You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 12 31Article 296571

A Message from a death bed at Korle Bu

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Linda 10 years ago

A very sad & pathetic country. There's no hope for Ghana when you have uncaring people working in healthcare & heartless & greedy people leading the nation.

• Fernando 10 years ago

No wonder people will even kill to enable them become MPs.We are silently courting another revolution if these politicians continue to treat us this way..

• manchester 10 years ago

DO HESE POLITICIANS CARE? ABSOLUTELY NO. WHEN THEY GET SICK STRAIGHT TO ABROAD FOR TREATMENT.

• kofi 10 years ago

we have reduced ourselves to stupid tribalism when issues of politics and governance come up...instead of looking to question leadership on these things, all we do is whether some one is an akan or not pr whether he is npp or ...

• Mark (UK) 10 years ago

Beema,
    Mo ne kasa.

• Opanin 10 years ago

Ghanaians have allowed the situation to reach this despicable state we find ourselves.

An empty barrel called JJ Rawlings - a man of no substance, a thug with no managerial skills to run even a barber shop - violently ove ...

• Marting 10 years ago

Partisanship of Asantes like yourself is the reason we are going no where. You complain of tribalism but ended up doing worse than those you accuse. Asantes are more tribalistic than Ewes. Ewes are working with other tribes i ...

• Erick 10 years ago

Massa, its sad you have easily found a way to bring tribalism into this article, the typical African way as usual is look for an easy way out or scape goat somebody and the issue is resolved.

A cursory analysis of the pro ...

• CITIZEN 10 years ago

I've read this article with the conviction that, all is not lost for Ghana, and that at least there are a few who care about our situation. I commend you for hitting the nail right on the head. As to whether our politicians ...

• DAN 10 years ago

GHANA MUST VOTE LIKE AMERICA..SO EVEN LOCAL KMA,AMA CAN BE FROM DIFFERENT PARTY.. EACH REGION SHOULD HAVE GOVENOR..SCHOOL BOARDS FOR EACH REGION OR LARGE CITYS MUST BE VOTE ON NOT APPOINTED

• Anana 10 years ago

The very people who were lucky to be educated, some of them free by Nkrumah's educational system, who are supposed to use their knowledge to help build Ghana are the very people who duping the country. Could you imagine a pre ...

• Akwesi 10 years ago

gold chain kufuor. If people like these rule the country for 8 years what do you expect.

• NO NAME LIKE "AKWESI" IN AKAN. 10 years ago

AKWESI MAY BE A TROKOSI NAME BUT I DOUBT. NO CORRUPTION IN GHANA EXCEEDS THE NDC'S WELL PLANNED "CREATE LOOT AND SHARE" WHICH HAS COST GHAN TRILLIONS OF CEDIS AND PLUNGED GHANA INTO ACUTE POVERTY. THE PEPEFUO/TROKOSI ALLIANCE ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

The gold chain cost less than the cost of Mahamas holiday in Dubai

• Akwesi 10 years ago

HOW MANY TRIPS DID KUFUOR MAKE AROUND THE GLOBE IN 8 YEARS WITH TAX PAYERS MONEY?

• Raymond 10 years ago

Kwaku, this is a good one.I wish we all can think and realize that it is time for all of Us to unite with one voice to fight corruption in Ghana.how long can we continue like this? The topic for this last quarter has been on ...

• THEWHO 10 years ago

u live to see such and ur contribution with such great. u are in US , outside the nation contribute as well by donation, tell ur story to organisations or lobby 4 assistance to help the next

• OKOE 10 years ago

THE PROBLEM IS THAT WHEN OUR POLITICIANS ARE SICK, THEY ARE CARED FOR OVERSEAS, AS SUCH THEY DO NOT GO THROUGH WHAT YOU JUST DESCRIBED. IF THEY WERE TO PATRONISE OUR HEALTH CENTRES, THEN THERE WOULD BE SOMEONE TO FIGHT FOR CH ...

• kwesi 10 years ago

Please, show leadership and start organizing people for the said March or demonstration. Thanks

• Alhaji Brutus 10 years ago

there are more s,u,v or4x4 cars in ghana than in germany under dramani,s govt.

• yaa 10 years ago

when politicians enrich their pockets and a nurse with 30 years of work goes home with nothing.We have decided not to talk.It is going to get worse.when docs are made to operation in theatres with no A/C and old instruments i ...

• APA 10 years ago

WHY CANT WE ALL UNITE AND BE LIKE THE EGYPTIANS.REVO, REVO.

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Thank you Dr Kwaku A Danso.This is the most highly motivated article I have read.They talk,talk and talk shit,critise, critise and critise shit without offering tangible solutions.Only their pot belly and crook-crony's is the ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

An old preacher was dying at Korle Bu. He sent a message for his IRS agent and his Lawyer (both church members), to come to his home. When they arrived, they were ushered up to his bedroom. As they entered the room, the preac ...

• kofi 10 years ago

HOW 20 OF PEOPLE LIPO AND I WILL TAKE POSTS IN GOVT AS MINISTERS TO JUST WORK ON THESE AREAS WITHOUT PAY FOR 1 YEAR ONLY!!! I AM PREPARED TO DO THAT. HOW CAN A PRESIDENT GO ROUND LOOKING AT ROAD CONSTRUCTION? FOR WHAT? WHEN H ...

• kofi 10 years ago

NOW 20 PEOPLE LIKE U AND I WILL TAKE POSTS IN GOVT AS MINISTERS TO JUST WORK ON THESE AREAS WITHOUT PAY FOR 1 YEAR ONLY!!! I AM PREPARED TO DO THAT FOR GHANA!!!. HOW CAN A PRESIDENT GO ROUND LOOKING AT ROAD CONSTRUCTION OR CO ...

• Donkra 10 years ago

3 years ago, on Christmas Eve, I was admitted to the CRH Cape Coast. After 12 midnight, no nurse was found in the male ward till 6.30am the next day. So many sick and dying old men cried throughout the night for help, but no ...

• Benash 10 years ago

Dr. Kwaku Danso, once again thank you for all the eye catching articles and insights you share on Ghanaweb.
    The sad thing is that our so called leaders as you stated don't care enough and the citizenry's lackadaisical attitu ...

• Bumbebo London 10 years ago

Sometimes, l want to organize a popular re-organization, not Rawlings so-called revolution of a hungry man, and lead my people to a holy standard!! The time is running nigh! I am coming home!! We shall break no bone, we'll do ...

• Akpaklika Mewua Lo Ode 10 years ago

I hope you are sincere, I actually educated and led my people to believe in the principles of probity and accountability only to be dissappointed by colleague students who were cheating their fellow colleagues to satisfy thei ...

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

Dr Danso observed "beautiful clean hospitals, the factories making products for our retail stores, the initial beginning or our Tema township, the Harbor, the Motorway, our beautiful high schools and premier Universities with ...

• london yao 10 years ago

what have you done for Ghana yourself.you would probably be worse than the politicians.we nead to let our institutions work ,so everybody will be scared if we are not doing the right thing.humans are not angels

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

The good things Dr. Danso mentioned were made to be because of the legacy and mentality the white man had just left with us and its effects lingering on.Now we have built our own legacy and mentality and the results are what ...

• Joe Durex.. 10 years ago

I hope the useless blood suckers who go by the name NDC and NPP will read this article and take note. Ghana needs a real revolution without the army because they are worse.All the old and new politicians should be sent to pr ...

• Akpaklika Mewua Lo Ode 10 years ago

Perhaps it is the inaction of those who should act and the indifference of those whose actions matter that have made inefficiency and abysmal governance the irder of the day.

Ghanafuo, let us rise and support this call bef ...

• Alfred Aruk 10 years ago

Kwaku eei, this is Ghana n this is wht Ghana has. Do u mean to say no one dies in a health facility in developed countries where u n pple like u die hard to travel to. To hell with ur unneccesary comparism n criticism. Haba.. ...

• Amarboi 10 years ago

This is about quality of life and the appalling state of affairs in hospitals in Ghana, including a teaching hospital like Korle-Bu, and not about settling for less because "this is Ghana".

Of course, people die in health ...

• YAA 10 years ago

YOU SEE WE NEED TO IMPROVE UPON OUR SERVICES, ATTITUDE AND ALL BUT DO YOU KNOW THAT IN THE US WHERE THE WRITER IS FULL OF PRAISES ARE THE WORST OFFENDERS: MIXING UP BABIES, OPERATING ON WRONG LIMBS, COMMITTING MEDICAL BLUNDER ...

• NEAY 10 years ago

my sis. you have missed the point.

• Rachel 10 years ago

Yaa, you're a complete naive and utter idiot! Did you read the article well before spewing such rubbish? Are you comparing the healthcare system of the US to zongo ghana?

• PRINCE STONE 10 years ago

I WILL NEVER STOP SAYING THIS...CAN THE LEADERS OF THIS COUNTRY SELL THE COUNTRY AND THEN GIVE ME MY SHARE SO I CAN MOVE FROM HERE AND GO AND STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE...PLEASE SELL THE COUNTRY AND GIVE ME MY SHARE

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Bravo youngman;crooks/corrupt azan politicians sell GHANA and give Prince Stone his share,save 15.60% for late our grandma

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Re-THE 15.60% SHOULD BE DEPOSITED INTO OFF-SHORE ACCOUNTS CODE:AD 1957

• Narh Kofi - U.S.A 10 years ago

This is not a new story, it has been so for more than 2 decades. The ministers don't care, because they will never go there when they are ill. They go to check-up out side the country - Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo-Addo

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

True and sad as in individual's (or many individuals') story is when their loved one falls ill and is hospitalised in a run-down hospital such as Korle-Bu, it is equally sad to hear blanket condemnation of our health service ...

• Erick 10 years ago

A good one

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Erick, interesting you picked this up, I realised so myself after posting it. I've copied it and will edit it for a feature article in the next day or 2. Thanks

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• Zaman555 10 years ago

Ghanaian leadership has priorities all screwed up. Our Medical Facilities should have the best support in terms of Power and Sanitary standards. Caring for the Ghanaian citizens needs to be first. Our health is more importan ...

• NEAY 10 years ago

thank you master.

• Seth 10 years ago

Yes indeed unless we tell our leaders what they should do for mother Ghana they would bring Ghana to a stand still. We need leaders with the spirit and character of Kwame Nkrumah, Nelson Mandela, and the like. The nation whic ...

• Komi Adickah 10 years ago

Sir, you are right we have being taken for fools too long, the constitution really needs to change as power is concentrated in one man who does everything without check from anywhere, the next issue is decentralization all or ...

• Yaw Frimpong-Manso 10 years ago

It has always been bad at the medical facilities in Ghana. The story outside Accra is even worse.

But don't blame only the government. Apathy among workers is a deadly cancer and no amount of resources poured in will fix t ...