping? Nkrumah was so 'great' he could have done anything, is that not what you guys want us to believe?

Nkrumah would have found cure for everything. The Author said if Nkrumah was not removed, eve ...

• sweet stackleberg 9 years ago

Nkrumah this, Nkrumah that, Nkrumah will have found a cure for AIDS

Haba!!!

• NOBODY 9 years ago

The people that you mentioned were not instrumental in the fall of Nkrumah. rather, it was the USA and its CIA during a cold war era hell bent on ensuring that Africa did not tilt to the East. America brought down Nkrumah. Th ...

• Joe 9 years ago

what a fool you are(nobody). What do you mean by "minor role"? who took the gun to stage the coup and who went to the broadcasting corp to announce the coup? who dismantled all that had been done? and who formed the next gove ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Everything Nkrumah said we should do to be free was rejected and now fifty years on, other people are forcing us at every conference to unify and trade within ourselves and it seems we gonna do it but not for us but for them. ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Yes, others people see their huge profit in our forced and coerced unity.
    If we could have seen it and feel it as Nkrumah did, we wouldn't wait for no one to tell us. Strategically, no one would have even knew it and by the ...

• Areo 9 years ago

Brightest and innovative of all? Are you kidding? Where is the evidence of African brightness and innovation?

• ELINAN 9 years ago

If you can not be the brightest the you can let others determine your destiny.
    Africans did it before without Europe and can do it again just go learn the true Africa history, and not his-story.

• Thessa 9 years ago

You are one of those cuckoos

• OKOE 9 years ago

AFRICAN BRIGHTNESS AND INNOVATION
    IS MANIFEST ALL OVER THE WORLD AS SUCH, IT IS DIFFICULT TO QUANTIFY AND TO BE OBSERVED. WE IN AFRICA DO NOT NEED TO INVENT THE WHEEL. LONG AGO, WE WERE PART OF THE INVENTION. ONLY ALONG THE ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

Ghana has every right to succeed without our continental unity. Had it not been the crass incompetent and mediocre politics we indulge ourselves in. We have people made ministers of state not because they have the know how or ...

• Ghanaian Patriot 9 years ago

Mr Figure-Out, you write nonsense. No where in this world has a party come to power without giving ministerial appointments to its supporters or those that helped the party to come power.

Tony Blair made John Prescott hi ...

Do you have the brains to discern what is nonsense? The NDC has more competent people than this clueless crew we have in Mahamas administration. How experience is Mahama Ayariga to be a minister when Bagbin, Nana Ato Dadze, ...

• K.Gyasi 9 years ago

I always say the African man's only ally in this world is his fellow African.
    The sooner we realize this the better.
    Puppet regimes all around Africa especially in Ghana,how do we even start to initiate the process of unifi ...

• Kwasi 9 years ago

I'm sure you reside in the US where unity has transformed it into the most powerful country in the world i.e. economically, politically and militarily. A prosperous Ghana can't afford to be surrounded by poor neighbors. Moreo ...

• El Niño 9 years ago

Ghana's neighbors are far from being poor.Please get your facts right.Those neighboring countries you refer to as poor have more mineral and oil deposits than many European countries.From Nigeria's oil to Ivory Coast's untapp ...

• Michigan, USA 9 years ago

Most countries depend on puppets because over these many years of independence, we have not had the common sense as a continent to develop any industries to undertake these projects that only the so called puppets can do. Who ...

Kwasi,my stepson, I am not against the idea of continental Africa Unity but i simply cannot see it happening in the offing. American one could not have been more challenging than the one confronting Africa. In the case of USA ...

There is no correlation between creating more regions in Ghana,for effective adminstrative purposes and continental government for Africa? Why do you think the state of Carolina in U.S. was divided into North Carolina and Sou ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Carolina was not divided into two for administrative purposes or too big to be governed as one state population or landwise or Texas, California or Alaska would have been divided too.

Carolina colonists were fighting over ...

• K.Gyasi 9 years ago

You don't know what you have until it's gone.
    EPA GMO and gay ism are ready to be signed by the hopeless crooks in parliament from both Ndc and Npp. State industries are either collapsed or sold to foreigners,Private Ghanaia ...

• Kweku Donsuro 9 years ago

Too idealistic. Nkrumah had his head in the clouds.

Those who do not appreciate Nkrumah's vision are rather short-sighted.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Nkrumah's vision started to be a mirage starting in 1964 when the economy started collapsing and Ghanaians started queuing for essential commodities like soap and milk, something that never happened during the years of coloni ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

Too idealistic.....That is what people said about Isambard Kingdom Brunel and Nicola Tesla.It would have been too idealistic and unthinkable in 1960 to think of Obama becoming the president of USA.Kofi Annan, becoming the he ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

When the white man is holding your dick so that you will "pee" when he squeeze it, you will do the right thing.

Of all the black people you mentioned, which one is/was African?

Tell me any black African leader who has ...

1970 born SARPONG,to answer your question,the only black African leader who has done something to transform his country is KWAME NKRUMAH.I am surprised you don't know this.I think your age is a setback.You need to do lot of ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

If you give me a load of money, I can do a lot of projects and a lot of people can do the same. Nkrumah had a lot of money he had from the colonial masters to do a lot of projects from 1957-1963.

We should look at Nkrumah ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

You could not even get the amount of money left by the British right in one of your numerous articles.You exaggerated it to a mind boggling 20 billion nonsense in 2014 money.You can hate Nkrumah as much as you like.On the plu ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Ghanaba, Nkrumah was so secretive that nobody can even point the actual figure he got from the British. It has been speculated as low as 70 million pounds and as high as 400 million pounds which can be as much as 20 billion d ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

Felix Boigny ruled Ivory coast as President for 33yrs as a one party state and president for life.I know Ivory Coast like the back of my hand.From Abengourou to Bouake.The British do have records.You can check a lot of facts ...

"if you give me a load of money,I can do a lot of projects and a lot of people can do the same.Nkrumah had a lot of money he from had from the colonial masters to do a lot of projects from 1957-1963."

Your statement really ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Mr Owusu Ansah, why is the statement shallow and naïve? If I give you ten million dollars now can't you embark on some developmental projects? As far as how much Nkrumah was given upon assuming the leadership of this country ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Actually, the money the CPP "inherited" upon independence is no secret. If my memory serves me well (trying to remember from the '70s) , it was just about £240m. And the truth is that the CPP regime actually saved that mone ...

• sweet stackleberg 9 years ago

Suck a fart out of my rectum. I am glad Nkrumah the bitch was chased out!

• GHANABA 9 years ago

Ian Kharma has done well for his people.Your contempt for Nkrumah is well known.Thanks

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Sorry, I don't have any contempt for Nkrumah. I have praised the man for his selfless devotion to Ghana and uncorruptible history. His flaw was that, he saw himself as the only person with all the solutions for the country an ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

I'm compelled to think some of us that call ourselves "Akans", want to rewrite Ghana's history to suit our narratives of what our grand fathers(Busia Danquah tradition)told us. We do not want to be objective on the facts. All ...

• TEE 9 years ago

THANK GOD I AM A NATIVE GHANAIAN AND PROUD PERIOD

• TEE 9 years ago

OUR LAND PERIOD. NATIVE GHANAIAN

• Alhaji Pope 9 years ago

No black african should ever think of, African unity that would include the arabes. its just a mockery.

• Michian, USA 9 years ago

Thank you very much Mr. Tamakloe for this interesting and historical abstract. Nkrumah's rationales back in the early sixties still holds in this present day. I pray to God for his plan's implementation some day, before the r ...

• Imoru 9 years ago

Kojo and all such as you, Nkrumah pointed out the innumerable merits of African unity and the way to achieve that unity.All of us have been mesmerized by the man's political genius and courage.Enough of the talking, lets grab ...

• adumtumi nyansafuo paa ni 9 years ago

He bankrupt Ghana, tortured people. This man was a dictator, he did not want his own people to be free. He was a traitor, he said black man should handle their own affairs. But he is the same person who ran to the white man f ...

• Atikopo#3 9 years ago

Anyone on this thread praising Kwame Nkrumah is an idiot!!

If you think he was that good for us; the CPP is trying to revive his ideas.

Why in the hell are you all not supporting the CPP so we can rebuild Ghana!!

You ...

• Joe Mensah 9 years ago

All Nkrumah's enemies some of whom were not even born during his rule,must read his speeches and his books,and take a deep breath.They will really appreciate the wisdom of this political genius and visionary,and preach his m ...

• Joe Mensah 9 years ago

We all know who you are.You better change your moniker to BITTER STACLEBERG.You are bitter but nothing can change history.Nkrumah is the greatest African of all time.The same imperialists and neo-colonialsts,who removed him f ...