You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 11 04Article 290901

42 years after his death, Robert Mensah lives on!

Read Comments Comments (176)

• KOFI 10 years ago

Sometimes such story's gos a long way.

• Kwame Asumeng 10 years ago

Robert Mensah was paid One thousand Cedis in 1971 for transferring to Kotoko. The amount was unbelievable. Robert was indiscipline for most of the season and very selective in matches. It gave the opportunity for Essel Mensah ...

• NON-ASANTE-AKYEMS!! USA 10 years ago

Sometimes it is better to stay with the devil you know.... He would have still been alive with M. Dwarfs Cape Coast. He made the wrong fateful move which did not make any financial difference to his life.

• Oh-Andy -K 10 years ago

Non-Asante-Akyems or whatever you call yourself, you are despicable and a scum. We are here commiserating on the demise of a great son of Ghana and a great footballer and all you can contribute from your XYY Chromosome degene ...

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 10 years ago

I CAN REMEMBER THIS VIVIDLY. ROBERT WAS MARVELOUS. THIS TRIBAL SENTIMENTS ARE SICKENING. Non-Asante-Akyems is pathetic. Robert was special, the best ever probably in the world. he is legendary and will stay on for ever. I HAD ...

• Nii - los Angeles 10 years ago

I tip my hat off to the author of this article. Well done. It is rare to see a solid narrative on this website like this one. Robert Mensah was an awesome goalie. I remember him from back in his hey day at Mysterious Dwarfs. ...

NII- LOS ANGELES THANK YOU.

• ranger 10 years ago

I watched the 1968 match between Kotoko and Dwarfs on TV. Kotoko was totally humiliated. I think it was in honour of Dr Busia or so. Dwarfs was indeed a great team then, and his departure to Kotoko, eventually led to the down ...

• Akora Kofi Aggrey 10 years ago

Please Mr Editor Robert died in 1972 not 1971. Check the dates and make the necessary corrections. He won the cup with Kotoko in 1971 and was billed to feature in goal in the Semi Finals with Gt Olympics the following season ...

• Kwabena Asante 10 years ago

Talking about foolishness maybe ABUSUA DWARFS. Whom I still support after my BELOVED KUMAPIM BOYS probably put a contract on this son of Ghana. Robert may your soul find happiness with your maker

• WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV, TV3, AdomTV Ghana Movies, NollyWood Movies
    and KumaWood Movies AT WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

He is still a great son of Ghana

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

DWARFS MUST RENOVATE THE STADIUM. U DONT EVEN SEE AND SIGNS FOR COMPANY ADS AT THE STADIUM. THE CAPACITY IS VERY SMALL.

Robert Mensah joined Kotoko from Cape Coast Mysterious Dwarfs in 1969 after he inspired the Abontua ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

I thought only Ewes drink Akpeteshie. So Akans drink the stuff more than even Ewes?

• Kwame Asumen, Question 10 years ago

If his passing (in November 1971) ended his relocation to Kumasi, where was he located when playing for Kotoko before Kotoko won the African title in January 1971 (10 months before his passing)?
    Was he travelling from Cape C ...

• Kwame Asumeng, Answer 10 years ago

When Robert Mensah joined Fabulous, a philanthropist gave him a room to stay in Amakom. It was a temporal abode. He never permanently stayed in Kumasi. The African Number One goalkeeper was junketing back and forth from Tema ...

• Love fufu and lightsoup 10 years ago

As a young boy, I witnessed on one occasion at the Accra football stadium that Robert turned around and dived for the ball after it had flown passed him and was goal-bound. With incredible agility and strength, he managed to ...

• Grand mufti 10 years ago

Triabalistic nonsense like always. Face fact. Asantes broke the promise they made to him.

The Asantes must finally go back to MALI where they come from and leave us in peace in GHANA. Robert Rest in peace Everybody admired ...

• jato bibio 10 years ago

A BIG FOOL WHO DOES NOT APPRECIATE PEOPLE WHO HAVE GIVEN THEIR BEST TO THEIR COUNTRY. FOR ALL YOU KNOW KWAME DOES NOT APPRECIATE HIS OWN FATHER. MAY BE HE EVEN DOES NOT KNOW WHO HIS FATHER IS.

• jato brother 10 years ago

jato bibio is my senior brother and his thinking is upside down. So readers from Ghanaweb might help themselves to ignore him. He has deviated as always from topic.

• POW@ Appiah anaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

Robert Mensah died at Community 7, Tema not community 4 as the story tells. I was a kid so I won't tread on hear says but at least I know the spot and can take anybody there today. The bar is called CREDO

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Where was CREDO in community 7? I know both Subin and Falieza were at 7, Jatokrom between 7 and 8, where was CREDO located at 7? Please POW let me know, this is one spot I have always wanted to know since Robert Mensah was my ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I know Robert Mensah very well he started as a No. 5 player until a match the goalkeeper was shown the red card, the good old days when a goalkeeper is shown the red you can't replaced him one of the players. He worked for PW ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

PLS GO TO GH WAI. DONT BE SATISFIED WITH THE POTHOLES IN DC..CAPITAL HILL

From community 7 market at Grand Tavern, your right will take you to GTP "Ghana Textile Printing" so ignore your right and make a left towards the next T-Junction, turn right as if you're going to community 8. Just before Dat ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

My friend when was the last time you were in that area. The last time I was there GTP roundabout is all the Comm 4 station the shocking news is that Dr. Osei's clinic is still there nothing had changed. Candlelight I don't t ...

• Northern Concern 10 years ago

Oh my God! In this century directions in Ghana are still vague! No wonder we are still very ignorantly blaming president Mahama

You're very funny paaaa. Anyway, giving directions in Tema is very easy just like it is abroad but in this case I had to go the way I did because, Osei Tawiah doesn't seem to know the area very well. I could have just given h ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

I don't know if the then Community 7 last trotro Station is at where it was.
    So ask of the last trotro Station in the early 1970's when coming from Comm 4.(is not far from the curve you negotiate between Comm 4 Ownership To ...

• Kwame Asumen, Question 10 years ago

So where is Melfah now?
    Does anyone know?
    Just curious.

MELFAH WENT TO LIVE IN NIGERIA WHEN HE WAS RELEASED, AND THE POOR FOOL WAS RUN-OVER BY A BIG TRUCK IN NIGERIA.
    HE MAY BE IN HELL NOW.

• ranger 10 years ago

REALLY ... ?

• K.K 10 years ago

THAT'S WHERE MY LEARNING ABILITIES EMERGED. I DO REMEMEBR MR. GRANTS AND STUDYING AT ANGLICAN CHURCH CORRIDOR AND ITS FOOT STEPS DOING ALL NIGHTS. WOW, THOSE ALL NIGHTS ARE NOW HELPING EVEN 10 YEARS LATER.SOON AND VERY SOON ...

• Al Hajj AAA Rashiid(OH.USA) 10 years ago

POW, you and Rasheed@Rasheedmulor, are really impressing me a lot, as regards your knowledge in Ghanaian Soccer. I have been following some of your comments lately and I can not help but accord you that respect young as you a ...

• Koo Boye 10 years ago

As a kid living around Manhyia, I would walk to Cricket Park at 4pm and watch Kotoko train. I saw Kwame Adarkwa, Osei Kofi, Ben Acheampong and the great Robert Mensah. He was just awesome. There was Botwe and Essel Mensah but ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 10 years ago

GROWING UP..WE USED TO SING A SONG ABOUT HIM BUT DIDN'T KNOW THE FULL DETAILS OF HIS DEATH UNTIL NOW...SEPARATING FIGHTS IS ALWAYS DANGEROUS..I LOST MY COUSIN THROUGH THAT, HE WAS STABBED WITH A KNIFE. MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PE ...

The song the kids used to sing was:

Robert Mensah African keeper #1
    "aka kakra na wako aburokyire"
    wofa bentua de w33 ne mfe mu
    mek3 ak3ka akyer3 Osei Kofi"

• ???? 10 years ago

Robert Mensah was not separating any fight. As skillful as he was, he has a bad temper and he was the one who started the fight by slapping young Malfeh around so he also took the beer bottle from the table, broke it and sta ...

???? OR WHAT EVER YOU CALL YOUR SELF, ITS A LIE!
    MELFAH WAS HIS LONG LIFE FRIEND BOTH FROM CAPE COAST.
    MELFAH WAS AN EX-CONVICT AND A FAILURE IN LIFE. JEALOUSY PLAYED A MAJOR PART AT THE CREDO DRINKING BAR WHERE THE FIGHT ...

• pala 10 years ago

englebert is now tb mazembe.
    in the 1970 final the first leg ended 2:2
    the second leg ended 2:1 with goals from abukari & malik jabir.

• Atta Kwaku 10 years ago

THE failure of Kumasi Asante Kotoko to keep to their promise ended the life of a great man

Please research further. Robert was loved and showered with gifts and rewards. Stop spreading falsity paraded as half baked truths.It is always safe to premise on the existential than on the universal, because you may not hav ...

• Asou 10 years ago

Hmmm, That is really a very touching life story. May he rest in peace.

• tafa 10 years ago

may his soul rest in perfect peace

• K Lomo 10 years ago

Those of you who were not born could still see his stature by googling his image. He was one handsome athletic player. Dauda Fatau and Kingson dont come close to him.

• k donyina 10 years ago

R.I.P

• Fred 10 years ago

MAy his soul rest in peace! The moral of the story is simple: The Asantes have always failed to live their side of any bargains! Okomfo Anokye was brutally murdered after he had served the Asantes and asked permission to go b ...

• pala 10 years ago

where did okomfo anokye come from? notsie in the volta region?

• Pelicles 10 years ago

The name Anokye is a name of itself. There is no link of that name to that town Notsie in the Volta Region. The powerful fetish priest was a native of Awukugwa in the Easter Region. Okomfo Anokye is an Akwapim man and not ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Hehehe, Na Waoo !! Ewes and theft. They are very professional when it comes to theft. They can even thief legendary characters.

• pala 10 years ago

okomfo anokye & kente were all stolen from the volta region
    even today check the number of artisan of ewe decents integrated into the ashanti kingdom

• Essuman 10 years ago

HE WAS JUST LIKE ALL THE OTHER AKOMFO AROUND- LIARS AND CONMEN. GOLDEN STOOL FROM THE SKY? WHO BELIEVES THAT?
    THE MAN WAS A CHARLATAN LIKE ALL THE OTHERS.

• OSEI TALIBAN 10 years ago

Pelicles, Notsie is in Togo, not VR.

Anokye is the fetish. His real name was Kwame Agyei Frimpon Manso Kotobere. How can this name be Ewe, fools?

Fred, Fred, Fred, the least said about you, the better. There are no words appropriate to describe you on this forum.

• Fred 10 years ago

Andy, thanks for restraining yourself. But I want you to tell me that the issues I raised are not facts but lies. You can argue with my conclusions but if the facts are of the truth, would u blame me for my conclusions? Komfo ...

• ???? 10 years ago

Not correct Fred. Poison was later on given a key to a house by the Kutu administration. Point of correction.

• JoJo - USA 10 years ago

Oh no!! You are wrong again.
    The 1st Ghanaian Feather weight Boxing Champion (D.K Poison) was awarded a bungalow at KANDA ESTATES by Head of States (Gen. Kutu Acheampong).
    Soon after (D.K) had move in, there fire outbreak a ...

• JoJo - USA 10 years ago

Sorry, Typo Correction

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

May his soul rest in perfect peace. I was a 12 year old 'guy' in secondary school at the time. I vividly remember Robert Mensah's heroics as a goalkepper.

• ME-LONDON 10 years ago

It was a sad story for Ghana football, the funeral was massive. I did not see Robert physically, I read and heard what he did,especially the way he passed away.

• Martin 10 years ago

I do not think it is true that Robert Mensah asked Ibrahim Mahama for a car. Robert Mensah drove a car before his death. He used to visit his friends in Michel Camp in Tema in his car. I remembered him trying to squeeze in an ...

• Martin did you understand? 10 years ago

We did not read that he did not have a car.
    We only read that he asked for a car.

Maybe he needed a second car, or just wanted a second car to feel even more recognised by Kotoko, despite other benefits he might have been ...

Andy Quao, I am not sure if you have your facts right, there was a Kotoko Board Chairman a Lebanese business man in Kumasi who was the one Robert Mensah really listened to in times of disagreements or crisis in Kotoko. He w ...

• Natural Mystic 50+ 10 years ago

Happy 54th, buddy.

• dd 10 years ago

where is his photo ?

Just imagine a dark skinned masculine guy about 6 feet tall in a goalkeeper's outfit matched with a white cum black squared spots cooley high cap and you'll not be far from the truth. In other words, imagine a picture of goal ...

• AkwasiB (USA) 10 years ago

Well said. He was unique in the poker-dot cap. Great memories, even as a pre-teen youngster

• otorofo 10 years ago

we must honor our promise{N D C}not to lead Ghanaians into death.

• I & I 10 years ago

Great piece of history though but the place where R.Mensah was stabbed was Credo bar Com.7 but not Com.4.
    I was in class 6 at Oninku Primary Com.1 and cld remember vividly there was light off(DOM SO)the night he was being op ...

• KK 10 years ago

WOW!

Sokoooo. I'm a Tema Community 1 Site 17 boy. I didn't like Master Nablah so I didn't attend Oninku at all.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

POW is this guy still alive he used to live in Comm 4 very tall guy so everyone call him Tema ya high.

Oh my God, that man was a painter cum carpenter and a harbor hustler. He used to buy stuff from my mum. I know him very well oooo Master. Hope he's still alive?

• Mr.N 10 years ago

He lives on our road AH at Comm 4 I don't hence asking you I was hoping you would have known something. This guy would have being a great BB player if he had found his way to USA.

He was taller than Tema Y3 High and younger too. Haaaaaa, I used to call him "Uncle Long John". Haaaaaaaaaaa

• I & I 10 years ago

Long John Temasco Guy and Dollar Bill.Maybe his in the states.

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

You are really a son of Tema, Tema High was very famous in comm 4. Where is that tall man? Hope he is doing good. May the soul of Robert Mensah rest in Perfect Peace.

Wow, you no bi children. Enough respect Bro. Class 6 in 1971 suggests you were about a year or two ahead of Akadja, Atia Abongo, Nkuchei and co with master Nablah as your head teacher right?

• Slimzay **Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

You make jokes out of sorry. That is very good, POW. How did you know all these classmates and their heard master.

I admired them as a kid. Incidentally, one of them became my classmate so many years later. LOL

• I & I 10 years ago

Atia Abongo was 1yr my junior.A site 20 Guy.I was one of the pioneers at site 17 day nursery be4 going to Oninku.I know we all missed Smith(onions in Fante)the Seaman who died some yrs back.A very funny and lovable chap.LONG ...

His real name was Paa Ray Smith. May his soul rest in peace. He actually lived in community 11 but his big sister was married to one of the Star Kist Tuna bosses known as Mr. Cann so site 17 looked more like his first home in ...

• I & I 10 years ago

You are real Tema Guy.I know Ambulley and Swimming them.Back in the days,Tema with the Seamen and the Departmental Games at the stadium where all the top players in Ghana come to play was lovely than now.

Haaaaaaa, anyway they were the same click. Paa Ray, Swimming, Nakwah, Joe, Ambulley, Paa George, to name but a few. Wow, inter departmental games huh! GTP, TTL, TFCC and State Fishing stole the show back in the days. They had ...

• OBUOBA ABANKWA BOMBAY 10 years ago

why are people giving unfounded reports about events they no nothing about? they take advantage of their prolific skills in the English language to deceive a lot of people space will not allow me to express my view on events ...

• Otoatuo 10 years ago

Obuoba,I doubt your account too. It is factual the incident happened at a spot called CREDO at community 7 Tema. But it was not because of a girlfriend as you want us to believe. The GREAT ROBERT MENSAH and his friends includ ...

• SENDERO 10 years ago

I have posted an account based on the court transcripts. it is called Isaac MELFAH and you can read it below

Please stop posting conspiracy theories and keep SIL a factual well-informed site

• ???? 10 years ago

Obuoba yours is the correct account of what happens and was later leant that the girl was the girlfriend of Isaac Malfah. Anybody could have easily done what Isaac did even though it was our hero who was stabbed. Dwarfs neve ...

• Rabon Zee 9 years ago

Your account is the whole truth

• k.k.egbeomor 10 years ago

it was comm 7 not 4

• e akuteye 10 years ago

What happens to the killer?

• Kwesi, UK 10 years ago

The killer was his own friend Robert has sent from Cape Coast (Adisadel village) to Tema. The mother of the killer was called Maame Hannah and had a sister called Sedah. The killer was arrested, prosecuted and later released ...

• agbala 10 years ago

You guys have done a great job patching all the pot holes! Can we extend this attitude to healing Ghana? We need some teamwork here, for mother Ghana.

• SENDERO 10 years ago

Isaac Melfah was tried for the murder of Robert Mensah in 1972. The Court convicted him of manslaughter though as the prosecution was unable to prove Melfah's intent to commit murder. Thus the court was of the view that Melfa ...

• I LOVE GHANA 10 years ago

ROBERT WAS A GREAT GOALKEEPER. MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE. AMEN.

• I LOVE GHANA 10 years ago

KOTOKO IS AN INGRATE ENTITY. THEY USED ROBERT MENSAH AND REFUSED TO PAY HIM WHAT WAS DUE HIM. THAT LED ROBERT TO LEAVE CAMP AND EVENTUALLY MET HIS UNTIMELY DEATH IN TEMA. KOTOKO MUST BE ASHAMED OF WHAT THEY DID TO ROBERT MENS ...

• Otoatuo 10 years ago

Please, check your account well and stop making noise. If you care read or research from Mr Ken Bediako,a well known sportswriter.

Did Rawlings and his cadres of AFRC/PNDC/NDC idiots pay or deliver what was promised the Black Stars fo winning the 1978 AFCON?

• Kwaku Adjei 10 years ago

1978 was Acheampong's time. No Rawlings or AFRDC or PNDC

This is historic commentary of the legendary goalkeeper Robert Mensah. The whole text is exactly as I remember the details of Goalkeeper Number One. I watch Kumasi Cornerstone unravel the mystery of Goalkeeper Number One in K ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

Ghanaweb and Andy Quao, thank you for that nice picture of Robert Mensah in his cap. Good journalism.

• F Ghartey 10 years ago

I WAS IN SECONDARY SCHOOL FORM TWO WHEN HE DIED. I WAS A LOVER OF FOOTBALL AND SO FOLLOWED NANABANYIN's historic exploits with Dwarfs and Kotoko. I still Remember in my minds eye how he terrorized great attackers of the late ...

• Gigi 10 years ago

"Indeed, the climax of Robert Mensah’s master class emerged when in the dying minutes of this crunch grand finale after the Congolese have held Asante Kotoko to a goalless draw in first leg encounter at the Baba Yara Stadiu ...

Gigi is right in details but Andy was in general very historic. The ball was placed in the penalty box. Robert came out of the post to touch the ball and hit the ball three times with his cap. He went back to the post with ou ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

I do not know what to say but Ghana will never have the types of Robert Mensah no more. He was the best.

• Nyame Nipa 10 years ago

One thing more.The first leg in Kumasi was not goaless but 1-1.Abukari scored first with a header and Kalala equalized also with a beautiful header, causing Robert and the entire stadium to clap for Kalala.I was there that Su ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Actually the penalty was taken by Tsinabu and not Kabobo. Before the kick, the Congolese complained of the black and white cap of Robert. In fact Robert removed the cap and placed it on the back of the goal post and beckoned ...

• YOU AND I 10 years ago

The recent football contest between Ghana’s Black Meteors and the Nigerian Dream team was, in a way, a throwback to Ghana’s battles with the Congo, especially in the early seventies. There were allegations of substandard ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Papa, your account of the game is excellent

• peeeeeee 10 years ago

Did you copy this from a blog

If you did not see Robert in his prime, you have missed a lot. He was unique, magic, great, fantastic, handsome, etc. No one today comes close.

• Koo 10 years ago

I can still rememember Joe Lartey giving commentry on the match between Accra Hearts of Oak and Kumasi Asante Kotoko doing the grand opening of the Accra stadium with the newly installed Florecent lights. The scores was 1:1, ...

• ben 10 years ago

such people have a short live.Naa Banyin we still love yoy.

• Kojo B 10 years ago

Thanks so much for the story.Back then, I was very young and could not mourn. We only wished he recovered. As I read the article and recollected the song we use to sing about him, I shed some tears for this great son of Afric ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Kojo B, you are speaking as if Kotoko did not do something for the family of Robert. You have no idea what Kotoko did for the family of the late Robert Mensah. I agree with your last statement that Kotoko could still do some ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

My eyes are full of tears as I read this informative but sad account of this great goalkeeper.I still recollect the song that Ghanaian girls composed after his untimely death: "Robert Mensah goal keeper number one,...
    May h ...

• TWUM 10 years ago

Robert died at the GREDO BAR at Community 7. He was a very undisciplined player and died at an akpeteshie bar when Kotoko were preparing to play the club of the moment AKOSOMBO AKOTEX. The man who missed the penalty was not c ...

• Emma 10 years ago

I hope the photos of. Greats like Robert and Baba Yara are well kept. At some kind of. Hall of fame at GFA.

• Northern Concern 10 years ago

GHANA SOCCER HALL OF FAME:
    Baba Yara, Robert Mensah, Nfum, Abukari....Abedi

• Emma 10 years ago

my brother please respect the dead.

• SHAIBOU ABDOULAI NOMBRE. TORINO,ITAL 10 years ago

MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

NOBODY LIVES FOR EVER.I WAS BLESSED AS A LITTLE KID TO SEE THE CASKET OF ROBERT MENSAH IN AN ARMY JEEP WHEN IT LANDED AT THE TAKORADI AIRFORCE BASE.
    THE BODY WAS ACCOMPANIED BY OLIVER ACQUAH AND BRENYAH ON ITS WAY TO CAPE CO ...

Princewilly please refresh my memory, was the body accompanied by Oliver Acquah and Clifford Odame or Brenya, I am very sure of Oliver Acquah but I thought it was Odame who came with Oliver because they were very great pals ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

ODAME WAS SITTING IN THE DRIVERS SIDE OF THE JEEP. I BELIEVE HE COULD NOT CONTROL HIS EMOTIONS OF THE SUDDEN LOSS OF ROBERT MENSAH.

Thank you so much Princewilly, OMG! Robert Mensah's death till date is one of the most painful deaths, I have had to contain, because it was so sudden and above all was preventable. I remember Ibrahim Sunday was so frustrated ...

• Ba 10 years ago

Oh,Bobby we still love you,may the Almighty keep your soul perfectly.

• BARIMAH KWAME,OSL 10 years ago

Oh, Robert
    we still remember and love you.May Almighty keep your soul perfectly.

• Nyame Nipa 10 years ago

Wonderful piece Andy,we all miss Bob a lot.There are few facts I still remember to correct.It was Zinabu who shot the penalty but it went over the bar.Kotoko's semi-final before meeting Englebert was against Ismailiya of Egyp ...

• JAH 10 years ago

THE GOOD DIE YOUNG

• lipualipua 10 years ago

Aaaaah, I remember the final of that African Club Championship match in Zaire. With the time rapidly winding down and the match tied 1-1 ( which was going to make Kotoko the champions on an away goal superiority) the referee ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

Robert Mensah was the greatest goal keeper who ever lived. And no goal keeper in the world to this day was equal to his standard.
    May his Soul,rest in peace.
    The drinking spot was at Community 7.

• Nana Kwame Antwi 10 years ago

I am challenging you to tell the truth. What actually happened before he embarked to Tema? THE TRUTH!!!

• Kwame Poison 10 years ago

My brother said, this story was told at a spot in Maroko,a suburb of Lagos.Melfa happened to be there`and as this story was unfolded,Melfah sneaked out unnoticed.He said,a Tema guy who was around revealed his identity.

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 10 years ago

I think BK Edusei and Kotoko were also dodgy in this Robert affair.We've missed him but let's hope that Fatau Dauda would be like him in Egypt and Brazil.

• Kojo 10 years ago

Thanks to the writer! Great story! Great memories! Robert Mensah was the best: not just Ghana's No. 1 at the time, but Africa's No.1 We used to call him "Yashin", after the great Russian goalkeeper.

• KOFI DUNCAN 10 years ago

42years ROBERT MENSAH WAS STABBED AT COMMUNITY 7 NEAR THE VALCO PARK ON AN SV NEAR THE CREDO BAR .HE WAS LIVING AT C ROAD AND I LIVED AT D ROAD .FORMER GEORGE ALHASSAN WAS ALSO LIVING AT THE POLICE QUARTERS .THIS IS POINT OF ...

• KATAKYIE OF ST. LUKE HOUSE 10 years ago

ROBERT MENSAH DIDN'T WANT TO STAY IN KUMASI IN SPITE OF ALL PERSUASIONS FROM B K EDUSEI.HE CAUSED HIS DEATH NOT KOTOKO

• Koo the boy 10 years ago

Robert was great goalkeeper

• ras gee 10 years ago

great work...good story told well
    may his soul rest in absolute peace

• DR. KWABENA ASANTE 10 years ago

I may sound stupid but from al indications, as narrated by the author, if Kotoko had honored him with their promise, Robert wouldn't have left camp, frustratingly, to Tema where he was stabbed. Am l making sense here? Just jo ...

• CONCERN 10 years ago

GOD PLEASE HELP HIM WHERE EVER HE MAY BE ,TEARS NEVER STOPPED WHEN I HEARD OF HIS DEATH AS I WAS A YOUNG BOY AND FOOTBALL ENTHUSIASTIC . I CAN REMEMBER HIM WITH HIS ROUND CAP AND HIS BALL AT BREAST AS HE WAS PHOTOGRAPHED AS C ...

• CONCERN 10 years ago

A GOOD SON WHO WILL NOT CRY FOR HIM , NOT LIKE MAHAMA WHO IS CHOPING GHANA MONEY NYAFUNYAFU

crazy tribalist. Go back to MALI Mu fri Mali munko ho

• AWUNABRONI 10 years ago

I WAS IN FORM ONE WHEN THIS HAPPENED. ROBERT'S BODY WAS TAKEN TOUND FROM KUMASI TO TAKORADI AND ARRIVED CAPE COAST ON A RAINY NIGHT, LED BY THE LARGEST NUMBER OF MOTOR CYCLES YOU EVER SAW. HIS MENTOR, MASTER OTWE OF CAPE COAS ...

Undoubtedly ROBERT MENSAH was a great son of Africa. I believe he was a Fanti not Asante. Asantes who are from Mali break promises.

Rest in peace RM Robert Mensah.

Asantes must finally go back to MALI where they come fr ...

• moses ayivor 10 years ago

To me Robert is the best in the World
    During his time. since then I have not seen
    goalkeeper like him

• Kwabena Asante 10 years ago

What a stinker MAY ROBERT'S SOUL REST IN PERPETUAL PEACE

• Agyaaku 10 years ago

Please Robert Mensah did not save that Kalala penalty kick. The man blew it over the bar. Robert was a goalkeeper in his own class.

If you guys are talking about the Kinsasha penalty then Agyaaku you are right, the ball went way, I mean over the bar, far above the post. And the player who took it was not Kalala, but TSINABU pronounced(CHI~NAA~BU)

• Big Fan 10 years ago

If I recall correctly, the scores were 1-1 in Kumasi and 1-0 to Kotoko in Kinshasa with Malik Jabir scoring the winning goal. Kalala equalized for Engelbert from a free kick in Kumasi but I don't recall who scored for Kotoko ...

• kofi 10 years ago

may his soul rest i peace

• Tackyi, Cape Coast 10 years ago

That Robert was good goalkeeper there was no doubt about it. But the true story was that Robert slapped Kwesi Melfah, thus provoking Melfah to stab Robert with the broken bottle.

He was a tall well-built figure. He frustra ...

• patrick 10 years ago

no picture of him

• Aboakesse 10 years ago

Please why don't you show his picture, because not all of as know him.
    Robert Mensah,may your soul R.I.P

• Yaw 10 years ago

You got most of your facts wrong.The first leg against Englebert in Kumasi ended in a 1-1 draw and it was Tsunabu and not Kalala who missed the penalty.
    Why do we have these continuous falsehood publication on this forum?

• Mavado 10 years ago

It was Kakoko who took the penalty because Kalala the captain was afraid. Years later he said that at the point of the kick he closed his eyes before he kicking the ball hence miles over the bar. He only realised he did not s ...

• koo frank 10 years ago

oh what a sad story. He wz a great man. May he rest in perfect peace

• Dwarfs Abontsua Abontsua 10 years ago

ROBERT MENSAH HAD CAT'S BLOOD RUNNING THROUGH HIS VEINS, HENCE THE GOALKEEPING ANTICS

• ,,,,,,,, 10 years ago

Duke.We have lost a lot.there were some opponent who were celebrating the death of our two dear hero's but we have forgiven them after all we all will take that journey BaBa/Robert sleep well.we are calling to play with us in ...

• Koomanu 10 years ago

Good story but GRAPHIC SPORTS proof reading the story is a must. First correction Air Force for that matter 'Airmen' do not serve with the Army. The Air Force,Navy and the Army are desperate departments . They combine to for ...

• peeeeeee 10 years ago

Desperate or separate.can be working with prison services or working at a specific branch of prison services

• Historian 10 years ago

Kalala shot the late penalty kick OVER THE BAR. Robert Mensah did not save it.

• Eviess 10 years ago

After this incident,Melfa iremember was inpreson for 8 years. Is he still in prison. who can answer me ?

• Kwame K. USA 10 years ago

I was seven yrs and a member of the Cub Scouts that used to be the ballboys at that time. My mom didn't allow me to be ballboy on the day of his funeral due to the uncontrolled crowd at the KSS, she rather held my hands and t ...

• Fi 10 years ago

That was goalkeeping at its best. God bless your soul

• GHANA MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

a very beautiful story but a sad ending.Robert Mensah the great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Papa kweku 10 years ago

He was the greatest. i had the opportunity to watch Bob and his antics.

• Media Mogul 10 years ago

If I remember right, Robert didn't save that crucial penalty. Kalala put the ball over the bar! And we used to say that Kalala was so frightened of Robert Mensah in the posts that he was forced to put the ball over the bar... ...

• Fafranta 10 years ago

This is how I also remember the story. That Kalala put the ball over the bar. I cannot confirm because I was only 6 years old at the time

• Fafranta 10 years ago

Nice account of a sad event. What happended to Isaac Melfah? Was he ever charged? Where is he now?

• Egya Nda 10 years ago

Oneneba Charles, of Sporting News fame, please if you are alive let's read your article 'Robert died in my absence"

• ASHALLEY 10 years ago

I was in Secondary School in the days of this great Goalkeeper, Robert Mensah. There is no goalkeeper as agile and charismatic. The more he was hated by opponents the more they were admired him for his skills. I was not a Kot ...