You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 10 02Article 287480

The scourge of islamic slavery and violence

Read Comments Comments (85)

• AKK 10 years ago

Writer is confusing Arabism with Islamism.

• PASQUIN 10 years ago

I am amazed at the wealth of knowledge the writer has. Please direct us to series you have referred to in your concluding paragraph. However, the writer living in the UK makes me inclined to believe that he imbibed fully the ...

• Son of Man 10 years ago

Most often have we laid all the blame of slavery on the European forgetting the immense contribution that Arab slave invaders played in destroying Africa.

They pretend to treat all humans the same in the name of Islam howe ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Go get the nearest book on islam and slavery and compare it with the Atlantic slave trade (Christians) and you would know that at least islam had some extenuating circumstances: manumission and assimilation!

• Son of Man 10 years ago

Arab slavery wasn't as brutal as that of the Europeans because there were no plantations in the Middle East for the African slave to work on, either they were kept at home as servants or resold to the European.

And where ...

• C. K. MAN 10 years ago

THE STUPID EWE idiot FOOL Andy C.Y. Kwawukume is now propagating for the dirty EWE Prof. Kofi Nyidevu Awoonor. Ewes think they are smart but unfortunately they are the most useless beings ever. "EWES are bloody fools!

• C.K.MAN 10 years ago

you are a real SON of a DOG...

• Richard Acquah 10 years ago

Today you have really showed your ignorance . Just stick to your hyperbolic poems and talk about things you have no clues about.

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Another great lie from the mouth of a born-again unrepentant liar. If indeed the Arab slave traders believe in assimilation, we would definitely be seeing black Arabs as natives in Saudi Arabia and other core Arab states like ...

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Making frantic efforts to profile her haemaphrodiac self as an intellectual but the she/he stinks.

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

You are getting all the attention you crave through being a Bigot, Oh Akorang!

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Pasquin,

I think the scrambling of the paragraphing has brought about the confusion. Different aspects of the topic of slavery just jammed into each other without the spacing.

As an introd. to the subject, I covered a w ...

• C. K. MAN 10 years ago

C.Y. ANDY-K where is your sense? you got no sense!

You have been an IDIOT from the time immorial. I have nec´ver read anything connected with sense from your pieces. This declares you as an ultimate insane. "Kwasea"

Your mad father who raped a giant she-ape to born you is rather the Kwasea.

• Oyibaba Bee 10 years ago

"Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people."--Eleanor Roosevelt

• Oyibaba Bee 10 years ago

There is no difference between state and religion in Islam. Non Muslims have to submit to Islamic rule or be subjected to heavy taxation or death.

Are you surprised? Nope. He is the illiterate of all the noise-makers here, a product of a backyard college in Europe that allowed him write his MA dissertation on Anlo Toilets!

You only post ethnocentric watery "poems" on Ghanaweb. Why can't u also write some sensible articles for our perusal?

My dissertation on the rural banks of Ghana at the Univ. of Bergen, Norway, can be accessed through a go ...

Unlike your knowledgeable articles(C.Y Andy K), Akadu with his so called PhD writes only about Ethnocentrism not to solve the problem but to widen the divide further, I really do not know if really he has a PhD.

• Bea (UK) 10 years ago

Same duka daya

• Franky 10 years ago

How can an educated man use this kind of words? Are you jealous of the man? Tell us who is the inward looking here?

You conveniently side-stepped Andy-K's invectives to comment on my mild language!

Oh! Yeah, he should focus on my fitting response to you too, eh?

You came to leave insults and attempts to denigrate me all over a piece I wrote, and following my resolve not to ignore jerks like you who just come to le ...

• AKADU "THE SOCIAL OUTCAST 10 years ago

just take it easy with that low life caracter/social outcast? YOUR GOOD IS BETTER THAN HIS BEST,he is just bitter and empty...

Franky, that thing is a bush pig. Leave it alone.

Akadu, you a beast and a swine for that matter!! If Andy is a product of a backyard college in Europe, then what about your bloody self? A descendant of a raped giant-she ape and a very ungrateful element for that matter.

Akadu Only seeks attention and the best way to seek attention to Akadu is through ethnocentrism.

It goes to show how sad and depressed he is and possibly one of those displaced Ghanaians with cheap PhD's still wallowing in ...

you sound very SILLY&CHEAP...

• AHOOFE,the hopeless man 10 years ago

at least,his is better than your best...you DUMP OX'

• GHANABA 10 years ago

BE IT ARABISM,ISLAMISM OR WHATEVER YOU WANT TO CALL IT,ONE THING IS FOR CERTAIN.THE QURAN IN ITS ENTIRETY IS COMPLETE TRIPE.IT FOLLOWERS SUFFER FROM WILFUL BLINDNESS.THAT IS A FACT WITHOUT APOLGY.BOMBINGS AND KILLINGS EVERYWH ...

Revisit your world history and you would know that Christians have caused more havoc than any religious group!

You're a blatant and incorrigible liar. If the Christians had not come down to your hamlet, I reckon you and your stock must still be dwelling on tree tops like your chimps. True or false?

• Nii Lantey 10 years ago

In the name of Christianity, more violence has been visited on the world. Christianity is the worst when it comes to atrocities.

• Esi Kitson 10 years ago

Vidoo!

Fuck off, you bastard.

• amata 10 years ago

The worst murderer in the history of the world, so they say, was a Christian, not a muslim.

• THE CHOSEN ONE 10 years ago

DERANGED AND CONFUSED AFRICAN ILLITRATE.

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

We are all dumber after reading this nonsensical garbage. Wow. Ghanaweb must filter the thoughts of mad men!!!

• francis kwarteng 10 years ago

Good piece.

Keep up the good work

• Jingo Bell 10 years ago

African Muslims are still slaves to Arabia Muslims. Did you see them how they were so happy the day they name one of Accra streets after one of Saudi's Princes. When I hear of Muslims Islamic scholars, I ask myself that, what ...

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Very true,Jingo Bell.

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

Religion is the deification of a people's culture, foreign religious dogmas imposed on anyone is a form of mental enslavement, religion is one of the most powerful weapons in any enslaver's arsenal, because in religion, no ev ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Charcoal Seller you made my day and I also said thanks to Andy C. Y. Kwawukume for bringing the issue to the fore, and telling it as it is without saying that it is a taboo to call your brother in your family a slave because ...

You are right on course. In fact, they treat them as lesser human beings in Mauritania. Look at what Boko Haram is doing in Northern Nigeria? Just killing fellow human beings like rams. We must not allow those devils to subme ...

Old tired essays with grammatical infelicities as usual! I was also on Okyeame and most of the time, commentators took you to the cleaners! One thing we all observed about you is that your hangover writings reflect someone wh ...

The turbaned gunmen who infiltrated Nairobi's Westgate Mall arrived with a set of religious trivia questions: As terrified civilians hid in toilet stalls, behind mannequins, in ventilation shafts and underneath food court tab ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Jingo Bell it is a fact that the leaders of Christian countries that laid the egg of the Mujahideen and hatched it in the mountains of Pakistan and the Saudi Arabian desert are still supporting them in all ways in Syria. They ...

If I understood your argument, you were trying to say it was NATO which told Al Shaba to kill those innocent Kenyans, right?

Why Al Shaba did not blow themselves up? For it is common among Muslims to blow themselves up. My ...

• Awura Ama 10 years ago

Only a trokosi will write this to attack all muslims because of the death of a trokosi hero.It is so sad these people didn't find nothing wrong by killing Ghanaians they envy in the name of a senseless revolution but one sa ...

• Sayse 10 years ago

The dangers of militant Islam is a grave concern to the world that many folks are aware of and planning on what to do though no one will talk about it openly.

You and your family could be next. They dont care who you are ...

OK, Awura Ama, thanks for your views. Can we accept that deranged Muslims had killed one more person too much and they are now under counter-offensive from his tribe's member, since tribe is what you view everything? Happy n ...

You and your Ewe team are making Akadu an angel and proving his point of Ewe tribalism as many have done. I am surprised that none of you has critiqued the name-calling of Akans as baboons, monkeys, etc.

Illiterate Sarpong keeps hiding under Pseudonym because it is hard for him to write none of you have as he wrote ;

'None of you has'.....hahahahahahaha

Illiterate Sarpong Texas Fertilizer Factory Watchman, what are you ...

Get off my back. Don't you know violence begets violence, and peace begets peace? Where were you when the bloody Okoampa Ahoofe and the stupid Ken Agyapong called for annihilation of Ewes? Just mind yourself there.

Fool. What good comes from Islam? If you had not attended Christian-established schools, where do you think you'd be by now? Fool for the second time.

• Bernard 10 years ago

Dear Awura Ama, did you bother to ask your dad why he left your mum for a trokosi woman? Well, it's because she stinks from her under. No doubt, you have body odour that drives even flies away. Hahahaaaa.

Liar! When, where and how did I defend trokosi? I am not even a cultural relativist and so don't defend so-called African cultures as pristine.

Not a single person was up to scratch against me on Okyeame. Not even Dr Geor ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Andy-K, Etroxovi and Etrokoshi are religions just like the Abram religions, however the adherents of Etroxovi and Etrokoshi are not going round the world cutting off peoples head as the Abram religions do. The fact remains th ...

• OMPITA [UK] 10 years ago

You say that you knew Fusilier Lee Rigby personally as a customer.

It makes you sound as if you are a shop keeper in London.

Can you explain further what you mean by this?

Yes, I took over a call centre and turned it into a business centre in order to be earning some extra income in addition to my day job and hopefully go back to school to re-start a PhD programme when I stopped my day job. Did ...

you shoudn't have mind that swine...

• Bea (UK) 10 years ago

I know you very well! You brag a lot, but nothing to show to show for it. How long have you been living in the UK, about 25 years now, and you now wish to do a PhD! You are here insulting PhDs and now you want to go for one! ...

What do I brag about? Money and houses? I have none! I don't even use a car here in London, not that I can't afford one; at least on credit.

My Nigerian associates had told me a long time ago that I wouldn't get rich the ...

• KB 10 years ago

Akadu Mensema is so clearly obsessed with hatred for Ewes she hallucinatorily
    interprets any meaningful discourse that makes the least reference to an Ewe as implying a defence of them.See her here attempting to rationalise ...

You are fuuuuny!

Anyone who questions Rawlings' atrocities is anti Ewe!

Anyone who questions NDC policies is anti-Ewe!

Anyone who comments on posting by Ewes is anti-Ewe.

Anyone who writes anything about Ewe publ ...

AKADU,just scan your brain before upgrading it,it lack 'the power of love for yourself and your imaginary enermies THE EWES.

the best way to scan your brain/minds is to read God's words daily and hear his voice...and to hear his voice,you have to tune down or switch off the volume of your bitterness/meaningless hatred for your imaginary enemies THE ...

Shut up. Who brought this ethnic scuffle to this site? Was it Ewes? Ask that your mentally sick cousin, Ahoofe, why he is always after the neck of Ewes because of Rawlings? Your memory must have limited storage to forget that ...

don't waste you time on those BATS who sleeps with their senseless head downword

• Kojo! 10 years ago

pay her/him no mind.She's a very ugly man-woman

• KK 10 years ago

I don't think Ewes think they are above reproach. No ethnic group is. Rawlings is an individual who happens to be Ewe. He can be criticised without involving all Ewes even if many Ewes voted for him. Ewe public figures can be ...

Akadu isa right! You just can't tolerate her views!

• Richard Acquah 10 years ago

It is errorneous for anybody to assume that one of the factors, which breeds this devilish behaviour is poverty. I would like to point out that majority of the 9/11 terrorist were Saudis, and they are one of the richest oil p ...

Richard,

You are indeed right about the religion being the problem. That's my own position. It is for the leaders of those atrocities an ideological issue, which they believe in, which makes them even the more dangerous. N ...

• C. K. MAN 10 years ago

The only problem is you are an EWE fool as usual with EWES. Trokosi IDIOT!

You are pathetic bigot!

• Kwame 10 years ago

NATO terrorist presidents and prime ministers also claim to be civilized and rich, thus the problem is with the Abram religions, that religion breeds terror.

• ZAK 10 years ago

ur lacking knowlledge as to the couse of 9/11, it was political and more inside job, infact it was inside job done by Americans themselves, infact it was political, any one who try to read religiouse meaning to it is mearly i ...

• KABIYESI 10 years ago

Great piece! Mental slavery in the name of religion is destroying Africa's progress.

• kofi wayo 10 years ago

I agree with u on ur methods of how to confront this extremist.But disagree with u on the strong words of description which may obstrcuct your own strategy. I think ots better to call people to reason with words of wisdom and ...

• Pinkus 10 years ago

Your article is a bundle of mabojumbo. Your arguments are as confused as the religious bigotry and hatred you are trying to sow. Could you direct your energy to a more productive endeavour?

• francis kwarteng 10 years ago

Dear Brother,

I have been following the comments on your article. Brilliant one there.

I am appalled at what I read: Can't we once deal with real isssues affecting us as a people without "tribalizing" them?

My Brother,

Thanks for the encouragement. The Ghanaweb Administrator messed up the post by posting without the clear paragraphs to separate the many distinct issues I commented on under the general rubric of slavery, etc. ...

• Bea (UK) 10 years ago

Given the ongoings here by Andy-K and his team, Akadu looks like a prophet!

• A.RAZAK 10 years ago

It clearlly shows ur deficite of knowwlledge of Islam and Arrabs,it does not mean every Arab is a muslim or every Muslim is an Arab,just like christianity Jesus emerged from jews does not mean that evry christian is a jew,Inf ...