You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 03 14Article 303187

Corruption In Ghana

Read Comments Comments (29)

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Now this is the true picture of corruption in Ghana. Thanks for bringing this to the notice of we all hypocrites who cover our tracks to blame only the big boys. Corruption at the grass root is more costly and dangerous than ...

• Ghanaman1 10 years ago

Mahama is presiding over rampant corruption.

• don`t care!!! Hmmmm 10 years ago

Tweneboah-Koduah, Nana Akua!Hmmmm!you`re part of the problems face the nation...reason according 2 you....but if I want it seven days it will cost me 1,200 Ghana Cedis. Please don’t joke with this because it is a real story ...

• True Talk 8 years ago

Of course corruption is rife in Ghana, because the head is corrupt. The head therefore has no moral right to curb corruption because they are neck deep in it themselves.

• Kofican 10 years ago

Akua,

I know what you are talking about because I went through a similar situation about 3 years ago when I came home to work on my house in Sekondi.

One important fact you are forgetting about though, is that the poli ...

• Jonas Ababio 10 years ago

This is a true picture of what goes on in Ghana everyday.How can we change the situation? I am going to set up an anti-corruption non-governmental office,and encourage all Ghanaians to send reports on the corrupt practices of ...

• gretchy 10 years ago

ohh yes everything start at the bottom wrung,however it can be stamped out by the very people that vote those damn politicians into power.Power to the people.boycott,peaceful demonstrations,fair wages paid weekly.retailers wi ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Koku Anyidoho stop writing articles under this pen name. This is the extent of corruption going on under your Govt. What are you going to do about it? If you live in a glass house you don't throw stones.

• it takes courage 10 years ago

So what is your point Mr. writer? Should we also ok government corruption too?

• Been there 10 years ago

Corruption is pervasive, and has become an acceptable way of making money. A change in attitude is the answer. Perhaps, putting up signs saying "Thou shalt not steal" in government offices will do the trick. We should not exp ...

• papadoc 10 years ago

The point he is trying to make is that corruption in Ghana is a very entrenched cultural practice which affects every facet of Ghanaian life. If you live in it and breath it all your life this is all you will come to know. Th ...

• papadoc 10 years ago

The point he is trying to make is that corruption in Ghana is a very entrenched cultural practice which affects every facet of Ghanaian life. If you live in it and breath it all your life this is all you will come to know. Th ...

• papadoc 10 years ago

• dotse 10 years ago

God bless u for this article. its my hope that parliament will have notice of this article and do something about it. poor people are suffering, and the nation is losing millions of cedis every day, yet we don have schools, t ...

• papadoc 10 years ago

did not post

• Npp 10 years ago

Well done

• JAMREAH 10 years ago

TO START,LET US FORCE ALL THE INSTITUTIONS,MINISTRIES,ETC TO COMPUTERIZE THEIR OPERATIONS.IF YOU NEED A FORM OR INFO.JUST GO TO THEIR WEBSITE AND DOWNLOAD THE FORMS,COMPLETE THEM AND E-MAIL TO THE OFFICER-IN-CHARGE.THEY CANNO ...

• Eboga Naaba 10 years ago

These are indeed the cocroaches! They are even more difficult to weed out than the "Big Fish". The anger of the community should be directed at these. Shame on them! They "lost" my car papers at the DVLA Weija branch because ...

• Adipa Kwodwo 10 years ago

This is a true picture of corruption in little places in Ghana. We all have experienced it in one way or another. The truth is corruption big or small is detrimental to society. To add to Nana’s analysis, The government off ...

• Kalahariman 10 years ago

Corruption in Ghana can be stopped by the citizens who see the corruption. Next time this happens to anyone, turn your cell phone voice recorded on. If you don't have the app, download it. Make the conversation available to t ...

• Kwame Asem 10 years ago

the person you are going to report this to is more CORRUPT than the person who has been recorded. The person to be reported is just going to bribe the person who needs to take action. We need a 100 years.

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

"As a result, many low level officials in governmental institutions and agencies who daily rob citizens of Ghana for services rendered are left off the hook."

If that is what you think, the fact is, you either lack insight ...

• AKWELE 10 years ago

Everyone has to decide not to be a part of it. If I give and you do not take, or if you give and I do not take, it will cut down bribery and corruption tremendously.If two people are caught and punished, it will also work. ...

• Clarence 10 years ago

I don't think it will be a difficult task to eradicate corruption in Ghana. I believe that we as a nation will need to have the will power to introduce effective and efficient legislations and institutions whose staff and tho ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

I WILL LIKE YOUR HEADS OF ALL STATE INSTITUTIONS TO READ THIS PIECE SEVERAL TIMES FOR THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE TRUTH. ALL THAT THIS LADY STATED HAPPENED TO ME. DVLA AGORO BOYS HAVE PEOPLE THEY WORK FOR. ALL THE MONEY END UP IN TH ...

• HAZOR 10 years ago

All those taking bribes are government appointees and who did they work for?If you have taking bribe to change the perspertives and perspicacious of Ghanaians it wount wash.As far as government is concent the obvious true.Did ...

• HAZOR 10 years ago

Boy,there is no where on this planet that building permit are issue for free.The permit free involve are use to run the day to day administration of the assembly and as they are semi- autonomus fully don't depend on the gover ...

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Are you shocked. Go to Prampram district assembly and see for yourself. The same thing is happening there. If you do not pay,no permit will be issued. you have to pay money to evey person who works on your permit document. fr ...