You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 12 30Article 296496

What Actually Caused the NPP's Electoral Defeat in 2012?

Read Comments Comments (93)

• kofi 10 years ago

NDC TRIBALIZED EVERY ISSUE AND TURNED ALL OTHER TRIBES AGAINST AKANS AND THE FANTIS ALSO PLAYED ALONG...SO U COULD HEAR ASIEDU NKETIA AND JOHN MAHAMA SERIOUSLY PLAYING THE TRIBAL CARD AGAINST THE NPP....QUESTION IS THAT DO WE ...

• gq 10 years ago

"listen solomon nkansah and his concert comments and listen to allotey jacobs similarly" with comments like this any wonder they don't vote for your NPP?

• kofi 10 years ago

npp is always business-minded whilst the ndc is the exact opposite...ndc are rather so full of pleasing the crowd with propaganda even if its unproductive and full of lies....ever head of IF ITS A SHEEP SAY ITS A COW AND IF I ...

• gq 10 years ago

I am not sure you fully understand or appreciate the inner workings of the political system in the so-called "advanced" countries. This diatribe is not necessary, only and only when NPP learns to relate to other tribes will t ...

• kofi 10 years ago

gq, all we need is economic survival and productive governance to create a condusive environment for business growth and we dont care whether it comes from npp or ndc as long as ghanaians live in dignity and comfort,,,,,not t ...

• Kondua 10 years ago

Have you asked yourself why the NDC doesn't win in Ashanti and Eastern Regions? Does it mean the NDC doesn't relate well in both regions? Do you honestly believe that the NDC loves Volta and Northern Regions? Let's not play t ...

• kofi 10 years ago

JOHN MAHAMA IS OBVIOUSLY INSENSITIVE TO THE NEEDS OF KAYAYEIS,,,,,,HE SIMPLY DOES NOT CARE HENCE GYEEDA, SADA, SUBAH, WATERVILLE, ETC ETC...I always cringe when I see these vulnerable girls from the north sleeping in front of ...

• ALHAJI SMART. KSI 10 years ago

It is very easy to talk bla, bla, bla and blame everything under this earth but the facts still remain that nothing, absolutely nothing can change you Ashantis. Konadu, you are talking bullshit that people voting on tribal li ...

• Kondua 10 years ago

Alhaji Smart, you are very pathetic. It's clear you have a very low self esteem so I won't waste my time on you if you don't believe in yourself. I only said the truth but very typical of a shallow mind, you chose to rain ins ...

• Okponglo Guy 10 years ago

The NPP must make it an issue of competence

• Ellis 10 years ago

NPP came to power and made Asante Hene Ghana and you thought that was no offense to other tribes? Dont you think a Fante, Ga, Akuapim, Bono, Ewe or any Northnern Chief would also love to be portrayed as Ghana Hene?

WHat ab ...

• Kofi-J 10 years ago

NONSENSE WHO ARE THE COMPETENT ONES IN THE NPP? PREZ K4 AND HIS STEALING COHORTS LIKE SEKYI-HUGHES, KEN DAMPAH, KT HAMMOND, KEN AGYEPONG, AMONG OTHERS ARE THE COMPETENT ONES? NONSENSE!

• gq 10 years ago

Kondua, I read your piece with a lot of interest for two reasons. Firstly, it is devoid of insults which all of us can learn to do on this forum. Secondly, you did put forth logical thinking in your argument which I appreciat ...

• Kondua 10 years ago

I totally agree with all the things you said except your last paragraph. Many people are quick to point accusing fingers on others for insults, but if you critically analyze this phenomenon, you will realize that tribal insul ...

• gq 10 years ago

"I remember Rawlings referencing people from Central Region with cats and neatness in one of his speeches to the people. Of course the chiefs were angry but do you hear anybody reminding him?"

Kondua, NDC was punished twic ...

• kofi 10 years ago

MDC PLAYED THE TRIBAL CARD JUST TO WIN ELECTIONS BUT LOOK AT THEM NOW,,,,TOTAL MESS TOTAL MESS PAAAAAAAA ide biiii kekeke...and they continue to play that card...listen solomon nkansah and his concert comments and listen to a ...

• kofi 10 years ago

MDC PLAYED THE TRIBAL CARD JUST TO WIN ELECTIONS BUT LOOK AT THEM NOW,,,,TOTAL MESS TOTAL MESS PAAAAAAAA ide biiii kekeke...and they continue to play that card...listen to solomon nkansah and his concert comments and listen t ...

• NPP Jimifo 10 years ago

when nana addo said y3 akan fo, what was he doing.
    remove the wax in your ears

when nana addo said y3 akan fo, what was he doing.
    remove the wax in your ears

• Kondua 10 years ago

What do you understand by "yen Akanfuo"? What is wrong in saying "we Dagombas", "we Kusasis", "we Ewes", "we Fantes", "we Asantes" or "we Krobos"? Stop being petty and argue sensibly. Did he say Akans should vote for him beca ...

• peace 10 years ago

iam sure you do not have the capacity analyze any issue and all that you can do is to blame others or the great NDC. i pity you and your tribal party

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

My friend, the simple fact is that eve if God Almighty became the leader of the NPP in the North and Volta, He would lose. The NDC has used propaganda to divide gullible Akans in the Western and Central Regions! The Mills fac ...

• Kofi Ameko 10 years ago

Some Akans are easy to buy?

• Another stupid fool 10 years ago

If you will remember,I bought your entire family for 1 GH cedi

• Big Kojo T 10 years ago

I don't know what your faith inclinations are but please stop blaspheming God's name. I strongly believe: 1. The NDC used the Electoral Commissioner to rig the elections. (4 or 5 sets of pink sheets with their own figures; t ...

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Thanks Big Kojo T for your brief but insightful information to at least the ignoramus who still believe NDC did win the 2012 election.

Look at the followings they NDC enjoys and you will agree with the bible that 'for the ...

• Floating Voter 10 years ago

Big Kojo T your argument about the election petition and the SC judges is long dead and burried so please get over it.

• saint oz 10 years ago

rubbish and rubbish to the highest heaven

• KUTRIKU 10 years ago

TWO MAIN REASONSFOFR THE NPP'S DEFEAT
    SPOILED BALLOT PAPERS IN THE NPP STRONGHOLD AND POLLING AGENT NOT DISCHARGING THEIR DUTIES WELL "BECAUSE THEY WERE NOT WELL RESOURCED". SOME WERE "BRIBED" BY THE NDC TO REPORT INCORRECT ...

• john 10 years ago

"Was the defeat due to Nana Addo's "All die be die" and "Y3n Akanafoo" comment which was misconstrued by the NDC propagandists?"

How did the NDC propagandists misconstrue Nana Addos' statement? Did he not say that? As a p ...

• The truth 10 years ago

That is the fact my bro. tell them again

• Kondua 10 years ago

You have just confirmed that elections in Ghana is a contest of tribes, but I want to assure you that no condition is permanent. Just as the NDC never thought of losing in 2000 and NPP in 2008, power will surely change hands. ...

• Kofi Ameko 10 years ago

You want people to vote for people you called thieves and corrupt?

Answer.

Kofi Ameko

• Okatakyie Kwasi 10 years ago

Perception of Arrogance of Leadership and Members of NPP
    About 22% of the respondents raised the issue of perceived arrogance of the leadership and Flag-Bearer of the NPP and cited it as a reason for not appealing to the Gh ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Katakyie, Happy New Year in advance. First, I think if you are interested in finding out why NPP lost the 2012 Presidential Election, then you (as well as NPP) MUST separate it from the Petition. The two are different and bot ...

• John 10 years ago

All the factors may be relevant but you forgot one important factor: Demographics and its very rapid changes. the nature, interests and attitudes of the Ghanaian populace has changed quite dramatically. Everyone has become se ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Kofi, Happy New Year in advance to you. I agree with your general comments and in particular your suggestion about what political parties and students can learn from the recent electoral history of Ghana.

The survey result ...

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

Mr Amuna, Okatakyie attempted to make a long list of reasons but you will agree with me that its somehow hypocritical. Why? Because Okatakyie should have started with self introspection of how he himself view other tribes tha ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Nana Addo launched a very bad campaign in terms of communication and strategy.The Npp communication team performed poorly .In 2010 when the Ivorian crisis started,Nana Addo and Npp took a very bad stance as against the wish o ...

• The truth 10 years ago

this Okatakyie or whatever he calls himself is one of the reasons NPP lost. Go and read your write up about Northerners on your blog before u pontificate to Ken Agyepong and others.

• Abongo 10 years ago

As for this NPP Akan party, when will you guy just forget about this electorial defeat Haba what a tribal party

If u cared to know. Some of the thrash you wrote about Northerners caused most of them to vote against NPP.

• FLOATING VOTER. 10 years ago

They pretend not to know the cause of their defeat !Continue to pretend not to know."2016 is just at the door steps.

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

factor 1.
    the backyard and stoffs of akuffu addo himself

factor 2.
    very bad , poor and arrogance comunicators- the likes of samy Awuku titus globa, john kuma ,ursla owusu, etc were the main problems of akuffu addo

f ...

• Akoto Alston 10 years ago

Pure and simple my brother. They think the more they insult the more we applaud them becos they think we live in a jungle. Useless people.they dont train intelligent youth only insulting youth.

factor 1.

factor 2.
    very bad , poor and arrogance comunicators- the likes of samy Awuku titus globa, john kuma ,ursla owusu, etc were the main problems of akuffu addo

f ...

• Obournana 10 years ago

It is not the NDC that play tribalism but the utterances of NPP leaders and their followers. Kuffour won because Ghanaians needed a change after 19 years of Rawlings rule. NPP won in 2004 because they stole the election which ...

factor 1.

factor 2.

f ...

• Obournana 10 years ago

It is not the NDC that play tribalism but the utterances of NPP leaders and their followers. Kuffour won because Ghanaians needed a change after 19 years of Rawlings rule. NPP won in 2004 because they stole the election which ...

factor 1.

factor 2.

f ...

factor 1.

factor 2.

f ...

• BAAKO 10 years ago

npp is dead forever, there is no way npp will ever get the chance to win presidential election in Ghana, unless, they change their political ideology. everyone in Ghana knows npp belongs to Ahsntes. Kofour won the 2001 and 20 ...

• Another stupid fool 10 years ago

That stupid man Rawlings has destroyed Ghana for his tribal posture...Now,all tribes seem to envy Ashantes.............Ashantes will forever be powerful in Ghana because it is something God has written ....But,for some Ewes ...

• kofi 10 years ago

AKANS OR NO AKANS NDC WILL LOSE NEXT ELECTIONS BCOS THE THIEVERY AND CORRUPTION ARE TOO MUCH AND EVEN A KID KNOWS JOHN MAHAMA IS UNABLE TO FIND HIS WAY IN GOVERNANCE....GHANA IS NOW SO POOR COS OF JOHN MAHAMA AND HIS CORRUPTI ...

• Preacher 10 years ago

Every body should keep silent to their request. Let them keep fighting amongst themselves till 2030 or whatever. They want answeres they will never get it.

• Kwame Addo 10 years ago

Really, NPP as a party does not want to come to power, the reason being that after losing two general elections, the first thing the party should have done was to sit down, access the causes of the defeat before thinking abou ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

When we complained about the derogatory utterances many NPP members and some of the Leaders in the Party made about other Tribes as being detrimental to the Party's image and chances, we were vilified by some in the Party who ...

• Cee 10 years ago

Words of wisdom

• Thief Mahama 10 years ago

Isn't PNC made up fully of northerners? What about NDC? Majority of which are Ewes and Northerners so if the majority of NPP are Akan,what is the big deal??? Inferiority complex is killing Ghanaians

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

You surely don't get it. Do you? Even if your claim that PNC is majority Northerners, it does not carry the burden of notoriety as a Northerners-only Party. We all agree that the majority of Ewes would vote NDC and surely so ...

• Thief Mahama 10 years ago

JJ has destroyed Ghana with his divisive tribal posture...Kuffour's government was for all tribes...What do we see now in this Thief man's government? Ghanaians are wise enough and not to eat the negative propaganda of tribal ...

• Abuakwa Bob Marley 10 years ago

I hope they listen to you.

Excellent comments. I am curious to learn how the Brits made everyone feel inclusive. The Labor party did so but how did the Conservative Party end up appealing to minorities? I don't think they have.

G.K. what is you ...

• Son of Man 10 years ago

Happy New Year GK. I have said it time and time again that elections in Ghana are for the NPP for the taking. They would win every election on silver plater the day NPP die hards would understand politics and democracy and re ...

• john 10 years ago

If the NPP will ever have any chance, figures such as Gabby and others who think that Nana Addo must be president at all cost needed to be reined in; up till now this is not happening. Kuffuor won the elections in 2000 beca ...

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

G.K. Berko I duff my hart off for your comment. Excellent but will the NPP take it knowing their buffalo stance.

• Kuoro 10 years ago

Members of NPP themselves do and say things that undermind the party and its leaders and NDC being good propagandist use it effectively in its campaign. Let Us mind our utterances no matter the differences and solve the probl ...

• asonaba kofi 10 years ago

i honestly believe that when the drug allegations were made nana addo should have come out and admit that it happened in his school days as obama and clinton did to put the matter to bed.people understand that when you are yo ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

I have always said the élection pétition by NPP was stupid.Now you want to know why you lost the 2012 élections.Well,that's what you should have done
    earlier instead of going to the Suprême Court.

• Floating Voter 10 years ago

Exactly BOY KOFI. The long list Okatakyie wrote was mainly asking why the NPP lost the elections at the poll.Was the petition waste of time?

• Kwaku Manu 10 years ago

This Katakyie guy is so stupid. He is making a fool of himself and I suggest he finds something useful to do with his time. He is not analytical and always shoot from the hip. People like him make NPP unattractive.

• kofi 10 years ago

u can hate akans all u can but they will keep prospering butubutu....envy and hatred for akans will kill u all.....ghana is going downhill and all u think about is tribalism....hahahaheheheheheee....ndc will lose next electio ...

• KELEVE KORMI 10 years ago

why God blessing kufour? for what? look at you!!!

• Dumega Prosper Jnr. 10 years ago

Why should Ewes and Gas be killed in the Ashanti region before that lilliputian and oldish odikro from the Akyem enclave of nana Addo Dankwa becoming a president of Ghana!!! He has no sense of judgement to rebuke such a nonse ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• PKK 10 years ago

I JUST DON'T LIKE THE NPP BECAUSE OF ITS LEADERS' ARROGANCE. SIR JOHN, SAMMY AWUKU, NANA ADDO HIMSELF, URSULA OWUSU, JOHN KUMA, TITUS GLOVER, AMONG OTHERS.

• kofi 10 years ago

heheheheeee,haaahahahaaaa....jealousy go shame because who JAH BLESS, NO ONE CURSE......AKANS ALL THE WAY...

• PKK 10 years ago

NANA WILL NEVER BE A PREZ IN GHANA. MARK IT ON THE WALL. HE WILL CONTEST 100 TIMES AND LOOSE 100 TIMES. SIMPLE! HE SHOULD JUST BACK OFF.

• FLOATING VOTER. 10 years ago

Katachie,
    What do you say too, if you were in Ghana during the election ?The many dog chain sellers were unable to carry out their double,tripple and quadruple voting.And as long as the biometric voting subsists,Npp and it's ...

• kofi 10 years ago

no wonder akans flourish easily bcos people like floating voter spent precious time envying and jealousing akans instead of doing something productive to better their lot like akans are always doing....stupid hatred will kill ...

1. Read Kondua's comment above and then follow up with these..

2. The NDC has played the tribal card to their advantage. The NPP must counter that. The NPP must play the competence card.

3. All politics is local. I ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

The answer to your question is in your objectivity. Can you admit that Mills gave the whole Ghana much needed projects? You can't. so you won't find the answer

I am curious to know so tell me.

1. Read Kondua's comment above and then follow up with these..

2. The NDC has played the tribal card to their advantage. The NPP must counter that. The NPP must play the competence card.

3. All politics is local. I repe ...

• peace 10 years ago

the baggage of kuffour alone is too heavy for william addo dankwa to carry. you better ask him to shut up.

• Jojo Hammond, New Jersey 10 years ago

Katakyie, did you "misspeak" when you wrote "Unfortunately, Dr. Arthur Kennedy's revelations in his book entitled; "Chasing the Elephant into the Bush" was treated with the contempt that it deserved"?. If it was unfortunate, ...

• TEE 10 years ago

NPP STILL CAN'T UNDERSTAND AND STOP BOTHERING AND QUESTIONING AND BEATING THEIR MIND WHAT WENT WRONG. THE ANSWER IS NANA ADDO WON AND THE JUDGES RIG FOR NDC BCOS NORTHERNERS AND VOLTARIANS DON'T LIKE THE ASHANTIS. 2020 THE B ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Just read the posts by NPP and you can see wqhy they lost. Full of garbage from illiterates and arrogant people

• Naabe 10 years ago

Na NANA cause am blame for ur down fall.
    Ur will contiune to remain opposition if u dont change.Came to Sawla n u will see that there is no future for NPP

• zomabi 10 years ago

AKANS SEE THEMSELVES US SUPERIOR TO THE OTHER TRIBES IN GHANA. THEY ALSO BELIEVE THAT THEY ARE THE REAL GHANAIANS AND THE MINIRITY TRIBES STRANGERS. THEY GIVE DEROGATORY NAMES TO THE MINORITY LIKE PEPENI, OTANI, AYIGBENI ETC. ...

What has the NDC done for you? The Flagstaff house, the mall, the N1, healthcare, school feeding, free maternity care etc NPP gave you all.

• zomabi 10 years ago

BE TRUE TO YOURSELF ARE AKANS NOT DISRESPECTFUL TO THE MINORITY TRIBES AND COULD THAT BE THE REASON WHY THEY DONT VOTE NPP?

• paa 10 years ago

i think npp are the best opposition party in the world i pray they remain in opposition and help move ghana forward