You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 10 23Article 289630

ASUU Strike: Negotiating through the barrel of the gun

Read Comments Comments (98)

• EMMA 10 years ago

It sound very bad when i hear those nonsense frm nigerians.when did the agreement take place, is it not 4yrs ago? why not asked ur brother and sister minister to start implementation.pls if u have nothing to say,stop making n ...

• Vivian 10 years ago

Emma and eke,I know for sure that you both are not students because if you are rubbish won't be coming out of your mouth. As a final year student that has just few months in school I wish to roundup soonest. What the writer i ...

• gene 10 years ago

Final year indeed. You should be ashamed of urself. You can't even express urself. You want to round off not roundup

• gene 10 years ago

Final year my nyash. You want to "roundup" and join the queue of millions of jobless graduates the shameless govt had failed to provide job opportunities for. Instead they are busy passing golden iphone 5s

• Sunday 10 years ago

One word that qualifies this whole issue is 'SELFISHNESS' but I pray that God should open there eyes so that they can see the cause they are imposing on themselves.

• Ohanz 10 years ago

This article is as foolish as the writer and this is part of the reason why those in govt do what they do. I guess the writer is seeking for attention. Do you know that some ministers lavish what the lectures re asking yearl ...

• eke 10 years ago

this is an idiotic write up by a none entity. sychophant!

• Abby Brown 10 years ago

Eke. I'm very sure you are not a student. No wonder your written english is a mess. Do you even know the meaning of the word 'sycopath'? No wonder you even spelled it wrongly. Mtcheeewwww

• Ogagun 10 years ago

I agree with this 100% if not what else do they want? To ruin the students ambition or to garnish their own pocket in the guise of fighting for the educational sector. They were busy making comment of the jumbo salary and all ...

• uju 10 years ago

dat exactly wat z happenin in d school,some lecturers ar lazy dat dey may be comin to d class once in a month or twice.

• uju 10 years ago

dat exactly wat z happenin in d school,some lecturers ar lazy dat dey may be comin to d class once in a month or twice.

• Abeybe 10 years ago

Odion u hv said it all. If asuu is really fightin for d student, we nigeria student are sayin it enough dis will do, tanx heros(asuu)... If nt u will soon regret eva fighting.

• Bashir 10 years ago

U are d irresponsble not ASUU. they are talking of agreemnt duly signed by govt

• Sesugh 10 years ago

You think so? Lol!

• emmenuel 10 years ago

This is the word of a well meaning nigerian citizen................am solidly behind u my boss to put end to this abouse of human right in this country...

• henry 10 years ago

U better think well boy.

• Ahmad 10 years ago

Asuu president will die in the next 7days if he does not call of the strike

• Utikili Douglas 10 years ago

U a fools do u think this 2 be politics, is a leality.

• Peter Kanu 10 years ago

Mr. Writer, you post lack facts. I believe you are one of those sponsored by the government to blackmail Asuu. Now why not tell your masters (government) to assent to every other item in the agreement that has to do with infr ...

• Peter Kanu 10 years ago

Mr. Writer, you post lack facts. I believe you are one of those sponsored by the government to blackmail Asuu. Now why not tell your masters (government) to assent to every other item in the agreement that has to do with infr ...

• Akor a.k.a. Due process 10 years ago

ASUU is being insensitive to the plight of the Nigerian students who r reduced to sitting at home.

• 400 level 10 years ago

Is time for revolution, the bit has reach tail, and the lion has naw turn his face, both you ( asuu and fg) has no interest in us the student, because we all know that you have no thing to loose in the fist place. Your childr ...

• Kenny 10 years ago

Those of you blaming ASUU should stop, whether ASUU is fighting for selfish reasons or not, FG should honor the agreement, it willing signed in 2009.

• Jeph 10 years ago

I thing we've had enough. Let's go back to classes so the negotiation could continue. It sucks everything about Asuu or whatever.

• Abby Brown 10 years ago

Its frustrating having to stay home knowing you have just a little while to graduate. ASUU has proved its point. Its time for us to resume classes. Afterall, non of the money is going to our pockets yet, we're the ones suffer ...

• steven Adedeji 10 years ago

It is rather sadden that someone could write this piece about the on going strike.why should ASUU agree to the plead of the FG, I could remember in 2009, after four months of no lectures, Asuu decided to call of the strike in ...

• Karen 10 years ago

Guy hv u check sum of d demand of asuu.try and check .hw cn dy be askn 4r postgraduate supervision allowance,maternity leave,loan to buyn of cars,loan 4r housing,xo many tins dat dy are askn 4r dat is nt necessary.dy are no l ...

• Abdul 10 years ago

Come to think of it, if lecturers are well paid will they have gone out to run their privite ventures? Fg is not certain if not how one work for over 30year without anything to show as access, last few over hundrend billion ...

• audu abass 10 years ago

When there is a crises or war in a particular country for both parties to find solution to the crises or war they dialogue which means there would be a temporary cease fire when asuu and FG were dialoging I was. Expecting the ...

• ojo 10 years ago

Is this rather not subjective, why not seeing thing frm balance perspective? If sch are gud shd asuu b bad?

• call me Mufasa 10 years ago

Plz, this is a big slap on our country's face for d educational sector to be closed down for more than 3months...I only have a request, kidnap d president,head of asuu association and Fg ,bring them to my room n give me just ...

• grace 10 years ago

Pls leave asuu alone n don't write shit abt dem. Av u taken ur time to go to the labs in universities? Some private secondary schools r better off. So, pls leave asuu to fight. I was told in sec. Sch dat there's proper equipm ...

• TOM k 10 years ago

You are simply ignorant and stupid. You speak as if you are not educated. How much have you been paid to empty your dirty and smelling mouth? ASUU is for real and not a cheat like you. You mugu. Agreement is agreement go and ...

• Achaski 10 years ago

Asuu must be mad

• ibrahim labaran 10 years ago

You don't know what u are doing, ASUU are right pass ur papa i.e FG.

• dd 10 years ago

Asuu is to be blamed

• Jumai 10 years ago

Asuu God wil never 4give u ppl 4 keepin us at home

• akan 10 years ago

I feel asuu shld relax and at least suspend d strike for d gud of nigerian student..its no longer funny dat we hav lost almost 4months and d still ders no hope of d strike being over dis year..I know dey r fighting for d univ ...

• henry 10 years ago

Its pathetic...... Student unions should stand up ?????????d????? fight against asuu den.........

• habakkuk andrew gadzama 10 years ago

i realy sopot this view asuu is doin evrytin 4 its selfish reason.

• omo 10 years ago

Nonsense write up,,,is nau u knw lecturers are not doing der work?fool,am sure u are paid 4 dis or u want 2 b notice...abeg go sleep,u no get mata

• BOBBY 10 years ago

We kno dt 1day their sponsors wil b tired just like Atiku s bginin 2implicate himself

• Uche 10 years ago

ASUU u people ar devilish. Somebody owing u 92b pays u 40b 4 1st intallment, isn't fair enuf? If ASUU were left alone by APC nd co dis isue wud hv bin a bygone.if ASUU ar realy fighting our cours, dey wud ended dis shit afta ...

• Frank ejims 10 years ago

Uche.....ur tot is much like that of a drunken man.....do u knw the law at all? Let fg take drastic measure nd c who it hurts most. U lack initiatives....do u knw wht it means for an agreement to b signed, sealed and delivere ...

• Nchangtoh 10 years ago

Asuu are greedy&selfish. God will distroy their evil plan in dis naija

• Mike Asibong 10 years ago

True talk,its a sincere talk,its high tym d nigeria student up against dis menace in our country.d members of asuu r to b blamed likwise d fg.asuu talks abt revitalizatn,stil yet we hv lecturers wo collect bribe nd victimize ...

• Biggafellow 10 years ago

The writer of this rubbish is simply mad!

• Miukin Eriyo 10 years ago

Well said,I don't know, who is collapsing the educational system? ASuu or FG.

• Koti Dominic 10 years ago

Issachar Odion must have a link with the Government if not he would not talk like that. To me he did not make any sense. He is rather instigating the people instead of suggesting possible ways of improving the educational sec ...

• Chiann 10 years ago

In as much that Fg has promise to be helping them until they reach to world standard they supose to take the one giving to them and return to classroom for the sake of the students at home.Asuu pls because of God have mercy o ...

• Chiann 10 years ago

Asuu should look back and remember that only few of them are performing their duties others find another means in extracting money from student instead of teaching but see them.....oh Jesus is the hope of Nigeria that is in d ...

• proof 10 years ago

Blame FG nt Asuu

• Frank ejims 10 years ago

Dear i odion, i can c u hv been paid to publish dis article...im equally a student nd my fada is a lecturer. It is so shameful that u stoop so low to belittle urslf by writing this ill conceived episode of urs......u re a dis ...

• no cmment 10 years ago

I am sure u hv ben paid a huge amount by FG or Your Madam to write this disgusting article about ASSU

• T M 10 years ago

Am tired of this assu strike o pls call das strike off pls student is begin u to call it off pls an pls

• Kehinde 10 years ago

Even with the fact that I don't support this ASUU strike, I would say that you are paid to do this @writer. Anyways, am happy that I finally had this great opportunity to say what is on my mind.
    Leaders/Members of Asuu, I k ...

• Kehinde 10 years ago

Even with the fact that I don't support this ASUU strike, I would say that you are paid to do this @writer. Anyways, am happy that I finally had this great opportunity to say what is on my mind.

• henry 10 years ago

Foolish.

• Kehinde 10 years ago

• Karen 10 years ago

Guy asuu dy are idiots.dy are fightn 4r dm selves.sum studnts are stil supportn dm whn their children are out side d country skuln there. And dy are movn on.and those studnts supportn dm are stayn at hum.

• Anachu 10 years ago

Am sure the person who posted this was well paid. From 2009 an agreement was reached, they are busy packing billions for 2015 nd begging ASUU to resume as ussual
    1. You who posted this has no idea of what is goin on, go bac ...

• Karen 10 years ago

U go dy hux .til God knw whn.tink wise.na u dy evn join asuu chop d moni.me nr dy support any body bt mk una use una head

• Samuel 10 years ago

Asuu are nt considerate at all dis is bcos most of their children are in private university and outside Nigeria to study.pls great Nigeria student they nt fighting for us but negotiating with our future to fulfil their selfi ...

• Stone 10 years ago

U tink Govt wil fine u cash after u post dis?, beta go wrk 4 Chinese factory Dan supporting Nigeria Govt.

• Stone 10 years ago

U tink Govt wil fine u cash after u post dis?, beta go wrk 4 Chinese factory Dan supporting Nigeria Govt.

• Stanley 10 years ago

Ya we must fight againt dis strike it not to our benefit at all

• Tanko kunna 10 years ago

Shame 2 Asuu,since FG try it best with sum amount of money,u have 2 call off strike becos students are suffering at home,i have nothing 2 say, only God call judge.

• henry 10 years ago

Empty story

• Emmanuel Adedun 10 years ago

It is clear you are not informed about the issues at hand or you deliberately underplayed them. Be reminded that ASUU is not negotiating with FG. That was done four years ago. The battle now is based on forcing the federal go ...

• Averson john yusuf 10 years ago

I never expect that asuu will take their selfs so low to be used by some unwanted chanks of politicial to kill the dream of the future leaders of this country.what a shame to the government of this country for it inability no ...

• Tomilola 10 years ago

U are bias. It is obvious they paid u to post this nonsense. You are government agent but this won't help you. Get something reasonable to do.

• JUSTIN 10 years ago

Mr writer at a point you are right, asuu has made there point.they should call of the strike and see if the FG will fulfill there promise. A piece of advise to ASUU you are loosing public sympathy, we the students are the one ...

• Elvis 10 years ago

What is killing this country is selfishness nd greed, the leadership of asuu is toying with the future of Nigerian students. I pity him so muchcoz he doesn't know what He is doing! They will soon know the consequences of keep ...

• Tboy 10 years ago

I really do wonder why you blame ASUU. What of the FG?
    Asuu is fighting for public Universities development.

• Hazif 10 years ago

Whoever wrote this is totally nonsense dont fool us we know d didication of our lecturers.and we know there is money in d country dat can paid d asuu.but jonathan will not paid because he want use our money 4 campaighn.dont e ...

• oluwa tobi 10 years ago

My brother ur thoughts are completely wrong....have u asked ur self dis question wat if asuu suspends d strike and d federal govt refuses to implement their promises in d future, won't dey(asuu) go on strike again?

• Karen 10 years ago

Guy se there is no reasn to quarel wit any 1.asuu and fg dy mk their moni na we studnt dy suffer dis strike.

• Comradekemi 10 years ago

It is either Ngozi has paid you to speak good of her and smear our teachers with the mud or you dont know your country so much to understand dat mere promises can no longer be bases for taking such futuristic decisions. How m ...

• JOHN EGWU 10 years ago

Your view is an interesting one but, I can't blame asuu so much. This problems of strikes in our universities and educational sector can easily be averted if the right thing is done by our leaders and public office holders. T ...

• Sunday Osagie 10 years ago

I get confuse when brilliant writeups are filled with sentiments.Isaac,I would believe u know the meaning of "earned allowance".Are u saying ASUU should take the so-called N40billion and forgo N52billion for the sake of patro ...

• Samuel Ajayi 10 years ago

Odiön, you better shut your maggot filled mouth up. You are bird of feather that flock with nigeria politians. You better this rubbish you write here. Nonsense!

• Myself 10 years ago

Odiön, you better shut your maggot filled mouth up. You are bird of a feather that flock with nigeria politians. You better delete this rubbish you write here and seek forgiveness. You devil agent! God will punish you and yo ...

• Ima 10 years ago

By dear God bless u for this write up. They (asuu) claim they are fighting for the betterment of our educational sector while they are the major contributory factor to its downfall. Permit me to ask, will this stop members of ...

• Kay 10 years ago

What are u driving out now?

• Sharp 10 years ago

Fed govt knws wht to do, otherwise dis set of asuu will cause revolutn to d country.

• constance 10 years ago

our leaders are bad, asuu people parallel bad people, pls allow us to go back to school very soon.

• Ekene 10 years ago

The question you need to ask yourself is". If academics is well funded,why did Jonathan leave and join politics? Is it that he wanted to be the president or that he wanted to enrich himself overnight. Can you imagine how much ...

• Olaitan 10 years ago

It is true that govt have failed 2fulfill their promise, Assu have shown to the world that their interest is important than their main objective, they should put shame aside & call off the strike,

• Omenihu Hyacinth 10 years ago

This ASUU strike has lasted long enough. I think it is tme for them to swallow their pride and come back to work. Since their sole objective is to make Nigerian universities confortable for learning, let them com and start wo ...

• Mercy 10 years ago

Why not try and analyse the undisclosed exhorbitant pay of govt. Officials nd legislators?

• Jimoh Abdullateef O. 10 years ago

I believe that what ASUU is agitating for is their right whether in their own interest or students interest because FG should have wave the storm of this industrial action long ago or who do you expect to be more obligatory t ...

• aruna 10 years ago

the fg shude sucpend asuu and sack most of the members, and dey shud lets the offic vacant to publice, wen doing this dey shude make shor that student are in class, as dey emplued workers in the sector

• PEARL .S. 10 years ago

The FG have tried. We stay dwn here condemning our leaders 4 one tin or d oda bt if we were 2 b givn d mantle of leadership, we'ld make d country a mess.
    As 4 ASUU, let dem cntinue 2 wreak havoc on students only God has d fi ...

• Osuji Stephen 10 years ago

well articulated Odion, you are not far from the truth. When we critically analize the average nigerian universities the findings are really anoying.....right from the school management to the lecturers (Nasuu and Nasuu) they ...

• Emeka 10 years ago

@ Issachar Odion, I don't blame you. Who knows how much they paid you to be writing these 'quater truth'. Pls go and verify whether they have released the 100 billion and 10 billion. U people have only released 30 billion. Og ...

• Elder 10 years ago

Some of our lectures are very covetous dat is why they allowed it to be so long. Pride cant allow them to cal it off

• Utikili Douglas 10 years ago

U didnt know truth de FGN has not release a penny 2 de strikin lecturals. pls use another forum 2 express ur own feelings 4 de failed government of Badluck Johnatan. dis is not politic, its reality.

• NOSA 10 years ago

both ASUU and Federal gov should please come to coonclusion abeg.