You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 05 08Article 308466

“These Akans” and their hangers-on

Read Comments Comments (129)

• Ghana 9 years ago

Black Shot Bastards from the Liliput Breed.
    No fathers at home to teach them ethics of life.

• yaw b 9 years ago

Hit who hard...what is sensible able what he wrote? Is he trying to teach us history or what...Try and advise your clans men before you drag us to this long boring article....Asantes are Asante , So Ewes been ewes.....Your Ow ...

• Tobge the 2nd 9 years ago

My family stretches far and wide and covers all tribes in Ghana including Ewe. I find this article very offensive. There are ways to refute allegations and wrong assumptions about ppl and this of cause no way to do that.

P ...

• GIRLS SP 9 years ago

Will you DIRTY EWE, Andy C.Y. Kwawukume shut your silly deformed EWE MOUTH who exposes your odoring amalgamated teeth!

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

I am sure you don't find the perennial insult and demonisation of Ewes offensive, so please yourself.

I am not answerable to anyone but myself and conscience.

Andy-K

• Togbe the 2nd 9 years ago

They will soon fire back. But then how does this childish behaviour contribute to the growth of mother Ghana? Andy, do a retrospection and you will realize this is the wrong approach. I beg to differ with you Efo.

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

The Asantes have no place to go and the earlier you get use to them, the better for your weak heart. Else, you will die earlier and even on your deathbed, you will be still talking about the Asantes. I have given the same adv ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

This is no longer necessary becos of intermarriages.

Nyansasem, this post is a reaction to what you "these Akans" have been saying against Ewes. You are the people who must get used to Ewes. Ewes are already used to Asantes and have forgiven them for past transgressions and acc ...

• Frank Appiah 9 years ago

Do you call yourself NYANSASEM OR NKWASEASEM ? Your senseless and irrelevant attack on Nkrumah and Francis Kwarteng in your response suggest to me you are not a WISE PERSON as your name indicates.I am sure you are in the clas ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Dear Brother,

You are perfectly right.

I have reliable information on an "Asante" Ghanaweb columnist who uses Ewe-sounding names (monikers) to attack (insult) my articles in the comment section, giving me the impressio ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

You will fight anyone who disrespects another or sister because of ethnicity and yet, daily you are disrespecting your betters; JB Danquah, Busia, Kwame Appiah, and the likes that you are not worth to untie their shoe lace.

• rancis kwarteng 9 years ago

You mean those two fools, Danquah and the thick-lipped Busia?

There is nothing useful to write about those foolish murderers!

Please let me have my piece. I am presently reading about the Greatest African, Africa's Ma ...

• Abena Agyeiwaa 9 years ago

and who the hell is Andy Kwawukume. He a typical ignorant fool who has been rejected by an asante and has extended his hatred to all asantes. He now wants to infect others with is hate. Andy You are talking about people not h ...

• papillon 9 years ago

At last the noisemakers have met their match.Wars and strife thrive best among illiterates and Ghana is heading that way. What makes the arrogant Asante superior to the rest of the Ghanaian population?

Thanks! All they have is noise and useless insults.

We Anlos have a saying: edzu me ka ame o. Literally, "nsult does not cut a person", often said when one is being asked to ignore insults directed at one. But can we Ewes ...

• ANCIENT MAN 9 years ago

SCROLL DOWN TO ACCEPT AHOOFE OKOAMPA'S CHALLENGE FROM ME

"But can we Ewes continue tolerating the insults of "these Akans" for ever"

Andy, you are old enough to know that not all Akans insult Ewes, its only some of them so to be lumping them together is like doing exactly what y ...

"These Akans". Put a stress on "these" and you'd get them. You'd get a particular segment of the Akan ethnic group, which I even defined.

For anyone to think that that phrase comprise all Akans shows a rather rudimentary ...

Tell us more if there is anyhting we need to know about K. Okoampa. We would love to know what Anlo Ewes had done to Okompa for which he hates Ewes especially Anlo Ewes with so much venom.

All we are saying is dont be lik ...

• yaw b 9 years ago

Hit who hard...what is sensible able what he wrote? Is he trying to teach us history or what...Try and advise your clans men before you drag us to this long boring article....Asantes are Asante , So Ewes been ewes.....Your Ow ...

• yaw b 9 years ago

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 9 years ago

sub human barbaric barkward rats.

thank civilization by others for the little touch of humaness you can be accorded with.

visit your hometown/region and where the subjects of your senseless insults come from and ju ...

• Bernard 9 years ago

How civilised are you that until Rawlings came you folks do not even know that children rather than (wofa) nephews inherit their father's estate. What sort of civilisation are you talking about, Ward? This is a joke.

This man is really sick and acutely suffering from psychosis and delusions of grandeur.

History is made and you don't concoct one for yourself to assuage your innate and chronic inferiority complex.

You need urgent ...

• ABBA MUSIC 9 years ago

We Akans make Ghana. Without Akans where would you have been? You trokosi bastards from Togo must be grateful to Akans. Your mothers came to Ghana to sell their butts to produce you bastards like JJ Rawlings. Akans make Ghana ...

• i PIMP your MOTHER 9 years ago

just listen to this first born son of a flirtig wayward dog..."AVU VI" like you (fils de pute)...we sometimes compare your dirty flirting whore mothers to dogs(na true true true l dey talk).SAKABO VI.

• Thess 9 years ago

Typical incestuous trokosi trying to legitimize himself as a human being. If you feel like a human being you don't have to prove it. You feel inadequate and inferior because whatever you call us does not affect how we feel ab ...

• Kofi Babone 9 years ago

listen to this PARA-HUMAN HYBRID,since when did you HUMAN-ANIMAL became human being

• Ghanas 9 years ago

"Since when did you became"

That is animal language and you are speaking like the sheep you filthy things are.

Hei, Ayigbe julor, stop using my name , ok? You have secretly always wanted to be an Asante, haven't you? Go to the trokosi shrine you were born at and look for your mother. Kwashia buulu.

• ABBA MUSIC 9 years ago

You can even see it's anger and violence nature in it's writing. Whether you like or not AKANS make Ghana. We know the Ghanaian Ewes, who are calm and peaceful. And we know the Togolese Ewes, who are trying to fit in.

If t ...

BABOON,you are an animal that is why you can not own a land in the VR,ask your whore mother to first show you your biogical father before bragging

• ABBA MUSIC 9 years ago

All your lands in Volta are mountains. Your lands are not fertile and it is infected with flies that cause blindness. Who in his mind will travel to Eweland to look for Land?

Akans are hospitable. we gave land to your ance ...

• Bernard 9 years ago

Hahahaaaaa..Akans no longer relevant in Ghana. If this is the case, they won't be making so much noise. Losers make noise only to draw attention in order to be saved. Get my point, Mr?

• Bernard 9 years ago

Hahahaaaaa..Akans no longer relevant in Ghana. If this is the case, they won't be making so much noise. Losers make noise only to draw attention in order to be saved. Get my point, Mr?

• Bernard 9 years ago

Yeah! Give us more of the vibes to debunk! Astute readers and even non-Ghanaians can discern then who are the problem: Ewes or you "these Akans".

Andy-K

• kOBENA KOBENA 9 years ago

Andy, is this long diatribe necessary? For better or worse, we all live in Ghana and have to learn to get along and live in harmony.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Can you, with all the knowledge you have acquired, tell us what you gained from coming out with this article? Look, I have been saying all along that it is the "well educated who stokes the embers of pure hate, tribalism and ...

Then what? You'd find out soon! This is just a warm up exercised to what's coming next in series.

As for Kofi Awoonor, his book was much distorted and lied about by "these Akans" like you.

So you "these Akans" can even ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

As I said earlier, you should grow past spilled milk. You should present yourself as a better guy than those who indulge in bigotry. What battle are you talking about? Are you going out to annihilate those you hate or cannot ...

C'mmon, I am nobody's child. I am a grown man. It is my peer group who are being buried one by one these days!

If you don't know how to deal with the mad men who constantly take your pioto when in the bathhouse, or spillin ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

I hope you will not walk in the shoes of Kofi Awoonor who was filled with hate of no proportion and imagine how he died. One day, we will close our eyes and the rest will be history.

You may as well go and advise a long dead piece of drenched wood.

This crazy and pyschotic man running buy and sell petty store in UK is worth less than that.

• Tobge the 2nd 9 years ago

This article is very offensive

• Boamah Gyamerah 9 years ago

One does not need to read the whole article to identify that the writer has a serious problem of accepting himself first as a human been, man, ewe, Ghanaian, West African and African. He will be helped if and only if he comes ...

• Bernard 9 years ago

Pelicles, any advice for Okoampah, Sarpong, Adofo etc. By the way, who sewed the seed of tribal hatred. Was it Awoonor before Victor Owusu?

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Can you tell me exactly what Victor said other than "Ewes are inward looking" and what forced him to make those infamous statement? Do you believe that Victor made that statement without someone saying something?

• Kofi Gyamera 9 years ago

This is a beautifully written-up piece. I could feel your anger through our your piece but it was appropriate and you were absolutely right to express your feelings. The good thing was that you did not displaced your anger. I ...

• DB 9 years ago

So you actually spent time reading this and this is what has opened your eyes! How pathetic, but I guess even the devil has followers so I'm not surprised this justice kpegah's fellow luni have people like you Kofi Gyamera su ...

• Sampson. Fovi 9 years ago

Expect the liars to hit back with lies, fabricated stories and with their typical violent abuses and insults instead of showing civility and scholarship in responding to your article. Nation wreckers!

• HON. SAM 9 years ago

I suspect you have an IQ of a donkey.

"......instead of showing civility and scholarship in responding to your article..."

Insult begets insult,and you expect what?

You stupid donkey!

Fovi, I am ready for them, with my monstrous, spikes-studdded club!:-)

The question they should be asking is whether I had written anything which is false?

Andy-K

• Owura Ntim 9 years ago

This is absolutely uncalled for. It is childish and it does not inspire progress. What did Andy Kwawukume get from this ranting? Comic relief r what Ghana needs something that unites this this rubbish

• KWAJO 9 years ago

U'RE FULL OF HATE AND VENOM FOR "THESE
    AKANS" TOO MUCH;PLS TAKE A DEEP BREATH, DRINK SOME WATER AND LET GO ELSE U'LL GET A HEART ATTACK

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Any educated person that is so riled up by silly comments on Ghanaweb to write this nonsense needs to have his head examined. The writer of this piece has only revealed his insecurity and pain to his imagined tormentors. What ...

• Bonney 9 years ago

Some people calling themselves intellectuals in Ghana are rewriting the history of this country. Per Andy's submission it tells you that our historians have misled for years.Again, envy no Ashanti man who claims he is educate ...

• AGBEVE... 9 years ago

AYOOOOOOO

• GAWUKO 9 years ago

Andy did you show your article to any Ewe for their comments before posting it? Of course you tried to speak for yourself on many occasions but as you put it "you dragged us all into the mud pit". Ghana has moved on since 195 ...

• Also Ewe 9 years ago

EGAWUKO, I agree with you Andy should have shown this article to a fellow Ewe or two before posting it. Indeed, he could even have shown it to some of his Akan friends to see their feedback.

One can have a good case but sp ...

• Kofi -Adu Bediako 9 years ago

Let us live in peace and harmony.with all men.for without that no one can see God.Ashantis, Ewes, Brongs.Dagombas,lets all try to get on with one another and build our nation.
    For some of us living outside Ghana,it is unfort ...

Stop your nonsense, trokosi idiot. Go steal another cat: that habitual thievery should calm you down.

Stop your nonsense,ashanti monkey idiot.Go push your mother into the street for prostitution:that habitual pratice should calm your foolishness down.

• Ghanas 9 years ago

Kwasea, go and see the smelly trokosi women at Tema harbour doing threesome with sailors and dogs like bastard Rawlings mother did to conceive him, you stupid trokosi incestuous son of a bitch.

Your 60+ whore is the queen mother of all ASHAWOS...why that dirty creature youcall mother stay with your bloody fool father?WOFA WOHO...

baby baboon, just calm down too.OK?

• Bolga STRONGMAN 9 years ago

BROTHERS,where is the real love,unity,brotherhood among us as GHANAIANS?.can't there be a little respect among us as just one people in a great country called GHANA?(Infact,we are living in a dangerous time,worldwild),let us ...

• Wilhelm Agbeli 9 years ago

Good God help this young man find his way home.
    I thought Okoampa Ahoofe was a bigot but this young Ayigbe lad is par excellence!

He must have been hurt so badly. Lord help him get over his hurt.

Andy May you get some ...

• Bolga STRONGMAN 9 years ago

let us all show some level of respect...can't we copy the lives of our market women who come from different backgrounds but sits side by side in peace/love & understandings to sell their wares.check lives in public schools an ...

• Eblotor meaning Ashanti 9 years ago

The are all fool whose refused to travel and learn. They cant stand criticisms they can only insult. GBEHAWO---BUSH PIGS ASHANTIS

• i and i 9 years ago

hahahah so Ewes travel? And what does travelling got to do with the nonsensical write-ups from lout loutish,brute beast, persona-non grata called Andy C.Y.I thought at his age he is sensible but not knowing that a goat is eve ...

• GIRLS SP 9 years ago

Will you DIRTY EWE, Andy C.Y. Kwawukume shut your silly deformed EWE MOUTH partially covering your amalgamated teeth!

• Kwame 9 years ago

Andy C.K. Kwawukume you are right on the score that Etroxovi religion was brought to Agave, Tornu and Anlo by the Adas, because in my family it is only the descendants of the Ada man in it that serves in that shrine. It is al ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Andy writes: "There are poor Ewes and there are poor Akans. There are educated and uneducated Ewes just as same for Akans. "
    These are just as true as saying 'there are bigoted Ewes and bigoted Akans'.
    In the face of the b ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

I wrote yesterday that it is only fascist who hate response to insults that they heap on others. For a long time Akan extreme tribalist starting from Prof. Kofi Abrefa Busia have caused a lot of injury to Ewhes. Those Akan tr ...

• Ebo 9 years ago

They are blessed with a good vegetation and climatic conditions other parts of the country are not blessed with, so they think those people are poor because they are lazy and should be insulted for their poverty and willingne ...

• Ugly Akufu Addo 9 years ago

They (npp) are trying to say that people are against Akans but Ashantis are bastard

• Ugly Akufu Addo 9 years ago

They are trying to bring the people to them

• akorli 9 years ago

we ewes are not soo proud as our asante/akan folks.

• Yaw Okodom 9 years ago

Hahahahaa... I know how it feels when your ethnic group is inferior. But did you have to come out this way. The Akans provide the lingua franca for Ghana. Every foreigner who comes to Ghana, leaves at least with the Twi Langu ...

listen to this baboon too...

• MINOR CASE 9 years ago

This is called Asante neo colonialism

• Bernard 9 years ago

Andy C. Y Kwawukume's onslaught has dazed 'These Akan' inbreds. This should have come long ago to put to rest ' These Akan' nonsense.

'These Akans' by nature are primitive and always indulge in criminality. As a result, ...

• Also Ewe 9 years ago

Amedzudzu metsor na ame yi na tefe adeke o!

• Amemakakpor 9 years ago

Mele megbe na mi.God bless you. If you need any help call us to support you. Enough is enough. Eva glo.Kwawukume ne koklo re gbea mia Anloawo miele AKPE dam na wo.

• Trokosi Chieftain 9 years ago

You are a tribal bigot! In your convoluted and depraved mind, Ewe insecurity and lack of development are due to Asante conspiracy.
    You're a fool and a depraved soul. Go back to your Trokosi village and help. Avu kokro!

listen to another ASHANTI MONKEY,can't you also think with your small head? BONOBO

• alandi 9 years ago

This sort of comment cannot just be the result of the little brouhaha about Mahama's Kumasi speech. It is the product of a long-felt hatred of Akans, that puts the writer in the camp of hate speech manufacturers. Rwanda's cas ...

Then my message is sinking in!

There will NEVER be another Ayigbe Jokes on JoyFm for the amusement of "these Akans" without serious repercussions when I am over.

As I've said, I am on the offensive now. Everything else ...

• James Bamfo 9 years ago

Andy-K, you must be above reproach. I'm shocked. Are you scared of unity? You sound very childish. I don't expect this write-up from you. You should fight to unify us.

I wonder what is happening to our PHD holders. Is this all they can do for mother Ghana with their PHD's? It used to be Okoampa and Akadu, and now Andy? Sad for Africa.

I HAPPEN TO KNOW ONE OF YOUR RELATIONS Prof.YAW KWAWUKUME OF KORLE BU.I PRAY HE MUST NOT SEE YOUR ARTICLE;OTHERWISE HE MAY CHANGE HIS NAME,HOW CAN A KWAWUKUME SINK SO LOW;SAY YOU ARE A"FAKE KWAWUKUME" AND ALL WILL BE FINE

• Bernard 9 years ago

Akpe nawo abe alesi ne xlo nu nam ene. Dormeveame eya tae. Mede kuku tornye medzor o. Ebluawo fe agbenono, alesi wo dzuna mi Eweawo eya tae. Ndor nawo.

• Also Ewe 9 years ago

Mese wo nya gome nyuie. Nye me susu be ele be miatsor amedzudzu ado amedzudzu tefe o, vevie to mia amesiwo nye ametsitsi abe Andy ene.

Xle nye nyanutidodo na Gawuko le yevugbe me na nya alesi mebu tso nya sia nuti.

Edo ...

• Bernard 9 years ago

He will be foaming at the mouth when he wakes up to read this. This is one response to so many of his maniac articles.

Andy, has already served notice for more to follow .

HE IS SERIOUSLY WARMING UP, AND WHEN HE IS READY, YOU DARE NOT BLINK!!SAA-YE-ooh

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

As a scholar, you should speak for all Ghanaians, not just for a group. Instead of instigating tribal or ethnic hatred, you should occupy yourself with messages of unity.
    Show yourself to be better than the bigots, my brothe ...

• Also Ewe 9 years ago

He has to show that he is better than the bigots, not adopt their methods and try to prove to them that he can beat them at their own game - of insults! What's the use of showing that you are better at insulting than those wh ...

SAS,

I know your track record and so I know where you are coming from.

And I am sure you know, as a scholar yourself, what a case study is, so you can deduce that I speak for all Ghanaians, not only Ewes and the segmen ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Nyebro Yao,

Good day.

Know that I have enjoyed reading this article.

You have no idea how long I have been waiting for this.

I hope we all learn from it.

We should begin that national conversation where we t ...

• ANDY-K 9 years ago

Nyebro Francis,

As I've exhausted the number I can post, I am writing one last direct response to you and others.

Folks, unlike what "these Akans" think and have been calling him trokosi too, Francis is a bonafide Asan ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

You have never been nice to any author who comes with such acerbic write-up to attack another group. You seem to be charitable to Andy-K, my own friend here. WHY?

And you call him a brother while you give it to Ahoofe all ...

• ANDY-K 9 years ago

Bcos he understood that I only sucked in to a narrow segment of Akans, not ALL AKANS, as some of you are trying to portray me. Those same people have been insulting him too, calling him trokosi and what not!

If I may ask ...

• Adam 9 years ago

There's no need to use common insults on anybody. And if you want to insult, do it with class. Yes, even insults have class and you need intelligence to do that. Crass insults as you have shown here do your reputation no good ...

• joe sala 9 years ago

Shut up all of you. You are all behaving like children. We black people as a sub race within the human race hate it with a vengeance when we are called all sorts of denigrating names and treated as inferior human beings. ...

• Kwame Sintim 9 years ago

Where has our "ashantiness", "eweness", etc got us to? The world is moving on and it is just a shame that we are stuck in the stone age. Move on, people!

• abra kuma 9 years ago

Enough Is Indeed Enough!

CY Andy Kwawukume, I bring you peace and love, and then some, my brother! Yours is a powerfully scathing essay that cannot be ignored. Like many of your readers, I feel deeply pained and frustrated ...

• kanawu 9 years ago

academicians preent facts
    to educate and not insults to provoke,
    i am very disappointed

• awesome seo 9 years ago

CirXRJ Thank you ever so for you blog article.Really thank you! Want more.

• canary wharf 9 years ago

mbxWMG Thanks a lot for the blog.Thanks Again. Really Cool.

• Corrlinks Login 9 years ago

kwjNma Very neat blog.Really thank you! Cool.

• Salwar suits 9 years ago

I really liked your blog.Much thanks again. Fantastic.

• Designer anarkali suits 9 years ago

I really liked your blog. Want more.

• jonn1 8 years ago

"Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I?ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!"