You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 05 09Article 308604

Was President Mahama’s Language in Kumasi Acceptable?

Read Comments Comments (27)

• Passover 9 years ago

'Voltareans are inward looking people'. Victor Owusu. 'All die be die'. Nana Akuffo Addo. What the president said was deliberate and it is both good and bad.Posterity will judge.

• HAZOR 9 years ago

The president is simple immature and poccess low IQ.This is not the first time he has make such disgusting statement.

• HAZOR 9 years ago

The president is simple immature and poccess low IQ.This is not the first time he has make such disgusting statement.

• HAZOR 9 years ago

• Bash 9 years ago

I think what His Excellency said in Kumasi was not an insult to all the residents in the Garden City. To my little understanding, those whom the speech refer to knows them self's. They just want to cornice the speech to their ...

• Bash 9 years ago

I think what His Excellency said in Kumasi was not an insult to all the residents in the Garden City. To my little understanding, those whom the speech refer to knows them self's. They just want to cornice the speech to their ...

• NEMESIS 9 years ago

We have a very dangerous, wicked, stubborn, litigant, wolf in skin clothing president. Now it's obvious that Mahama, the "Dumsor kum Promise Messiah", hasn't come to serve the good people of Ghana. He's come to for the sake o ...

• NEMESIS 9 years ago

We have a very dangerous, wicked, stubborn, litigant, wolf in skin clothing president. Now it's obvious that Mahama, the "Dumsor kum Promise Messiah", hasn't come to serve the good people of Ghana. He's come to for the sake o ...

• Kofi Agbalekpor, Denu 9 years ago

The President didn't say anything bad. He just laid it bare; and all those accusing him of using intemperate language need some examination to be done on their heads.

• MINOR CASE 9 years ago

Yes I agree with you that the critics need their heads examined just as the Ewes who called for Victor Owusu's head when be labelled them as " inward looking" How about that ?

• LONTO-BOY 9 years ago

MASSA KOFI, given that traditionally, Kumasi is a staunch NPP stronghold, and against the backdrop of recent criticism of President Mahama's leadership and his NDC Government by some high ranking NPP members during the party' ...

• Paa Kojo 9 years ago

President JDM is displaying all the signs of immaturity in the highest office of the land. His public utterances, traced to his days in parliament, all point to someone who unguardedly does not choose his words carefully befo ...

• KKO 9 years ago

The bottomline is that we have an idiot as president by default. No intelligent adult will say the kinds of things he said at Kibi and then Kumasi. It is as simple as that!

The poor Ghanaian taxpayer has been pouring billi ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

Regardless of whether one is with his party members or not, as a sitting president you should talk as a national figure rather than a party member. Unguarded words spoken by Nana Addo and Romney both presidential hopefuls to ...

• Lawrence 9 years ago

Kofi Ata, fuck you off a thousand times! Stop blowing your dirty horns for you are nobody! Why are you so certain that,what the npp people are saying is the truth, and not what the president really said? Fuck you off a thousa ...

• papillon 9 years ago

The foulmouthed Ashanti's can't hold JM or the nation to ransom. What about the daily insults rained on the President by them. Ghana belongs to Ghanaians and no particular tribe.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

I think anybody can interprete what the President said in a different way.That is why it's very unwise to use proverb at a wrong place and wrong time.My father told me never to admire people who use proverbs unnecessarily.He ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Kofi,

I am not the least convinced by your arguments at all. I shall be brief though in debunking you.

First, you admit that his statement was doctored by some mischievous person/s in order to give a different and wrong ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Andy, on the first point my argument is not fallacious and invalid, when you agreed with me that irrespective whatever one does as a political leader, there would be people/voters who would never vote for that leader. Tell me ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Kofi, why should any President expect appreciation especially if they construct roads or pave the airport runaway as Mahama said he has done in Kumasi?

He as a President is paid to do just that and the money used to accomp ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Of course, you disagreed with me but that doesn't prove you right.

Yes, whatever you do, some people will disagree with some of the things you do. If they disagree with ALL that you do, all the time, then it is abnormal a ...

• CARDINAL 9 years ago

Idiot, if this has been directed your your tribe, you would be the first one to raise hell. Now everybody knows the kind of ethnocentric fool you are defending this childish rantings from Dramani Mahama

• Paul 9 years ago

“Asem nokore wo ho a yento sebi”. On what national presidential & parliamentarian election has NDC won in Ashante, Kumasi since 1992. “A word to a wise is enough”

• GBORTSUI 9 years ago

NOBODY FORCED MAHAMA TO SPEAK IN AKAN. WHATEVER IT MEANT FOR HIM DOES NOT MATTER NOW 'COS THE DAMAGE HAS ALREADY BEEN DONE.ANOTHER AKAN ADAGE SAYS THAT 'IF YOU PLAY WITH A DOG, IT LICKS YOUR LIPS'.WE THANK HIM.WE WILL FIND A ...

• GBORTSUI 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS THE NDC'S COMMUNICATION EXPERT AND THE WAY HE TALKED WAS ACCEPTABLE TO THEM.HE MEANT EVERY WORD HE SAID. WHATEVER WAS SAID THAT MADE EWES TO ALWAYS VOTE AGAINST NPP,THE ASHANTIS WILL ALSO DO SAME PERIOD!!!

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Your analysis and reasoning suck big time. The president of Ghana is the head of a political party who lives and operates in a real Ghana not in an ideal Ghana of principled citizens. Your argument and that of many others mad ...

• ys 9 years ago

Yes what HE Mahama said is perfect.You Kumasi people are Akanistic in nature.You envy him for nothing.