You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 02 02Article 299411

IMANI & NGOs cannot bite the hands that feed them

Read Comments Comments (33)

• Kpengson Ray 10 years ago

Spot on! IMANI your reaction? I bet you have none. You make too much noise and achieve so very little. You are even suspected of veering into politics. Shut up!

• Karaka Pentoa 10 years ago

IMANI does a lot of critical analyses and thinking. You don't see it because of your colored and tinted lenses. It is very obvious to everyone that you are living in a fools heaven with your reference to Nkrumah who was overt ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

For the first time a crucial and potent article on Ghanaweb on the fast waning state of the nation. Needless to say, the title was apt and the criticism in the substance of the article spot-on.

I myself have had a few disc ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

One day, this young boy and his Grandfather were fishing in a boat out on a lake. The Grandfather pulls out a beer from his cooler and starts drinking it. The boy asks “Grandpa, can I have one of those?” Grandpa replies, ...

• Tweaa 10 years ago

This article has no head or tail. the writer obviously is struggling for a non-existent recognition. infact this article makes no sense at all. speculations galore. copy and paste article. is it the responsibility of govt to ...

• KIA 10 years ago

"Is it the responsibility of govt to alleviate poverty or IMANI?"

That's a very important question you've asked, one that all of us, including the civil society oragisations (CSO), must ponder over. But to answer your ques ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Its only a fool who will think that its only government who is responsible to alleviate poverty.
    KIA, u are a stupid fool to have that thinking.

• KIA 10 years ago

Sadly, the ignorant are often the first to hurl insults in a debate. As to whose brain is dead, I leave readers to judge!

Given that I wrote in very simple English, I suspect you have a problem with logic. I stated that t ...

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

KIA, it's a shame Joe didn't see the sense in your commentary.

• STEVOOO 10 years ago

what at all is wrong with this animal called joe....govt controls taxes etc to run the nation which includes job creation and also includes creating the enabling environment for business growth...so stupid joe, tell me in whi ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

NGOs are simply akin to the Free Syrian Army or the Libyan rebel Army/Govt.

From nowhere and with dubious qualifications and experience, they are massively funded by global imperialism to subvert the nationalist agenda of ...

• KOFI OF AFRICA 10 years ago

kia,

My point is imani and other NGOs have not analysed properly the fundamental causes of Ghana's social, cultural, economic and political failures.

That this is because they will not bite the foreign hands that feed ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Stupid Fool. What do u mean by courageous ppl whilst they can't use their heads to contribute to the development of the nation?
    Stupid fools like u should shut up and not be commenting on issues in the public domain. Asshole ...

• Samson 10 years ago

Bravo. Kofi, you have hit the nail right on the head. We as a country are not going anywhere so long as we continue on the path of the IMF-SAP modules, closely monitored by the likes of IMANI.

• STEVOOO 10 years ago

massa, common sense is common sense and it does not matter whether it came from imani, ndc, npp, ngo, or xyz.....what imani puts out there analytically is very commonsensical and i dont need what motivated them to put it out ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Hear this fool who call himself Stevoo making mockery of himself. Shut up with your poor English,and learn.
    What do u know about the operations of think tanks and ngo's?

• STEVOOO 10 years ago

foolish joe, english isnt my language but common sense tells me that common sense isnt common to stupid fools like u who cant stand the truth....ngo or no ngo, common sense is common sense...if a ruling govt messes up big tim ...

STEVOOD,

I have not said IMANI has not spoken some truths. My point is they have not analysed properly the fundamental causes of Ghana's social, cultural, economic and political failures.

That this is because they will ...

• Asuo-Amponsah 10 years ago

Client as well- the NPP! And that Cudjoe,the outfit`s founder, has really hurt the group.

• EMMA 10 years ago

IMANI, led by their extra large mouth Cudjoe, is an affilliate group of the NPP. Everyone knows about that in Ghana, so nobody should decieve us. Those who are sponsoring this Cudjoe and his group are only throwing their mone ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

To say that IMANI is an NPP affiliate is over-simplifying the matter. I really do not think that they are necessarily of NPP stock. They surely think alike but they are both playing their own separate games in the 'Boys Quart ...

Kponyo,

You have made the most coherent contribution to this debate so far.

You most profound quote is, 'pathetic illusion that NGOs are funded by our slave and colonial 'masters' to help us improve our conditions of li ...

• KIA 10 years ago

Kofi, I hope you have a thick skin. Prepare for insults and accusations of enviousness from the acolytes and assigns of some of these civil society groups.

However, even for someone who is equally critical of what I call ...

KIA,

I suggest you post on Ghanaweb and ModernGhana. Ghana/Africa needs courageous, youthful, refreshing, effervescent, clinical social critics like you.

Apparently the most well-viewed social-political programme is JO ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Rao concludes, ‘In the long run, NGOs are accountable to their funders, not to the people they work among.’ It has everything in it

YES.

• Kwame 10 years ago

The problem with Africa/Ghana arises because of corruption, greed and arrogance of the few, along with being academically educated to a state where reality doesn't exist, plus people in general are not honest with themselves ...

Kwame,

I agree with everything you have written here.

I suggest if both the NDC-NPP have been given 2 terms of office and have nothing to show for it - except selling everything Dr. Nkrumah's CPP bequeathed Ghana - sure ...

• Azaato 10 years ago

How can an organisation that receives funding from the Heritage Foundation, Cato Institute, American Enterprise Institute and host of other several right wing foundations, afford to critise, its benefactors? Indeed, IMANI has ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Azaato, how can a country that has been consistently undermined into a state of dysfunction and that subsists on foreign charity, succeed on what some of you call 'market solutions'?

A pauper who attempts to do business wi ...

EXCELLENT QUESTION.

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

Well, it's where IMANI, NGOs and other Think Tanks obtain their source of funding which determine their agenda. This sometimes undermine their credibility. In most cases, such think tanks are ideologically driven or are propa ...

HOW GHANA'S INTELLECTUALS ARE BANKRUPT

Compatriots,

I think Ghana's 'intellectuals' are largely bankrupt in ideas for these reasons:

Apparently the most well-viewed social-political programme is JOY TV Newsfile. N ...