You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 06 19Article 313413

Black Stars need Kwadwo Asamoah in the midfield

Read Comments Comments (89)

• oj. from Kumasi 9 years ago

K. Asamoah is a good team player. He obey coaches and give is best. If JKA puts him in the midfield he will do wonders. He was excellent against USA.

• KK 9 years ago

You see I don't know what is wrong with Ghanaians. Here we are in the mist of the World Cup, and desperately needing a win to keep our hopes alive. For you not to realize that this isn't the time for this kind of criticism is ...

• Akamai 9 years ago

Like put Jordan ahead of KPB or sub Atsu and put in adomah? Or say he will play weaker team for Germans to get tired so he can bring the strong players? Which job?

• tegare 9 years ago

Criticism is good. Kwasea appiah can't learn. Kwadwo asamoah in defence is idiotic. Asamoah gyan has lost his touch. The coach has no idea who is in form and who is not. Check op are vrs afful ? Kwasea appiah must be made t ...

• Kwaku Ampofo 9 years ago

You wish you were in Coach Appiah's shoes. Have you ever kicked or owned a football?

• tegare 9 years ago

Criticism is good. Kwasea appiah can't learn. Kwadwo asamoah in defence is idiotic. Asamoah gyan has lost his touch. The coach has no idea who is in form and who is not. Check op are vrs afful ? Kwasea appiah must be made t ...

• Daniel. 9 years ago

Yes, this is the most useless article I've read on ghanaweb since the Black Stars' defeat on Monday. This writer is just a joker. Listen to him talking about "Any reproduction, reprinting... without the consent of the writer ...

• the truth 9 years ago

Not true

• BerylRichards 9 years ago

Do you think the WC is a place for trial and error??

Such funny folks wasting cyber space with useless articles.

• NANAOHENETUFFUOR 9 years ago

APPIAH CAUSED THE DEFEAT OF THE STARS BY SELECTING HIS FAVOURATES, AND CHANGEING THE POSITIONS OF THE PLAYERS,THE TECHNICAL TEAM WAS DEAD,BECAUSE ESSEIN,JORDAN AYEW, OPARE AND MUNTARI, SHOULD NOT PLAY FOR THE STARS AGAIN.GYA ...

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

Akwasi Appiah admitted he made mistakes in Ghana USA match. How long can this go on? Match after match? If we keep quiet and do not help him to make the right decisions, he will plunge the nation into trouble

• Ghfuo, heaven is not for fools! 9 years ago

AA had no reputable coaching experience when he assisted Leroy at afcon 08. From then until now, what has gh done for him? Everything has been made sorchee for aa and get he achieves mediocre results and comes with excuses. P ...

• Timothy 9 years ago

Let us pray 4 e team n forget e pass but k.Asamoah 2 play at his best position 2moro. Let's pray 4 black stars

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

that guy is no coach..he hast lost any credibility he had...GFA shd appoint stephen Appiah to take over for the rest of the tournament

• Sean 9 years ago

do you think AA KNOWS HIS JOB duties? he has to be corrected.

• Owusu 9 years ago

Is anybody who comment on this article also liable to legal action? If you don't want anybody to reprint your article don't post them on Ghana web. All what you have writen is a 'commentary after news' because everybody is aw ...

• Nemesis 9 years ago

Good point, Owusu. It's completely nonsensical.

• Paul 9 years ago

Nobody cares about your article. U have good points but u are not a good written. U keep on repeating yourself. Any way Kwai appliance is not even a coach and is foolish to. His selection is even worse

• Azaglo Kemevor 9 years ago

AA is a failure at least at this level. He ande his staff got everything wrong from the day they invited not only bench-warmers but also game-watchers like Dauda to camp.Isn't it sad that Appiah being a defender himself doesn ...

STAY WITH EACH PLAY/MARK THE GERMAN PLAYER UNTIL U HEAR A WHISTLE!
    WE NEED SUMAILA AND MENSAH TO START. ALONG WITH OPARE AND AFFUL. I CANT STRESS HOW IMPORTANT THESE DEFENDERS NEED TO BE DISCIPLINED N PLAY WITH A SENSE OF UR ...

• GHFUO, RIP MAYA ANGELOU!! 9 years ago

GH VS.GERMANY
    IF THE BOYS ARE READY TO DO SOMETHING THEY HVE NEVER DONE BEFORE. THEN GH CAN BEAT GERMANY.

1.GH MUST PLAY WITH URGENCY, BE AGGRESSIVE VS GERMANY. NO COMPLACENCY AND STAY WITH EVERY PLAY FOR 90 MINUTES! TRU ...

• mann 9 years ago

Please forget about Rabui and Aquah as starting lines, a big tournament game need experience players, they should start from bench to get use to first before. Even Astu is good but he have to start from bench and Jordan is no ...

• tegare 9 years ago

What do you guys see in asamoah gyan. The guy is finished. Period. Gyan must start from the bench. Essien is old and slow now.
    We need speed and agility, warris must be there.

• tegare 9 years ago

What do you guys see in asamoah gyan. The guy is finished. Period. Gyan must start from the bench. Essien is old and slow now.
    We need speed and agility, warris must be there.

• Victor Asiedu-Young 9 years ago

I believe that Coach Kwasi Appiah has sincerely learnt his lessons well after the Black Stars 2-1 loss to the U.S. I wonder why any visionary coach would use Kwadjo Asamoah as a defender. Ghana could have won convincingly in ...

• obundua 9 years ago

Coach AA say what he does not mean , and mean what he does not say. Why? After the fiasco in the last Afcon , he sincerely apologized to all Ghanaians that he has learnt his lesson and we all forgave him .
    After the destruct ...

• Respect people 9 years ago

My dear brother Asiedu, I agree with you, Ghana could have won the game. But please think the opposite too. If Kwadwo Asamoah was not used as a defender, how many goals Ghana could have conceded on day? more than four or fiv ...

• Kwame Kumi 9 years ago

You've made one of the best observations so far on this issue. People are talking about the need to field Kwadwo Asamoah in midfield as if it doesn't matter if we score five goals and concede six. I think we should rather b ...

• pk 9 years ago

Good article.

• Daniel. 9 years ago

Hahahahah! Pk, do you call this "good article"? You're as funny as the writer.

• Nemesis 9 years ago

As for me, I hate people like you who show an element of pride in their attitude, utterances, words, writings, whatever. The note, or is it caution, below your article is unnecessary, because it smacks of pride. How great is ...

• tegare 9 years ago

Kwasea appiah is a BAD coach.
    Kwasea appiah can't learn, makes him an id xxx.
    Talk is good, the people should continue talking.

• Kofi Kofi 9 years ago

Aboa! He wasn't bad when he qualified you to the world cup huh? Idiot!

• tegare 9 years ago

Kwasea appiah is a BAD coach.
    Kwasea appiah can't learn, makes him an id xxx.
    Talk is good, the people should continue talking.

• Daniel. 9 years ago

Nemesis, for once I agree with you. This is one of worst articles I've ever read on ghanaweb and yet he wasn't ashamed to sound that unnecessary "copy write" caution. E.K. Kissi must bow his head in shame.

• Nemesis 9 years ago

Thanks Appiah, for agreeing with me. This copy right claim nonsense is irritating.

• Koo Tee 9 years ago

I think I support you bro.We need a creative midfielder who can 'break' the defense of the Germans.

• JOE 9 years ago

Drop Muntari and use Asamoah in his place.

• ABBA 9 years ago

AKWASI APPIAH SHOULD ALLOWD STEPHEN ADAMS TO OCCUPY THE POST FOR THE NEXT GAME BEFORE IT BECOMES TOO LATE.

• abunjolly 9 years ago

my probable line up;kwarasey, Afful,opare, essien, muntari, dede, asamoah, boateng and gyan. mark it he has no option than to start with this players and get his goals and win the match, before he can bring on the young once ...

• salinsa 9 years ago

for sometime now kwadwo has persistently under performed in midfield for the blackstars.

wasn't kwadwo and muntari deployed in midfield when we played against zambia in far away zambia? did they stamp their pedigree on tha ...

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 9 years ago

WILL YOU GUYS STOP THIS FOOLISHNESS AND LET THE COACH DO HIS WORK?

• C K Akunnor 9 years ago

You guys leave everything to me. I know how to punish the blackstars and their staff. I go fuck Appiah's wife. ( both Toto and Ass )

• CAPTAIN OCQRA 9 years ago

THEN YOU LICK THE ANUS AND PUSSY,A GOAT LIKE CAN DO ANY NASTY THING!.

• papa kofi 9 years ago

The most effective change that will tranform the Black Stars is coach Appiah.He should be organising district inter schools sports.

• Dad 9 years ago

Sankofa your analysis has no merits. Heights don't play footfall

• Obiba jk 9 years ago

Who told you height dont count ? if you take midget like Afful, Opare, lnkoom ,Asante and Jonathan to tournament can you beat the like of Burkinafaso and talk about Germains

How tall is Pele, Maradona, messi, sterling, Suarez, iniesta, xabi, do u want me to continue?

• Sundiate Kurumanguru 9 years ago

None of the people you mentioned are defenders like Inkoom, Opare and Harrison Afful. You need big men and tall men on defense and not dwarfs.

How tall is Ashley Cole, dani alves, Marcelo, evra?

• Tamale 9 years ago

You crazy? Opare was the most useless on the field with his wayward passes. The problem what does Akwasi Appiah teach them or he says you all play in Europe so do your thing. Note all the crosses,free kicks,corners were usele ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Make K. Asamoah more useful.

• Omanba, Chiicago, IL. 9 years ago

Very good analysis bro. I hope those at the realms of affairs will give this a thought. Good job!

• A concerned citizen......222222222 9 years ago

Black Stars can arise and shine..If I were in the shoes of coach AA, this will be my selection and tactics against Germany.[ 4-4-2 formation with variations]
    [1] Kwarasey
    [2] Inkoom [4] ...

• Wofa Koo 9 years ago

"What you plant is what you harvest"

It`s the same ideological articles and comments here which enrich Akwasi Appiah`s resume in promoting him to the Black Stars head coach seat. Thousands of Ghanaians pointed their finge ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

The problem is not totally height. The problem to me is the lack of understanding what God was telling us before the match. 3 times Ghana suffered early goal syndrome. Gods says before it happens I will announce it you. 3 tim ...

• Kenkey Warriors!! 9 years ago

Great football IQ. If he can break the shield of meekness around his personality he will make an awesome player!

Kwasia..Wat do u mean by break the shield of meekness? Is he concert?

• ADOLF 9 years ago

this wc is full of surprises so Ghana can beat Germany

• T BLAZE 9 years ago

OUR JERSEY CONTRIBUTED A LOT TO OUR DEFEAT...ITS BAD LUCK AND ITS LIKE GAYS KIND OF JERSEY...WATCH IT CAREFULLY

• Uncle Ebo 9 years ago

Am wondering how on earth and whoever that designed ths as jersey for a football game.The whole stuff look gayish.We dont need this again...puma or whatever you are called.

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

DEAR WRITER, WHO WOULD REPRODUCE THIS ARTICLE, AND FOR WHAT? DO YOU WANT A JUDGMENT DEBT TOO? WHAT MAKES YOU THINK THIS ARTICLE IS SO SPECIAL AS IF IT HAS ANBWERS TO THE TEAM'S PROBLEMS? AFTER ALL WHAT IS NEW, AND WHAT IS SO ...

• jijk 9 years ago

PLEASE WATCH OUT FOR JOHN BOYE. HE TENDS TO GO TO SLEEP AT THE CRUCIAL MOMENTS. HE IS NOT VERY DECISIVE WITH THE BALL AT TIMES.

• Londoner 9 years ago

Great intellectual analysis with good football brain. It's obvious AA is not well equipped to have foreseen that lack of height would be problematic. These players will play for their lives now to win. It's not AA's tactics t ...

• E.K. 9 years ago

Thank you for your comments. This is precisely what I am trying to convey. Football is played on the ground and in air. The Africans have forgetting that.

Look at how Algeria was punished in the air.

• K. Frimpong 9 years ago

Please fellow Ghanaians what the Black Stars need is Prayers and fasting if we want them to win against Germany. I am pasking all of us if possible to fast tomorrow Friday for our National Team.
    Quotations for the Prayers & ...

• Ghanaboii 9 years ago

Why does Rabiu always get mentioned in people's probable line ups? Personally, I think he's rubbish! He's technically not gifted and not disciplined either. I don't know too much about Acquah but make him play the Makelele ro ...

• ABBA 9 years ago

AKWASI APPIAH SHOULD MAKE SOME CHANGES AND ALSO TO BE SURE TO PUT STEPHEN ADAMS AT THE POST.

• Victor Asiedu-Young 9 years ago

I believe that Coach Kwasi Appiah should know these facts; he doesn't have to be told. Having PKB, Andre Ayew, Kwadjo Asamoah Asamoah and Michael Essien in the mix can turn the tide in our favour. Essien should increase his t ...

• KOJO9 9 years ago

Spot on Mr. Kissi. This mentality thing really bugs me. It is clear from how we started tournaments since the 1990s that BS always acts like an engine that needs to warm up before moving. Well on the basis alone we can expe ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Kwasi Appiah is a coach without creative intelligence, no strategic intelligence and no sense for tactics. Low intelligence.

• Kweku Laast 9 years ago

The GFA failed the team from the beginning. It is a wonder the team played as well as they did. Look at these facts:
    1. Trying to steal the money already agreed to be paid to the team (just as they tried to do in South Afric ...

• Musty 9 years ago

But muntari did a very good job he deserve a praise , becos he created some good 3or 4 chance sense but the strikers could not finish.

They failed to mark Clint Dempsey and allowed him to run free to score.

• Seth Oppong 9 years ago

Blacks Stars don,t need to eat Ghanaian food at Brazil in order to win their games. Ghanaian food are too heavy and the eating of such food; banku, apksei, etc will not allow the team to train properly. Who ever came up with ...

• that guy 9 years ago

we need Kwadwo Asamoah at his original position

• Anagoman 9 years ago

One of best article written on this platform in a very long time.Good analysis and statistics.We need a business intelligence team to analyze opponents and we need a coach who understand the era we are and apply the intellige ...

This coach forget t realize that the game is played in the air and on the ground. He selected too many short players, so our opponents will exploit our lack of height.

• PAPA 9 years ago

its been a while since i have read a very well thought out analysis. i was checking the matchup online the avg team height between ghana and germany differs by 20cm! this is outrageous.

The Ghanaian technical team act on emotions. The Germans and the Americans act on statistics, strategy and tactics. Ghana is good on the ground, but can be exploited in the air.

The Ghanaian coaching staff has no clue. Lo ...

• MAKE ME PROUD, USA 9 years ago

HE ONLY WAY TO WIN A FOOTBALL GAME IS TO SCORE INTO THE GOAL. MANY OF US ARE WEARING OUR BLACK STAR T-SHIRTS HAPPILY AND CHEERING YOU ON. PLEASE, SCORE INTO THE GOAL! BEAT GERMANY! THE BLACK STARS ARE CAPABLE OF WINNING THE W ...

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 9 years ago

EVRY ONE IS RIGHT ,IF ASAMOAH IS NOT BACK IT WILL BE ALMOST THE SAME PROBLEM WHO WILL STOP THEM,IT WILL BE MORE GOALS,OUR STRIKERS SHULD TRY FOR GOALS AND DEFENDS DONT LET THEM PASS,AFRIYIE AQUAH CAN ALSO HELP

• Kanawu 9 years ago

You hit the nail right on the head.
    We really need people with dribbling skills who can confuse the opponent and mess up their formation. We should not play the German nor the English type of Football, which only works if y ...

• Lewis Asante W. 9 years ago

Ghana will lose again, if they become over confident and don't focus 90 minute's of the match with Germany. i also think Asamoah should continue his same position. with Muntari and Prince Boateng will be better together as we ...

• Nana The Don 9 years ago

Foolish Article Kwadwo Asamoah plays as left Wing and helps Chielinni Who plays left back. You guys suck, When was the last time you watched Juventus match. Gh. Journalist are not updated and you are the reason Ghana is behin ...

• koorich 9 years ago

Not all matches are to be blamed by the plays that they did not put in more effort sometime are the arrangement by the coaches the rightful position to put the play is what degrade their job to become professional and that is ...

• KWESI 9 years ago

You are very right. The coach should have known long ago that the solution to the problem is to put Kwadwo Asamoah in midfield but it is too late. Coach Appiah is stubborn. He tried this in South Africa and failed. He apolog ...

• AGATAPORE (SANDEMA) 9 years ago

Frank Amankwa used to be one of the best defenders Ghana ever had and how tall is he? Look at Evra of Man U and Bakare Sangna of the arsenals.